Kansas DUIs and DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Kansas DUIs and DWIs may be penalized with large fines, license suspensions and even imprisonment. These penalties are handled by state courts and the Division of Vehicles, which is overseen by the Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR). Motorists may incur serious DUI charges if they are found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level higher than the legal limit. Drivers will also be in violation of KS DUI laws if they refuse to submit to a chemical testing to determine their BAC level. Because a license suspension is common in these situations, motorists will need to reinstate their license before they are able to legally drive on state roads and highways. Find out more about how to deal with drunk driving charges in Kansas in the following sections.
DUI Citations and Convictions in Kansas
Motorists who are pulled over by a police officer for driving under the influence may receive a traffic ticket, which will lead to more serious consequences. Both the state and the local court will deal out penalties if you are found guilty of committing a DUI. Court-imposed DUI consequences in Kansas are typically harsher than those governed by the state DOR. Therefore, if you have been caught driving under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants and fail to resolve your case in court with a positive outcome, be prepared for the possibility of paying steep fines and serving a jail sentence in addition to other penalties.
Kansas DUI Violations and Penalties
If you have failed to stay in accordance with Kansas drunk driving laws, then you will incur tough punishments. These penalties generally depend on your BAC levels at the time of your arrest, your age and whether or not your driving record shows prior DUI convictions. Though you may be charged with a DUI for driving with a BAC of .08 percent (if you are 21 years of age or older), you can also face penalties for a BAC lower than that, as any amount of alcohol in your system may impair your ability to drive safely. Below you will find the consequences for being found guilty of a DUI in Kansas.
First DUI Offense
If you have been arrested upon committing a DUI violation in Kansas for the first time and the presiding court finds you guilty, the following penalties may apply:
- A fine ranging from $750 to $1,000, plus additional drunk driving fines and costs
- A minimum 48-hour jail sentence or 100-hours of community service
- A driving license suspension
In addition to the aforementioned penalties, you will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This device prevents a motor vehicle from starting if the amount of alcohol on your breath exceeds the permitted levels.
Second and Subsequent DUI Offenses
Drivers convicted of a second DUI or drivers with several offenses on their driving transcript may be subject to even tougher penalties in the form of longer jail sentences, larger fines and extended suspension periods. The purpose of such severe DUI consequences is to deter repeat offenders from drinking while operating a vehicle and prevent them from committing similar offenses in the future.
Note: A one-year driver’s license suspension may also be imposed on drivers who violate the Implied Consent Law by refusing to submit to a chemical testing for the first time. Subsequent offenses of this type may be penalized with longer suspension periods.
Kansas DUI Attorneys
If you are still wondering what happens if you get a DUI in Kansas, hire an experienced lawyer to better understand the charges brought against you and the applicable penalties. A drunk driving attorney will be able to help you prepare a strong court defense and advise you on how to plead. By relying on a DUI lawyer with expertise in drunk driving infractions, your chances of winning your case greatly increase, as he or she will be able to advise you on the best course of action based on the circumstances surrounding your offense. Before obtaining the services of a lawyer in KS, however, it is best to inspect the credentials of several candidates to ensure you hire the one who is best acquainted with local and state DUI rules and regulations.
Kansas Open Container Laws
Under Kansas impaired driving law, motorists are also prohibited from possessing and transporting open containers of alcohol. Your license will be suspended for a certain period of time if you are found in violation of Kansas open container laws, and you will need to pay for any traffic tickets you may receive.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Kansas
Reinstating a suspended driver’s license is mandatory for drivers who wish to restore their legal driving privileges. In general, motorists with a suspended license will be able to resume their driving activities after completing the imposed suspension period and arranging payment for the allotted fees. KS DUI and DWI offenders may also need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) and satisfy other reinstatement requirements.
Note: When contacting a local branch of the KS DOR, remember to verify whether or not you need to submit proof of future financial responsibility so as to finalize the restoration process.
Kansas Alcohol Awareness Classes
Most U.S. states require drivers convicted of drunk driving to enroll in DUI classes, also referred to as alcohol treatment programs. The purpose of these courses is to help motorists become more aware of the detrimental effects of alcohol on safe driving habits, in order to deter them from committing DUI violations in the future. To find out whether state agencies require drivers to complete a KS DUI course, contact a DOR Division of Vehicle branch. Another way of learning more about the role of alcohol and drugs in car accidents is by participating in a traffic school course. Remember to make sure that whichever course you choose to take has been approved by the state.
Kansas Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
Under the Zero Tolerance DUI law in Kansas, it is illegal for drivers younger than 21 years of age to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .02 percent or higher. Drivers 21 years of age and older, on the other hand, will be in violation of KS drunk driving laws for driving with a BAC of .08 percent or more. Drivers can also lose their driving credential and incur other penalties for refusing to submit to an alcohol concentration test when asked by a law enforcement officer.
Hardship License in Kansas
If you have been convicted of a Kansas DUI offense and are completing a mandatory suspension period, you may still be able to apply for a restricted license that limits your driving to specific locations. Drivers looking to obtain this credential after being charged with a DUI, however, must first make sure they meet the eligibility criteria. For example, the installation of an IID, as well as the completion of a portion of the suspension period are usually required. For more information on the specific requirements that apply to your case, contact a local DOR branch.