Iowa Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Iowa applicants under the age of 18 must complete an Iowa DOT approved motorcycle rider education course to operate a motorcycle. If under the age of 16, a moped applicant must completed an Iowa DOT-approved moped education course.If above the age of 18, completing an Iowa DOT approved motorcycle rider education course may waive the skills (driving) examination.

Contact the Iowa DOT at 800-532-1121 for information on how to get a motorcycle license skills (driving) examination waiver at available locations.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Although not legally required, the Iowa Department of Transportation heavily suggests and promotesmotorcycle-driving safety. The Iowa Motorcycle Operator Manual provides helmet and headgear safety information for drivers.

When taking the motorcycle skills (driving) examination at a local Iowa issuance location safety gear is required. The driver is required to bring:

  • Helmet
  • Long pants
  • Sturdy shoes

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
The local county treasurer s office will notify a registration holder every time a registration is needed. The notices for renewing car registration are sent out one month before the renewal month. If there are any questions on renewal dates, contact the local county s office for complete vehicle renewal information. Iowa car registration renewals may be completed online, in person or via mail. Provide appropriate information, payment, and completed forms.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Contact the Iowa DOT at 515-239-1101 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. for information regarding address changes on licenses and registrations. Contacting the local County Treasurer office that issued the original car registration can complete car registration address changes. Address changing for a driver s license may be completed at a local Iowa issuance location. Offices may issue a replacement license with the new address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No. Iowa law requires a person operating a motor vehicle with Iowa residencyto have the state s financial insurance. If the driver s residency is in Iowa, the driver must meet Iowa auto insurance guidelines and have the vehicle registered and insured in Iowa following state requirements. The Iowa minimum liability coverage must include bodily injury coverage of a $20,000 minimum per person, a bodily injury coverage of $40,000 minimum per accident, and a property damage liability coverage of a $15,000 minimum per person. Failure to have insurance will result in a fine and possible consequences to a driver s privileges.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
Drivers may not renew the commercial driver s license online. To renew an IA commercial driving license, the applicant must visit a local Iowa issuance location. The applicant, if renewing or updating a CDL, may have to complete the self-certification process again after the new Iowa CDL is issued.

It is important that the renewed medical certificate is submitted to the Department of Transportation before the previous expires.

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, the Iowa Department of Transportation allows a certified Iowa driving record to be purchased online at the Iowa DOT myMVD website. The driving record will be Iowa DOT certified and made available for official and legal use. It may be purchased for a fee of $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge. A noncertified Iowa drivers record is available online to be printed for personal non-official use, free of charge.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, the DMV does not administer an examination for an IA drivers permit online. The DMV examination is administered at a local Iowa issuance location using specific touch-screen equipment. The automated testing equipment offers audio assistant as well. The IowaDOT government provides desktop applications, cell phone applications, and an online 25-question practice examination. The 25 questions are chosen from the real knowledge questions given by the DMV.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Only interstate drivers hold a valid license to drive CMV s anywhere in the United States. Intrastate drivers have a restricted Iowa CDL, shown as a “K” restriction, to allow them to only operate in the state of Iowa.

State CDL s are only valid to the state where the driver resides. If moving states, contact a local Department of Transport with questions on transferring a CDL from another state and how to get a CDL license.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
To renew car registrations in Iowa, there are options to renew online, via mail, or in person. If choosing to renew Iowa car registration online, all that is needed is the specific PIN, plate number and payment method. To renew via mail provide the Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration and enclose the payment and mail to the appropriate location.

To renew Iowa car registration in person, call the local county treasures office for any documentation and payment. The vehicle registration owner or someone else may renew the registration as long as all requirements are met.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Do boats need to be registered?
Motorized boats refer to boats propelled by internal combustion, steam, and electrical or any mechanical methods. All motorized boats must be registered in the state of Iowa. Exceptions to Iowa vehicle registration guidelines include:

  • Inflatable vessels with a length of seven feet or less in
  • Canoes and kayaks with no motor or sail and a length of 13 feet or less
  • Registered, out-of-state vessels using Iowa waters for 60 or less days of a year

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Iowa

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
If the vehicle exceeds a speed of 30 miles per hours, anIA motorcycle license is required. However, if below 30mph and a motorized bicycle, the state of Iowa considers the vehicle a moped.

To operate a moped a driver s license or a moped permit is required for operation. Operators that are not at least 16 must complete a moped rider education course approved by the Iowa DOT.The moped permit requires a passing status on the operator’s knowledge examination and the vision screening examination. The examiner may or may not require a skills examination as well.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
If caught speeding over 25mph over the speed limit and issued and needing to pay speeding tickets in Iowa, it may be punishable by having to attend a Driver Improvement Program. Driver Improvement Programs may be required if cited for three moving tickets in one year. The speeding ticket must be paid and the Driver Improvement Program will need to be completed to have driving privileges and be in accordance with Iowa law.

For questions regarding ticket guidelines, use the Iowa Courts Online Search Trial Court E-paymentwebsite. The complete procedures may be outlined during the court hearing.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If moving to another state, the minimum state requirements for car insurance must be met according to the state s requirements. If moving from Iowa, apply for car insurance in the state that the vehicle will be moved to. All states require a vehicle to be registered and insured in the address the vehicle will be used in. Contact the local insurance provider for information on how to apply for car insurance in the new state of residence. Moving the vehicle to a new residency will require a change of insurance and possible cancellation of previous insurance.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
In order to prevent identity theft, the Iowa DOT’s Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection suggests stolen or lost Iowa drivers license be reported to local law enforcement officials. After reporting, visit local Iowa issuance location and provide a $10.00 duplicate license fee (subject to change) and documented evidence of identity.

Upon filing a police report, notify the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection if a stolen identity has taken place. The Bureau may be reached via phone at 866-908-4636. They may be reached via email at invbureau@dot.iowa.gov

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Police reports are usually filed when documents pertaining to identity are lost or stolen. These documents include vehicle titles or driver s licenses. Lost car registrations or stolen car registrations in Iowa are reported to local law enforcement officials to take precautionary measures. Simply visit an official s office and ask to report the case.

Visit a local county treasurer s office with the vehicle plate number and registration replacement fee to complete processing for an IA carregistrationcopy.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
License plate returns are only necessary in the case of refund requests. If applying for a refund of Iowa car registration, plates are required to be surrendered to the local county treasurer s office. In the case that a registration holder is not applying for a refund, plates do not need to be returned.

