How to Renew Your Drivers License in Idaho
State motorists are required to complete a drivers license renewal in Idaho before their credentials expire. Depending on your age, you may have to renew your driver’s license after different periods of time. Furthermore, certain licensed residents may need to pass a vision screening, complete a skills test and/or undergo a medical examination before being able to renew. Thus, it is important to understand all of the drivers license renewal requirements before you start this process.
It is important to note that an ID DMV license renewal is different from the process of replacing a lost or damaged driving credential. If you have an expired drivers license or your credential is reaching its expiration date, you will need to file a renewal request in person or by mail. To learn more about the application process for both methods, read the sections below.
Eligibility for Drivers License Renewal in Idaho
Note: You can locate the expiration date of your Idaho driving credential on the front of your driver’s license card.
As a general rule, you must meet certain requirements before renewing a driver’s license in Idaho. These requirements include the fact that you must hold a state-issued license that is within 25 months of its expiration date.
Moreover, despite the fact that you can renew a DMV license at any age as long as you have a credential to drive, the length of time that your license will be renewed for will vary depending on your age.
Instances When You Cannot Renew Your Drivers License in Idaho
There are certain situations in which a drivers license renewal in ID cannot be completed. These circumstances include:
- Your driver’s license is still valid for more than 25 months.
- It has been more than 25 months since your expired driver’s license reached its expiration date. Consequently, you will need to retake a written knowledge test and a road skills test and apply for a new Idaho license.
- If your license has been suspended, you cannot renew it. Instead, you must reinstate your credential.
How early can you renew your drivers license in Idaho?
In Idaho, you are able to renew a driver’s license within a set time period before and after the credential expires. Therefore, you can renew your license:
- 25 months before its expiration date.
- 25 months after its expiration date.
Knowing when you can visit a drivers license office to request a renewal is important in order to avoid any penalties.
Idaho DMV License Renewal Options
The option to renew a drivers license online is not a valid method in Idaho. Instead, you must renew it in person or by mail. To learn more about what you need to renew your drivers license through these methods, continue reading the following sections.
How to Renew Your Driving License by Mail
You are eligible to renew your driving credential by mail if you receive an Idaho drivers license renewal notice that states that you are eligible for this procedure. Typically, in order to qualify for the mail-in procedure, you must be between 21 and 69 years of age, as well as a citizen or permanent resident in the U.S. On the other hand, REAL ID credentials are not offered if you are renewing your driver’s license via the mail. If you wish to obtain a REAL ID-compliant card, you must request a license renewal in person. If you qualify for this mail-in process, be mindful of the following steps:
- Complete the drivers license renewal form that was sent to you in the mail.
- Send copies of any required documentation.
- Provide payment for the renewal fee.
After you send your complete ID DMV license renewal package by mail, you will receive a renewed credential in the mail. Once you receive your new license, you must destroy the old one.
How to Renew Your Drivers License in Person
If you are wondering, “Where can I renew my Idaho drivers license in person?” Be mindful that you may visit any local DMV office in the state. When completing an in-person renewal, you must:
- Fill out the proper renewal application form.
- Provide your expiring or expired driver license.
- Pass a vision test (and any other required testing).
- Provide an acceptable payment method for the driving license renewal fee.
Military & Out of State Renewal in Idaho
If you are wondering how to renew an Idaho drivers license if you are currently out of state, you have the option to apply for a license extension, which will either extend the validity of your driving credential for one or four years. Overall, this extension will give you time to complete a renewal procedure once you are back in ID.
Many active duty military service members wonder how to renew a drivers license when they are sent to a different state or country. In general, you can apply for a license extension for up to four years if you are an active U.S. military service member or an immediate family member to one. As a general rule, license extensions for military service members expire within 60 days from the date of a discharge/separation/retirement from active duty, or on the expiration date on the extension card, whichever comes first.
If you are not a military service member but find yourself residing outside of Idaho temporarily, you may qualify for a one-year extension in order to renew your driver’s license at a later date.
Idaho REAL ID Drivers License Renewal
When you complete your ID driving license renewal, you must decide if you want to obtain a REAL ID-compliant card, which is also known as a STAR ID in the state. In general, this type of credential will be required for you to board a domestic flight in the U.S. using a driver’s license starting in 2020.
To apply for this card, you must provide acceptable documentation that proves your identity, date of birth, legal status in the U.S., Social Security Number (SSN) and state residency.
Idaho Drivers License Renewal Fees
It is also important to note how much it costs to renew a drivers license in Idaho. Typically, the driving license renewal fee amounts include:
- 3-year license (younger than 18 years of age): $25
- 3-year license (between 18 and 21 years of age): $25
- 1-year license (20 years of age): $15
- 4-year license (21 years of age or older): $30
- 8-year license (between 21 and 62 years of age): $55