How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Idaho
Completion of an Idaho drivers education course is required for all motorist between 14-and-a-half and 16 years of age. Teens younger than 17 who are seeking their instructional permit must meet several drivers education requirements.
First, they must acquire 30 hours of classroom instruction. Both drivers ed online and in-person instruction qualify. However, new motorists must also accumulate six hours of behind-the-wheel training and six hours of observation at an approved DMV school in person. This all must be followed by 50 hours of supervised driving.
During teen driving school, students will learn not only how to drive, but also how to manage various situations on the road such as dangerous weather and other drivers. In addition, teens may be able to earn an insurance discount after completing the course.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Idaho?
Idaho drivers ed is a required course for young motorists who are younger than 17 years of age. Students can enroll as young as 14-and-a-half years of age. Motorists 17 years of age and older do not have to participate in a driver education course nor do they have to submit any proof of completion to the DMV.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Idaho
The educational portion of Idaho drivers ed classes can either be completed online or in-person. Regardless of the platform, the course is 30 hours long. Furthermore, students must attain behind-the-wheel training in person at an approved teen driving school. High schools throughout the state provide this service to students, but teens can also obtain training through a private provider.
Idaho Online Drivers Ed vs. In-Person Courses
Classroom and drivers ed online in ID offer different experiences for students. An online drivers ed course allows teens to progress at their own pace. Furthermore, there are no distractions from other students in a virtual classroom. Motorists considering online driver education can meet their education requirements on DriversEd.com. Through this site, they will receive unlimited practice tests, a mobile app to learn on-the-go and engaging educational content.
On the other hand, an in-person drivers ed class is beneficial for students who are not self-motivated. A classroom provides the needed structure and routine for such learners. Moreover, in-person driver ed courses allow new motorists to ask the instructor or their peers questions rather than having to call a customer service line.
What will you learn in an Idaho drivers ed school?
Drivers ed school in Idaho teaches teens the basics of safe vehicle operation, the licensing process and state traffic laws. Over the course of 30 hours, teen driving school instructors cover the Idaho Driver’s Manual. Some sections in the driver’s manual that the class will cover include:
- Sharing the road
- Signals and signs
- Driving conditions
- The effects of drugs and alcohol on driving
- Vehicle titling and registration
Idaho Drivers Education Requirements
Idaho drivers education is comprised of several requirements. State law mandates that motorists younger than 17 years of age must complete:
- 30 hours of driver instruction.
- Six hours of behind-the-wheel training.
- Six hours in-car observation.
- 50 hours of supervised driving.
Many Idaho drivers ed requirements do not apply to applicants who are 17 years of age and older. However, they must still submit proof of enrollment in or graduation from a recognized high school and signed parental consent. Applicants who are 18 years of age and older are not required to participate in drivers ed school nor attain parental consent. However, they must still submit many of the same documents that are required for younger drivers.
Benefits of a Idaho Driver Education Course
Through Idaho drivers ed classes, new motorists learn how to drive safely. Drivers ed school provides teens with a solid base of driving knowledge, which helps them become less likely to break traffic laws or cause accidents.
In addition, some students will be able to receive a car insurance discount for completing a driver education class. Companies usually offer a drivers education discount to students younger than 21 years of age who successfully completed all their driving requirements. However, not all insurers offer this discount and those that do may have different eligibility criteria.
How to Enroll in an Idaho Driver Ed School
To enroll in an Idaho drivers ed school, teens must first decide if they prefer an online or classroom experience. Many high schools in Idaho offer an online and classroom drivers education school option, so students can simply register at their own high school or through other local schools. However, young motorists can also choose to complete their drivers ed at an approved private driving school if no school nearby offers the program.
Idaho DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Idaho DMV drivers ed certificates are only required after students finish their driving education. Prior to enrolling in a teen driving school, students younger than 17 years of age must obtain an Idaho learner permit. This permit only allows students to drive with a licensed driver or driving instructor.
New motorists receive a drivers ed course certificate of completion after they finish 30 hours of instruction and 12 hours of professional driver training and experience. Afterwards, students must submit their proof of drivers education completion to the DMV in order to receive a supervised instruction permit. With this permit, teens can complete their requirements and accumulate the necessary 50 hours of supervised driving.
Drivers Ed for New Idaho Residents
Drivers ed in Idaho may be a requirement for certain new state residents. Any resident who moves to Idaho from another state will be required to relinquish their old state license for an Idaho license. Motorists holding a driving permit may have to complete a drivers ed course again if their previous program does not meet Idaho requirements.
To meet Idaho teen drivers ed requirements, motorists 16 years of age and younger must submit a certificate of completion to the DMV from their previous driving school. Teens whose previous driver education program does not meet Idaho driving requirements will have to register for and complete an Idaho driving program.
Idaho Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Idaho drivers ed is different from traffic school in a few ways. First, a driver education course teaches new motorists how to operate a vehicle and handle various road-related situations. These types of courses are for complete beginners and can last several days or weeks.
Unlike drivers ed classes, traffic school is for experienced drivers. It is usually mandated after a motorists receives a citation for improper driving. Furthermore, traffic school differs from drivers education classes in that it focuses on teaching defensive driving techniques instead of providing a basic overview of all driving related topics.
Idaho Driver Education Fees
Idaho drivers ed prices may vary. For instance, online courses tend to be cheaper than classroom instruction. The cost of an online drivers ed course range from $75 to $150 while in-person courses are $230 to $400. Prices may also vary depending on school district and if a motorist chooses to learn at a private institution.