Delaware Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Motorcycle endorsement applicants under the age of 18 must take an approved motorcycle training course to obtain a DE motorcycle license. Applicants may register online for the Motorcycle Rider Education Course. Drivers 18 and up who chose to take a motorcycle training course will have the written and road test portion of the motorcycle exam waived. You must bring your completion card with you at the time of application.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Delaware motorcycle license holders 19 and younger are required to wear a helmet and eye protection when operating a motorcycle. Those 20 and older must still have these pieces of safety gear in his or her possession when riding a motorcycle, though they are not mandated to wear them.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Some of the most common reasons that may prevent drivers from obtaining a car registration renewal are related to failing a vehicle inspection. Below are a few reasons for failing a vehicle inspection in Delaware:

  • Lights dirty or not working
  • Faulty brakes
  • Balding tires

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
By law, Delaware residents must change address on DMV records within 30 days of moving. If your physical and/or mailing address on your drivers license or car registration has changed, you must report it to the DMV.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
The State of Delaware will not accept insurances from different states when titling and registering vehicles in Delaware. The vehicle insurance must meet Delaware requirements and be approved by the state. The minimum DE car insurance coverage for one accident is:

  • $15,000 for one person s bodily injury or death
  • $30,000 for two or more person s bodily injury or death
  • $10,000 for the injury or destruction of another s property

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, commercial drivers cannot renew CDL licenses online. Drivers must appear in person at a Delaware DMV location in order to apply for CDL license renewal.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
A Delaware driving record may be accessed online, by following these steps:

  • Visit the DE DMV site
  • Log in to your MyDMV account
  • Follow steps to request driving record
  • Pay the $15 driving record fee using a Visa or Master Card

If the driver does not hold a MyDMV account, an account can be created.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, you cannot take the drivers test for a learners permit online. You must appear at a Delaware DMV location to take the written and vision tests to obtain an instruction permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Interstate commercial drivers are eligible to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) for travel across the United States. On the other hand, CDL license holders with a (K) intrastate driving restriction can only use their CDL license within the state of Delaware.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
No, another party cannot renew vehicle registration for you in Delaware. You must show your driver s license when you renew car registration in person at a DMV location.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, boats and other water vessels need to be registered with the Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife. Use the Boat Registration Application to apply by mail or in person at a private agent location. Send your application to:

Office of Boat Registration

89 Kings Highway

Dover, DE 19901

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
No, drivers are not required to have a motorcycle endorsement on their Delaware drivers license to operate a moped. Though you must be a licensed driver to operate a moped in Delaware.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
No, Delaware drivers are not required to attend traffic school if issued a traffic ticket.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Depending on the state s insurance laws, more than likely the insurance coverage will need to be changed. To change the vehicle insurance to the new state s policy, contact the current insurance provider. To apply for car insurance in Delaware or another state, contact the current insurance provider as well.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Drivers who have had their drivers license stolen or have lost it should report the incident to the local authorities. The information on your drivers license could potentially be used to steal your identity so it is imperative that you have a record of the date and circumstances surrounding the incident. A police report could come in handy as you may be required to supply proof of a stolen or lost drivers license to obtain a replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Yes, drivers should report stolen or lost license plates to the police department in order to prevent identity theft. The Delaware DMV recommends that you request a new license plate number when you apply for a car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Yes, Delaware law requires that drivers who move out of state and register their vehicle in another state return their Delaware license plates to the DMV. A statement that the vehicle now has an out of state car registration must accompany the plates. Mail your correspondence to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

Attn: Uninsured Motorist Section

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Learner permit applicants under the age of 18 are required to successfully complete a Delaware drivers education course in order to obtain a Level 1 learner s permit. Permit applicants must present a blue certificate as proof of having completed the drivers ed course at the time of application. Applicants who have completed a drivers ed course in another state, must have it approved by the Department of Education prior to applying.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, duplicate car title applicants must turn their damaged car title over to the Delaware DMV.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
No, applicants for a car registration replacement are not required to turn in the damaged registration card to the Delaware DMV.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, mopeds need to undergo a Delaware DMV car registration. The cost is $5 to register your moped for three years. Mopeds are not subject to vehicle inspection requirements.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Most vehicles in Delaware will undergo some type of vehicle emissions testing to get car registration. Check below to see which kinds of tests your vehicle may require:

  • Exhaust emission- cars 1968 and newer and trucks 1970 and newer
  • Fuel vapor leakage- most vehicles 1975 and newer
  • Onboard Diagnostic Test- all cars 1996 and newer

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Failure to get insurance for a vehicle in Delaware will be punishable by fines or license suspension. It is Delaware law that an operating vehicle requires minimum liability coverage. A $1,500 fine will be issued on a first offense. A $3,000 fine will be issued for subsequent offenses along with a driving suspension of six months.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
U.S. military veterans can obtain a designated ID card or drivers license that helps businesses to verify their service to the country. Veterans can apply for a veteran designation with their military ID or DD-214 form at any Delaware DMV location. To apply, make an appointment by contacting the Dover DMV at (302) 744-2515. Walk-ins are also welcome.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
You can get a copy of the Delaware Driver Manual via the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles website. The driver license manual is also available in Spanish, Hattian Creole, Chinese, and Korean. You may also pick up a physical copy of the manual at any DE DMV location.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Delaware driverscan pay traffic ticket in various ways. The Delaware State Courts allow you to pay:

  • By mail
  • By fax
  • By phone
  • Online
  • In person

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

How can I renew my drivers license?
Delaware drivers may renew drivers licenseby following these steps:

