How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana
Residents need a vehicle registration in Louisiana before they are able to drive their car on state roads. This registration proves ownership of the car, which means you will need to prove you own the car before the state allows you to register. The Louisiana DMV registration requirements vary based on whether the car is new or used, with new cars needing to be titled and used cars needing to get a title transfer. Though the processes are different, registration for both new cars and used cars takes place at the Office of Motor Vehicles.
In this article, you will learn everything you need to know about registering a car in Louisiana. This includes how much it costs, which documents you need to bring, whether you need to get your car inspected and how much insurance you will need to have.
Louisiana Car Registration Requirements
Before you can get a vehicle registration in Louisiana, you need to be a resident of Louisiana who has a Certificate of Title or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for the vehicle in question. Many of the requirements are different for new cars and used cars, but the deadline for registration is the same. You have 60 days to get the vehicle registered after you have bought the vehicle or become a resident of the state.
You cannot get a car registration online in Louisiana, because the state needs to inspect your documentation in person.
Car Insurance Requirements for Registering a Car in Louisiana
In order to register a car in Louisiana, you need to get liability insurance that covers at least:
- $15,000 worth of medical costs for each individual in the other car during the accident.
- $30,000 worth of medical costs for all individuals in the other car during the accident.
- $25,000 worth of property destruction costs.
Though you only need the above insurance in order to get your registration, your insurance company may offer other plans. These forms of insurance are not required by the state, but if you get a car loan they may be required by the lender. You will need to get your insurance plan from a company that is licensed to do business in Louisiana.
Vehicle Inspection/Smog Inspection/VIN Inspection Requirements in Louisiana
In order to get a vehicle registration in Louisiana, you will also need to get your car inspected. A safety inspection is required no matter where you live in the state, but if you live in East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge, Iberville, Ascension or Livingston, you will also be required to get a smog inspection.
You will need to get a smog inspection every year, while safety inspection requirements can be fulfilled by bringing your car in for an inspection every other year.
To pay for the car registration inspection, you will need to bring $18.
Registering a Vehicle in Louisiana
Before determining how to register a car in Louisiana, you need to know which car registration process you need to go through. This is because new cars and used cars have different ownership documentation, meaning you will need to go through different processes. You can learn about both processes below.
Though vehicle registration details in Louisiana vary based on where you bought the car and whether it already has a Louisiana title, no matter which process you are going through, you will have the option of mailing your Vehicle Application in. You can do so at the following address:
Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections Office of Motor Vehicles Baton Rouge, LA 70896-4886 P.O. Box 648886
How to Register a New Car in Louisiana
A new car registration in Louisiana requires you to get three documents from the dealership:
- A Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin, which is signed over to you
- An Odometer Disclosure Statement
- An invoice that identifies the dealership and provides identifying details about the vehicle
Either the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or the invoice needs to be notarized.
Along with those documents, you will need to fill out the Vehicle Application, which will ask you to provide basic information about yourself and the car. If you cannot determine any of the required details about the car, these details should be listed in the detailer’s invoice
You cannot register a vehicle online, because the Department of Public Safety needs to review your documents in person. As well, the office will ask to see a form of photo identification.
Registering a Used Car in Louisiana
Here is what you need to register a car in Louisiana that has previously been titled in the state:
- Proof of Insurance
- Certificate of Title
- Bill of Sale of a Motor Vehicle
The Title, Bill of Sale or Invoice must be notarized. The Proof of Insurance requirement is waived if you bought the used car from a dealership.
You will also need to bring a form of photo ID and the Vehicle Application. This car registration form will ask for basic information about yourself, your vehicle and the date that ownership was transferred over to you. It does not require the seller’s signature.
These documents can be submitted at an Office of Motor Vehicle in-person or via the mail. Acceptable forms of payment will vary between offices, so you will need to contact your office ahead of time before determining how to pay.
How to Register a Car in Louisiana as a New Resident
Car registration requirements in Louisiana are similar for out-of-state vehicles and in-state vehicles, which means most of the requirements will be listed in the new car or used car sections above.
If any of the documents you submit for the transfer are notarized, you will not need to provide additional documentation. If, however, you live in a state that does not require notarization, you will need to provide proof that the vehicle’s seller is from out of state.
This can be done by presenting an affidavit from the seller stating that they do not live in New Orleans. Alternately, the seller can go with you to the Office of Motor Vehicles and present their out-of-state driver’s license.
Vehicle Registration for Military Members in Louisiana
The Louisiana car registration cost is similar for active service members and civilians, with one important difference: so long as the service member can provide documentation showing they paid a sales tax when they originally bought a vehicle, they will not be required to pay the usage tax on it.
If you are an active service member who is serving in Louisiana, you will not be required to get your vehicle registered in the state. That said, you will need to keep your out-of-state registration up to date.
Louisiana License Plates
One of the most important vehicle registration services in Louisiana is the license plate issuing service. When you register your vehicle, you will also apply for these plates.
These plates state important information about your vehicle such as your vehicle registration renewal date, but they also allow law enforcement officers to look up information about the vehicle without pulling you over and asking for ownership documentation.
You will receive your license plate in the mail after you have registered. Until you receive these plates, you will need to outfit your vehicle with the temporary tags that will be issued to you at the office.
Louisiana Car Registration Fees
How much is car registration in Louisiana? The car registration fees vary based on the price of the vehicle.
- The title fee is $68.50
- The license plate fee is 0.1% of the vehicle’s value for every year the vehicle is registered. This fee is a minimum of $20.
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Tax Registration/Exemption for Military Personnel / Nonresident Students from dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov
- Vehicle Registration, Title & Plate Fees from dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov
- Personalized Plate Regulations from dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov