Idaho DUIs and DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Disobeying state DUI laws will result in severe consequences which may vary based on the driver’s age and the number of DUIs a driver has previously been charged with. Receiving harsh drunk driving charges in Idaho may require drivers to hire a DUI lawyer to help them minimize their penalty and prison sentences.
Find out more about DUIs in Idaho and what you should do if you are ever charged with a DUI by reading the sections below.
DUI Citations and Convictions in Idaho
An Idaho DUI ticket will be issued to drivers who are pulled over by a police officer and found to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If a driver is convicted of the crime, he or she will receive harsh penalties depending on whether the offense is considered as a felony or a misdemeanor.
When a DUI violation endangers public safety and causes death or body injury to another individual, it is considered as a criminal offense. In such situations, drivers are highly encouraged to hire an Idaho DUI defense attorney to defend them in court and minimize the severity of their charges.
Idaho DUI Violations and Penalties
Idaho DUI consequences may vary depending on a motorist’s age, the level of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or the number of drunk driving charges on their driving records. The severity of DUI penalties will also depend on any prior DUI offenses that a driver has committed.
First DUI Offense
Committing your first DUI in Idaho will bring you various penalties, such as:
- Traffic fines of up to $1,000.
- Prison sentences of six months.
- A mandatory driver’s license suspension of 90 to 180 days.
Moreover, drivers who are younger than 21 years of age will get a driver’s license suspension for a period of one year. In addition, drivers who commit a DUI violation for the first time will have no driving privileges for the first 30 days.
Second DUI Offense
A second DUI in Idaho will result in a driving fine of up to $2,000 and mandatory imprisonment from 10 days to one year. However, drivers who are younger than 21 years of age will be sentenced to 30 days in prison. Additionally, the DUI penalties in Idaho also include a driver’s license suspension for a period of one year, or a period of two years for drivers younger than 21 years of age.
Note: Drivers who face a second DUI in ID and have a suspended driver’s license for a period of one year will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles.
Third DUI Offense
Drivers who commit a third DUI in Idaho will be sentenced to jail time from 30 days to 10 years, need to pay a driving fine of up to $5,000 and have a driver’s license suspension from one to five years. However, the penalties for drivers younger than 21 years of age are different.
Minors will get a prison sentence of 10 days to six months, a traffic fine of up to $2,000 and a mandatory one-year driver’s license suspension. A third DUI conviction in Idaho is considered a felony, therefore drivers are encouraged to hire an experienced DUI lawyer to help them minimize their charges and win the case in court.
Note: Committing a third DUI in ID will require drivers to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles after a one year mandatory driver’s license suspension.
Idaho DUI Attorneys
A drunk driving attorney in Idaho is a legal representative who has experience with state DUI laws and procedures. This type of defense attorney is necessary when drivers are faced with severe consequences as a result of committing DUI offenses.
Motorists are encouraged to hire a DUI lawyer in order to help them reduce their charges. Prior to hiring an Idaho lawyer, drivers need to conduct background checks on several attorneys and choose the best one.
Open Container Laws in Idaho
Idaho DUI laws prohibit drivers from transporting or drinking from open alcoholic beverage containers while operating a motor vehicle. Disobeying the Open Container Law will result in fines and other consequences. However, drivers are allowed to transport unsealed alcoholic containers in the vehicle’s trunk, or behind the last seat if there is no trunk in the vehicle.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Idaho
Drivers with a suspended license may apply for a reinstatement after satisfying a set of requirements. The steps in the restoration procedure may vary depending on the motorist’s specific situation. When dealing with a driver’s license suspension due to a DUI charge, motorists may be required to complete the following steps:
- Complete the suspension period.
- Pay the reinstatement fees.
- Spend time in jail.
- Pay court fines.
- Install an ignition interlock device (IID).
- Enroll in traffic school, if required by your jurisdiction.
- File SR-22 insurance.
Idaho Alcohol Awareness Classes
Drivers who have committed DUI offenses in Idaho may be required to complete a traffic school course as part of the driver’s license reinstatement process. Motorists must attend DUI classes and participate in substance abuse treatment meetings and attend group sessions. Note that the requirements for a DUI course in Idaho may vary based on your jurisdiction.
SR-22 Insurance in Idaho
Drivers are required to provide proof of advanced insurance after a DUI, which is better known as SR-22 insurance. Filing an SR-22 form is a liability statement which certifies that a driver is in compliance with state and DMV laws that require full auto insurance coverage after a driver commits a DUI.
Drivers who are charged with a DUI in Idaho need to file an SR-22 insurance form for three years as part of the requirements for reinstating their license.
Idaho Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
Idaho DUI laws limit the amount of alcohol allowed in a driver’s blood system when operating a motor vehicle. The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is set to 0.08 percent for drivers older than 21 years of age, 0.02 percent for those younger than 21 years of age and 0.04 percent for commercial drivers.
Motorists may also get charged with a DUI if they fail or refuse to submit to a BAC test. According to the Implied Consent Law, drivers are required to submit to a BAC test when requested by a law enforcement official.
Idaho Hardship License
Drivers who have a suspended license may apply for a hardship license while waiting for their suspension period to conclude. This restricted license allows motorists to drive to and from school, work and medical institutions while their license is suspended.
Drivers who are charged with a DUI must satisfy certain requirements in order to apply for hardship licenses. To learn what these requirements are based on your specific case, contact the Idaho DMV closest to you.