  • Visit a local DMV location
  • Fill out a driver license renewal application
  • Submit required documents
  • Pass a vision screening

Be prepared, because there is a chance that you may have to take the written and road tests. Though, it is common practice for these tests to be waived.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
The Delaware DMV offers a drive-thru vehicle registration renewal service at each DE DMV location. To renew registration all vehicles with the exception of those within the last four model years, are required to pass a vehicle inspection. Excepted newer vehicles will be sent a packet, which allows for application for renewal by mail. All vehicles must show proof of liability car insurance to renew car registration in Delaware.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
The laws governing one state s DMV are not necessarily applicable to the next state that you may move to. Often times, when you first move to a state, you have a certain grace period before you are required to register your vehicle in that state. Check out your new state s DMV.com page to find out more information on how to register a car out of state.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
Prior to applying for a CDL license in Delaware, drivers must hold a CDL learner s permit for a certain period of time and then follow these steps:

  • Visit a local Delaware DMV location
  • Submit an application for a CDL license
  • Take a written knowledge tests
  • Take the CDL skills test

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
The Delaware DMV makes it easy for disabled persons to apply for handicap placard. An Application for Special License Plate or Special Parking Id Placard for Persons with Disabilities may be filled out and sent to:

State of Delaware

Division of Motor Vehicles

PO Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

Attn: Correspondence

All residents 85 and older, regardless of health condition, may apply for a handicap placard online.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To apply for drivers license in Delaware, you will have to vista a DE DMV location and follow the following procedure according to your age.

Applicants 16-17 years old must participate in the Graduated Driver License Program. This means that you must take a state approved drivers education course and submit the blue certificate as proof of your driver training. Once you have held a Level 1 instruction permit for a period of 12 months and have performed the required driver training, then your permit will automatically turn into a Class D driver s license.

If you are over the age of 18 then you may take the road test for a drivers license after you have held an instruction permit for at least 10 days. You must show proof of registration and insurance for the vehicle that you will be using for your road test. A driver over the age of 21 must accompany you, he or she must show his or her driver license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
If you are age 16 or 17 years old, you may apply for a Delaware learners permit under the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. Additional requirements include:

  • Proof of having completed a state approved drivers ed course.
  • Proof of completing the required written and road tests.
  • A parent or legal guardian present to provide signature on application.

Beginner drivers over the age of 18 must pass a vision and written test in order to apply for learner s permit.

All learners permit applicants must provide proof of identity/legal presence in the United States, proof of Social Security number, and proof of Delaware residency.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
To apply for a motorcycle endorsement, you must already be a licensed Delaware driver. Drivers 18 and younger may get a motorcycle license after they have completed a state approved Motorcycle Rider Education Course. Bring your Student Completion Card within six months of completing the course as proof of attendance to apply for an (M) motorcycle endorsement on your Delaware drivers license.

If you are 18 and older then you will need to pass the written test and the road skills test to get your motorcycle endorsement. These tests may be waived if you have completed a state approved motorcycle rider training program.

Fore more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Companies vary in the manner in which they handle address changes. To find out the steps to change address on car insurance, Delaware drivers will need to contact their car insurance company directly.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

How do I change my address on my car registration?
To apply for a change of address car registration in Delaware, drivers may submit changes online via the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles website and print an updated registration card. Drivers can also apply for a change of address either by submitting a completed DMV Change of Address Form in person at a local DE DMV office location or by mail to:

Division Of Motor Vehicles

ATTN: CHANGE OF ADDRESS

PO BOX 698

DOVER, DE 19903

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Commercial drivers license holders can change address on CDL license by submitting a DMV Change of Address Form in person at a local DE DMV office location. On that form, drivers are required to provide their commercial drivers license number among other information to submit a change of address to the DMV. There is no cost associated with changing address on CDL.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Delaware drivers can change address on drivers license in person or by mail. In order to change address on DMV in person, drivers can visit a local DE DMV office location and submit a completed DMV Change of Address Form.

Drivers can also submit an address change request via mail by sending the DMV Change of Address Form to:

Division Of Motor Vehicles

ATTN: CHANGE OF ADDRESS

PO BOX 698

DOVER, DE 19903

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Delaware residents can change address on ID cards in person or by mail. In order to change address on DMV in person, drivers can visit a local DE DMV office location and submit a completed DMV Change of Address Form.

Residents can also submit an official address change request via mail by sending the DMV Change of Address Form to:

Division Of Motor Vehicles

ATTN: CHANGE OF ADDRESS

PO BOX 698

DOVER, DE 19903

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Drivers may submit a name change request directly to their auto insurance company. To find out how to go about the process to change name on your car insurance policy, contact your insurance company directly.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
Delaware motorists can change name on car registration by visiting a local DMV location and providing the following documentation:

If you do not yet have your name change on drivers license, then you may instead provide the court document reflecting your legal name change.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
After completing the legal name change process with the Social Security Administration (SSA), drivers can commence to changing name on drivers license by following these steps:

  • Visit a local Delaware DMV location
  • Provide proof of your legal name change
  • Provide document from the SSA with legal name change
  • Surrender your current driver license
  • Pay the $1.15 drivers license replacement fee
How do I change my name on my ID card?
Residents can change name on ID card by following these steps:

  • Visit a local Delaware DMV location
  • Provide current ID card
  • Provide proof of your legal name change
  • Provide document from the SSA with legal name change
  • Pay the $1.15 ID card replacement fee
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
To make an official name change with the Social Security Administration, you can mail in the following information or you may submit it at an SSA office near you:

  • Complete an Application for a Social Security card
  • Provide proof of your legal name change such as a marriage or divorce certificate
  • Provide proof of identity with a driver s license, state ID, or U.S. Passport
  • Provide proof of citizenship with a U.S. birth certificate or certificate of naturalization

You must present original documents or certified copies when applying for a name change with the Social Security Administration. The SSA will not accept photocopies of original documents.

