Attending drivers education in Tennessee is not mandatory, but an opportunity for teen drivers to learn how to become better and more responsible drivers. The Tennessee drivers ed program covers topics such as: TN traffic laws and road rules, vehicle safety, driving in hazardous situations, drug and alcohol influence over driving, traffic violations and penalties. Beginner drivers in Tennessee have the option to enroll in a drivers ed course when they are at least 15 years of age and after they obtain a learner’s permit.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
Completing a Tennessee drivers education course will bring you the following benefits:
- Get you prepared for the skills test.
- Provide you with a behind-the-wheel driving experience.
Tennessee Drivers Ed Curriculum
Drivers education classes approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety (TN DOS) will help beginner drivers become better and more responsible traffic participants. TN drivers ed covers the following topics:
- TN traffic laws and road rules.
- DUI regulations.
- Vehicle safety.
- Hazardous situations.
- Traffic violations and penalties.
The drivers education course covers both a classroom instruction at a public school or any third-party driving school and a behind-the-wheel driving experience. A first-time driver must pass both parts of the drivers ed program.
Did you know? Tennessee drivers, who have accumulated two traffic violations on their driving records while driving with their restricted driver’s license, are required to complete drivers education course, if they want to get unrestricted driver’s license.
Enrolling in Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
To enroll in a TN drivers education program, drivers need to contact their local DMV office, a public school or a third-party driving school. Teen drivers may complete a drivers ed course if they are at least 15 years of age and if they have obtained a learner’s permit. This course will help you get prepared for the skills test and will provide you with a valuable behind-the-wheel driving experience.
Online Tennessee Driver Ed vs. in Person
Tennessee drivers education courses are available both online and in person. Drivers ed classes can be taken in person at any public school or at a third-party driving school. The drivers education program consists of both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel experience. Drivers who choose to take the course via an online provider need to be present in person for the behind-the-wheel driving experience.
Cost of Drivers Ed in Tennessee
The cost of Tennessee drivers education varies, depending on the public or third-party driving school you have chosen to attend to. Contact the school of your choosing to find out the exact amount of money you have to pay.
Tennessee Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Drivers education eligibility in Tennessee depends on the age and GDL stage of the driver. Teen drivers may enroll in a drivers ed course only if they are at least 15 years of age and if they have already obtained a learner’s permit. Drivers also have to complete classroom instruction and a behind-the-wheel driving experience. The TN drivers education program will help drivers get prepared for the skills test and will provide them with practical experience of driving behind-the-wheel.
Finding a Tennessee-Approved Drivers Education Course
Drivers can find Tennessee drivers education courses by contacting the TN DOS office. Applicants can get in touch with their nearest TN DOS office or third-party providers to enroll in classes within the state.