How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Oregon
Minor residents may often wonder how to apply for a learners permit in Oregon when they want to operate a motor vehicle on public roads before being eligible for a standard driver’s license. The Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (OR DMV) of the state Department of Transportation (DOT) issues a learners permit to individuals who are at least 15 years of age and who satisfy the eligibility criteria for beginning this procedure.
As part of the OR drivers permit application procedure, applicants will have to complete the imposed requirements, such as: passing written and vision tests, submitting a mandatory documentation, and paying the applicable fees. Moreover, after getting learners permit, drivers will also have to obey certain rules and restrictions in order to keep their driving credential and to proceed to the next stage in the licensing system. Therefore, to discover more information about how and where to get learners permit in Oregon, continue reviewing the sections below.
Oregon Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
To be eligible to apply for learner permit in Oregon, applicants must be at least 15 years of age at the time of the application. Moreover, motorists will also need to prepare the mandatory documentation that they will have to submit to the OR DMV.
In addition, the OR DMV has determined other drivers permit requirements, which differ from the eligibility criteria. The requirements for an OR learners permit include taking and passing a written knowledge test, preparing proofs of address, legal presence or identity, as well as preparing payment for the applicable permit and test fees.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Oregon
Minor residents must apply for learner permit in Oregon when they want to get driving privileges to operate a motor vehicle on public roads before reaching 18 years of age. The Oregon DOT issues provisional instruction permits to individuals who are 15, 16 or 17 years of age. In order to perform an application procedure for getting learners permit, applicants must complete the following steps:
- Review the Oregon Driver’s Manual.
- Complete an Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card (form 735-173).
- Have a parent or legal guardian to sign the application form.
- Submit the application form to a local OR DOT office.
- Provide proof of physical address and proof of legal presence or identity.
- Provide proof of school enrollment, for teen applicants.
- Take and pass a vision test.
- Take and pass a knowledge test.
- Submit payment for the applicable fees.
- Have their photograph taken.
After completing the above-listed steps for getting learners permit in Oregon, applicants will receive an interim card that may be used as proof of the gained driving privileges. The instruction permit will be sent to the applicants’ addresses that they had written on the application forms.
The Oregon Drivers Permit Test
Part of the requirements for getting learners permit in Oregon is to take and pass a Class C knowledge test. Applicants must complete and pass a permit test in order to get a learning permit for driving a motor vehicle. The official DMV permit test contains 35 multiple-choice questions about traffic laws, state regulations and road signs. Motorists may get prepared for the written exam by studying thoroughly the Oregon Driver’s Manual, because the questions are taken from it.
The test is given on a touch screen computer and is available in the following languages: English, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese and Arabic. Applicants will not be required to schedule an appointment with the DMV in order to take the test. However, they are encouraged to go at the driver examination office more than one hour before closing. While taking the OR drivers permit test, applicants are not allowed to use phones, electronic devices, notes or books.
Moreover, they are also prohibited to talk, cheat or be accompanied by another person who is not a translator. Applicants who are caught cheating will be disqualified and prohibited from taking the test in the following 90 days.
Motorists are encouraged to prepare themselves by taking a drivers permit practice test that may be used for checking their own knowledge prior to taking the actual exam. The DMV practice permit test contains similar questions to the ones that applicants must answer on the exam day.
Note: Applicants who fail the test will have to wait for one day if it is the first, second or third attempt. However, when motorists experience a fourth or subsequent failure, they will have to wait for 28 days.
Oregon Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
After getting learners permit in Oregon, motorists will have to obey certain rules and restrictions that apply to holders of driving permits. Applicants for a Class C instruction permit must learn the rules that allow or prohibit operating a motor vehicle in specific situations. For instance, those with a DMV learners permit are allowed to operate their vehicle only when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and who is seated in the passenger seat.
Moreover, the supervising driver must hold a driver’s license for at least three years. Both the driver and the passengers are not allowed to use a mobile communication device or hands-free accessories while the vehicle is operated.
To discover whether the OR DMV has determined certain learning permit driving hours, applicants may contact a DMV representative. Furthermore, the Oregon learners permit rules and restrictions may vary based on the type of credential that is issued to the motorist.
Oregon Learner Permit Fees
When applying for a permit, new drivers should know that there will be a learners permit fee for their new credential. Motorists will have to pay the following:
- Learner permit fee – $23.50
- Class C knowledge test – $5 (for each attempt)
Oregon Drivers Permit Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Get an Instruction Permit - Under 18 from Oregon.gov
- Learn to Drive from Oregon.gov
- Getting an Instruction Permit - Over 18 from Oregon.gov