How to Replace Your Drivers License in Nebraska
If you have a stolen or lost drivers license in Nebraska, then it is important to replace it through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as soon as you realize the document is missing. Most drivers will replace drivers license documents at some point because it is easy to misplace or damage your license unintentionally, and theft is always a possibility for purses, wallets and their contents.
Nebraska offers replacement drivers license services online and in person, and out-of-state drivers can request documentation by mail if needed while living in another location. Prompt acquisition of a new card protects you from receiving a traffic ticket if a law enforcement officer stops you. In addition, you can avoid the stress of living day-to-day without your primary form of photo ID on hand. Study the information below to learn how to replace drivers license documentation in Nebraska.
When is a replacement drivers license required in Nebraska?
You must get a drivers license replacement any time you lose or damage your card because it is illegal to drive in Nebraska without a valid driving credential. You should replace drivers licenses that are worn, bent or damaged to the point that any part of the content is illegible. However, missing and damaged credentials are not the only time when you will need to obtain a replacement. Nebraska drivers are responsible for maintaining credentials that display a realistic photo and up-to-date personal information.
Another reason for replacing drivers license documentation occurs after you have drastically changed your appearance, such as through weight loss or gain or undergoing a gender transition. Additionally, you should get a new copy of drivers license credentials if you have changed important information on the card. As such, you will need to complete a name or address correction on drivers license if such alterations occur.
How to Replace Your Drivers License Online in Nebraska
Nebraska offers services to obtain a drivers license copy online through the NE DMV’s website but not everyone will qualify to use it. To order a DMV duplicate license online, you must be a U.S. citizen and meet the following considerations:
- You must hold a Class O car license or a Class M motorcycle license
- Your name must not have changed since your last license was issued
- Your physical description must not have changed significantly, as your photo on file will be used on your new license
- You must not have required more than two replacements within the past five years, as you are only permitted one online request every 10 years
- You are not older than 72 years of age
Once you have determined that you meet the qualifications to obtain a replace lost drivers license online, you may log into the system and begin your application. You will need to provide a valid e-mail address and phone number and have a major credit card or your checking account information on hand to process your online fee payment.
If you want to change your address while ordering your drivers license copy online, then you must provide a bank statement or other proof of address from the DMV’s list of acceptable documents. You will need to follow the prompts and pay the fees for your new duplicate drivers license, which should arrive by mail within 20 days of submitting your application.
How to Replace Your Drivers License by Mail in Nebraska
Although you may get copy of drivers license documentation in NE by mail, this option is reserved only for those who temporarily reside outside of the state as described below. In-state applicants must use the online or in-person options for license replacement.
How to Replace Your Nebraska Drivers License in Person
If you are wondering, “Where can I get a copy of my drivers license in person?” simply visit one of the local NE DMV licensing offices and file your application. For a Nebraska replacement drivers license, submit the following:
- A completed application for a replacement
- One proof of identification from the DMV’s list of acceptable ID documents that include your name and date of birth
- Two proofs of address documents from the list the DMV provides if your address has changed
- Duplicate drivers license fee payment
- Proof that you meet DMV vision or medical requirements if applicable
After the clerk processes your replacement drivers license request, he or she will issue a 30-day receipt that can be used for driving privileges while you wait for your plastic license card to arrive by mail. Usually, your drivers license copy will arrive within 14 business days. If it has not arrived within 20 days, then call the DMV.
Out-of-State Drivers License Replacement in Nebraska
Mail-in drivers license replacement is available to those temporarily living out-of-state when a license loss or damage occurs. You will need to complete a special out-of-state form and submit it along with your fee payment, one form of ID verification and two documents proving your Nebraska home address. You should contact the home office in Lincoln before mailing your duplicate drivers license request if information on your credential has changed.
Nebraska Drivers License Replacement Fees
The standard NE DMV duplicate license replacement fee of $11 can vary depending on the replacement method you choose. Whether you get a drivers license copy online or in person, you will pay an additional security charge of $2.50. Online transactions also incur a small vendor’s fee to help pay for online services. If you plan on renewing your drivers license, then you will also need to cover the cost for the renewal.
- Replacement License, Permit and State ID Cards from dmv.nebraska.gov
- Driver's License (Class O) from dmv.nebraska.gov