How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Indiana
In Indiana, teens looking to obtain their drivers license may take drivers ed. Indiana’s driver education programs provide new drivers with valuable information for handling a vehicle on the road. Drivers ed courses go over everything from defensive driving techniques to Indiana laws and regulations. By completing the course, drivers lower their risk of getting into an accident.
Additionally, completing a course in Indiana could earn you a discount and enable you to obtain your license faster. The sections below describe the benefits of completing drivers ed, how to enroll, what you will learn, what you should expect to pay and more.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Indiana?
Teens who want to obtain a driver’s license as soon as possible should complete an Indiana drivers ed course. However, no one is required to complete drivers ed classes in Indiana to obtain a license. It is an optional course that teens can take to increase their chances of passing their driving exam.
Additionally, completing a drivers ed course allows a teen to obtain a learners permit or probationary license. Teens who complete the course can obtain a learners permit at 15 years of age, and a probationary license at 16. Teens who do not take a drivers ed course must wait until they are 16 years of age to apply for a learners permit.
In addition, all teen drivers must submit 50 hours of logged practice time. A drivers ed course can help teens fill out the practice log under the supervision of an instructor.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Indiana
There is one primary kind of drivers ed course available. Individual course providers may additionally offer adult educational courses to unlicensed adults interested in learning how to drive. However, those courses are not regulated by the state, and curriculums may change from provider to provider.
Indiana Online Drivers Ed vs. In-Person Courses
Students in Indiana have the option to complete drivers ed online or in a classroom. A classroom-based course may allow for more hands-on experience and more individual time with an instructor. Students must meet regularly for class at a designated time and place and complete the course together. This option may be better for students who want more personalized instruction while driving with an instructor.
On the other hand, completing an online drivers ed course like DriversEd.com’s gives a student more flexibility and freedom. Rather than meeting at a particular time and place, students can study on their own time. State law requires that students complete the course work over several days, typically at least 15 sessions. However, students can still complete the course weeks faster than an in-person course. Teen drivers are still required to log practice hours with an adult older than 21 years of age in order to pass the course.
Some Indiana school providers offer a driver education course solely focused on providing practice behind the wheel. These behind-the-wheel courses can be offered in conjunction with standard drivers ed or alone. Students who complete an online course may benefit from registering for a behind-the-wheel course.
What will you learn in an Indiana drivers ed school?
A standard Indiana teen driving school course will offer a basic introduction to driving and the rules of the road. Courses should familiarize drivers with defensive driving techniques, road signs, driving laws and more. This can include:
- Driving in various weather conditions.
- Understanding road signs and markings.
- Driving on different roads and environments.
- Avoiding obstacles on the road.
- Indiana laws regarding driving under the influence.
Indiana Drivers Education Requirements
Indiana teens must complete at least 30 hours of drivers education and six hours of behind-the-wheel practice. The 30-hour requirement should be completed over multiple sessions, so students cannot complete it in three or four days. Additionally, the six hours of driving practice must be comleted with a certified driving instructor, not a parent.
Benefits of an Indiana Driver Education Course
Completing an approved driver education course allows a teen to access a probationary license as soon as possible. Teens who complete the course can obtain a probationary license at 16 years and 90 days, rather than 16 years and 270 days. In addition, teens who complete the course may be eligible for a car insurance discount from their provider. Some providers offer discounts to those who have successfully completed an approved drivers ed course. To find out if a particular course qualifies for a discount, teens and their parents should inquire with their insurance providers.
How to Enroll in an Indiana Driver Ed School
The process for enrolling in an Indiana drivers ed course is straightforward, whether students are enrolling in an online or classroom-based course. To enroll in a classroom-based course, students should contact an approved course provider. Depending on the provider, teens may be able to enroll online or over the phone, or they may be required to register in person. Students will be asked to provide payment immediately or wait until the day of class.
To enroll in an online drivers ed course, teens should visit the website of the course provider. After creating an account and registering for a particular class, teens will be asked for payment information. Online providers like DriversEd.com typically allow students to begin the course as soon as they complete registration.
Indiana DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Teens in Indiana who complete a drivers ed course should receive a certificate of completion. The certificate affirms that the teen has completed the necessary drivers ed training. Teens who receive this drivers ed document should bring it to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) when they visit to apply for their license.
If a student requires a behind-the-wheel course component, he or she should submit the certificate of completion to the course provider. Additionally, to obtain an insurance discount, drivers should submit a copy of the certificate to their providers.
Drivers Ed for New Indiana Residents
Drivers who complete a drivers ed course in another state and relocate to Indiana may be required to complete the course again. Drivers younger than 18 years of age must have held a valid out-of-state license for at least 180 days in the previous state to be eligible for a license in Indiana. However, drivers who have completed a course may not be able to present an out-of-state course certificate as proof of sufficient education if that course is not approved by the Indiana BMV.
Indiana Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
In Indiana, there is a difference between drivers ed and traffic school, also known as the driver safety program. Drivers education courses are aimed at unlicensed, inexperienced drivers, most commonly teens and young adults. These courses are designed to introduce someone to driving. A course may go over safe driving techniques, how to drive under different conditions, what to avoid when driving, how to read road markings and more.
On the other hand, a traffic school course is aimed at licensed drivers with a history of moving violations. These courses go over topics such as:
- Bad driving habits.
- How to avoid DUIs.
- How to avoid road rage.
- How to stop risky driving behaviors.
The purpose of the course is to reduce a driver’s chances of continuing to breaking driving laws.
Indiana Driver Education Fees
Drivers ed prices in Indiana vary considerably. Online courses like DriversEd.com tend to be much cheaper than classroom-based courses. This is because classroom courses typically require much more resources, such as an instructor, a space to rent and a car for students to drive. Online drivers ed courses are typically between $25 and $100, depending on the provider.
However, students who complete an online course are still required to complete the BTW education. This can oftentimes be the most expensive part of the course. Behind the wheel lessons typically cost upwards of $300 for six hours. Classroom and behind the wheel courses can approach $400 for 30 hours of classroom lessons and six hours of behind the wheel practice.
Indiana Driver Education Course Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Driver Education from IN.gov
- Indiana Graduated Driver’s Licensing System from IN.gov
- Indiana Drivers Ed Online from DriversEd.com