How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Oklahoma
OK residents must apply for learner permit in Oklahoma if they want to operate a motor vehicle before they are old enough to get a regular driver’s license. A DMV learners permit is issued through the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (OK DPS) after applicants satisfy certain eligibility criteria. Furthermore, minor drivers will also be mandated to meet additional requirements as part of the application procedure, such as passing the necessary exams, providing the required documents and paying the applicable fees.
Motorists who are getting learners permit in Oklahoma will be required to obey the imposed state rules and restrictions after obtaining the driving credential. Disobeying rules and restrictions put on permits may lead to possible penalties, which may prevent motorists to operate their vehicles. To discover more information about the application requirements and about how to apply for a learners permit in Oklahoma, continue reading the following sections.
Oklahoma Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
Prior to applying for a learners permit in Oklahoma, applicants will be required to satisfy certain eligibility criteria that will allow them to qualify for the driving credential. Primarily, to apply for a learners permit, motorists must have at least 15 and a half years of age.
After satisfying the age criteria, minor applicants must visit a driver license examiner office where they are supposed to take and pass the written and vision tests. In addition, drivers will also have to satisfy the permit requirements such as providing the mandatory paperwork and payment for the applicable fees.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Oklahoma
OK residents may apply for learner permit in Oklahoma after they satisfy the imposed eligibility criteria and requirements. If applicants are wondering how and where to get learners permit, they must appear at a driver license examination branch where the examiner is supposed to process the application. Once in front of a driver license examiner, motorists will have to complete the following steps:
- Take and pass a vision exam.
- Take and pass a written exam.
- Provide the following documents:
- Primary ID.
- Secondary ID.
- Social Security Number (SSN).
- Submit proof of enrollment in a driver’s education course, if younger than 16 years of age.
- Provide proof of legal name change, if applicable.
- Have a parent or legal guardian present, if younger than 18 years of age.
- Submit payment for the applicable fees at a tag agency.
Applicants for a learners permit in Oklahoma who are between 15 and a half and 16 years of age must provide additional documents that prove that they are enrolled in a driver’s education course, because it is a requirement for individuals younger than 16 years of age. As proof of enrollment, motorists may provide a certificate or a green card from a driver’s ed public school, as well as a contract for driver’s education from a commercial school, or an affidavit from a parent-taught driver’s education.
When individuals who are younger than 18 years of age are getting learners permit in OK, they will be mandated to provide proofs of current enrollment or attendance in a secondary or a vocational-technical school and that they have passed the referenced reading test (school letter) required for eighth-grade students.
The Oklahoma Drivers Permit Test
The Oklahoma DMV permit test is one of the requirements that applicants must satisfy in order to obtain a credential for learning how to operate a motor vehicle. The drivers permit test is created for the sole purpose to examine the applicant’s knowledge or traffic rules and road signs before issuing to them a permit for driving.
The learners permit test consists of questions on traffic signs and laws taken from sections from the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual. Therefore, motorists who want to get successful results are encouraged to study the driver’s manual thoroughly before taking the test.
In addition to studying the manual, drivers can take practice tests to prepare for their driving exams. Oklahoma DMV practice permit test provides motorists with the possibility to check their knowledge before taking an OK DPS written test. Moreover, practice tests contain similar questions to the ones that applicants will have to answer on the actual exam day.
Those questions also focus on OK traffic signs and state laws. Taking the OK learners permit practice test several times may also increase the applicant’s chances of getting a passing score on the actual test.
Oklahoma Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
After motorists obtain a learners permit in Oklahoma, they will be required to obey certain rules and restrictions that pertain to their new driving credential. The driving permit rules are determined based on the applicants’ age.
For instance, minor drivers who are younger than 18 years of age must hold a learning license for six months from the issue date. However, if the applicants are older than 18 years of age, then they will have to hold the credential for at least 30 days before applying for a standard driver’s license.
In addition to the learners permit rules, the OK DPS has also determined the corresponding restrictions for residents who have obtained a learner’s driving credential. For instance, minor drivers are not allowed to operate their vehicles without the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.
Moreover, the permit driving hours are determined to be from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m., during which hours the drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver and supervisor. For further information, contact an OK DPS representative.
Oklahoma Learner Permit Fees
The following are the learner’s permit fees that will need to be paid at the end of the application process:
- Application fee – $4
- Retest fee for each attempt to pass a written test – $4