Oklahoma Boater Registrations
“What do you need to register a boat in Oklahoma?” is a common question many boaters may ask themselves. Oklahoma boat registration instructions state that most outboard motors powered by more than 10 horsepower are required to be registered and titled in the state of OK.
Boat registrations are renewed annually, with fees being paid to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. To learn more about the requirements for registration, including renewal policies and who must obtain boating safety education, continue reading the sections below.
Requirements for Boater Registration in Oklahoma
Although the legal requirements to register a boat in Oklahoma are the same across the state, the process itself can be handled differently between counties. Instructions for registration are best obtained in person at your local motor vehicle tag agency. The agent will provide an OK boat registration form and walk you through the process, as the steps can vary slightly by location.
If you have moved, it can be helpful to ask questions about renewal and replacement registration when registering in your new location. Regardless of where you obtain your boat registration, you must carry current registration on you at all times while operating boats in OK waters.
Exemptions From Boat Registration and Titling in Oklahoma
Common boat registration exemptions in OK include a canoe and a paddleboat. According to Oklahoma law, a canoe, defined as a light, narrow boat with sharp ends and propelled by paddles, similar to a kayak, does not need to be registered.
The list of which boats are exempt from registration in Oklahoma also includes paddleboats, which are defined as boats measuring less than 8’ and designed to be propelled solely by human capability via gears, chains or belts. Other boats that do not require registration and titling in Oklahoma include the following:
- Life boats
- Race cars
- Boats with a certificate of title issued in another state or country
Oklahoma Boat Insurance
Boat insurance quotes in Oklahoma are available from insurance providers, though OK does not require boaters to maintain insurance. Holding boater safety certification can allow access to certain discounted boat insurance rates in Oklahoma, so always ask about safe boater discounts when calling for an insurance policy quote.
Some companies that offer auto insurance may offer boat coverage and bundle the policies together for cheaper prices, so purchasers should make sure to explore all coverage options. Coverage can be beneficial to boaters in the event of an accident, theft or storm damage. Boat insurance companies in Oklahoma offer a variety of boat insurance options to boaters ranging from liability to full coverage.
Oklahoma Boat Registration Fees
Boat registration fees in Oklahoma are based on the original price of the boat and its age. When asking “How much does it cost to register a boat in Oklahoma?” you should be aware that these fees are rounded to the next dollar and max out at $151. The following example can help explain the process.
Example: Manufacturer’s original retail price (MORP) of $150 or less will incur a statutory registration fee of $3.25. If the MORP is greater than $150, for the first year, the boat registration cost in Oklahoma will be $2.25 + $1 for every $100 of the price or any fraction of the price. For the second year through the tenth year, the statutory fee of $2.25 will apply, plus 90% of the previous year’s fee. For the eleventh year and every year thereafter, the fee will be the $2.25 + 90% of the 10th-year fee.
Note: At the time of application, you choose whether to pay boat registration fees in OK for one or three years. Also, active duty military personnel qualify to receive a special annual boat registration fee of just $17, by submitting a completed US Armed Forces Affidavit.
Renewing Your Oklahoma Boat Registration
When learning how to renew your boat registration in Oklahoma, you should know that you can be notified via mail or email. Opting for an email notification to renew boat registration online in Oklahoma is free, while receiving notice by mail will cost you postage. For boat owners who do not need to be reminded when to renew boat registration online, renewal notification can be turned off.
Your renewal policy selection should be communicated by mouth or written on the renewal notice upon remittance of fees and renewal application. Boaters may complete renewal via the state’s CARS online renewal system during June, July and August. After August, late fees apply.
Replacing Your Oklahoma Boat Registration
To replace a boat registration in Oklahoma, visit a local tag agency in person and request a copy of Form 797-D, Affidavit for Replacement License Plate/Decal Annual Boat/Outboard Motor Decal. The process for registration replacement also requires that you provide your current driver’s license and pay the $3.75 replacement fee.
Alternatively, boaters can replace a boat registration online via OK’s online services portal, CARS. To complete a boat registration replacement in Oklahoma by mail, simply print Form 797-D and mail the completed form and a check or money order to cover the fee to the address printed on the form.
Boater Safety Courses in Oklahoma
A boater safety course in Oklahoma is required if a boater is aged 12 to 16 in order to operate a boat on state waters. An Oklahoma boating safety course must be successfully completed or an equivalency exam passed.
Taking an official safety course will allow boaters in this age bracket to operate a boat. However, they must be still be accompanied by someone aged 18 or older. Although older boaters are not required to take a safety course, it is a good idea for anyone who regularly pilots a vessel.
Oklahoma Boater License
A boater license is not a requirement to operate boats in Oklahoma waters, unlike a drivers license for motor vehicle operation. A boating license in OK is actually a boating safety education card that proves education courses in boat safety have been taken. This license, or certification card, is only required if the boat operator is between the ages 12 and 16.