DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

How to Renew a Driver's License in Utah

Utah Drivers License Renewal

Renewing drivers licenses in Utah is a necessary process that must be completed in order to maintain your driving privileges. Drivers can renew drivers license online or in person at a UT Division of Motor Vehicles branch. Depending on the driver's license renewal method you are eligible for, you must submit specific documents and information. A fee must also be paid in order to renew drivers licenses in UT. Read on to learn more about how to renew drivers licenses in the state.

How to Renew Your UT Driver's License



Renew Utah Drivers License

Note: Drivers can locate the expiration date of their current UT driver's license below their mailing address.


Utah residents are currently able to renew drivers license online or by mail. It is highly recommended that you complete a drivers license renewal prior to the expiration of your license, as driving with an expired drivers license in Utah is against the law and can result in a fine. The required documents are dependent upon the type of renewal method. However, drivers can expect to submit some form of the following information:

  • Proof of identity (such as a Social Security Number or passport).
  • Proof of UT residency.
  • A passed vision test, road test, or written test.
  • Payment for required drivers license renewal fee.

Fees

All drivers in Utah renewing drivers licenses are required to pay a driver's license renewal fee. The cost of this fee depends on the type of drivers license being renewed and your method of the drivers license renewal. Any of the following costs may be applied:

In Person Renewals:

  • $25 to renew a class C Utah License.
  • $13 for drivers 65 years of age or older.
  • $25 to renew class D motorcycles.

Online Renewals:

  • $25 to renew a class C Utah License.
  • $11 for drivers 65 years of age or older.
  • $25 for class D motorcycles.

Note: Depending on the chosen renewal method, Utah drivers license renewal fees can be paid with cash, credit card, debit card, personal check or travelers check.

When to Renew Your Utah Driver's License

It is against the law to drive with an expired drivers license in Utah, which is why it is recommended to renew your license prior to the expiration date. Currently, UT drivers license are valid for up to five years. Renewing drivers licenses in Utah can be done up to six months prior to the expiration date. If you are completing a drivers license renewal in person, note that it will take up to eight weeks to receive your new drivers license. Drivers who choose to renew drivers licenses online will receive a temporary license until their new credential arrives.

Expired License

Driving with an expired drivers license in Utah is illegal and can result in a fine and added points onto your driving record. However, if you currently hold an expired driver's license, you are still eligible for drivers license renewal in UT. Drivers renewing an expired drivers license must complete the process in person at a local UT DMV. Those who are renewing drivers licenses six months past their expiration date will be required to pass an additional written exam. If you are renewing an expired drivers license, you will be required to submit some form of the following information:

  • Two documents proving identity.
  • Proof of UT residency.
  • Passed vision test, written test or road test.

Note: Drivers who are required to pass additional testing are recommended to first complete an online practice test to improve their chances of passing.

Requirements To Renew A Utah License

Renewing drivers licenses in Utah requires submitting the necessary documents and information that coincide with your drivers license renewal method. While the requirement varies, depending on the renewal method, you can expect to be asked to submit a few of the following items:

  • Proof of identity.
  • Proof of Social Security Number.
  • Proof of physical residence in Utah.
  • Payment for the UT drivers license renewal fee.

Renewing A UT Suspended License

If you currently hold a suspended, canceled or revoked drivers license, you will not be eligible to renew drivers licenses in Utah. In order to complete a drivers license renewal, all driving privileges must first be reinstated. To reinstate driving privileges, motorists may be required to pay any outstanding fees, attend traffic court and pass a written driving exam. Once driving privileges have been reinstated, drivers can then take the proper steps toward renewal.

UT Drivers License Online Renewal

Drivers who are eligible to renew drivers license online will be mailed a driver license renewal PIN. This PIN can be used on the official UT DMV website. Once you have signed in to the website, you will be asked to submit the following information:

  • Your online drivers license renewal pin.
  • Your last name.
  • Your UT drivers license number.
  • Payment for the drivers license renewal fee.

After submitting the necessary items, you will then be able to print a temporary UT drivers license. You can then expect your renewed credential to arrive in the mail.

Renewing Your UT Drivers License In-Person

If eligible, drivers may also renew drivers licenses in person. If you choose to complete your Utah drivers license renewal in person, consider making an appointment to avoid any lengthy wait times. Upon your visit, be ready to submit the following:

  • Your current Utah drivers license.
  • A completed drivers license form.
  • A valid U.S passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of address, such as a recent bank statement, current rental contract or recent utility bill.
  • Payment for the drivers license renewal fee.

Note: Depending on the current status of your drivers license, you may be required to complete a vision test, road test or vision exam. Drivers who are required to complete a written exam are recommended to first complete an online practice test.

Non US Citizen

Non U.S. citizens are also eligible for renewing drivers licenses at a Division of Motor Vehicles office. Note that these drivers license renewals are only valid for limited-term drivers licenses that last a period of five years, or the duration of your authorized presence. In order to renew drivers licenses in Utah as a non citizen, a driver must complete the renewal in person at his or her local UT DMV. Non citizens are required to provide legal presence documents and pay the necessary drivers license renewal fee.

Out-of-State Military Renewal

Out-of-state military members are eligible to renew drivers license online or as an out-of-state renewal. Note that active members can apply to renew drivers licenses in person up to six months prior to their deployment. To do so, you must provide proof of out-of-state deployment.

Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online

Military personnel also have the option to renew drivers licenses online. To do so, visit the official Utah DMV website with your online drivers license renewal PIN and complete the directions provided.

Drivers License Extensions

Drivers license extensions are currently only available to out-of-state military members. This extension provides a grace period of 90 days after being discharged for military members and/or immediate family to renew drivers licenses. Motorists who have a suspended license will not be considered eligible for an extension.

Note: Military veterans are eligible to receive this type of notation on their UT drivers licenses. In order to get this veteran distinction on your license, be sure to present proof of honorable discharge in person, at your local Utah DMV.

Have a Question? Get Instant Online Answers!

Powered By

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!