If it can be proved that a vehicle is registered out-of-state, provide the Iowa plate, the out-of-state car registration, and the Claim for Refund to the local Iowa county treasurer.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Yes, an Iowa approved driver s ed course is required to hold an intermediate license. The course is available at age 14 and can only be completed with an instruction permit. The 30-hour course will include:

  • Bicycle and motor cycle awareness
  • Four hours of substance abuse education
  • Minimum of 20 minutes on railroad crossing safety
  • Minimum of three hours driving
  • Organ donor education
  • Six hours of laboratory

The intermediate license may then be obtained to serve as an Iowa permit for driving.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
If the damaged car title is illegible, dispose of the car title properly. To request a replacement car title, visit a local county treasurer s office. Upon arrival have completed or complete an Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle. Also, provide proper payment of the $25.00 replacement title fee (subject to change). For further questions regarding replacing car titles in Iowa, contact the local county treasurer s officethe vehicle corresponds to.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
In Iowa damaged car registrations do not need to be turned in. As a cautionary measure, it is advisable to dispose of these documents carefully. Make sure to dispose of all important vehicle registration through paper shredding and/or document destruction.

To obtain an Iowa car registration replacement, simply visit a local county treasurer s office. At the office, present the plate number for the vehicle and the applicable registration replacement determined by the county.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
The steps to register motorized scooters in Iowa are similar to those of car registrations. Provide the following upon visiting the local county official s office:

  1. Certificate of title
  2. The application for an Iowa certificate of title and/or
  1. Registration fees

Bring the certificate of title, application and appropriate fees to the local county treasurer s office. Upon processing, the office will register vehicles within 24 hours.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
The state of Iowa does not officially declare any standards for smog inspections on vehicles. Because of this, statewide emissions inspections are not required for getting car registrations in IA. To obtain an Iowa car registration, all that will be needed is the certificate of title, application and appropriate fees taken to the local county treasurer s office.

For information on vehicles and requirements contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at 515-239-1837. For information regarding vehicle registrations and additional documentation contact the local county treasurer s office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Iowa law requires a person operating a motor vehicle registered in Iowa to have financial liability car insurancecoverage in effect for the motor vehicle to be operated on Iowa public property. Failure to have insurance may result in a fine and possible consequences to a driver s privileges. The minimum liability coverage must include bodily injury coverage of $20,000 minimum per person, bodily injury coverage of $40,000 minimum per accident, and property damage liability coverage of a $15,000 minimum per person.

Upon stopping a vehicle driver without car insurance, a law enforcement office may:

  • Give a warning.
  • Give a citation.
  • Give a citation and remove the vehicle’s license plates and registration.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If a veteran has been honorably discharged, he oris eligible to request a “Veteran” designation for anIowa identification card. The Veteran designation may be requested at any time. The applicant must present him or herself in person at the county or state Veterans Affairs Office with their DD 214 copy or discharge documents. Once their eligibility is certified, the office will file all applicable forms.

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
The Iowa driver s manual is available here. The manual provides necessary information on road signs, traffic laws, and other crucial information needed for the knowledge and driving examinations in getting a drivers license. The content is divided amongst the following sections:

  • The Driver s License
  • Traffic Signs and Rules of the Road
  • Safe Driving Tips
  • Protecting Your Driving Privileges
  • Be in Shape to Drive

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Residents in Iowa pay traffic tickets online, by mail or in person. Traffic and parking tickets are paid through separate means. Regarding traffic tickets:

  • To pay online, visit the Iowa Courts Online Search Trial Court E-paymentwebsite
  • To pay by mail, mail a check or money order with the Ticket Citation Number to the traffic ticket address
  • To pay in person, bring the payment and ticket to the MBV of the traffic ticket county

Parking tickets may be paid using the Iowa Courts Online website if the ticket was filed with the clerk of court. If not, the parking ticket must paid with the specific county parking fine centers.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

How can I renew my drivers license?
An Iowa driver s license can be renewed online, in person at a local Iowa issuance location, or at a kiosk.

To renew drivers license online, the eligibility requirements must be met. If requirements are met, all that is needed is a credit/debit card and the current driver s license. The fees include a $1.50 online processing fee plus standard renewal fees. To renew in person, visit a local Iowa driver s license issuance site with the current, expired driver s license. If preferred, an IA drivers license renewal may be completed at a local kiosk. A vision examination may be required.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Iowa car registration renewals must be completed according to the county of the registered vehicle. Renewals may be completed online, in person or through mail.

IA vehicle registration renewals may be completed online at the Iowa Treasurer s website. Keep in hand the plate number, PIN, and a method of payment.

To renew by mail, complete the Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration and enclose the payment. Mail to:

  • Iowa Department of Transportation

Office of Vehicle Services, 6310 SE Convenience Blvd. Ankeny, IA- 50021

To renew in person, visit the local county treasurer s officewith the required payment and forms.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
With ten days of moving out-of-state, Iowa law requires the county treasurer to be notified. This is only in the case that the registered vehicle is out-of-state. A written request of a change of address may be completed at a local DOT office or mailed or faxed to:

  • Office of Driver Services

Iowa Dept. of Transportation

P.O. Box 9204

Des Moines, IA 50306-9204

Fax: (515) 239-1837

The IA car registration will then be forwarded by the county treasurer s office to the correct location. For more information in reference to getting car registration refunds, contact the Iowa DOT at 800- 532-1121.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
To apply for an Iowa CDL, an applicant must visit a local Iowa issuance locations thatissues CDL licenses. Upon arrival, the following must be presented:

  • Completed Self-Certification for Commercial Driver’s License form
  • Evidence of identity (birth date and full name) and Social Security Number
  • Passing status on the skills examinations
  • Passing status on the general knowledge examination
  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Payment of applicable fees

Other applicable forms and documents may include:

  • Passing status on the knowledge examination(s) applicable to the endorsement(s)
  • Background check clearance
  • Copy of the Medical Examiner’s Certificate for intersate non-expected drivers

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
Upon completing the process of an Iowa car registration, if the requirements are met a driver is eligible for a disabled person parking placard or plates. When applying, the disability indicator is available as:

  • Removable Windshield Placard
  • Special License Plates
  • License Plate Parking Sticker
  • Provider of Transportation Services

To apply the following must be presented at the office of the according sign:

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To apply for an Iowa driver s license, the applicant must present certain information to a license issuance office. Provide the following:

  • Evidence of identity, legal status and Iowa residence
  • Passing status on the vision, knowledge and driving examination
  • Provide applicable fees of $4.00 per year (subject to change)

Drivers who have a suspended, revoked, or canceled driver s license in any state are not eligible for a driver s license it Iowa If the applicant holds a valid out-of-state license, the driving examination may be waived.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
The state of Iowa has a Graduated License System for drivers bellow the age of 18. The system includes a series of three licenses: the instruction permit, intermediate license, and full license. The instruction permit and intermediate license serve as a learners permit, placing restrictions on minor drivers.

