How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Texas
A Texas drivers license change of address procedure is required when motorists move from one residential address to another within the state. TX residents need to complete a drivers license change of address through the state Department of Public Safety (DPS). Motorists updating their information must obey DPS time limits for making the necessary updates to their records and physical driving credentials.
New residents must change the address on their drivers license when moving to Texas from another state. However, new TX residents will have to make the change by transferring their out-of-state driving licenses into new credentials issued by the TX DPS. Drivers who want to learn how and where to change drivers license in Texas should read the sections below for more.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Texas Drivers License
Changing an address after moving is mandatory for residents moving to a new residential address within the state. Additionally, the TX DPS requires new state residents to update their credentials by transferring their out-of-state license.
Individuals may change drivers license address online, by mail and in person at a local DPS office. Drivers may find out how to change drivers license address records and when to make the updates by reading the sections below.
Texas Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Current state drivers must change address on drivers licenses in Texas within 30 days from their move to a new residential address. Failure to update credentials can result in penalties for driving with an out-of-date license.
New state residents must apply to update their information and transfer their out-of-state credentials no later than 90 days after moving to Texas. Drivers who do not submit a TX drivers license change of address may not receive important correspondence about drivers license renewal and other DPS services.
Online Drivers License Address Changes in Texas
The most convenient method for updating drivers license address in Texas is the online service available through the TX DPS website. In order to qualify for an online drivers license change of address, motorists must satisfy the following eligibility criteria:
- Have a valid TX drivers license (Class C or CM).
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Have a Social Security Number (SSN) on file with the DPS.
- Be a U.S. citizen.
Once drivers satisfy the requirements for a Texas DMV license address change, motorists must gather their current drivers license, the last four digits of their Social Security Number, a valid credit card and a printer for the temporary credential and payment receipt. Residents may change drivers license address online by providing this information and following the online prompts. Drivers will receive their new license in the mail after completing the transaction.
How to Change Your Address on Your Texas Drivers License by Mail
The Texas DPS also offers a mail-in method for changing drivers license address credentials for individuals who are unable to complete the online procedure or visit the DPS in person. The drivers license change of address procedure may be completed by mail only if the credential is not a commercial drivers license.
When updating drivers license address information by mail, individuals need to complete an Application for Change of Address on Valid Texas Driver License & Identification Card. Drivers must make sure to sign and complete the DMV license address change form and mail it to the provided address along with payment for the applicable fees. Drivers will receive their new license in the mail after completing the transaction.
How to Change Your Address on Your Texas Drivers License in Person
Motorists may update address on TX drivers license credentials by visiting a nearby DPS location. To make the necessary drivers license change of address in Texas, residents can fill out the address change application and bring the necessary payment to order replacement driving license credentials.
Drivers should contact their local DMV office to confirm the accepted methods of payment. Residents can obtain an application for a drivers license change of address at any DPS branch.
How to Transfer Your Drivers License as a New Texas Resident
New residents must change drivers license address in TX within 90 days of their move to Texas from out of the state. The procedure of updating drivers license address requires out-of-state residents to transfer their license and apply for a new Texas drivers license after the period of 90 days is over.
New residents who hold a valid drivers license must surrender their out-of-state license and pass the required exams to qualify for a TX license. New residents must apply for a TX drivers license change of address in person at a DPS and provide the necessary licensing fees. For more information about how to transfer a foreign driving license, drivers can contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Texas DMV Address Change Fees
One important step in updating drivers license address credentials is providing payment for the mandatory replacement fees. Depending on your chosen method to change TX driving license address information, you can make payments by credit card, debit card, cash, check or money order.
To confirm the accepted method of payment, contact your local DPS office. If you are a new resident transferring your out-of-state driving credentials, you must pay a fee for a new Texas drivers license. A replacement driver s license costs $11 in Texas.