For more information on how to change your name legally, visit the Social Security Administration website.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The improper release of motor vehicle records in Delaware will result in large fines either to the DMV or the person who releases protected information. If a driver believes personal information has illegally been accessed, call 302-744-2506 for questions pertaining to DE driving records or 302-744-2538 for questions pertaining to vehicle records.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
To report a stolen car registration, you will need to contact your local law enforcement agency. Filing a police report entails visiting a police station and relaying your statement about the circumstances surrounding your stolen or lost car registration. Be sure to bring with you proof of your ownership of the vehicle such as your driver s license and insurance ID card.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
In case of a stolen car title, drivers should report the incident to local law enforcement officials. To file a police report, simply visit the nearest police station and ask to report a stolen car title. Bring with you your drivers license, car registration, and proof of car insurance to aid in the report.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
A Delaware driving record may be requested online, in person or by mail. To receive a driving record in-person, follow these steps:

To request a driving record by mail, send the required payment and form to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

ATTN.: Driver License Administration

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If your ID card was lost, stolen, or destroyed, you can request a duplicate ID card at a DE DMV location. Residents applying for a replacement ID card must provide three different identification documents, with one that includes a signature.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
In Delaware, drivers with certain suspensions may qualify for a hardship license. Hardship licenses are granted on a case by case basis.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Military members stationed overseas can receive a replacement drivers license via mail while stationed overseas. To apply applicants must provide the following information to apply for Delaware duplicate drivers license:

  • Full name
  • Date of birth
  • Drivers license number, if you know it
  • Social Security Number
  • Copy of military ID or Geneva Conventions ID card
  • Delaware residential address
  • Contact information such as telephone number and/or email address
  • Foreign mailing address
  • Your signature

This information along with the $10 duplicate drivers license fee in the form of a check or money order should be sent to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

Attn: Driver Services Dept.

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
A traffic ticket can be dismissed if the driver choosing to plead “not guilty” to the violation and plead his or her case in court. At your trial, you will be able to present evidence and supply witnesses to support your plea. If the judge finds you not guilty, then the traffic ticket will be dismissed and you will not have to pay traffic fine. Though, you may incur costs such as court fees and attorney fees.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Approved individuals or corporations may access Delaware DMV driving records. The information may be released if approved by the driver or a specific exception. To obtain a copy of someone else s driving record in Delaware, follow these steps:

Division of Motor Vehicles

ATTN: Driver License Administration

P.O. Box 698

Dover, Delaware 19903

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If your car registration has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, then you can apply for a duplicate registration by following these steps:

  • Visit a local Delaware DMV
  • Provide proof of insurance
  • Provide license plate number
  • Pay the $2 car registration replacementfee

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Delaware drivers with a destroyed, stolen, orlost car title can apply for a car title replacement either by mail or in person at a DMV location. To apply, complete an Application for a Duplicate Title also known as a MV213 form. All owners must sign the form and the lienholder must fill out the applicable portion at the bottom of the document. Applicants must also pay the $25 duplicate title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
To get a Delaware duplicate drivers license, follow these steps:

  • Visit a local DMV location
  • Submit three identification documents
  • Pay the $10 duplicate drivers license fee

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
To get a salvage car title, you can either visit a Delaware DMV location or apply by mail. To apply in person, you will need:

  • Odometer disclosure on back of car title
  • Letter from insurance company stating that the vehicle is a total loss

For application of a salvage car title by mail, the car registration must be current.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

How do I obtain car registration?
To obtain a Delaware car registration for your new vehicle you must complete the following steps:

New residents must register new vehicles in Delaware within 60 days of becoming a resident of the state.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
A Habitual Offender who has had his or her drivers license revoked may reinstate revoked drivers license by following these steps:

  • Visit a local DMV location
  • Pay the $143.75 reinstatement fee
  • Re-apply for a drivers license
  • Pass vision, knowledge, and road tests

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
To reinstate revoked drivers license resulting from refusing to submit a breath/urine/blood test during a DUI arrest, drivers must apply for a new drivers license and pay the $143.75 reinstatement fee. Drivers must also retake the vision, written, and road tests.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
To reinstate suspended license you will need to pay the $25 reinstatement fee. Also, in some cases drivers will have to re-apply for a drivers license. This process includes taking the vision, written, and road tests.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Delaware drivers are eligible for a credit of points to their driving record by participating in defensive driving school. Completion of an approved defensive driving course will result in a three point creditto one s driving record. Though, it should be noted that this credit does not remove points from your driving record but is used as a preventative measure for future violations that you may commit.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

How do I renew my driving permit?
Learners permit holders may only renew drivers permit one time to make it valid for an additional six months. To apply for an extension, visit a Delaware DMV location before your permit s expiration date.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

How do I renew my ID card?
Residents can renew ID card by following these steps:

  • Visit a local DMV office
  • Provide current DE ID card
  • Pay the $20 renewal fee

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Active duty members of the US military, as well as Department of Defense contractors, and civilians employed by the military, and their dependents all qualify to renew drivers license while they are stationed overseas. Applicants must provide the following information to apply for a Delaware drivers license renewal:

  • Full name
  • Date of birth
  • Drivers license number
  • Social Security Number
  • Copy of military ID or Geneva Conventions ID card
  • Delaware residential address
  • Contact information such as telephone number and/or email address
  • Foreign mailing address
  • Your signature

This information along with the renewal fee in the form of a check or money order should be sent to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

Attn: Driver Services Dept.