To apply for the instruction permit, the driver may apply at age 14 and provide the following at a local Iowa issuance location:

  • Evidence of identification, residency, and Social Security number
  • Parent s/Guardian s Written Consent Form.
  • Passing status on knowledge examination
  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • $6.00 restriction permit fee (subject to change)

After 12 months, the driver may apply for the Intermediate license with:

  • 20 logged hours of supervised driving
  • Completion of the approved driver education course
  • No accidents or violations for six consecutive months
  • Parent s/Guardian s Written Consent Form.
  • $8.00 restriction license fee (subject to change)

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
To operate a motorcycle in Iowa, the state offers the opportunity to apply for a Class M motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement to an existing license.

To obtain an Iowa motorcycle license provide:

  • Evidence of identity, Social Security, and examination
  • Passing status on the motorcycle knowledge examination
  • Passing status on the operator knowledge examination
  • Passing status on the motorcycle skills (driving) examination
  • Passing status on the vision screening
  • Fee payment of $6.00 per year (subject to change)

To obtain an Iowa motorcycle endorsement provide the information stated above. The operator knowledge examination will be waived and a fee payment of $2.00 per year is required.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Contact the current car insurance provider for information on changing addresses when moving in Iowa. The local insurance provider will explain the necessary steps needed. It is important to provide a full name, the insurance policy number, and any additional address change information. Many car insurance companies allow address changes to be completed online, by phone or in person.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

How do I change my address on my car registration?
To make an Iowa official address change on car registration, it is advisable to contact the local County Treasurer. Contact the office that issued the original car registration. The County Treasurer s office will provide information regarding the procedures and the steps to change address on the car registration. Make sure to provide all necessary vehicle information and required documents. It may be required to bring address change forms, documentation, or other information to the local office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Changes on commercial driver s license must be done in person. To file an IA address change request on a CDL, the applicant must be present at a local Iowa issuance location. The mailing address and the address on the CDL may have to be the same. Contact the Iowa DOT at 515-239-1101 Monday to Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. for information on CDL address changes. The Department of Transportation may require additional information and documentation be presented.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
The Iowa Department of Transportation must be notified within 30 days of an Iowa official address change. An Iowa address change request may be done in person, online, or via mail or fax.

If requesting in person:

  • Visit a local Iowa issuance location with the current driver s license. If requesting the address change to be reflected on the license, additional replacement fees may apply. It is advisable to bring two forms of new residency proof along with the current driver s license.

If requesting online:

  • Visit the Iowa myMVD website. The portal allows a mailing address change free of charge. The change will not be reflected on the current driver s license.

If requesting via mail or fax:

  • Mail or fax a completed Change of Address Notice. The mailing address will be changed but does not include a new ID or driver s license. Fax the Iowa address change form to 515-239-1837. The mailed request can be sent to:

Office of Driver Services

Iowa Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 9204

Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

How do I change my address on my ID card?
When requesting an Iowa address change for an ID card, the Department of Transportation allows it to be done in person, online, or via mail or fax. Follow these steps to change addresspreferences.

If requesting in person:

  • Visit a local Iowa issuance location with the current ID card. An address change license replacement will incur additional fees. It is advisable to bring two forms of new residency proof along with the current driver s license.

If requesting online:

  • Visit the Iowa myMVD website. The portal allows a mailing address change free of charge. The change will not be reflected on the current ID.

If requesting via mail or fax:

  • Mail or fax a completed Change of Address Notice. The mailing address will be changed but does not include a new ID or driver s license. Fax the Iowa address change form to 515-239-1837. The mailed request can be sent to:

Office of Driver Services

Iowa Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 9204

Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Name change processes vary depending on the car insurance provider. Contactyour current car insurance about making a name change request with the company. A car insurance provider may require a variety of steps to change names on the car insurance policy. The applicant may need to provide the insurance representative with insurance information upon request. It is advisable to have any required documentation and Iowa name change forms handy and prepared.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
Contact the local County treasurer where the car registration was originally completed in order to request a name change on the Iowa car registration. Usually, a replacement registration will be issued. The replacement registration will need the plate number of the vehicle along with certified, legal documents indicating name change. A replacement registration holds a payment fee of $3.00 (subject to change). The county treasurer may require additional fees.
How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
For an official name change request on an Iowa driver s license the license holder must appear in person at a local Iowa issuance location. Upon arrival, the applicant must provide the following:

  • Evidence indicating name change
  • Current Iowa driver s license
  • Payment of replacement fee of $10.00 (subject to change)

Contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at 515-239-1101 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. for information on required documentation and other questions regarding requirements to change name in Iowa.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
To request a name change on an Iowa ID card, the cardholder must appear in person at a local Iowa issuance location. To arrive at a location prepared, follow this name change checklist. Bring:

  • Evidence indicating name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order).
  • Current Iowa ID card.
  • Payment of replacement fee of $10.00 (subject to change).

Upon name change completion, the current Iowa ID card will be revoked and the applicant will be issued a temporary identification card valid for 30 days. Contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at 515-239-1101 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. for additional information onIA official name changes.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
The initial step in the legal name change process involves contacting the Social Security Administration (SSA) to be issued a corrected SS card. The SSA will require documentation proving:

  • Evidence of identity
  • Evidence of citizenship or lawful status
  • Evidence of certified, name change

With evidence of these documents, the SSA will require a completed Application for a Social Security Card. Contact the SSA for further instructions on visiting or mailing the necessary documentation to a local SS office. Upon completing the name change process with the SSA, allow 24 hours for the system to update the applicant s SS status.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
In the case of suspected illegal access to an individual s driving records, contact the Iowa Department of Transportation. The Iowa Interactive Help Desk provides questions regarding Iowa Driver s License Records and suspected access. They may be contacted at:

  • 866-492-3468
  • dlrsupport@iowai.org

The Iowa Department of Transportation may also be contacted at:

  • 515-239-1101

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If there is any reason to believe that an owner is a victim of an Iowa stolen car registration, contact a local law enforcement office. Although police reports are not necessarily a necessity, it may be done to take cautionary measures. It is recommended to report lost or stolen documents to Iowa officials. Documents like a driver s license or vehicle title may lead to cases of identity theft.

