The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues non-driver identification cards to State residents who don't have a valid ID card, driver license or instruction permit from the State or any other jurisdiction. The ID card can be used to prove your identity, age, and residence in a variety of situations. The identification card is valid for five years.
APPLYING FOR A COLORADO ID CARD
- Locate the nearest Driver's License Office, as you will have to apply for the ID card in person. You cannot apply online.
- Bring proof of identification. You will be required to prove your name, age, identity and legal presence.
Applicants under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
- You must also provide your social security number (SSN). If you have never been issued a SSN, you will have to show documents which confirm that you have are not eligible and have never been issued a Social Security Number.
- Pay the ID card application fee, currently $10.50, in cash, personal check or money orders for the exact amount only. Traveler's checks amounting to $50 or less than $50 will also be accepted. Credit cards, third-party checks and payroll checks will not be accepted. There is no fee for those 60 years of age and older.
- You must also surrender any valid driver license or instruction permit issued by the state of Colorado or any other jurisdiction.
RENEWING A COLORADO ID CARD
Those below 21years of age, who hold Colorado ID cards, must renew their cards on their 21st birthday. Those above 21 years must renew their ID cards once every 5 years on their birthday.
The Colorado ID card can be, under certain eligibility conditions, renewed by mail
. Among other conditions, you also need to possess a clear driving record and must be 21-61 years of age for applying here. Mail renewal is possible only every other renewal period. For more details on renewal by mail click here
. Renewal by the Internet is not available currently.
To renew your ID card in person, visit the nearest Driver's License Office
REPLACING A LOST, STOLEN, OR DESTROYED ID CARD
Colorado laws no longer allow for the issuance of duplicate licenses under certain conditions. Contact your local Driver's License Office
to verify your eligibility for replacement. If you are not eligible, you will have to renew your ID card.
If you are eligible to apply for a duplicate ID card,
- Locate the nearest Driver's License Office.
- Bring proper identification. You are required to provide one piece of ID.
- If you are outside Colorado, a duplicate license can be issued for $7.50 for the first time after issuing the original ID card. Subsequent duplicates will be charged $14.00 each. Cash, personal checks or money orders will be accepted only for the exact amount. Traveler's checks amounting to $50 or less will also be accepted. Credit cards, third-party checks and payroll checks will not be accepted.
- If your name has changed, you must contact the nearest Driver's License Office and supply documents for proof of identification. You will have to purchase another ID card.
- Former State residents moving back to Colorado may be eligible to apply for a renewal or replacement ID card, depending on the validity of their original identification card.
- See also Applying for a New License.
- See also Change of Address.