New York Drivers Education Courses
First-time driver’s license applicants must complete an NY drivers education course once they are 16 years of age and have obtained a learner’s permit. Drivers education in New York is jointly managed by the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the State Education Department (SED). The purpose of drivers ed courses is to educate new drivers about road rules and driving techniques. Two types of drivers education courses are available in the state:
- A pre-licensing course – Valid for one year.
- A drivers ed course – Valid for two years.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
Completing an NY drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued a Pre-Licensing Course Completion Certificate or a Driver’s Ed Course Completion Certificate.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- You will receive in-depth information about road rules and safety.
Enroll in an Online Drivers Ed course today!
Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
Drivers who attend drivers ed in New York may be granted a discount on their auto insurance, depending on their insurance provider. First-time drivers usually face higher insurance premiums and can benefit greatly from a defensive driving course. Find out whether you are eligible to receive a car insurance discount for attending a defensive driving class by contacting your insurance provider and discussing your specific situation.
New York Drivers Ed Curriculum
Drivers education classes approved by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills once they have obtained an NY learner’s permit. Drivers can take drivers ed in New York upon turning 16 years of age. The NY DMV offers in-person drivers ed at any local high school. NY drivers education courses cover different topics, depending on the particular drivers ed class you take:
- A pre-licensing course – includes training in NY point system, traffic laws and road rules, defensive driving skills, driver safety and DUI regulations.
- A drivers ed course – includes 24-hour classroom training and 24-hour behind-the-wheel driving instruction.
Enrolling in Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
To enroll in drivers ed in New York, drivers can contact a local high school or college that offers drivers education programs approved by the state.
Online New York Driver Ed vs. in Person
New York’s first-time driver’s license applicants have the option to enroll in drivers ed programs in high schools or colleges throughout the state. New York offers only in-classroom drivers ed courses which cover the same material as that on the written driver’s exam, required for getting an NY learner’s permit. The pre-licensing course can be taken at any high school, college or driving school in New York, while the drivers ed course can be taken only at a high school or college.
Cost of Drivers Ed in New York
The cost of drivers ed in New York varies depending on which public or private drivers education school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact an approved school in your area.
New York Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Drivers must only abide by one requirement in order to enroll in a drivers ed course in New York. You must be a beginner driver who has just turned 16 years of age and you must have a learner’s permit in your possession.
Drivers Ed Certificates
First-time drivers who complete either a pre-licensing course or a New York drivers ed course will receive a Pre-Licensing Course Completion Certificate or a Drivers Ed Course Completion Certificate. Submit one of these documents to a local DMV office when applying for an NY driver’s license.
Finding a New York-Approved Drivers Education Course
Drivers can find New York-approved drivers education courses through the NY DMV website or by visiting an office. You can also get in touch with third-party providers for more information.