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
Certain CDL drivers are required to keep their medical report up to date with the Delaware DMV. In order to renew your medical report for a commercial driver s license, you must be examined by a licensed medical examiner and submit a completed examination form to the Delaware DMV. A copy of the examination form is available on the DE DMV website for your convenience.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
To renew motorcycle license Delaware drivers must appear in person at a DE DMV location. After you fill out an application, pass a vision screening, and pay the $33 fee, you will receive a renewed motorcycle endorsement. There is a chance that you may have to take a written or a road test, though they are normally waived.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Non-US citizens who need to get a replacement drivers license will need to show proof of legal presence in the country as well as two other forms of identification. Acceptable forms of identification include:

  • Resident Alien Card
  • Temporary Resident ID card
  • Ineligibility letter from Social Security Administration
  • Bank statements
  • Auto insurance policy

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
The state of Delaware issues residents located out of state a temporary driving license valid for up to six months if your driver license has been lost, stolen, or is about to expire. To replace lost drivers license, fax the following information to 302-739-2602 Attn. Driver License:

  • Full name
  • Date of birth
  • Drivers license number
  • Social Security Number
  • Reason you are out of state
  • When you plan to return to Delaware
  • Place of birth
  • Delaware residential address
  • Contact telephone number
  • Fax or e-mail where temporary license should be sent
  • Your signature

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
To register a vehicle in Delaware, you must first transfer car title from another state to Delaware. You will have to surrender the original title to the DMV. If there is a lienholder on the vehicle, the DE DMV will provide a form for you to send to the lienholder to request the title.

The vehicle must first pass an inspection and emissions testing before you can apply for a certificate of title. Also, you must pay a document fee of 3.75 percent of the value of the vehicle upon transferring to a Delaware state car title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Before transferring a car title from one party to another, the certificate of title must be filled out and signed over. If the original title has been lost, the owner must apply for a duplicate title with the DMV.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

How do I transfer my car title?
To perform a car title transferwhen buying or selling a car within the state of Delaware, take the following steps:

  • Completethe Assignment of Certificate Title located on the back of the car title
  • Seller must complete back of registration card
  • Buyer must provide proof of car insurance

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
The process to transfer title of an RV is the same as it is for a car. The title, signed over from the seller to the buyer must be presented at a DMV location. The registration card and proof of insurance with the new owner must also be provided.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Applicants getting a motorcycle license may have the written and road test requirement waived if they have completed a state approved motorcycle training course. Military members with a motorcycle endorsement who are experienced motorcycle riders may take an advanced motorcycle training course in Delaware to get a discount on their motorcycle car insurance.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

How does the DMV check my vision?
The Delaware DMV screens your vision to determine whether or not you are visually fit to drive. Your vision must be at least 20/40 with or without corrective lenses in order for you to get drivers license. If your vision is between 20/40 and 20/50 then you may be allowed to drive, though only during the daytime.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
Learner s permit applicants under the age of 18 must hold a learner s permit for at least 12 months before applying for a Delaware Class D driver s license. Drivers 18 years of age or older must wait 10 days after they have received their learner s permit before applying for a DE drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
At this time drivers cannot obtain a Delaware car title replacementby ordering online. You can, however, submit an Application for a Duplicate Car Title by mail to:

State of Delaware

Division of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

To apply include a self-addressed, stamped envelope along with your application and $25 duplicate title fee. Allow 7-10 business days for your duplicate car title to arrive in the mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Drivers convicted of refusal to take a chemical test in Delaware will be subject to adrivers license suspension. A suspension period can be from one to two years. The length depends on whether or not the driver has had any prior DUI or refusal convictions.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Residents applying for an ID card will receive it immediately. As long as you present the required documentation, your new ID card will be issued at the time of application at the DMV office.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
When accumulating 12 points, a Delaware driving course will need to be administered and completed within 90 days of the DMV notice. If the course is not completed a mandatory two-month driving suspension will be given.

When accumulating 14 points, a mandatory license suspension will be administered for four months. Additional points will result in longer suspension period. After suspension, a driver may become eligible for license reinstatement if completing a Delaware behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
The state of Delaware has a Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program for training opportunities and driving behaviors. The program may offer sanctions to drivers with accumulated points on their driving history. Driver license suspensions of 14 points or more may result in immediate driving suspensions. After suspension, a driver may become eligible for license reinstatement if completing a Delaware behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
The fee to change name on car registrations is $25. This fee applies to changing name on both car registration and car title.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
The cost is $25 to change name on car titles in Delaware. This fee applies to changing name on both car title and car registration.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Fees associated with name changing with the Delaware DMV includes:

  • Replacement license: $1.15
  • Replacement registration and title: $25
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Delaware CDL licenses are now issued for a period of eight years. You will have to renew CDL s with HAZMAT endorsements sooner. The DE commercial drivers license expires on the driver s birthday the eighth year after issuance. Drivers can renew CDL up to six months prior to drivers license expiration date.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Delaware drivers are allowed torenew drivers license up to six months prior to drivers license expiration date, which will fall on the driver s birthday.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
In the event that a Delaware driver has inherited a vehicle from another Delaware driver upon his or her death, a car title transfermust be performed at a DMV location by submitting the following documents:

  • Title signed over to you by the executer of the will of the deceased
  • Original will document
  • Documentation fee (3.75 percent of value of vehicle)
  • Title fee
  • Vehicle registration fee

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, there is a late fee to renew expired car registration that occur after the expiration date has passed. The late registration renewal fee is $10.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Drivers who have applied for a duplicate drivers license do to their original be lost or stolen will not have the replacement fee waived. All drivers are responsible for the paying the $10 fee to obtain a duplicate license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Immediately following a vehicular accident, a report must be filed with the Delaware policy agency. If an accident involves property damage of at least $500, the policy agency must be notified.

