How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Delaware
Drivers ed in Delaware is mandatory for all new teenage drivers who wish to obtain a driver’s license. According to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which issues driver’s licenses, driver’s education is a requirement that teenagers must meet to apply for the graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) program. If you fail to enroll in driver’s school, the state will not issue you a license.
Enrolling in driver’s education helps to prepare you for the knowledge and road exams. However, the course will also teach you how to operate a vehicle properly and how to be a safer driver. If you are older than 18 years of age, you may be wondering if you should enroll in a driver’s education course. Learn the answer to this and more below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Delaware?
In Delaware, driver’s education is mandatory for all new drivers younger than 18 years of age, and any underage individual can enroll. If you are a first-time driver who is older than 18 years of age, however, you do not need to enroll in driver’s education. Instead, you will need to get a learner’s permit and take the road test to be awarded a full driver’s license.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Delaware
In Delaware, you can enroll in a driver’s ed class through a:
- Public school
- Private school
- Home program
If you are homeschooled and not enrolled in a public or private school in Delaware, you will need to contact the DDOE or your local school district to find out where you can register for the driver’s education program.
What will you learn in a Delaware drivers ed school?
The driver’s ed test in Delaware is designed to provide high school students with the skills, motivation and attitude needed to learn the driving skills required to be a responsible driver in the state. Through the course, students will also learn:
- How to operate a vehicle.
- Defensive driving skills.
- DUI regulations.
- Federal and state traffic laws.
Delaware Drivers Education Requirements
The Delaware Driver’s Education program consists of 44 hours of classroom instruction, in-car observation and behind-the-wheel training. Specifically, the program is divided into a minimum of:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction.
- Seven hours of in-car and behind-the-wheel instruction.
- Seven hours of in-car observation.
Once you complete the course, you can move forward with obtaining your GDL. If you fail the course, you will need to pay a fee and register in any of the adult driver education programs.
Benefits of a Delaware Driver Education Course
Enrolling in teen driving school allows you to move forward with getting a state driver’s license. It may also give you academic credit. If you are enrolled in a school driver’s ed program, the school may grant one-fourth elective credit for the completion of the minimum hours in both the classroom and behind-the-wheel experience.
If you are 18 years of age or older, you may be wondering if you can enroll in driver’s education to receive a discount on your auto insurance policy. If you enroll in a defensive driving course, you may be eligible for a 10 percent discount on your car insurance. This discount lasts for three years. However, if you take a refresher course within 180 days after the three-year period, you may be eligible for a 15 percent discount.
How to Enroll in a Delaware Driver Ed School
In Delaware, driver education courses are available to 10th-grade students enrolled in public school and some students in private school. Also, home-schooled students and those who attend small religious academies may enroll in summer and evening courses. To obtain your certificate, you must submit proof of your academic eligibility.
Delaware DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Once you complete the driver education course, you will receive a drivers ed certificate, which is also commonly referred to as the blue certificate due to its appearance.
To apply for a GDL, you must present your blue certificate as proof that you passed a certified driver education course. If you passed a course in another state, you would need to have your out-of-state certificate approved by the DDOE. Then, you must present proof of this approval to the DMV when applying for your GDL.
Drivers Ed for New Delaware Residents
If you just moved to Delaware and you are younger than 18 years of age, you must transfer your learner’s permit or license within 60 days. Then, you must follow the guidelines for the Delaware GDL program by completing the transfer request form and providing the necessary documents. If you are unable to do so, you will need to explain why in the designated section of the transfer request form.
If you just moved to Delaware, are younger than 18 years of age and do not already have a driver’s license, you will need to contact your high school to see if you qualify for the driver’s education course offered at your school. If your school is unable to enroll you, you must contact an alternate student driver education programs nearest you. Keep in mind that not all students who transfer from another state qualify for free driver education.
Delaware Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Before you enroll in a driver’s ed course, it is important to know the difference between a driver’s education and traffic school.
Driver’s education is meant for new or first-time drivers who are interested in obtaining a state driver’s license. Traffic school is for drivers who already have a state driver’s license. Typically, drivers enroll in traffic school after receiving a traffic ticket or citation. Typically, you cannot register for traffic school if you have not yet been issued a state driver’s license.
Delaware Driver Education Fees
The driver’s ed price is free if you enroll in a driver’s education course through the DDOE. If you enroll in an alternate student driver education program, the base fee is $522. The cost of a defensive driving course will vary depending on where you enroll.