To report a case of identity theft, contact the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection at 866-908-4636. To obtain more information contact the Iowa’s Office of the Attorney General at 515-281-5926.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
The Iowa Department of Transportation strongly recommends that if lost or stolen, car vehicle titles must be reported. To report an IA stolen car title call and visit a local law enforcement office or officer. Documents like a driver s license or vehicle title may lead to cases of identity theft.

If believing to be involved in a case of identity theft, contact the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection at 866-908-4636. To obtain more information contact the Iowa’s Office of the Attorney General at 515-281-5926.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Copies of Iowa driving records are available to be accessed online or through mail. To obtain a copy of the IA drivers record, visit the Iowa DOT myMVD website. An official certifieddriving record is available to be purchased for a fee of $5.50, plus a $1.50 service charge.

To obtain an Iowa DOT certified driving recordvia mail, send a payment of $5.50 and a completed Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records form. The request may be mailed to:

Office of Driver Services Iowa Department of Transportation P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

An unofficial driving record is available to print online at the Iowa DOT myMVD website free of charge for viewing pleasure.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
Duplicate identification cards may be administered in the case of a lost, stolen, or mutilated Iowa ID card. To replace ID cards, residents visit a local Iowa issuance location at a kiosk or DOT location and provide the following:

  • Two forms of evidence of identity and Social Security/legal status
  • Payment of replacement fee of $10.00 (subject to change)

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
A hardship license, known as a temporary restricted license, may be obtained if the Iowa drivers license suspension is eligible. To apply for a hardship license contact the Iowa DOT at 515-244-9124 for an Application for Temporary Restricted License. Upon completion and eligibility acceptance, the DOT will send a notice that must be taken to a local Iowa issuance location. The Iowa DOT may require:

  • Passing status onrequired examinations
  • Payment of civil penalties
  • Evidence of financial responsibility
  • Payment of reinstatement fee

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If needing an IA drivers license replacement and are out-of-state, a Temporary Driving Permit request may be filed. The request for a TDP must be hand written and include:

  • Full name
  • Driver s license number or Social Security number
  • Date of birth
  • Signature
  • Out-of-state address or fax

Fax the application to 515-239-1837 or mail at:

Iowa Department of Transportation P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204 For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Traffic ticket dismissals depend on the county of the issued ticket. Some traffic tickets may be dismissed by paying traffic ticket fines or by attending mandated driver classes. Every county s traffic ticket dismissal may vary and it is important to contact the court or county of the ticket regarding questions on specific tickets.

Court ticket dismissals for traffic tickets may also be dismissed depending on the ticket type. Demonstrating financial liability, vehicle liability and/or valid driver s license to the court before the court date may dismiss traffic citations for the previously stated cases.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Authorized users only may access the Iowa DOT Certified Drivers License Records database. The website services are only available to businesses, organizations, and governmental agencies. Iowa driving records pertaining to businesses and/or other operations may be applied for by providing:

Mail application/agreement paperwork and the payment amount to:

Iowa Interactive, LLC

DLR Support

500 E Court Ave., Suite 310

Des Moines, IA 50309

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
In the case of a lost or stolen car registration in Iowa, it is important to request an IA duplicate car registration. In order to obtain a duplicate car registration the following will be needed:

  • The plate number of the vehicle in need of an Iowa car registration copy
  • Registration replacement fee of the county

These requirements must be brought to the local county treasurer s office treasurer s office. Contact thelocal county treasurer s office for additional questions.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
In the necessity of an Iowa duplicate car title, the vehicle owner must complete and process an Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle. Titles requiring more than one signature are not valid unless are signatures are recorded, if the title has a lien then the application must be completed by the lien holder.

With these applications an additional replacement title fee of $25.00 (subject to change) may be placed. There may be a five-day period before the replacement title is processed issued. Contact the local county treasurer s office for questions on procedures.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
To obtain an IA duplicate drivers license, it is required to visit a local Iowa issuance location. Iowa drivers license replacements may be issued in the case of a lost or stolen driver s license. To apply for a driver s license the following may be required:

  • $10.00 duplicate license fee (subject to change)
  • Evidence of identity

For questions regarding licensing evidence and fees, feel free to contact the Iowa Department of Transportation Monday to Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 515-239-1101.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
To getcar titles and registrations for an Iowa salvaged vehicle an application for title must be submitted to the local county treasurer s office. Along with the application, note one or more of the following:

  • Salvage title
  • Prior salvage
  • Rebuilt
  • Two-letter abbreviation of the out-of-state jurisdiction
  • Food, fire, vandalism, or theft
  • Lemon buy-back

Upon submission, the local county treasurer s office will issue a salvaged vehicle title. The regular title will be designated as prior salvage and may have one of the previous noted circumstances on the upper-right corner of the Iowa car title and registration receipt.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

How do I obtain car registration?
In accordance with Iowa law, within 30 days of residency a motor vehicle must be registered with the appropriate county treasurer s office. The following steps explain how to register cars in Iowa:

  1. Collect the certificate of title
  2. Complete The Application For An Iowa Certificate Of Title And/Or Registration (contact the local county treasurer s officefor application information)
  1. Contact the local county treasurer s officefor information regarding registration fees
  2. Bring the certificate of title, application and appropriate fees to the local county treasurer s office

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
A Habitual Traffic Offender is to be barred from driving for two to six years, in dependence to the point system. In most cases, a Habitual Traffic Offenders in Iowa wanting to reinstate suspended drivers license will have to wait a revocation period of no less than four years from the date of revocation.An appeal may be made to the superior court in reference to reinstatement processes.