The Delaware police must also be notified if:

  • The accident results in the death or injury of a person.
  • A driver with impaired drug or alcohol-related ability causes the accident.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If trying to maintain dual insurance in two states, contact the local insurance provider. If a vehicle is titled and registered in Delaware, insurance from out-of-state is not permitted. In Delaware, the minimum coverage for one accident is:

  • $15,000 for one person s bodily injury or death
  • $30,000 for two or more person s bodily injury or death
  • $10,000 for the injury or destruction of another s property

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your traffic ticket, you canfind the information again in order to pay traffic ticket or request a hearing by contacting the Voluntary Assessment Center at 302-739-6911. If you have received a ticket from a municipality, then you will have to contact the Alderman Court of that particular municipality, directly. Refer to the list below for contact information:

Bethany Beach – (302) 537-3891

Dewey Beach – (302) 227-6363

Laurel – (302) 875-2855

Newark – (302) 366-7028

Newport – (302) 994-6403

Rehoboth – (302) 227-7917

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
Residents who have lost their ID card while out of state must apply for a duplicate ID card upon their return at a Delaware DMV office.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
After your drivers license has been confiscated by police during a DUI arrest, you will be issued a 15-day temporary drivers license. During that period of time, you are required to request an administrative hearing of your case. If you do not request a hearing, then you will receive a revoked drivers license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
The process to apply for lost personalize plates is the same as it is for regular-issued license plates. Drivers must report the incident the police department as well as apply for replacement plates. Personalized license plate holders must request a new plate sequence upon replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, there is a minimum age limit to get CDL license. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and must also have at least one year of driving experience to obtain an intrastate commercial drivers license. To be an interstate commercial driver, applicants must be 21 or older with at least one year driving experience.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is not an age limit when renewing drivers license in Delaware. There is a chance that drivers license renewal applicants may be asked to take a written and road test. Though, this requirement is usually waived. Senior drivers can renew license as long as they meet the vision requirements with our without corrective lenses.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Delaware drivers must carry the vehicle registration card with them in the car along with their valid insurance ID card.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Residents who request a drivers license replacement while out of state will have their replacement license mailed to the address of their request.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Some of the most common reasons you may need to transfer car title are:

  • To buy a used car
  • To sell a used vehicle
  • Inherited a vehicle
  • Awarded a vehicle in a divorce

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
In Delaware, various violations may result in a suspended drivers license. A select few include:

  • Reckless driving resulting in serious bodily injuries or property damage
  • Loaning a drivers license to another person
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Passing a stopped school bus

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Delaware motorcycle endorsement applicants must be at least 17 years old. Also, under age applicants must have completed a motorcycle rider training course to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. Delaware state law mandates motorcycle riders and passengers age 19 and under to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
The following CDL endorsements are available from the Delaware DMV:

  • (H) Hazardous Material
  • (N) Tanker
  • (P) Passenger for Class A, B, and C CDL license
  • (Q) Passenger for class B and C CDL license
  • (R) Passenger for class C CDL license
  • (S) School Bus
  • (T) Double/Triples
  • (Z) Taxi Cab

The Delaware CDL Manual contains the information needed to study for CDL endorsement and knowledge tests.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Delaware motorists caught driving with a suspended drivers license will be subject to further restrictions. If convicted, your drivers license will be suspended for an additional term. This term will be equal to the original term of up to one year.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

What are the different types of driving records?
In Delaware, there are three different types of driving records:

  • 3-year driving record
  • 5-year driving record
  • Full driving record

Delaware driving records will include a driver s personal information and driving history, which may include past convictions, license status and suspensions.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The following is a list of fees associated with getting, renewing, and replacing a Delaware ID card:

  • ID card: $20
  • Duplicate ID card: $10
  • ID card renewal: $20

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The current fee for a Delaware duplicate drivers license is $10.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Delaware learners permit restrictions are separated in six month intervals. For the first six months restrictions include:

  • Supervision by a licensed driver 25 or older at all times while driving.
  • Be certified by a parent or legal guardian as having driven 50 hours, including 10 nighttime hours.

After the first six-month period, the permit holder has the following restrictions:

  • May only drive unsupervised from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.
  • Outside of the above mentioned hours, driving must be supervised unless travel is to and from work, church, or school.

