How to Apply for a New Drivers License in Oklahoma
New drivers licenses cannot be obtained online or by mail. Instead, you must apply for a new license in person at a local DMV. While there, you must pass a vision screening, a written exam and a skills test. To make sure that you are prepared, download our informative online drivers license guide. Our guide contains everything you need to know to complete this application easily and quickly. In it, you will get in-depth details on how to complete other important licensing transactions, such as updating personal information on your license, renewing your license and replacing a lost one.
2. In Person at the DMV
To obtain a new drivers license at the DMV, you must submit identification documents and pass mandatory tests. A birth certificate or passport can verify your name and age, and a utility bill can prove your state residency. Generally, you must pass a written knowledge exam and a road skills test. You must also fill out a drivers license application form and pay the applicable fees. However, you may not know which forms to complete or if you are already eligible to take your exams. Arriving at the DMV unprepared may result in long wait times and potential mistakes, which could mean having to redo the process.
A drivers license is required by anyone who plans on operating a motor vehicle in the state of Oklahoma. Often referred to as a DMV license, drivers can request their OK license from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) at locations around the state. In order to be eligible to receive a license in Oklahoma, drivers must be able to legally identify themselves and pass the requisite state driving and knowledge exams demonstrating the capability to safely operate a vehicle.
The process of applying for a DMV drivers license is different for adults 18 years of age and older and for minors from 15 and a half years and up in Oklahoma. While adults can petition the DPS at any point once they feel able of passing the eligibility requirements, minors must pass a state-certified driving course before they can be found eligible to take the state driving and knowledge exams. Keep reading to learn everything needed to apply for a license to drive in Oklahoma.
How to Apply for a Drivers License in Oklahoma as an Adult (18 or Older)
According to the DPS, the application procedure to receive a new drivers license for adults who are 18 years of age or older is relatively straightforward. In short, adults drivers must gather a couple valid identification documents and prepare to pass the state driving and knowledge exams in order to receive the license. Adults coming to Oklahoma from another state are required to order a new license, but do not usually have to retake the state’s exams.
Whether a driver chooses to request the appointment for a drivers license online or by visiting a walk-in agency, he or she will be required to meet the same eligibility requirements. The process of how to get a drivers license in Oklahoma is only relevant for individuals planning on staying in the state for more than a short period of time. If a driver plans on remaining just a month, for example, he or she does not need to request a new license. All other drivers staying significant periods of time are required to apply for an OK license. All applicants for a license should be able to demonstrate legal presence in the US and, if applicable, residency in the state.
Documents Required to Obtain an Oklahoma Drivers License
Beyond these age and residency obligations, drivers license requirements in Oklahoma state that all applicants must be able to show two forms of valid identification – primary and secondary – at the time of application. Where to get a drivers license in Oklahoma depends on where the applying driver lives and does not affect eligibility requirements. All applying drivers should prepare their Social Security Number (SSN), which is required on the application. Acceptable forms of primary identification include:
- An Oklahoma drivers license, originally issued by the DPS on or after November 1, 2007
- A State of Oklahoma Identification Card, originally issued by the DPS on or after November 1, 2007
- A certified birth certificate, exactly as issued by the appropriate state agency in the state where the birth took place. The birth certificate must include the certificate number, driver’s name, date of birth and sex and be signed and sealed. A hospital birth certificate or record, a birth registration or an abstract of birth are NOT acceptable forms of primary identification.
- A United States passport, valid and unexpired.
- A certification issued by the United States Department of State for US citizens born abroad.
- A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service for naturalized citizens.
- A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service for anyone born abroad and adopted as a minor child by a US citizen parent.