If caught driving while barred as a habitual offender an imprisonment period of two years may be implemented.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Under the Iowa Implied Consent Law, refusal to submit to an Iowa OWIexamination a driver s privilege will be revoked. If refusing examination, the driver will be subject to a 90-day waiting period to apply for a temporary restricted license. To reinstate a driver s license or driving privileges after refusing an Iowa DUI test,a driver may need to provide:

  • $200 civil penalty fee (subject to change)
  • Evidence of community service
  • Evidence of completed and approved drinking drivers course
  • Evidence of financial responsibility (if applicable)
  • Evidence of substance abuse evaluation and treatment or rehabilitation services (if applicable)
  • Interlock requirement completion (if applicable)

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
The process dealing with an Iowa suspended drivers license reinstatement differs with each case. When attending the court hearing, the reinstatement requirements will be explained. After the fines, evidence and examinations are done accordingly, the IA revoked drivers license may be reinstated. When receiving a new driver s license visit a local Iowa issuance location and be sure to provide evidence of identification and appropriate licensing fees. Contact the Iowa DOT at 515-244-1052 or myMVD@dot.iowa.gov for questions pertaining to license reinstatement.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Points may not be removed from a driving record. In the case of accumulating too many violations or accidents, the Iowa Department of Transportation’s Office of Driver Services may take measures with the driver privileges. The state or county administer IA traffic ticket fines, defensive driving requirements, and suspension or revocation. If accumulating more than six points in a six-year period, the Iowa driver s license may be barred for certain years. Contact the Iowa DOT regarding driver s records and point accumulation.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

How do I renew my driving permit?
An instruction permit expires after four years. An intermediate license expires after two years. A driver may apply for a driver s license at age 18; therefore it is not necessary to renew either restriction on each Iowa learning permit. However, licenses or ID card may be renewed: online, in-person, or at a kiosk.Licenses issued to minors(under 18)will have shorter periods of renewal.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

How do I renew my ID card?
Iowa ID car renewalscan be done online or in person. If eligible to renew online, the following may be required:

  • Current ID card
  • Payment of ID fee of $8.00 per year (subject to change)
  • Payment of processing fee $1.50(subject to change)

To renew in person, visit a local Iowa issuance location at a kiosk or DOT location. For more information on how to renew IA ID cards,contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at 515-239-1101.

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Military personnel are entitled to IA drivers license renewal extensions. Current military members that are not in Iowa at the timeof the license expiration and are not eligible to renew drivers license online are qualified for a military extension. A military extension is valid for up to six months after active duty. The military member, or dependents, must complete the Request For Extension Of License For Military Service.

The completed form may be mailed or faxed to:

  • Office of Driver Services

Iowa Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 9204

Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

Telephone: 515-244-8725

Fax: 515-239-1837

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
A Medical Examiner s Certificate must be renewed before expiration. Certificates have to be renewed, generally, every two years. However, renewal periods may vary depending on medical conditions.

For non-expected interstate drivers to keep their IA license to drive commercial vehicles, the medical report must be renewed. To renew the report, a certified medical professional on the list of National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners must examine the driver and fill out a new Medical Examiner s Certificate. The certificate must then be presented to the Iowa DOT s Office of Driver Services.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Iowa

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Motorcycle license may be renewed online, at a local Iowa issuance location or at a kiosk. If having a noncommercial Iowa license and/or motorcycle license and eligible to renew online the following must be provided:

  • Current Iowa driver’s/motorcycle license
  • Credit/Debit card

To renew in person or at a local kiosk make sure to bring the current Iowa driver’s license with motorcycle endorsement or the Class M Motorcycle License with a form of payment. Contact the Iowa DOT at 800-532-1121 for further questions on motorcycle requirements and renewal.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If eligible for a driver s license, non-U.S. citizens may also receive an Iowa duplicate driver s license. For identification purposes evidence documenting date of birth, identity and legal status or presence are required. Identification documents may include but are not limited to:

  • Foreign passport stamped “Processed for I-551”
  • Refugee Travel Document (I-571)
  • Unexpired Employment Authorization Document (I-766)
  • Unexpired foreign passport accompanied I-94 stamp
  • Unexpired Permanent Resident Card

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
In the case that of an IA lost drivers license while out of state, an Iowa drivers license copy may be issued. The temporary driving permit is not a form of identification. The request for a TDP must be hand written. The following information must be included:

  • Full name
  • Driver s license number or Social Security number
  • Date of birth
  • Signature
  • Out-of-state address or fax

Fax the application to 515-239-1837 or mail at:

  • Iowa Department of Transportation P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

Notify the DOT whether to fax or mail the TDP. Upon returning to Iowa, a duplicate drivers license may be applied for.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
To transfer titles between states, procedures may differ depending on the move. If moving from Iowa to a new state and try getting car titles for that specific state, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles of the state.

Residents moving to Iowa must provide:

  • Certificate of title
  • Completed Iowa Certificate of Title application

Contact the local county treasurer s office for further assistance and procedures regarding Iowa car titles.

For more information: Iowa State-to-State Transfer of Title

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
In the case where an Iowa car title has been lost and is needed to be replaced with an IA new car title, the local county treasurer s office will help complete the process. Simply, the vehicle owner in need for the IA car title, may complete the Application For Replacement Of Iowa Certificate Of Title To A Motor Vehicle. This form is to be presented at the local county treasurer s office where the previous vehicle title was issued. Additional fees may apply depending on the county guidelines. Before visiting the office in person, feel free to contact the county treasurer s office via telephone or email to assist with any questions.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

How do I transfer my car title?
To complete an Iowa car title transfer it must be done in the Iowa County of residence. When getting car title transfers, follow the following steps:

Upon all document completion, the owner to which the vehicle was handed over must present the new title to the county treasurer office no later than 30 days after the title was newly issued.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Transferring RV titles results in a motor vehicle title transfer. To get car titles in Iowa for an RV, the seller should complete the Assignment of Title form available at the local county treasurer s office.

The buyer shall complete an Application for Certificate of Title or Application for Certificate Title. Certain additional documentation may apply, such as:

  • Declared purchase price
  • Bill of sale
  • Odometer statement
  • Damage disclosure

Provide all documentation to the local county treasurer s office. For further instruction and procedure, contact the office during business hours.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
A military member may obtain an Iowa motorcycle license. Military veterans are eligible to request a “Veteran” designation on the motorcycle license or regular driver s license. If on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces, the military member is eligible for a six-month license extension after leaving active duty.

Military members are not required to hold an Iowa driver s license if operating a military motor vehicle on duty in the U.S. Armed Forces.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

How does the DMV check my vision?
To be eligible for an IA driving license, the Iowa department will issue a vision screening examination. If applying for a noncommercial license , the applicant may choose to do a vision screening with a doctor. As proof for the department, the doctor can write the results on a department form or a doctor s letter. The doctor must measure the vision within 30 days of application.

The vision examination requires a 140° or better field of vision and a 20/40 acuity to be eligible to not hold any restrictions.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
For the first step of the GDL, the instruction permit can be held at the age of 14. At the age of 16, the driver can then apply for the intermediate license if having a permit for 12 consecutive months. Upon completing both steps, the driver can obtain a full license available at age 17.