Additionally, the permit holder cannot carry any passengers other than supervising passenger for the first 12 months. Immediate family members are excluded from this restriction.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
Drivers are required to meet certain medical standards in order to be eligible to get a CDL license in Delaware. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration sets the medical standards for CDL drivers across the nation. Based on the type of commercial driving applicants will be doing, drivers may have to keep a copy of his or her Medical Examiners Certificate also known as a DOT Physical Card on file with the Delaware DMV. Applicants can find a copy of the Medical Examination Report on the Delaware DMV website.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reasons why one would need to apply for a car registration replacement are if any component such as sticker, plates, or registration card have been lost, stolen, or damaged.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Learner s permit holders convicted of a serious traffic violations can receive a suspended drivers license. The suspension period could be one month for the first offense and three months for the second offence.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
In Delaware, some of the penalties for being convicted of DUI include:

  • Revoked/suspended drivers license
  • Jail time of up to 5 years
  • Mandatory participation in treatment programs
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The following are current reinstatement fees in Delaware:

  • Reinstate suspended drivers license: $25
  • Reinstate revoked drivers license: $143.75

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The cost of an initial vehicle registration in Delaware is $40 for a one-year and $80 for a two-year registration. Vehicles five years or newer have the option to register from one to five years, depending on the model year of the vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The fee for a duplicate car titlein Delaware is $25.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The cost of a Delaware car registration replacement is $2. There is a $6 fee to replace license plates.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The fee to renew car registration in Delaware is $40 per year. Passenger vehicles weighing more than 5,000 pounds are charged an extra $18 for each additional pound. Vehicle inspections, which are required for cars five years and older, are conducted at no additional cost.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
The requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle are the same as they are for operating a two-wheel motorcycle. The Delaware Motorcycle Operator Manual provides information on how to safely operate a three-wheeled motorcycle. Drivers are advised to also read and be aware of the all the information provided in the manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
A Delaware hardship license allows persons with a suspended drivers license to operate a motor vehicle to get to and from work or drive as a requirement for his or her job. Hardship licenses are granted on a case by case basis.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail any part of the Delaware drivers exam, including the driving test, you must once again prepare to take test again. You must wait at least 10 days to re-test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
To get learners permits in Delaware, all applicants are required to provide the following documentation:

  • One proof of identity/legal presence in the United States:
    • US Birth Certificate
    • Consular report of birth abroad
    • Certificate of Naturalization
  • One proof of Social Security number:
    • Social Security Card
    • W-2 tax form
    • Pay stub with full SSN
  • Two proofs of Delaware residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Credit card statement
    • Insurance policy

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Drivers under the age of 18 must show proof that they have completed a Motorcycle Rider Education Course. You must bring your certificate as proof of completion when you go to apply for a motorcycle license. Under age applicants must also have written permission from a parent or legal guardian to get a motorcycle endorsement. All applicants must bring a Delaware drivers license to the DMV to get motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To get drivers license in Delaware, you will need to provide the following documentation at a DMV location:

  • One proof of identity/legal presence in the United States such as
    • US Birth Certificate
    • Consular report of birth abroad
    • Certificate of Naturalization
  • One proof of Social Security number such as:
    • Social Security Card
    • W-2 tax form
    • Pay stub with full SSN
  • Two proofs of Delaware Residency such as:
    • Utility bill
    • Credit card statement
    • Insurance policy

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
To apply for a car title replacement, applicants must submit an Application for a Duplicate Title. This form may be submitted either in person at a DMV location or by mail. If the document is sent in via mail, then a photocopy of the owner(s) drivers license must also be included.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Applicants are not required to present proof of residency when address changing with the Delaware DMV. The DMV Change of Address Form is the only required document for drivers requesting an official address change. The completed form can be submitted in person at a DE DMV office location or by mail to:

Division Of Motor Vehicles

ATTN: CHANGE OF ADDRESS

PO BOX 698

DOVER, DE 19903

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
It is not necessary to present any documentation to submit a change of address with the Delaware DMV. All applicants must fill out the DMV Change of Address Form. Residents must include their full name, driver s license number, and new address when submitting an address change request.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
To replace car registration, you will need to present the following documents to the Delaware DMV:

  • Proof of car insurance:
    • Insurance card
    • Insurance provider document
  • License plate number

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
Delaware residents must present the following documentation to obtain a DMV car registration:

  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Vehicle inspection report
  • Certificate of title

Proof of auto insurance in the form of an insurance ID card will not be accepted by the Delaware DMV.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Delaware

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
The documents needed in order to renew car registration in Delaware include:

  • A drivers license
  • Valid Delaware insurance card
  • Current registration card

Also, your vehicle must have passed a vehicle inspection in order to apply for a car registration renewal.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
To renew drivers license, Delaware motorists relinquish their expired drivers license at the DMV. If you would like to obtain a federally compliant drivers license, then you will have to provide additional documentation to prove your identity, legal presence in the US, and Delaware residency. The following are required to obtain a federally compliant drivers license:

  • US Birth Certificate or Passport/Immigration documents
  • One proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of Delaware residency

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
The documents needed to complete acar title transfer include:

  • Certificate of title, completed and signed over to the buyer
  • Vehicle registration card, with the backside completed
  • Buyer must provide one of the following options:
  • Proof of liability car insurance and drivers license
  • Two different forms of proof of residency

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
Delaware residents will need to present three different documents proving their identification to receive a duplicate drivers license. Acceptable documents include:

  • US birth certificate
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Social Security Card
  • W-2 tax form
  • Pay stub that shows full SSN
  • Bank statement

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
To get a motorcycle endorsement on a Delaware drivers license, applicants must pass a vision, written, and road tests. In lieu of the road and written test requirement, the applicant may complete a state approved motorcycle rider training course to get DE motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Delaware

