Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Pennsylvania
Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
Enrolling in a Pennsylvania drivers education program is not a requirement according to state law. However, first-time motorists will be required to reach a particular number of hours practicing their driving. Regardless of whether it is administered online or in person, a drivers ed class can be a great way to get ready for your permit test and even get in a few hours of state-approved practice behind the wheel.
A Pennsylvania drivers ed online program is typically best-suited for young residents who have a busy schedule in school. Thus, this selection allows students to find drivers ed classes that meet their needs and fit their schedules. To learn more about the importance of enrolling in a driver’s education course and about the requirements to attend these classes, read the sections below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Pennsylvania?
Teen driving school is required for Pennsylvania drivers who are younger than 18 years of age. Moreover, these motorists are required to complete 65 hours of adult-supervised driving. This requirement must be completed over six months, including 10 hours of driving at night and 5 hours of driving under bad weather. Some of the reasons why taking a driver education course is important include:
- A drivers ed course is taught by professionals.
- Most parents have limited personal time to teach their children how to drive.
- Sometimes, driving with parents makes learning more stressful.
- It has been a long time since most parents were required to memorize the traffic laws in the state.
- Various auto insurance providers offer discounts for teens who completed drivers ed programs.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Pennsylvania
There are several types of approved drivers ed schools in Pennsylvania. Students can complete a class through:
- School districts.
- Charter schools.
- Non-public schools.
- Intermediate units.
- Area vocational-technical schools.
- Private driver training schools.
- Community colleges.
- Correspondence courses.
- Online driver’s education programs.
Some of these courses may be easier to enroll in than others. For example, because there is limited space in classrooms, students may face a wait period. However, most private training schools have a surplus of space. In addition, online classes are always open to more students.
Pennsylvania Online Drivers Ed vs. In-Person Courses
An online drivers ed course is often the most convenient way to fulfill the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) requirements. However, certain students may prefer interaction in classroom spaces. Below are some of the benefits when comparing classroom-based driver’s ed programs and online courses.
|Traditional Drivers Ed||Online Drivers Ed|
|Instructor-supervised driving||More affordable|
|Scheduled classes||Flexible timeframes|
|Will take up your weekend||Can be completed whenever you want|
|Graded drivers ed tests||Unlimited test attempts, including grades|
What will you learn in a Pennsylvania drivers ed school?
A teen drivers ed course in Pennsylvania teaches students about traffic rules and prepares them to get their learners permits in the state. All approved courses cover state driving laws, road signs, driving under bad weather, safe driving habits and how to share the road in a safe way. Programs such as DriversEd.com cover even more topics. For instance, this provider has an entire course segment that covers peer pressure while on the road.
Overall, the curriculum details will be different at each drivers ed school. Additionally, the methods of instruction will vary. As an example, a classroom-based program will be primarily taught by an instructor, whereas an online course may contain digital simulations and interactive exercises.
Pennsylvania Drivers Education Requirements
Drivers education school is not required in Pennsylvania. However, motorists who are younger than 18 years of age are required to have 65 hours of driving time in order to apply for a permit to drive.
With that said, many drivers who are 18 years of age or older are still interested in adult drivers ed in PA due to the fact that they must pass the written and knowledge test in the state. In that case, going through drivers ed online classes may help them practice their knowledge and skills with virtual simulations.
Benefits of a Pennsylvania Driver Education Course
Despite the fact that enrolling in a driver education program in Pennsylvania is not required, students must still consider it for a number of reasons. For instance, drivers education classes make it easier for motorists to learn the significant amount of information contained in the PA drivers handbook. Additional benefits include:
- Greater likelihood of passing the official PennDOT exams. A student who trains at a teen drivers ed school will be better prepared for both the learners permit exam and the road skills practical test.
- Auto insurance discounts. Depending on the type of program and auto insurance provider, completing a drivers ed course can earn you an insurance discount. For example, completing a DriversEd.com class can earn certain motorists up to 10 percent off an insurance premium.
- School credit. Students will receive school credit for taking a drivers ed class at a public high school. In some cases, undergoing an online drivers ed program might earn you class credit.
How to Enroll in a Pennsylvania Driver Ed School
Once you have selected the Pennsylvania drivers education class that you would like to attend, you may enroll by contacting the school. If you attend a class at a learning institution, this may be as simple as telling your guidance counselor or academic advisor that you would like to enroll in drivers education. Moreover, signing up to online courses is just as simple. In order to get started with your DriversEd.com course, all you need is your name, email and a valid payment method for the applicable fees.
Pennsylvania DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
A drivers ed certificate of completion is offered by every course approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. As a general rule, this certificate must be presented to the state in the application for an unrestricted drivers license.
The delivery method pertaining to drivers ed certificates depends largely on each course provider. For instance, DriversEd.com mails this document for free, while other institutions may provide a digital copy. In the event that a student did not attend drivers ed, his or her parents or guardians will be required to complete certain driving verification forms.
Drivers Ed for New Pennsylvania Residents
There is no driver education program requirement upon relocation to Pennsylvania. However, it is important to note that only a valid drivers license from out of state may be transferred to PA, not a learners permit. Motorists who are older than 16 years of age may transfer a valid license without meeting any requirements. However, teen drivers who still hold a learner’s permit must apply for a Pennsylvania driving permit and satisfy the state requirements.
Pennsylvania Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
When enrolling in a Pennsylvania DMV drivers ed class, it is important to distinguish between these types of classes and traffic school. Drivers education is a set of courses available for first-time drivers that helps prepare them for a learners permit or full license. Meanwhile, a traffic school course is for current license holders who have received a traffic ticket or wish to reduce their insurance costs.
Pennsylvania Driver Education Fees
Drivers ed prices in Pennsylvania are determined by each individual course provider. While a public high school class may come free of cost to the student, private driving schools come with a cost. With that said, be mindful that online programs are typically significantly cheaper than classroom-based courses.