Colorado DUIs and DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Drivers may receive severe DUI charges in Colorado when driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Penalties for drunk driving may vary depending on the traffic offenses committed and on the specific laws that apply to each violation.
Drunk driving charges in Colorado may bring you serious consequences, such as: demerit points on your driving record, driver’s license suspensions or revocations, high driving fines or imprisonment. Find out what happens if you get a DUI in Colorado by thoroughly reading the sections below.
DUI Citations and Convictions in Colorado
Motorists will get charged with a DUI in Colorado and receive a DWI ticket from a law enforcement officer if they are caught driving a motor vehicle under the influence. A DUI violation may be considered as a simple misdemeanor, however committing several DUI offenses that endanger public safety may be regarded as a felony. If convicted, these charges can incur severe consequences.
Colorado DUI Violations and Penalties
Colorado DUI penalties may vary depending on the severity of the offense and on the number of offenses a driver has previously committed. Motorists may face a driving while ability impaired (DWAI) charge for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.05 percent.
However, a higher BAC level than 0.08 percent will also result in DUI penalties. Note that the more CO DUI offenses you commit, the more severe your penalties will become.
First DUI Offense
When motorists get drunk driving charges for the first time, they will face certain penalties. The first DWAI offense may result in the least severe penalties. Drivers will receive:
- Eight demerit points on their license.
- Traffic fines ranging from $200 to $500.
- Jail time from two to 180 days.
- Public service requirements for a period of 24 to 48 hours.
However, a more severe first DUI offense may result in a driver’s license suspension for a period of nine months, a fine of $600 up to $1,000 and imprisonment between five days.
Drivers are encouraged to hire a DUI lawyer immediately after being charged with their first DWAI or DUI in order to prevent any increase to their charges or penalties.
Second DUI Offense
A second DUI in Colorado will bring motorists higher driving fines and more severe charges. Particularly, drivers who commit a second DWAI or DUI violation will get a driver’s license revoked for a period of one year, traffic fines that range between $600 and $1,500, jail time from 10 days to one year and mandatory public service requirements of 48 to 120 hours.
Third DUI Offense
Committing a third DWAI or DUI offense in Colorado will bring you the harshest penalties. Therefore, a third DUI or any subsequent offense will get your driving privileges revoked for two years, a driving fine ranging from $600 to $1,500 and a prison sentence from 60 days to one year.
Colorado DUI Attorneys
A Colorado DUI defense attorney is needed when drivers face serious charges for driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The impaired driving attorney is a legal representative who specializes in citation laws and court procedures. Motorists need to hire the best DUI lawyer for their specific case in order to minimize their sentence.
Hiring a DUI Attorney in Colorado
Creating the best defense against your DUI charges may require you to conduct background checks on all potential attorneys that may represent you in court. A DUI attorney will help you deal with serious consequences that come as a result of criminal charges for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
You may hire a CO DUI lawyer when you want to reduce the penalties against you or when you want to win a case in court.
Open Container Laws in Colorado
Motorists will get DUI penalties for both driving under the influence and for driving a motor vehicle with an open alcoholic beverage present. Whether or not the driver’s BAC is over the legal limit, he or she will receive a traffic citation for driving with an open alcoholic beverage in the vehicle. If the driver is found to be intoxicated, he or she will face even further penalties.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Colorado
A drivers license suspension in Colorado may be issued to drivers who have disobeyed state laws by operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Reinstating a suspended license may demand that you complete several reinstatement steps as well as satisfy court requirements such as traffic school attendance.
Colorado Alcohol Awareness Classes
Drivers who are charged with DUI in Colorado may or may not be required to complete an alcohol awareness class. For instance, in some situations drivers may be mandated by a state court to enroll in an alcohol education and treatment program, while in less severe cases this may not be mandatory.
SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
Obtaining an SR-22 insurance after a DUI is needed when you want to reinstate your driving privileges in Colorado. However, the SR-22 is not considered an insurance policy, but only a proof of current liability insurance. The SR-22 file only helps traffic offenders prove that they are in compliance with state insurance statutes that apply to all DUI offenders.
Colorado Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
The Colorado DUI laws were created for the purpose of setting a limit to motorists who are drinking while driving a motor vehicle. For instance, the Express Content Law requires drivers to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test when requested by a police officer. Severe DUI penalties will be given to drivers who fail or refuse to take the BAC test. In addition, DUI charges will be added to a driver’s record when motorists drive with a BAC level over the allowed 0.08 percent.
Colorado Hardship License
DWI convictions in Colorado will revoke driver’s licenses for a certain amount of time. However, motorists may be able to apply for a hardship license that will allow them to operate motor vehicles in situations when they need to travel to work or school. The hardship license in Colorado is also knows as a probationary driver license (PDL) or a “red license”.
Note: Commercial drivers cannot apply for a hardship license in Colorado.