How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Kentucky
Getting a learners permit in Kentucky is a necessary step for first-time drivers younger than 18 years of age. Kentucky has enacted Graduated Driver Licensing laws that require applicants to follow certain steps in order to achieve a regular driver license. Obtaining a drivers permit is the first step of the program, therefore, if you are interested in getting your license it is crucial that you understand the process for getting a permit. Being prepared by understanding what documents you need to bring and what you need to do in order to get the learning license can help you to get your permit in no time.
Keep in mind that you must be eligible to get a DDL learners permit and a few of the most important requirements are that you are at least 16 years of age and that you are a resident of the state of Kentucky. When you go to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s Division of Driver Licensing (DDL) office you must bring several important documents with you and you must also pass the required tests. Then, once you have been provided with your learning license, you can use that to practice driving a car and eventually earn your driver’s license.
Did you know? Taking one of our online practice driving tests will make you 5x more likely to pass the Kentucky TC drivers test.
Kentucky Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
To get a drivers learners permit, you must first prove that you are eligible to hold a permit.
The drivers permit requirements that you must meet include:
- Being at least 16 years of age.
- Being a Kentucky resident.
- Passing a vision screening.
- Passing a written knowledge test.
- Being able to provide necessary identification documents.
- Being able to provide a School Compliance Verification Form if you are younger than 18 years of age.
- Having parental approval if you are younger than 18 years of age.
As long as you are able to meet those eligibility requirements and you can provide all of the necessary forms and documents, you can successfully apply for a permit in Kentucky. Make sure that you have everything that you need with you before you visit the DDL office so that you are completely prepared when you arrive.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Kentucky
Knowing how to apply for a learners permit is crucial before you start the application process. There are quite a few documents that you must bring with you to the DDL and you may have a few additional requirements that you must meet if you are younger than 18 years of age. However, getting a learners permit is not an overly complicated process, especially if you arrive at the DDL prepared.
As mentioned above, the DDL is where to get a learners permit in the state of Kentucky. There are various locations throughout the state, so make sure that you choose the office that is most convenient for you to get to. Unfortunately, if you are wondering how to get your driving permit online, you must understand that there are no online options available for applying for a permit. Everything must be done in-person.
To apply for a learner permit you have to complete a series of steps. These steps include the following:
- Visit your local Kentucky DDL office.
- Complete the application for permit form.
- Have a parent/guardian sign the application form if you are younger than 18 years of age.
- Provide your Social Security card. It must not be laminated.
- Provide an original or certified copy of your birth certificate.
- Provide a School Compliance Verification Form if you are younger than 18 years of age.
- Pass the vision screening.
- Pass the knowledge test.
- Pay the applicable permit fees.
The Kentucky Drivers Permit Test
Along with taking a vision test, you will also need to complete a DDL permit test as well. This test will be required at the time of your permit application and it will be provided to you at the DDL office.
The learners permit test, also referred to as the written knowledge test, will contain questions regarding driving rules, regulations, procedures and highway signs. All of the information included in the test can be found in the Kentucky Driver Manual. If you are wondering what to bring to the permit test, you must note that you cannot use the Driver Manual when you are taking the exam. Also any necessary materials for the exam will be provided to you by the DDL, although it is likely not anything is needed because it is an online drivers permit test.
It is crucial that you study for the exam before you take it because you need to score at least an 80% or higher in order to pass. One beneficial resource for studying for the exam is to take a DDL practice permit test. If you use both the driving manual and a practice test to study, you can greatly increase your chances of passing the test on your first attempt.
Kentucky Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
There are driving permit rules that must be followed when you get your permit. These learners permit rules include knowing who can you drive with a permit and what hours you are allowed to operate a motor vehicle if you are driving with a permit. Understand what these restrictions are before you start driving so that you are completely aware beforehand and can avoid any of the consequences from not abiding by them.
The restricted permit driving hours, which are the times that you are not allowed to drive with a permit, are between the hours of 12:00 a.m. midnight and 6:00 a.m. if you are younger than 18 years of age. However, there are exceptions to this rule if you are able to provide a good cause for driving, such as an emergency or going to work or school-related activities.
You may only drive with a permit if you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older who is sitting in the front passenger seat. Also, you cannot drive more than one unrelated person younger than 20 years of age if you are younger than 18, except when accompanied by a driver training instructor.
If you are wondering, “How long does a learner’s permit last?” the answer is that your permit will be valid until 30 days after your birth date.
Kentucky Learner Permit Fees
There is a DDL permit cost that you must pay when you wish to obtain a permit. The price is as follows:
- Instruction Permit Fee: $12.00