How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Pennsylvania
A learning license in Pennsylvania is a type of driving credential that residents who are younger than 18 years of age must obtain before they are eligible to apply for a full license. Overall, the state Department of Transportation (PennDOT) issues a junior learners permit to applicants who are at least 16 years of age.
The PA DMV learners permit application process requires first-time motorists to satisfy a set of eligibility criteria and requirements such as providing a list of mandatory documents, passing tests and paying for the applicable fees. Moreover, after getting a learners permit in the state, drivers will have to obey certain rules and restrictions that apply to their specific situation, which is determined by their age. To discover more information about how to apply for a learners permit in Pennsylvania, continue reading the following sections.
Pennsylvania Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
To become eligible for getting a learners permit in Pennsylvania, residents need to first satisfy certain criteria determined by the PennDOT. For instance, motorists who wish to obtain a DOT learners permit must:
- Be 16 years of age or older.
- Have never before been licensed to operate a motor vehicle.
First-time motorists who satisfy these drivers permit requirements in PA will be issued the corresponding permit for driving. In general, these permits will be valid for one year.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Pennsylvania
When PA residents want to apply for learner permit in Pennsylvania, they must first satisfy the eligibility criteria and then begin with the corresponding application procedure. Minor applicants for a learners permit must visit a local PennDOT office and satisfy the imposed requirements. To begin the application procedure, applicants must complete the following requirements:
- Be at least 16 years of age.
- Complete a Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (form DL-180).
- Provide a completed Parent or Guardian Consent Form (form DL-180TD) signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- Submit proof of identity and date of birth.
- Provide a document that verifies a Social Security Number (SSN).
- Submit two proofs of state residency, if older than 18 years of age.
- Take and pass a knowledge test.
- Undergo a vision screening.
- Provide payment for the applicable fees.
The Pennsylvania Drivers Permit Test
One of the Pennsylvania drivers permit requirements that applicants younger than 18 years of age need to satisfy is to pass a written knowledge test. In general, the DMV permit test focuses on examining the applicant’s knowledge of state laws, road rules and traffic signs.
When preparing for a learners permit test in PA, motorists are encouraged to study the state driver’s manual thoroughly. In general, the questions asked on the official test will be based off of the information contained in this handbook.
Before taking a drivers permit test, first-time motorists may also prepare by practicing their knowledge. To do so, applicants can take a practice permit test that contains similar questions to those that applicants will have to answer on the actual exam. Therefore, motorists are encouraged to practice their knowledge by using these tests before taking the official written knowledge test at a local PennDOT branch.
Pennsylvania Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
After getting a learners permit in Pennsylvania, drivers will be required to obey certain rules and restrictions that apply to the permit they have been issued. The PennDOT determines these driving permit rules according to the permit that they pertain to. General learners permit restrictions include:
- Motorists can only drive when accompanied and supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.
- The supervisor may be a parent, legal guardian or spouse who is at least 18 years of age and has a license.
- The supervisor must be seated in the passenger seat next to the permit holder at all times.
Motorists who have obtained a learners permit in PA and who have satisfied the above-listed restrictions may continue with the procedure to apply for a full driving credential. After receiving the drivers permit, applicants will have to complete 65 hours of driving behind the wheel, with at least 10 of those hours taking place at night and five of those hours under bad weather.
After these requirements are met, a drivers permit holder will qualify to take the PennDOT road skills test.
Pennsylvania Learner Permit Fees
Submitting payment for the applicable learner permit fee in Pennsylvania is the final step of this application procedure. As a general rule, the cost for an initial permit and four-year license is $35.50.
Pennsylvania Drivers Permit Forms
- Non-Commercial Learners Permit Application (form DL-180)
- Parent or Guardian Consent Form (form DL-180TD)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Get a Drivers License from PA.gov