How to Change Your Name on Your Drivers License in Nebraska
A Nebraska drivers license name change is required after motorists in the state alter their legal name. Drivers can encounter many life changes that necessitate a DMV name change on their driving records and credentials as well as other government documents. However, the DMV requires applicants to show another proof of the modification to obtain an updated license or identification card. Therefore, a state-issued credential cannot be the first document to initiate a name change.
You can easily change name on driving license documents after receiving a new Social Security card. Continue reading the sections below to learn more about how to change name on drivers license cards in Nebraska including the fees involved and the time to allow for processing.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Name on Your Nebraska Drivers License
Most often, a name change on drivers license documents happens after a marriage or a divorce. Many brides initiate a change of name on driving license cards after taking on their spouse’s last name. It is becoming increasingly common for new husbands to take on their wife’s last name, and some couples choose to create a new name that combines both surnames. Whatever legal name is reflected on the marriage license needs to match the name used on your Social Security and DMV driving records.
Changing your name on driving license documents is the same after a divorce when many couples choose to revert back to their original surname. Other reasons to request a change of name on driving license documents include adoption, transgender name changes and taking on a new name for professional or religious reasons. Whether the legal name change is due to marriage, divorce, adoption or another reason, Nebraska drivers must request documents to reflect the accurate new name.
Nebraska Drivers License Name Change Time Limits
Changing name on drivers license records in Nebraska should take place as soon as possible. State statute requires drivers to have their correct current name displayed on their drivers license, driving permit or state ID card at all times. The law allows a 60-day grace period for changing your name on your driving license after a marriage, divorce or other legal name change.
The NE DMV does not issue fines or other penalties if you fail to meet the 60-day deadline. However, you can receive a citation if you are pulled over by law enforcement and the officer discovers that the information on your driver’s license is incorrect.
How to Change Your Name With the Social Security Administration
Motorists who need to change name on NE driving licenses should first submit a name change request with the Social Security Administration (SSA). This must be done in person or by mail, and the service is free. The SSA will need to see documents that link together the two names associated with the name change as well as a photo ID to prove your identity.
In some cases, to initiate a drivers license name change or an SSA name change, you may need to show proof of your current U.S. citizenship or lawful noncitizen status. All applicants must complete and print an application for a Social Security card and submit it to the SSA along with supporting documents. You may submit these by mail or in person at your local SSA office.
To prove your current identity, the SSA will need to see your current license, state-issued photo ID card or a U.S. passport. In some cases, you may use an employee or student photo ID card, a health insurance card or a military ID instead. As when changing your name on a driving license, you must submit the document that shows your new name, such as a marriage certificate, divorce or adoption decree, certificate of naturalization or a court-ordered name change.
Online Drivers License Name Changes
State law requires Nebraska drivers license name change applicants to present one form of valid U.S. identification, such as a corrected Social Security card, before obtaining a replacement drivers license with a different name. DMV name changes are not provided online because the DMV cannot provide identity verification electronically.
How to Change Your Name on Your Drivers License in Person
A drivers license name change in Nebraska may only be initiated in person at a DMV office. This is because you must surrender the license bearing your old name and submit original documents to prove your new name and identity, and these cannot be done by mail. To obtain an NE name change on drivers license cards, go to any driver license office in Nebraska with the following:
- Proof of identification, usually your current NE drivers license, permit or state ID card
- Certified original document proving the name change, such as a marriage license, divorce decree or court order
- Two proofs of address, such as a valid NE vehicle registration card, pay stub, bank statement, real estate tax statement or a mortgage, lease or rental agreement
- A form of payment for the replacement card fee
You will complete a data form at the drivers license office and, if necessary, prove that you meet the NE DMV’s vision and medical requirements to drive. Upon completing the DMV name change forms and paying the fee, you will be issued a 30-day receipt that gives you driving privileges until your replacement license arrives in the mail, usually within 14 business days.
Nebraska DMV Name Change Fees
A Nebraska drivers license name change costs for driver’s license replacement varies by the type of credentials requested. However, the fee for obtaining a duplicate license after a name change is typically $13.50 in the case of a standard driving credential.
- Name Change from Nebraska.gov