What do you need to get your license in addition to one of the primary identification documents listed above? To apply for a drivers license in Oklahoma, one of the following secondary forms of ID must also be provided by the applicant:
- Any primary proof of identification listed above, which is not being used as the applicant’s primary ID for a driving license application (U.S. citizens)
- Social Security Number (SNN) card
- Out-of-state drivers license
- Photo identification card issued by one of the following:
- Oklahoma public, private or parochial secondary school
- Oklahoma institution of higher education or technology center school
- Oklahoma employer
- Gun permit
- lifetime hunting or fishing license
- Voter identification card
- Motor vehicle registration or title
- Deed or title to property in Oklahoma, including a burial plot deed
Steps to Obtain a New Drivers License in Oklahoma as an Adult
Once an adult driver has met the above mentioned requirements, he or she must look into the drivers license services offering driving and knowledge exams in their area. Specific drivers license information about opening hours and vehicle requirements is available from the agency that will be providing the exams. When submitting the application, drivers in Oklahoma can expect to take a vision test, a written knowledge test and a driving skills test. To prove an applicant’s drivers license eligibility and apply for a license, OK drivers can take the following steps:
- Prepare acceptable forms of primary and secondary identification, as outlined previously. If taking the driving skills test, you must also provide valid and current proof of auto liability insurance for the vehicle you will be using during the exam.
- Locate your nearest DPS location that accepts license applications. If possible, make an appointment for the knowledge and vision test online. For the skills test, familiarize yourself with the opening office hours of your chosen location and make a plan to go.
- Prepare the drivers license cost that must accompany the application packet for it to be processed correctly.
- Head to your appointment. Expect to take the knowledge test and vision test together. You may have to make a second appointment for the skills test. Drivers can choose to forgo the skills test and receive a Learner’s Permit, if desired.
- Take the road skills test.
- If you pass, get permission to drive in Oklahoma.
Getting an Oklahoma Drivers License as a New Resident
All drivers who are already have a DMV license and move to the state of Oklahoma from another state or country are required to apply for a new OK license. The process to transfer a DMV drivers license is not as involved as the procedure to get a new license for the first time. In fact, drivers transferring their license are not obligated to retake the knowledge or driving skills exams to receive their OK documents if they can trade in a valid, unexpired license from another state or a license expired for less than six months. Drivers in this group can receive a license by taking the following steps:
- Prepare acceptable forms of primary and secondary identification, as outlined previously.
- Locate your nearest DPS location that accepts license applications. If possible, make an appointment for the vision test online.
- Head to your appointment with all necessary documents. Take the vision test.
- If the application package is complete and you passed the vision exam, the DPS Examiner will issue you a form.
- Prepare the drivers license cost.
- Take the form, your identifying documents and your previous drivers license to a nearby tag agency to print your new OK license. Here you will pay the necessary processing fee.
How to Apply for a Drivers License in Oklahoma as a Teen (Younger Than 18)
Teen drivers are able to get a new driving license in Oklahoma if they pass through the graduated licensing system set up by the OK DPS. To In this system, teens can expect to receive three different DMV licenses:
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate License
- Unrestricted License
Young drivers applying for a DMV license in Oklahoma have to meet the same basic requirements as adults, but they also must show that they have the express permission of their parents or guardians to drive. The legal age to get a license in Oklahoma is 16 years of age, though teens as young as 15 and a half can apply for a learner’s permit. In addition to the basic drivers license requirements that apply to both teens and adults, young drivers must provide documentation of the following:
- Proof of enrollment in school or graduation from high school
- Proof of parental consent
Teens drivers applying for a drivers license in Oklahoma should seriously consider signing up for a state certified driver’s education program. An OK learner’s permit cannot be requested without having completed an applicable education program. The course can help drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age meet the necessary driving experience requirements to apply for a provisional license.
How to get a drivers license for teen drivers in Oklahoma is extremely similar to how adult drivers must request a license. Interested young drivers must gather the necessary documentation, study for the knowledge exam and present themselves with a parent or guardian to their nearest licensing office to submit the application.
At that point, the DMV license applicant will have his or her vision test as well. After the teen has had his or her learner’s permit for at least six months and completed over 50 hours of on the road training, he or she can submit a request for a provisional license. The driver will have to pass a road skills exam to receive a provisional license. An unrestricted license can only be requested by adults 18 years of age or older.
Oklahoma Drivers License Costs
Applicants for a DMV drivers license in Oklahoma are required to pay both an application fee and a license fee. How much a drivers license costs depends on its class. Most drivers request a Class A license in Oklahoma, carrying a $25 application fee and a $56.50 license fee. Further questions about fees should be directed to the OK DPS.