In order to renew your Massachusetts drivers license, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents and calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your Massachusetts drivers license. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about renew your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Massachusetts residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a Massachusetts DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renewal
Drivers can learn how to renew drivers license in Massachusetts by adhering to a few, straightforward steps. The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles oversees the drivers license renewal process, and citizens of the state can renew online or in person. If your drivers license is nearing its expiration date, keep reading to learn more about the steps you will need to take to renew it.
How to Renew Your MA Driver's License
Your Massachusetts drivers license will be valid for a period of five years and expire on your birthday. The expiration date of your license is printed on its front side near your personal information, and the RMV in MA will send you a renewal notice a few weeks before this date. The drivers license renewal process is different for all drivers, and the steps you need to take will vary from others if your license is:
- Stolen, damaged, or lost.
It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that his or her license is renewed in a timely manner. Once you renew your license, the RMV will issue you a temporary paper license that will be valid for a period of 30 days. Most drivers will receive their actual license one to two weeks later. However, drivers should note that a temporary Massachusetts drivers license may not be valid in other states.
Any driver renewing drivers licenses in MA will need to pay a fee before he or she can receive a new credential. If you are a noncommercial driver, your drivers license renewal fee will be $50 (additional $15 for motorcyclists). The RMV office accepts cash and most major credit/debit cards, as well as checks and money orders. Drivers who utilize the online drivers license renewal process will only be allowed to pay with a credit or debit card. Drivers mailing in a renewal application must pay with a check or money order (made payable to the "Massachusetts Department of Transportation" or "MassDOT").
When to Renew Your Massachusetts Driver's License
Drivers can renew drivers license in Massachusetts up to a year before it expires. If your license is currently expired, you may renew it up to four years after its expiration date without incurring a penalty. All drivers licenses are valid for a period of five years,
regardless of age, and if you are younger than 21 at the time of your drivers license renewal, your license will display a special designation. You must settle the following debts before you can renew your license in Massachusetts:
- Traffic tickets.
- Court costs and fines.
- Child support, alimony, and other court-ordered payments.
At the present moment, citizens of Massachusetts cannot renew their drivers license by mail.
If your Massachusetts drivers license has been expired for less than four years, you can undergo the normal drivers license renewal process. However, if you are currently in possession of an expired drivers license that is more than four years past its expiration date, you will need to apply for a new license again. If the aforementioned information applies to you, you will need to complete the following steps before you can receive your license again:
- Obtain a learning permit.
- Successfully pass a written examination and driving test.
- Pay the fee for a new drivers license.
As mentioned in the section above, your drivers licenses' expiration date is printed on its front side near your personal information and photograph.
You can only request a temporary Massachusetts drivers license if your license is damaged, lost, or stolen. If your current license is nearing or past its expiration date, you will need to renew drivers licenses online or in person. Drivers who are in need of a replacement license can visit their local Massachusetts MVA office and provide details regarding their lost or stolen license. Once this is done, you will pay a MA drivers license renewal fee, and the office will issue you a temporary license to use until a real one is sent in the mail.
Requirements To Renew A Massachusetts License
It is illegal to drive with an expired drivers license in Massachusetts, and if yours is nearing its expiration date, you will need to renew drivers license online or in person. Before you visit a local RMV office, be sure to bring the following:
- Completed application (available online).
- Current drivers license.
- Government document displaying your Social Security number.
- Drivers license renewal fee.
If you are older than 75 or you owe money to the state, you must renew your license in person. You will not be subjected to any tests unless your drivers license has been expired for four or more years.
Renewing An MA Suspended License
Renewing drivers licenses in Massachusetts is not possible with a suspended or revoked drivers license. Most suspensions last for 30 to 60 days, but more severe violations can result in lengthier suspensions and even revocation. Once your suspension ends, you will be eligible to renew drivers licenses after paying a reinstatement fee, along with fulfilling any other necessary requirements. If your drivers license was suspended for a period of multiple years or was revoked, you will need to take the written examination and driving skills test again. Reinstatement fees range from $100 to $1,200 (depending on the circumstances of your suspension or revocation), and you can pay your fee:
- Over the phone.
- In person.
- By mail.
The state accepts the following types of payments:
- Most major credit/debit cards
- Checks and money orders (made payable to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation)
If you are unsure of your license's status, you can request an official copy of your driving record by contacting the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles before renewing drivers license.
MA Drivers License Online Renewal
You may renew drivers licenses online in Massachusetts if you are younger than 75, and you do have any outstanding fines, violations or fees. To renew drivers license, you must visit the RMV Online Services site and provide the system with the following information:
- Full name, date of birth, and email address .
- Drivers license number.
- Social Security Number.
- Drivers license class (D, M, or D/M).
Once you provide the information above, you must pay the standard renewal fee using a credit or debit card. After completing your online drivers license renewal, you will receive a new license in the mail. Drivers who are not eligible to renew their license online may still start an online application and complete other requirements in person at a local MA RMV office.
Renewing Your MA Drivers License In-Person
Drivers can renew drivers license in Massachusetts by visiting an RMV office. To do this, you will need to bring the following items:
- Completed drivers license renewal application.
- Social Security Number or official document explaining your lack of one.
- Current drivers license.
- Renewal fee.
Drivers older than the age of 75 will be subject to vision screening. If you take a completed Class D and M Vision Screening Certificate to the RMV, you will not need to take a vision test.
Non US Citizen
The process of drivers license renewal in MA is virtually the same for non-citizens. If you are a non-citizen (a person who was not born in the United States or fully naturalized), you will need to provide proof that you are in the country legally before renewing drivers license in MA. You can do this by providing the MA RMV office with the following:
- I-94 card or number.
- Official passport.
- Refugee documents.
Take the documents above, along with your current license and completed application, to your nearest RMV location. Once your identity and lawful residency are verified, you can renew drivers license.
Out-Of-State Military Renewal
There is no need to immediately renew drivers license in Massachusetts if you are a member of the armed forces. Members of the military are allowed to renew their licenses up to 60 days after they are honorably discharged. This rule does not apply to military dependents, and if necessary, active service members can renew drivers license online and by mail.
Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online
Veterans may renew drivers license online in Massachusetts if they are out of state or stationed overseas. This drivers license renewal method is the fastest, and those who renew online will need to pay a fee of $50. The system will prompt you to enter details about your drivers license and Massachusetts address, and when you are finished, you will receive a plastic license in the mail a few days later. The online renewal system will only accept payments made with credit or debit cards.
Out-Of-State Military: Renewal By Mail
You can renew your driver license in MA by mail if you prefer. To do this, simply send the following to the Registry of Motor Vehicles in Boston:
- Complete Class D, M, or D/M License and ID Card Application.
- Drivers license renewal fee payment (make check or money order payable to the "Massachusetts Department of Transportation").
- Copy of your military identification.
Once the RMV receives your application, you will receive a non-photo temporary drivers license to use until you return to your home state.
Drivers License Extensions
If you need to renew your expired drivers license in Massachusetts, you will not be able to apply for an extension. Members of the military can renew drivers license up to 60 days after they are honorably discharged, but all other Massachusetts residents will need to renew before their licenses' official expiration date, even if they are outside of the state at the time.