How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Connecticut
Drivers ed courses in Connecticut are designed to teach participants how to be safe and responsible when operating a motor vehicle. Classes also teach students the knowledge needed to pass both the written and road exams of the driving test. In Connecticut, driver education courses are available at both commercial and secondary driving schools. Therefore, participants can choose the best method for them.
In Connecticut, you must enroll in driver’s education through a state-licensed driving school. According to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which issues driver licenses in the state, all first-time drivers younger than 18 years of age must take driver’s education. Even if it is not mandatory for you to take a driver’s ed course, you may want to consider enrolling. Not only can the course offer you beneficial financial incentives, but it will help you learn defensive driving tips and federal and state driving rules and regulations.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, you will need to complete a driver’s education course if you are younger than 18 years of age. If you are a first-time driver who is older than 18 years of age, you do not need to take a driver’s ed course. However, you will need to take an eight-hour Safe Driving Practices Course before you can apply for a state driver license. If you fail to take the appropriate course, you will not be able to apply for a Connecticut driver’s license.
Before you enroll, you must be sure that you meet the program requirements. In Connecticut, you must be at least 16 years of age to register for driver education. You must also hold a valid Connecticut learner’s permit. Lastly, minors must have consent from their parent or legal guardian.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Connecticut?
You can enroll in a driver’s ed class in Connecticut through:
- A commercial driving school.
- A state high school.
- An at-home training program.
If you choose home training, you will need to complete your training with a driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a driver license for at least four years. He or she must also be your parent, foster parent or legal guardian, or grandparent.
Regardless of the above driver education class that you choose, it is essential that you know that your parent or legal guardian must also attend a two-hour training at a commercial driving school before you can apply for a driver license. If they fail to do so, you will not be eligible to obtain a Connecticut driver license until you turn 18.
What Will You Learn in a Connecticut Drivers Ed School?
When you enroll in a teen driving school, you will learn the following:
- Basic driver safety
- Federal and state laws and regulations
- State road signs
- DUI regulations
Connecticut Drivers Education Requirements
If you enroll in driver education at a commercial driving school or high school, you will need to complete at least:
- 30 hours of classroom driving instruction
- 40 hours practice driving
Then, you can take the road test to get a Connecticut driver’s license, but only after you hold your learner’s permit for at least 120 days.
If you opt for home training, you will need to complete some combination of the following options:
- Completing the equivalent of 22 hours of classroom driving instruction.
- Attending a commercial or secondary school to complete the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices Course, which includes the two-hour parent training.
- Receiving 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving from a qualified home trainer.
Then, you can take the road test to get a Connecticut driver’s license, but only after you hold your learner’s permit for at least 180 days.
Benefits of a Connecticut Driver Education Course
Although it is mandatory to enroll in a driver’s education class in Connecticut if you are younger than 18 years old, there are many benefits for all state drivers. When you complete a driver’s ed course, you may qualify for discounts on your auto insurance. However, you should check with your insurance provider before you enroll.
How to Enroll in a Connecticut Driver Ed School
Through Connecticut’s DMV website, you can view an alphabetical list of commercial and secondary driving schools that are licensed in the state. All the classes listed offer courses in English. There is also a separate list for driving schools that offer multiple languages.
Connecticut DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Once you complete a driver’s ed course through a Connecticut licensed driving school, you will be issued a driver education certificate (form CS-1). It is crucial that you know that you must present a hard copy of the original completed CS-1 certificate at the time of your road test. Online course certificates and photocopies are not accepted.
Drivers Ed for New Connecticut Residents
If you are a new resident to Connecticut and a first-time driver older than 18 years of age, you will need to take the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices Course through a Connecticut licensed driving school before you can apply for a state driver license. If you are a new resident who is a first-time driver younger than 18 years of age, you will need to complete the full driver education course.
Connecticut Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Driver education courses are for first-time and new drivers who need to learn the rules and regulations to operate a motor vehicle in Connecticut. Traffic school is for drivers who already have a state driver’s license. Most drivers enroll in traffic school if they are issued a traffic citation or ticket. You cannot enroll in traffic school if you do not yet have a state driver license.
Connecticut Driver Education Fees
You need to know that driver’s ed fees vary in Connecticut depending on if you enroll in a commercial or secondary driving school. Before you choose a Connecticut licensed driving school, you should find the driving school that is not only the most affordable but convenient for you.
- Driver Education Certificate from CT.gov