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
To obtain a car title replacement, drivers must fill out an Application for a Duplicate Title also called a MV213 form.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Delaware CDL drivers who receive traffic tickets are subject to receive harsher penalties becausethey are considered professional drivers and are therefore held to a higher standard than noncommercial drivers. For example, if a CDL driver receives two traffic tickets for serious violations within a three-year period, speeding 15 miles above the limit, then adrivers license suspensionmay be handed down for60 days.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Driving under the influence is a major violation of your commercial driver s license, those who are convicted of a DUI face receiving a commercial drivers license suspension. Operating a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .04 percent or more is illegal. As a CDL driver, your CDL license will be suspended for one year if convicted of DWI. Your CDL license will be revoked for life if convicted of a subsequent DUI.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If the original car title is located after a car title replacement has been issued, then the applicant should contact the Delaware DMV to return replacement title once it has been received.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What information does a driving record contain?
Delaware drivers records include a driver s personal information. Personal information may include:

  • Address
  • Driver license number
  • Medical or disability information
  • Name
  • Photograph
  • Social security number
  • Telephone number

Delaware driving history is considered public information. The driving history may include the following:

  • Convictions
  • License status
  • Suspensions

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

What is an ID card?
Delaware ID cards are picture identification used by residents who do not drive. ID cards are considered an official form of identification, and can be used to fly within the country or open bank account, among other things.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
Fees related to being caught driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol include ticket fines, court fees, and attorney fees among others. Costs may include:

  • Evaluation process: $100
  • Education program: $250
  • Ignition Interlock Device program: $70 + $75 per month maintenance fee
  • Reinstate revoked License: $143.75

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Traffic ticket costs vary depending on the type of violation. All traffic fines incur many fees that add to the total cost of traffic ticket. For example, a traffic fine for speeding nine miles over the limit is $29. After the addition of fees such as court costs, the total cost of the ticket becomes $110.50. Fees are subject to change.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The cost for a DE driving record is $15. Driving records are available with information of a 3-year, 5-year or full record period.

You can request a driving record by completing a Personal Information Release Form and submitting it either in person at a local Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles office, online or by mail.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
CDL drivers caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .04 percent or higher can face having a revoked drivers license for a period of one year.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Delaware has a Zero Tolerance Law so the penalties for minors caught driving under the influence are severe. Penalties include but are not limited to:

  • Revoked drivers license for two months for the first offense
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The State of Delaware requires minimum insurance requirements coverage. Liability insurance policies must be approved by the State of Delaware. When getting Delaware car insurance, keep in mind the minimum coverage for one accident is:

  • $15,000 for one person s bodily injury or death
  • $30,000 for two or more person s bodily injury or death
  • $10,000 for the injury or destruction of another s property

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
In order to pass the Delaware learners permit written test, applicants must get at least 24 questions correct out of 30 questions.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
The process to get car title for a moped or motorcycle is the same as it is for a car. Though, a moped does not have to undergo a vehicle inspection nor is the driver mandated to have car insurance coverage on the vehicle to get it titled.

Motorcycles must adhere to inspection and insurance requirements. Drivers must apply for a certificate of title no more than 30 days following the purchase of the vehicle.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

What languages is the written test available in?
The drivers license test is based on the Delaware Driver Manual. The manual is available in the following languages:

  • Korean
  • Chinese
  • Hattian Creole
  • Spanish

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
If your drivers license was suspended due to a DUI conviction, drivers may be required to apply for a new drivers license and pay the $25 reinstatement fee.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
By law, residents must file a Delaware DMV address change form within 30 days of moving. If residents do not keep the DMV up to date with correct address information, drivers can miss out on time sensitive information such driver s license renewal date notifications. As a result, drivers can be caught driving with an expired driver s license and may be subjected to paying a late fee to renew driver s license.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you do not renew expired drivers license, then you will be charged a late fee of $1.15 by the Delaware DMV.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
When registering a car in Delaware, drivers must provide evidence of DE car insurance, which may include:

  • An insurance identification card
  • An insurance statement
  • An insurance bill

A Delaware insurance identification card must be in possession at all times while operating a vehicle. The insurance card must be presented to a law enforcement officer upon request.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Drivers who have not received their car registration materials such as license plates or decals, in a timely manner should contact the Delaware DMV office where the renewal was processed.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Drivers who have yet to receive a renewed license after applying for one by mail should contact the Delaware DMV directly.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
First time drivers under the age of 18 must take a drivers ed course to get a learners permit in Delaware. Learner s permit applicants 18 and older must take the written drivers test which consists of a highway sign and signal test. All applicants for a DE learners permit will also have to pass a vision screening to get a learner s permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To obtain a DE CDL license, applicants will need to take any applicable written knowledge and endorsement tests. A CDL skills test must be taken at a later date. This test is a three parts and constitutes a pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control, and finally an on-road test. Signing up for CDL driver training course is a great way to prepare for the CDL examination process.

For more information: Delaware Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To get your DE drivers license you will need to pass the following tests:

  • Vision screening
  • Road sign and signal test
  • Rules of the Road written drivers test
  • Road test

Refer to the Delaware Driver Manual for the information needed to pass the Class D drivers license tests. Taking a practice test will make you feel more confident in taking the drivers exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
If a vehicle is registered in the state of Delaware, you are required to have minimum liability car insurance, which consists of:

  • $15,000 for one person s bodily injury or death
  • $30,000 for two or more person s bodily injury or death
  • $10,000 for the injury or destruction of another s property

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The type of noncommercial driver license that you will need to operate a motor vehicle in Delaware is a Class D Operator s License.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
According to Delaware law, a driver with a Delaware vehicle registration and title who does not have Delaware vehicle insurance is subject to a fine of $1,500 for the first offense, $3,000 for subsequent offenses and a six-month suspension of driving privileges.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
Delaware drivers may reinstate suspended drivers license after the suspension period has passed. At that point, you may pay the reinstatement fee. Drivers may have to re-take the drivers license written, vision, and road tests to be able to reinstate driving privileges.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

