A Nebraska state ID serves as valid proof of a resident’s age, identity and address. In the state, a resident may purchase an identification credential from the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), regardless of his or her age. While an ID card does not provide a Nebraska resident with driving privileges, a cardholder may use this credential as proof of his or her age and identity. Unlike a driver’s license, however, an identification credential displays a brown header color, while a standard driving license contains a blue header, to identify it as such.

After purchasing an identification card, a customer receives a 30-day interim document that may be used until his or her permanent credential arrives in the mail. After the DMV verifies the applicant’s identity, the Department will mail the permanent credential to the cardholder within 20 days. To learn more about applying for an identification credential, review the information below.

Nebraska DMV ID Requirements

As part of the Nebraska DMV state ID requirements, nearly any qualifying applicant may apply for a non-driver identification credential, as long as the customer can present proof of his or her eligibility to do so. For instance, an applicant must reside in Nebraska, and he or she must present two proofs of state residency as part of the application process.

Moreover, under the ID card requirements in Nebraska, a resident cannot hold an identification credential and a driver’s license at the same time. Per the Nebraska Revised Statute 60-484, however, a holder of a Class O operator’s license may choose to convert his or her license to an identification credential.

What do you need to get an ID in Nebraska?

“What do you need to get a state ID in Nebraska?” is a commonly asked question amongst DMV customers. When obtaining a non-driver identification credential, all customers must provide valid proof of their identity, Social Security Number (SSN) and state residency. Additionally, all first-time Nebraska DMV applicants must present proof of their U.S. citizenship status. After presenting these documents, customers will not need to provide proof of citizenship during future visits to the DMV, unless they are not U.S. citizens. In situations such as these, customers must present proof of their lawful status during each trip to the DMV.

There are several documents needed for state ID eligibility. These include:

  • One proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful status. This document must contain the applicant’s identity, name and birthdate, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, a valid U.S. passport, or an unexpired Permanent Resident card. Additionally, an applicant may present proof of lawful status andS.-based identity.
  • Proof of name change. If the state ID applicant’s legal name has changed, and no longer matches the information on the above documents, the customer must also present proof of the name change, such as a marriage or divorce certificate. As an exception, a customer may use a petition of name change if he or she presents proof of lawful status in the U.S. as evidence of identity.
  • Two proofs of Nebraska residence. As evidence of residing in Nebraska, a customer must provide two different proofs of his or her current residential address, such as a valid vehicle registration card, an auto insurance policy, a bank statement, a magazine or a paystub. However, the documents required for state ID eligibility may be under a parent’s or guardian’s address, if the applicant is younger than 21 years of age.
  • A Social Security Number, or SSN. To meet this requirement, any state ID card applicant may present a Social Security card, 1099 or W-2 form, or a paystub that includes his or her name and SSN. If a customer cannot provide his or her SSN, however, the applicant must be able to present a valid Record of Arrival and Departure in his or her valid foreign passport.
  • Payment for the DMV ID card fee. Accepted payment methods may include cash, checks or credit cards. However, some DMV locations cannot accept checks or credit cards. Since accepted payment methods vary, an applicant may wish to contact his or her local Driver’s Licensing Office before visiting.

How to Get an ID in Nebraska

While knowing where to get state ID credentials may not be obvious, it is important to note that Nebraska residents must apply for an identification credential in person, at a local DMV driver’s licensing office. Other application methods are not available in the state at this time.

During their visits, customers must also submit a New, Renewal and Replacements Permit, Class O, Class M and State ID Card Data Form. When completing this application, customers must provide the following information:

  • Name, date of birth and SSN
  • Current residential and mailing address, if the two are not the same
  • County number, gender, height, weight, race, eye and hair color

Additionally, when they go to apply for ID, applicants must certify whether they are U.S. citizens or lawful residents. On their applications, customers may also choose to register to vote, add a veteran designation to their credentials and/or register as organ donors.

To find a Driver’s Licensing Office that processes applications such as these, customers may refer to the map on the Nebraska DMV’s website, or they may search for locations by county to obtain a list of offices in their areas.

REAL ID Cards in Nebraska

A Nebraska REAL ID card displays a gold star in its upper, right corner, as proof of its compliance with federal identification standards under the REAL ID Act of 2005. After October 1, 2020, anyone who wishes to board commercial aircrafts or enter certain federal facilities must present a REAL ID-compliant identification credential, or another type of acceptable document, such as a passport book or card.

If residents wish to apply for REAL ID credentials in Nebraska, they simply need to purchase a standard card through the DMV. Anyone who qualifies for a non-driver identification credential in the state automatically receives a REAL ID-compliant card.

How to Renew or Replace a State ID in Nebraska

To replace a lost ID card in NE, or to obtain a duplicate credential after the original sustains damage, customers may submit a request online, under the DMV’s website, or in person at a driver licensing office. However, Nebraska residents may only apply for a duplicate credential online if they have not used this method to apply for more than two replacements within the previous five years.

In addition to ordering a replacement ID card, Nebraska residents may renew their identification credentials online or in person, at a driver licensing location. However, customers may only renew online if their named have not changed since the issuance of their last identification credentials.

If replacing or renewing an identification credential in person, customers must also complete an application. Known as the New, Renewal and Replacements State ID Card Data Form, customers must submit this application, along with proof of identification and payment for the applicable fee.

DMV ID Costs in Nebraska

Generally, fees for am ID card in Nebraska vary by credential type, and the validation period of the card. For instance, common fees include the following:

  • The cost of purchasing a five-year identification credential is $26.50
  • To obtain a four-year identification credential for applicants who are younger than 21 years of age, the fee is $26.50
  • To obtain an ID credential with a validation period of at least three years, but no more than four years, the cost is $21.50
  • To obtain an ID credential with a validation period of at least two years, but no more than three years, the cost is $16.50
  • To obtain an ID credential that remains valid for at least one year, but no more than two years, the cost is $50
  • To purchase an ID card with a validation period of one year or less, the fee is $7.50
  • The cost of replacing an identification credential is $13.50

With all identification card transactions, customers must pay an additional security surcharge of $2.50. However, the amount of the surcharge is included in the abovementioned fees.

Note: While NE state ID applicants typically need to purchase five-year identification credentials in Nebraska, their cards may remain valid for less than five year under certian circumstances. For instance, applicants may need to renew their ID sooner if they will turn 21 years of age in less than five years or they need to provide the DMV with a USCIS document that will expire before the end of the card’s validation period. In this case, the identification credential will expire when their USCIS documentation does.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 5 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!