Renew Your Utah Car Registration
In order to renew your Utah car registration, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your Utah car registration. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Utah residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at an Utah DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Utah vehicle registration renewal must take place annually and drivers must meet certain requirements before applying for a renewal. Motorists wondering how to renew car registration have three options for obtaining updated car registration documents. Applicants may renew car registration online, in person or by mail. Vehicles with model years four, eight and 10 years old require safety inspections, and once a vehicle reaches 10 model years old, it must pass a safety inspection annually. Vehicles renewing car registration with model years less than six years old registered in Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties must have an emission test once every two years. Older cars, up to 1967, must have emissions tested every year if the owner is a resident of those counties. Continue reading to learn more about UT car registration renewal in the sections below.
When to Renew Car Registrations in Utah
The DMV sends vehicle registration renewal reminder notices several weeks before the registration expires. Car registration renewal in UT should take place no more than two months after the vehicle received its safety inspection and emissions test. To avoid potential law enforcement fines or penalties from driving with expired car registration, try to submit any online or mail renewals at least two weeks prior to the expiration date.
How to Renew Car Registrations in Utah Online
Renew car registration online in Utah by visiting the Renewal Express site managed by the UT DMV. You should have your vehicle registration renewal notice handy to enter the license plate number and PIN included on it. If you do not have your renewal notice, you can still use Renewal Express by entering your last name, zip code, license plate number and the last eight digits of your vehicle identification number (VIN). When prompted, enter the information requested from your safety inspection and emission test certificates. When renewing car registration online, you may pay by credit or debit cards only. After completing all the steps, be sure to print the temporary car registration renewal document that will serve as proof of registration until your permanent renewal card arrives, usually within 10 days.
How to Renew Car Registrations in Utah in Person
Drivers can renew car registration in Utah in person by visiting any of the DMV offices located throughout the state. Most offices are open for vehicle registration renewals and other DMV transactions from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. DMV vehicle registration renewals only require a few documents to complete the process. Bring the auto registration renewal notice, a form of payment and your safety inspection and emission test certificates, if applicable. To save time, Utah drivers may also renew car registration at the same time and place they obtain safety and emission inspections. Many inspection stations participate in the “On the Spot” (OTS) program where you can get inspections, renew car registration documents, and receive a new license plate decal all at once. OTS stations charge a nominal fee to provide this time-saving service. Just bring your vehicle registration renewal notice and a form of payment when you go to have your vehicle tested. DMV offices and OTS stations accept cash, checks and credit cards for payment.
How to Renew Vehicle Registrations in Utah by Mail
Motorists who prefer to renew car registration in Utah by mail instead of in person or online can send their renewal notice, inspection reports and payment to the following address:
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 30412
Salt Lake City, UT 84130
Be sure to include a check or money order for the exact amount due and allow several weeks to get your car registration renewal certificate and license plate decals in the mail. Do not send cash to pay for mail renewals.
How to Renew a Utah Car Registration as a Military Member
Active duty military members who have legal residence in another state can obtain vehicle registration renewals in their home state if they wish. Military residents of Utah renewing car registration from an out-of-state location may obtain three exemptions:
- Property tax exemption issued by the county assessor.
- Emissions inspection exemption, by completing Form TC-810, Exemption Affidavit of Utah Safety and Emission Requirements for Vehicles Not in Utah.
- Safety inspection exemption, by completing section 1 of Form TC-810.
These exemptions can help deployed soldiers avoid the stress of having to renew expired car registration documents once they return home.
How to Renew a Utah Vehicle Registration on Someone Else’s Behalf
Drivers can designate a representative to renew car registration in Utah on behalf of the vehicle’s owner. He or she can take the car registration renewal notice, payment and inspection reports to the UT DMV or submit the documents online or by mail.
Utah Car Registration Renewal Fees
Utah auto registration renewal fees and taxes can vary depending upon several factors. When renewing car registrations, the vehicle’s type, model year, fuel type and county of residence can all influence the total amount due. Motorists can contact the UT DMV and find out exactly how much is owed before initiating the registration renewal process.