Texas Car Registration Renewal
Drivers must renew car registration in Texas annually by the date shown on their license plate sticker. If the sticker displays the date 11/15, then the car registration is valid through the last day of November 2015. If you do not renew your vehicle registration before it expires, the TX DMV will charge a fine.
Drivers are allowed to operate their vehicle with an expired registration for up to five working days after the expiration date. After those five days are passed, drivers with an expired TX car registration can receive a fine up to $200.
Information Related to Renewing Car Registration
- When to Renew
- How to Renew Online
- How to Renew by Mail
- How to Renew in Person
- Renewal Fees
- Renewing for Somebody Else
- Renewal Restrictions
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles will send you a TX car registration renewal notice when the time for you to renew your documents approaches. The notice will include:
- Your deadline.
- Renewal fee.
- Contact information of your local county tax office.
- Inspection requirements.
Texas requires annual safety inspections for all registered vehicles by an official inspection station. Emissions check requirements vary based on county.
DMV.com Note: The TX DMV recommends you sign up for eReminders. These email messages will remind you when to renew expired car registration multiple times. To register for eReminders, your will need:
- Your license plate.
- A valid email address.
- The last four digits of your VIN.
You can sign up for eReminder when you are at a DPS office.
How to Renew Car Registration
Renewing car registration in Texas can be done:
- By mail.
- In person.
You must meet the following eligibility requirements to renew car registration online:
- You are a resident of the county where your car is registered
- Your TX car insurance meets the state minimums
- Your county is featured on the online renewal system
- You have a valid email address
- Your vehicle has undergone the necessary safety and emissions inspections
- You did not get a citation for driving with expired registration stickers
If you are eligible, access the Texas DMV Renewal website and provide the following:
- License plate number
- Proof of car insurance
- Last four digits of VIN
- Credit card information (MasterCard, VISA, American Express and Discover)
If you received a car registration renewal notice by mail, complete the form and send it along with the following to your local county tax office:
- Proof of car insurance
- Check or money order for vehicle registration fee and $1 mail fee
To renew car registration in person, visit your local county tax office and provide:
- Your renewal notice.
- Proof of car insurance.
Those who did not receive a renewal notice can bring:
- Your license plate number.
- VIN number.
- Car registration receipt from previous year.
Some Texas counties allow drivers to renew auto registration at substations and subcontractors; this will be noted in your renewal notice if possible. Acceptable forms of payment vary by county. Tax offices typically accept cash, money orders, checks and credit/debit cards.
Fees to renew car registration in Texas vary based on the type of vehicle:
- Passenger vehicles and light trucks: $50.75
- Pickup trucks between 6,001 pounds and 10,000 pounds: $54
- Motorcycles and mopeds: $30
- Trailers up to 6,000 pounds: $45
The DMV will also charge a $1 automation fee for improving the titling and auto registration system and a $1 Department of Public Safety fee for the DPS insurance verification system.
DMV.com Note: If weeks pass and you have not received your vehicle registration, contact your county office for more information. You will be asked to provide your standard or personalized license plate and VIN number.
To renew vehicle registration for another person, bring the following to a local county tax office:
- Texas drivers license or photo identification of the party you are renewing for
- TX car insurance card
- Original TX car registration renewal form or the vehicle registration receipt from last year
Drivers may also be asked to provide written consent or authorization letter from the owner of the vehicle.
Drivers will not be able to renew an auto registration if it has been:
In these instances, drivers must obtain a TX car registration replacement. If your vehicle registration is lost, stolen or damaged, you will only be able to renew if you recently received your Texas car registration renewal notice.