How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Louisiana
According to state rules and regulations, a Louisiana drivers license change of address is necessary for motorists who have moved to a new place of residence within the state. Not changing drivers license address information in a timely manner may result in a traffic ticket and other penalties.
Although most U.S. states offer several methods to licensees who need to change an address on drivers license, Louisiana applicants must initiate this process by personally visiting an Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) branch. Motorists may find out more about how and where to change drivers license address in Louisiana in the following sections.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Louisiana Drivers License
One reason to initiate an LA driving license change of address procedure is to update your record with the OMV after moving to another place of residence. If you do not finalize your DMV change address on license transaction on time, you can face consequences from law enforcement. It may also be necessary for you to change drivers license address in LA if you have credentials with incorrect address information.
You must make sure to change an address on DMV records if you notice any errors with the licenses issued by the Office of Motor Vehicles. When you submit an LA drivers license address change application on time, you will avoid penalties for operating with an out-of-date license. If you have recently moved to Louisiana from out of state, you can change your address on your driving license by completing an out-of-state license transfer.
Louisiana Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Per state laws, motorists must change DMV license address in Louisiana with the OMV no more than 10 days after their move to a new home. Drivers who do not apply for a driving license change of address within the aforementioned time frame may be subject to a traffic citation if stopped by a police officer.
Residents who fail to change an address on driving license credentials may receive a ticket that can lead to large fines and additional court-ordered penalties. Licensees who fail to complete their procedure of changing drivers license addresses in LA may not receive important OMV notices for license suspension or renewal. Motorists who do not complete their reinstatement or license renewal process can face additional consequences for driving with invalid credentials.
How to Change Your Address on Your Louisiana Drivers License in Person
If you need to change drivers license address information after moving to a new residence, you must visit a local LA OMV office in person. Changing driving license address online in Louisiana is not available through the OMV. In order to complete an in-person DMV license change of address transaction, you need to present your current license, proof of motor vehicle insurance and proof of residence in Louisiana.
You must obtain a duplicate Louisiana license when performing a drivers license change of address to the Louisiana OMV. Motorists who hold a driving license that expires within 90 days must apply for a renewal.
How to Transfer Your Drivers License as a New Louisiana Resident
New Louisiana residents must change the address on driving license credentials by completing an out-of-state transfer and purchasing an LA license to operate a motor vehicle. New state residents must finalize their Louisiana DMV change address on license transaction and obtain a Class E credential no more than 30 days after establishing LA residency.
The DMV license change of address process for an out-of-state transfer will require applicants to personally visit a nearby OMV location with the necessary documentation and payments. New state residents submitting a change address on drivers license transfer form for LA credentials must make sure to bring payment and the following documents to the OMV:
- A valid out-of-state license or an official driving record
- One primary and one secondary identification document
- Social Security Number (SSN) and proof of LA residency
- Proof of vehicle insurance
Note: Students 17 years of age or younger must bring a parent or guardian and a completed Certificate of Required School Attendance when transferring drivers license credentials.
Louisiana DMV Address Change Fees
In order to finalize the procedure of changing drivers license addresses in LA and obtain a replacement displaying the new address, motorists must pay the necessary fees. New state residents performing a drivers license address change for transferring their out-of-state credentials must pay the full cost of a new drivers license.
When changing driving license address information, fees may vary based on the type of license requested and local fees. In general, the fee for a replacement license is $13. Moreover, local fees do not exceed $4.
- How do I change the address on my driver's license? from ExpressLane.org