When getting drivers permits distinctive fees may apply. The permit restriction holds a $6.00 fee (subject to change). The intermediate license holds an $8.00 fee (subject to change).

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Iowa title replacements may be requested at the local county treasurer s office the vehicle corresponds to. To receive a replacement, make sure to provide:

After the application is received and all fees are processed there is a mandatory waiting period of five days. After the waiting period is complete, the Iowa car title replacement will be issued.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Refusing to undergo chemical examination by request of the law is a charge for a drivers license mandatory revocation. The Iowa revoked drivers license process will involve:

  • Temporary driving permit that expires within ten days
  • License revocation period depending on record
  • Drinking drivers course
  • Substance abuse evaluation and/or treatment
  • Applicable reinstatement fees

Under the Iowa Implied Consent law, law enforcement officials have the authority to enact punishment for substance test refusal.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Upon visiting a local Iowa issuance location Mondays through Fridays between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to apply for ID cards, applicants must remember to bring important documentation and payment methods. Make sure to provide:

Upon completion, the applicant will be issued paper identification valid for 30 days. The plastic Iowa ID card will arrive in via mail in seven to 21 days.

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
If having three or more vehicle convictions in a period of six years, the Iowa Department of Transportation holds the right to suspend a driver s license. If accumulating more than six points in a six-year period, the Iowa driver s license may be barred for at least two years. If a driver s license is barred, no driving may take place during the suspension period.

If attempting to drive while barred or suspended, additional points may be added to the license. Aside from points and fines, the Iowa DOT and the Iowa court systems reserve the right to administer additional penalties.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Iowa does not allow traffic school attendance to remove points from the record. Points are acquired on the record for serious driving infractions and are measured in six-year periods. If a license accumulates six to seven points, it will be barred for a minimum of two years. A barred license revokes any driving privileges for the time being barred. In most cases, Defensive Driving courses may be assigned by the Iowa DOT.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
When filing a petition for name change on a current Iowa car registration, visit the local county treasurer office where the original car registration was issued. In most cases, a $3.00 replacement car registration fee is charged. The county treasurer may require additional fees to process a name change. Contact, via phone or email, the local county treasurer s office regarding questions on requirements to change names on car registration. All fees are subject to change.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
To file an Iowa name change request for a car title, the applicant must visit the county treasurer office where the original title was issued. Make sure to provide official evidence, with a seal or stamp, to certify a legal name change. The following fees will be required to pay:

  • $15.00 new title fee
  • $10 processing fee for lienholder documentation (if applicable)
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Upon appearing at a local Department of Transportation, kiosk, or county treasure s office, provide evidence of yourname change and appropriate documentation. A payment of replacement fee of $10.00 (subject to change) will need to be given in order to complete an official name change for an Iowa ID or driver s license.

The plastic driver s license or ID card will not be issued immediately. Replacement cards arrive between sevenand 21 business days. In place, an applicant will be given a temporary ID or driver s license valid for 30 days.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Iowa commercial driving licenses must be renewed before expiring. Class A, Class B, and Class C CDL s have a duration period between five and eight years, and require an annual cost of $8.00 (subject to change). However, non-expected interstate drivers must renew their medical DOT cards/certificates periodically. The certificates/cards usually expire every two years. However, depending on the driver s medical conditions, medical renewals may need to be made more frequently.

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
A driver s license may be renewed up to 30 days before the expiration date valid on the license. However, if presenting a special case to the Department of Transportation then a temporary extension may be granted. Temporary license extensions are available for up to one year. An Application for Temporary Extension of Motor Vehicle License will be needed to be faxed or mailed, along with any required documentation.

Contact the DOT via phone at 515-239-1101 for questions regarding documentation and license extensions when renewing drivers licenses.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Vehicle inheritances are handled differently depending on the case. The Iowa Department of Transportation and Iowa County treasurer s offices may help with inheritance cases involving how to get car titles in Iowa.

  • If an Iowa resident passes away with a will that is validated, the courts handle the vehicle transfer
  • If the will does not go through the certification, a completed Affidavit of Death Testament will need to be undertaken for further titling procedures.
  • If there is no will, an Affidavit of Death Intestate must be filed and completed for a title transfer

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Additional fees will be charged to renew expired car registrations. After the three-month window, additional fees will be charged with a $5.00 (subject to change) minimum. The fee will increase at a rate of 5 percent of the fee, per vehicle, per month. At the time of the chosen renewal, the registration holder will be required to pay the fee set by the local county as well as the additional fee for outdated renewal.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
The Iowa Department of Transportation does not reimburse an individual for filing a police report. An Iowa duplicate driver s license may be given by providing evidence of identity and the $10.00 fee required to replace licenses in Iowa.

A police report should be filed in an attempt to prevent identity theft. If a victim of identity theft, contact the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection via phone at 866-908-4636.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
The property damage liability for a person includes a $15,000 minimum. In the case an accident occurs in Iowa resulting in death, injury or property damage summing up to $1,500 or more, it must be reported to the IA car insurance provider. To report the property damage, complete an Iowa Accident Report form. If investigated by a law enforcement agency, the form does not need to be completed. If the Iowa Accident Report Form is not returned in 72 hours or less, a driver may be subject to driving privilege suspension.

Upon completion of the accident report form, mail the form to:

  • Iowa Department of Transportation

Office of Driver Services

P.O. Box 9235

Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9235

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Any car operating in Iowa must have the proper Iowa insurance. If the vehicle is registered in Iowa andparked mainly within the state, at least minimum liability insurance is required. The minimum liability coverage must include bodily injury coverage of $20,000 minimum per person, bodily injury coverage of $40,000 minimum per accident, and property damage liability coverage of a $15,000 minimum per person. Along with the liability coverage, proof of IA car insurance must be carried when operating the vehicle at all times.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
The Iowa Courts Online Search Trial Court E-paymentdatabase lets ticketed residents in Iowa pay traffic tickets online. Simply enter:

  • Case Type (Traffic Ticket)
  • County of the case
  • First name and last name OR citation number

To pay for parking tickets, visit the county specific online database. If the case or citation number is not in your possession, the following can be used to look up the case:

  • License Plate number
  • License Plate state

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If an IA identification card is lost out of state, the person may only receive a replacement if going in person at a local Iowa issuance location. In attempts to replace an ID card provide the following:

  • Two forms of evidence of identity and Social Security/legal status
  • Payment of replacement fee of $10.00 (subject to change)

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
An Iowa DUI or DWI is referred to as an OWI,referring to a driver operating while intoxicated in Iowa.