When does my car registration expire?
Drivers can obtain one-year or two-year car registration renewals. Your car registration expires one year from the date that is was issued. There are also six-month term vehicle registration renewals available.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

When does my ID card expire?
A Delaware ID card expires every four years from the date of your next birthday.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Residents are mandated by law to submit an address change request with the Delaware DMV within 30 days of moving or getting a new address. An address change request may be completed online, by mail, or in person at a DE DMV office location.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Delaware

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
In Delaware, a bill of sale may need to be completed to apply for a temporary tag on a vehicle purchased out of state whose registration has expired.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Delaware

When will I need to renew my license?
Delaware drivers can renew drivers license up to six months prior to drivers license expiration date, which will fall on your birthday. If you do not renew by the expiration date, you will be charged a $1.15 late fee.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Most duplicate license applicants will receive their drivers license replacement at the time of application at the DMV office. Though, it is at the discretion of the DMV employee whether to issuea 15-day temporary license to individuals whose application to replace a lost, stolen, or destroyed drivers license is questionable. In such a case, the replacement license will be mailed to the drivers address on record with the DMV and should arrive within that 15-day time frame.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Delaware Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
Delaware drivers can check whether or not they are underdrivers license suspension by ordering a copy of their driving record. Driving records may be ordered online, in person, or by mail. The cost of a driving record in Delaware is $15.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Delaware

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
To pay the 3.75% tax fee on a vehicle brought in from out of state to Delaware, residents can visit the Delaware DMV location. Taxes must be paid before the vehicle can be registered in the state.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Delaware makes it mandatory for all drivers convicted of DUI to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their motor vehicle following the drivers license suspension. More information on the IID program can be found by contacting the Delaware IID Unit at 302-744-2508.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Drivers can find traffic ticket information online at the state of Delaware Criminal Justice Information System ePayment webpage. You must provide your case number or ticket number to access your ticket information. There you will also be able to pay traffic tickets online.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

Where can I get a new drivers license?
You can obtain a new Delaware drivers license by applying in person at a DMV location in any of the following cities listed below:

  • Dover
  • Georgetown
  • New Castle
  • Wilmington

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Delaware

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
To request a duplicate car title mail your Application for a Duplicate Car Title along with the duplicate title fee of $25 and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

State of Delaware

Division of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 698

Dover, DE 19903

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Where can I obtain an ID card?
To apply for a Delaware ID card, visit a local Delaware DMV office location. Upon arrival, residents will be asked to provide one proof of identity/legal presence in the U.S., one proof of Social Security number, and two proofs of DE residency. Additionally, applicants will be required to pay the $10 duplicate ID card fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Delaware Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All vehicles with a valid registration must be insured with the minimum liability requirements. The minimum liability DE car insurance is:

  • $15,000 for one person s bodily injury or death
  • $30,000 for two or more person s bodily injury or death
  • $10,000 for the injury or destruction of another s property

Failure to have or maintain vehicle insurance in Delaware will result in fines and subsequent license suspension.

For more information: Delaware Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
In order to receive a learner permit, applicants under the age of 18 must have a signature from a qualified sponsor. The sponsor will also be certifying that he or she will be responsible for any liability that may result from negligence on the part of the minor while operating a motor vehicle.

The following is an ordered list of preferred people to act as sponsors for a minor driver:

  • Parent
  • Legal guardian or court-appointed custodian
  • Person deemed suitable by the Delaware Secretary of Transportation or Chief of Driver Services

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Delaware

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Driving records in Delaware will show fine payments and traffic offenses. The Delaware court decisions and processes for traffic tickets may or may not appear on the driver s history.

According to Delaware law, a traffic signal violation from a traffic control monitoring system may not show on a Delaware driver s driving record. This may not be used for insurance purposes or premiums.

For more information: Your Delaware Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Yes, all Delaware drivers license renewal applicants will be required to take a vision test to renew drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, you will receive a reminder in the mail to renew drivers license. Renewal notices are mailed out by the Delaware DMV around 60 days prior to the expiration date of drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Drivers who pay traffic tickets by voluntary assessment can avoid having points assessed to their Delaware driving record. Drivers must have either been cited for going less than 15 miles over the speed limit or not have been convicted of a speeding violation within the previous three years to qualify. Points will be assessed to a drivers driving record if they are convicted of going 15 or more miles over the speed limit.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Yes, as a requirement to reinstate a revoked or suspended drivers license drivers must complete a substance abuse treatment program in addition to an alcohol awareness course. Drivers are responsible for the program fees for each course and are charged a fee if they miss a class session.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Delaware

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
No, you will not have to fill out an application to replace car registration. You need only present proof of insurance and your license plate number at a DE DMV location.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
No, you do not need to provide proof of car insurance to apply for Delaware duplicate car title. . The only document applicants are required to submit is a completed Application for a Duplicate Title also known as a MV213 form along with the $25 duplicate title fee payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The Delaware DMV no longer sends registration renewal notices via mail. In order to stay informed on when you need to renew your registration, you can sign up online to receive car registration renewal reminders via phone or e-mail. Submit your information to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles website to get notifications.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
No, Delaware does not coincide vehicle registration renewal dates with the owner s birthday. Your car registration expiration date will be one year from the date that it was issued.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Delaware