After you purchase a vehicle, whether it is from a dealership or a private seller, it is important that you learn how to register car documents. The process depends on two factors:
The state of Massachusetts requires that a wide variety of vehicles be registered if they are driven on state roadways. Getting car registration in MAis required for the following vehicles:
Purchasing a vehicle can be exhilarating, but it is important that you take into account the car's history before you buy it. The best way to know what is really underneath the hood by ordering a vehicle history report. Simply find the VIN number of the vehicle and plug it into a trustworthy online system to generate a vehicle history report. You are just a click away from accessing the information about the car's:
Given that you only have 10 days to register a vehicle in Massachusetts, you must begin the process promptly. However, you are only allowed to register at a local DMV office. You cannot register a car online in Massachusetts. To successfully register your used vehicle in Massachusetts, follow these steps:
Keep in mind that if you use a Certificate of Origin or Title, you must make sure that the odometer reading, sale price and date of sale are featured on the back of the document.
Once you have completed the process and handed in your application, you will receive new plates and a decal for your rear plate. Your vehicle title will be mailed to you or your lien holder in six to eight weeks. In addition, the MA RMV requires you to get a vehicle inspection sticker within seven days of when you go to register car credentials.
If you have purchased a new vehicle, the car dealership will take care of a portion of the registration process for you, such as completing the Application for Registration and Title (RMV-1) form. Thereafter, you will need to bring this document (with an agent stamp from your insurance provider) as well as the certificate of title to your nearest RMV office.
After buying a car, you will have seven days to have a smog check and emissions testing completed on your vehicle. Keep in mind, though, that some vehicles may receive a smog and emissions testing waiver. Some of these vehicles include but are not limited to the following:
If you are a new resident to Massachusetts, you must convert your car registration within 30 days of establishing residency. Keep in mind that you cannot register a car online. You must go in person to title your vehicle.
The process to do so is as follows:
If you are not a resident of the state of Massachusetts, you are not required to register car credentials in the state. This applies if you are living in Massachusetts for:
If you are a non-resident who is a student in Massachusetts and using an out-of-state car registration, you must submit a Nonresident Driver Statement to a local police department in order to avoid a $200 fine.
If you are in the process of leaving Massachusetts and establishing residence in a different state, you will need to surrender your license plate, either in person or by mail. Make sure to also get in touch with the DMV at your new state prior to moving for information about how to transfer car registration.
If you are a Massachusetts resident stationed within the state, you simply have to follow the steps listed above for registering car documents. However, if you are stationed out-of-state and want to register a vehicle that you bought in Massachusetts, then you will have to send your application by mail. Make sure to call the RMV for details at 857-368-8000.
The process to register a motorcycle or motorized scooter in Massachusetts is basically the same process that is required when you go to register a passenger vehicle. You must:
Remember that if you choose to bring a Certificate or Origin or Title, the document must feature the odometer reading, sale price and date of sale on the back of it.
In order to register a trailer that you have purchased, you will have to:
Keep in mind that if you use a bill of sale, you must feature the following information for it to be an acceptable document:
In addition, if the gross weight of the trailer is 3,000 pounds or less, you do not need to use a vehicle title. One is only required if the trailer weighs 3,001 pounds or more. You will be able to find the gross weight on the Certificate of Origin.
In order to register a boat in the state of Massachusetts, you must complete the process through the Boat, Off-Highway Vehicle and Snowmobile Registration Bureau. You will be required to fill out a Registration and Titling Application at one of their five available offices. For more information, visit this link.
Your vehicle registration can be suspended due to a number of reasons, including but not limited to a suspended driver's license or lack of car insurance. In order to reinstate your car registration, you will need to complete any requirements related to your suspension. For details pertaining to your specific case, contact your DMV and speak to a driver's license agent.
The final thing you need to do when you get car registration in Massachusetts is pay the registration fees. Thus, it is important that you familiarize yourself with the various fees of the registration process. The various prices for DMV car registration are as follows:
The Massachusetts RMV will accept the following methods of payment: cash, checks and money orders. For the full fee schedule, click here.
If you qualify for handicap placards in Massachusetts, the process to obtain the placards and plates is really quite simple and can be done at the same time that you are getting car registration documents. All you have to do is follow these steps:
For those who would like to mail in their application, the address you must send it to is below:
Registry of Motor Vehicles Attn: Medical Affairs PO Box 55889 Boston, MA 02205-5889
One other thing to remember when you go to register car documents at a nearby RMV office is that you will have the chance to get vanity license plates during your visit. If you are interested, you will be able to pick the numbers and letters that appear on your two mandatory Massachusetts license plates, as well as a cause, university or sports team
You can browse for customizable plates using a reliable online service that also gives you the opportunity to purchase custom license plates right then and there. It's more well-known to do this process in person. Fortunately, you can save yourself the time and a trip to a local licensing office by ordering a personalized license plate online.