If the driver s license was revoked at the time of the arrest, a temporary restricted license may be applied for after the court hearing and all requirements have been explained. If the alcohol level indicates .08 or more, the temporary restricted license may be applied for. If the alcohol level indicates .15 or more, the person has a 30-day waiting period from the effective date of the sanction to be allowed to apply for a temporary restricted license.After all court-mandated requirements are completed; the driver may apply for a new driver s license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
The process for personalized plate replacements differs from that of a regular plate replacement. The duplicate personalized plate is requested at the local county treasurer s office. Each plate is around $5.00 but additional personalized plate fees may be charged according to the plate. Upon arrival, the county office will send a notification explaining how and when to pick it up.

To pick up the personalized plate, the current registration must be taken to the local county treasurer s office. If not in possession of a car registration, an Iowa duplicate car registration may be asked for as well. Additional fees and charges may apply.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
To operate a commercial motor vehicle, a driver must be at least 18 years. If driving at the interstate level, a driver must be at least 21 years of age.

Class A, Class B, Class C, and Commercial Instruction Permits require a minimum age of 18. With the exclusion of the Commercial Instruction Permit, the Iowa CDL licenses have a duration period of five to eight years and. If issued to a driver 72 or older, the license has a duration period of two years.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
There is no official age limit regarding IA drivers license renewals. However, after age 66 the expiration period ranges from five to seven years, not five to eight. At age 72,renewals have to be made every 2 years.Each year, regardless of age, a vision examination must be undertaken. Changes in health conditions or driving restrictions may lead to a driver license examiner requesting a driving examination if believing that driving may be impaired.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Upon being pulled over, license, car registration, and in some cases, proof of identity will be required. It is advisable to have a vehicle registration in possession. In Iowa, a car should show a current registration sticker on the license plate. To register cars in Iowa visit a local county treasurer s office and provide the certificate of title completed application for an Iowa certificate of title and/or registration and appropriate fees.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The Iowa drivers license replacement will be filed to the address the Iowa Department of Transportation has on file. The address may be the address on the Iowa driver s license or the address of any address change filed. Please allow seven to 21 days for the driver s license to arrive in the mail.

If the duplicate drivers license has not arrived contact the Iowa Department of Transportation Monday to Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 515-239-1101.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Starting at the age of 72, license renewals/issuances will be on a two-year period requiring a vision-screening retake. It is important to make the Iowa Department of Transportation knowledgeable of any medical conditions that may or may not impair driving. Changes in health conditions or driving restrictions may lead to a driver license examiner requesting a driving examination. The Iowa DOT provides a specific manual for senior citizen license renewal available here

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
To get car title transfers in Iowa, it is advisable to contact the local county treasurer s department the vehicle corresponds to. The following reasons pertain to title transfer reasoning:

  • Selling
  • Buying
  • Removing a Lien
  • Transferring
  • Inheriting

In order to transfer an Iowa used car title, contact the local county treasurer s department and corresponding fees and procedures will be informed and dealt with accordingly. To legally operate a vehicle as an Iowa resident, the vehicle must be titled and registered.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
An Iowa driver s license suspension may result from a series of traffic violations or negligence. Reasons that may lead to an IA suspended driving license may include but are not limited to:

  • Three or more moving violations and accidents in 12 months
  • Violating a license restriction
  • Failure to pay fines, penalty, surcharge, or court costs of a traffic ticket
  • Violating drug or alcohol-related regulations as a minor

For a full list of violations resulting in an Iowa suspended drivers list refer to the Iowa Driver’s Manual.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Motorcycle instruction permits and motorcycle-only permits are available starting at age 14. These permits are issued to learners accompanied by a motorcycle-licensed driver.

An Iowa motorcycle endorsement that is added to a driver s license requires a minimum age of 16. A Class M motorcycle license requires a minimum age of 16 as well. A motorized bicycle (moped) permit is available at age 14.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
The IA commercial driver s license is available in Class A, Class B, or Class C depending on the vehicle and the transportation purposes. Each endorsement requires a fee and may require an endorsement-specific knowledge examination. Endorsements include:

  • Hazardous Materials
  • Double/Triple
  • Tank Vehicles
  • Passenger
  • School Bus

Use the Iowa Commercial Driver License Manual for preparation of CDL examinations, additional endorsement information and proper CDL procedures.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving with an Iowa suspended driving license may result in tickets and fines. Additionally, two points will be added to the license.The driver may be charged for committing a misdemeanor and may have to be fees and an additional fine of $1,000.00 or more to be determined by jurisdiction.

In some cases, the vehicle may be towed. To release the vehicle evidence may need to be presented. A valid driver s license, evidence of auto insurance, and vehicle registration may be required. A license reinstatement fee will also need to be provided to the Iowa DOT to qualify for a new license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

What are the different types of driving records?
A certified and noncertified Iowa driving record is available on the online driving record database using myMVD. The website allows an Iowa driver to obtain a non-certified driving record for personal use and free of charge. Additionally, an Iowa DOT certified DMV driving record may be purchased online for a fee of $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge. The certified IA drivers record may be used for legal or official matters. The driving record includes:

  • Driving history
  • Endorsements
  • Personal information
  • Restrictions
  • Status of driver s license

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
A Class O Iowaidentification card has a fee of $8.00 per year. An ID card is only valid for eight years. There is a fee for online ID card renewals of $1.50. There is an additional $10.00 fee to replace ID cards. If an Iowa DMV IDcard is defective in any way, there will be no additional charge to replace it. All ID card fees are subject to change.

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Iowa drivers license replacements can be obtained by presenting oneself at a local Iowa issuance location. After providing documentation and all needed information, the application process is completed.

Upon completing the application process for a lost or stolen Iowa drivers license, a $10.00 duplicate license fee (subject to change) will be charged. If applying for a TDP, while out of state additional mailing fees may apply.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
The first year of holding an Iowa learningpermit comes with various limitations. Limitations include:

  • Supervised driving with parent or guardian, driver education teacher, family member 21 or older, or driver 25 or older
  • All passengers must have a seat belt
  • No accidents or violations for six consecutive months
  • Number of passengers limited to the number of seat belts in the vehicle

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
Part of the Iowa CDL application requires applicants to self-certify a category.

