In order to get a replacement Oklahoma drivers license, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to obtain a replacement Oklahoma drivers license. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Oklahoma residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at an Oklahoma DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Replace An Oklahoma Drivers License
Residents can apply for an Oklahoma drivers license replacement at any local OK DMV office. Before replacing drivers licenses, drivers are advised to first file a report with law enforcement authorities. To complete the replacement process, the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (OK DPS) requires drivers to submit certain documentation, as well as payment for the OK DMV duplicate license fee. Continue reading the sections below for further information about how to replace drivers licenses.
How to Report A Lost Or Stolen OK Driver's License
A lost or stolen drivers license in Oklahoma may make you a victim to identity theft or fraud. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (OK DPS) advises motorists to file a report of their lost or stolen credentials at a nearby law enforcement agency. Residents who report the loss or theft of their driver's licenses will receive an official report of the incident. Once you have this report in hand, visit your local DMV office to continue the proper steps of getting a duplicate drivers license in OK.
Replacing Your Oklahoma Driver's License
Oklahoma drivers can replace their drivers licenses only in person at a local DMV branch. When visiting an OK DPS office for a drivers license replacement, make sure to gather the following documentation with you.
- Provide one primary form of identification:
- Birth certificate.
- U.S. passport.
- ID card.
- OK driver's license.
- Citizenship naturalization documents.
- Alien registration card.
- Provide one secondary form of identification:
- Any primary form of identification.
- Out-of-state driver's license.
- OK driver's license.
- Photo ID card.
- Affidavit signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- Pay the required $20 OK DMV duplicate license fee.
Out-of-State License Replacement
Drivers who are temporarily out of the state can replace their drivers licenses by mail, as long as their driver's licenses are not expired. In addition to information pertaining to your date of birth and full name, you will also be required to submit:
- Your residential address and out-of-state address.
- Two proofs of identity.
- A check or money order for the $20 replacement fee.
- A self-addressed and stamped envelope.
Mail the aforementioned items to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (OK DPS). Your replacement drivers license will be sent to the out-of-state mailing address you have provided.
Note: The drivers license replacement process for those who are out of state is similar for military members who are on active duty. If you are a military member, contact the OK for specifics about replacing your drivers license.