  • Non-expected interstate drivers must meet the Federal DOT medical card requirements and provide a copy of the Medical Examiner s Certificate to the Iowa Department of Transportation.
  • Intrastate non-expected drivers must meet the medical requirements issued by the state of Iowa.

The Medical Examiner s Certificate must be issued by a certified medical professional on the list of National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. Upon completion, a copy of the Medical Examiner s Certificate must be given to the Iowa Department of Transportation and be renewed regularly before expiration. The Iowa CDL driver is required to have the Medical Examiner s Certificate, in certificate or card form, when operating the CMV.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Replacement registrations are available for purchase at the local county treasurer s office. Iowa duplicate vehicle registrations are request when a vehicle registration has been:

  • Lost
  • Stolen
  • Mutilated to the degree of illegibility

If a registration is victim to any of the conditions above, a vehicle owner may then be involved in replacing car registration in Iowa. Simply provide the vehicle plate number and registration replacement fee of the county the vehicle and registration pertains to.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Iowa drivers with learning permits must maintain a clean driving record for a minimum of six consecutive months directly before applying for an intermediate license. Traffic violations received during your drivers permit period can result in suspension of your permit to drive.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
The Iowa Courts and the Iowa DOT determine the Iowa OWIcase penalties. Penalties may include a series of payments, including but not limited to:

  • $625.00 to $1,200.00 Iowa DUI ticket
  • $200.00 civil penalty fee

Other penalties are court-mandated and depend on the DUI case and judge decision. Penalties may include but are not limited to:

  • Community service
  • Completing incarceration period
  • Completing Interlock requirement
  • Evidence of completed and approved drinking drivers course
  • Evidence of financial responsibility
  • Evidence of substance abuse evaluation and treatment or rehabilitation services

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Reinstatement fees and requirement are available at the Iowa DOT online services. In most cases, fees and procedures differ depending on the IA drivers license suspension. To access the online services, make sure to provide:

  • First name
  • Last name
  • Date of birth
  • Iowa s driver s license
  • Last 5 digits of Social Security number

Keep in mind that when reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Iowa, a civil penalty payment must be made before reinstatement. The fine is specific to financial responsibility cases. For help, contact the Iowa DOT at 515-244-1052 or myMVD@dot.iowa.gov.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
Iowa car registration fees vary by county, age, and list price. Certain trucks and all vehicles after 2010 are additionally calculated by weight. For an IA vehicle registration fee estimate, contact the county treasurer s office where the vehicle will be registered. When registering cars in Iowa counties, be sure to provide payment of registration fees to complete the process. It is advisable to call the local county treasurer s office in advance for an estimate.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The replacement title fee is $25.00 and is subject to change. The replacement fee is paid at the local county treasurer s office. Make sure to provide all documentation and forms that may be needed to when replacing car titles in Iowa. Contact the local county treasurer s officefor additional fees and forms that may apply. Forms may include:

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
Although each county may differ in replacement registration fees, the average fee is $3.00 (subject to change). The registration replacement fee of the fittingIowa County must be presented along with the plate number information.

Replacement registrations are usually needed when an owner is a victim of a stolen, mutilated, or lost car registration in Iowa.Iowa duplicate car registrations are necessary when car registration evidence cannot be presented or is illegible. Evidence of car registration is required under the Iowa state law requiring all vehicles operating on public property.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The required registration fees will be determined by the Iowa county treasurer s office. It is advisable to contact the local county treasurer s office to receive an estimate of the payment.

Additional fees may be required if the renewal period for the registration expires. A minimum penalty of $5.00 per vehicle will be charged. The fee will increase at a rate of 5 percent of the fee, per vehicle, per month.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
The state of Iowa requires applicants getting an IA motorcycle license for a three-wheeled vehicle to pass specific examinations differing from the standard two-wheel examinations. The Iowa Motorcycle Operator Manual offers supplemental information for three-wheel vehicles to pass the written knowledge examination and driving skills examination. The manual offers the following instructions for the Rider Skill Test:

  • Left Turn, Normal Stop
  • Cone Weave, Turn From a Stop
  • Quick Stop
  • Obstacle Swerve

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
In the case of less serious suspensions, a temporary restricted license may be issued. The temporary restricted license is a work permit that only applies if the driver s job depends on being able to drive. The restriction is available to those who have had driving privileges suspended.

If a victim of an Iowa suspended driving license, contact the Iowa DOT via telephone at 515-244-9124 or 515-244-8725. The department, in reference to the driver s license suspension conditions, will check eligibility for the temporary restricted license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
Upon completion of the Iowa driving examination, the driving examiner will release examination results. The driving examiner will explain mistakes and possible improvements. Upon giving directions and a full explanation of results, the examiner will explain examination retake procedures in attempts of applying for drivers licenses again. The examiner will clearly state how and when the applicant may take the examination. Vision and knowledge examinations are not required to be retaken.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
To obtain an IA drivers permit, the applicant, when applying for an instruction permit, must provide evidence of identification, residency, and Social Security number to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Evidence of identification documenting birth, identity, and lawful status may include:

  • Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550, N-570 or N-578)
  • Certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate
  • Unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551)
  • Valid foreign passport stamped “Processed for I-551”
  • Valid, unexpired U.S. passport

Evidence of social security and name may include:

  • Pay stub or statement
  • Social Security card
  • W-2 form

Evidence of residency:

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
When getting a motorcycle license in Iowa, it is important to provide a local Iowa issuance location appropriate documentation. Documentation must include evidence of identity, Social Security/legal status, and residency.

Evidence of identification documenting birth, identity, and lawful status may include:

  • Certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate
  • Naturalization certificate
  • Valid foreign passport stamped “Processed for I-551”

Evidence of social security/legal status and name may include:

  • Pay stub or statement
  • Social Security card
  • USCIS number

Evidence of residency may include:

  • Iowa voter registration card
  • Utility hookup or bill
  • Credit, debit, or charge card statement

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To obtain an IA driving license, the applicant must provide evidence of identification, residency, and Social Security number (or legal status) to an Iowa a license issuance office.

Evidence of identification documenting birth, identity, and lawful status may include:

  • Certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate
  • Naturalization certificate
  • Unexpired Permanent Resident Card
  • Valid foreign passport stamped “Processed for I-551”

Evidence of social security/legal status and name may include:

  • Pay stub or statement
  • Social Security card
  • W-2 form
  • USCIS number

Evidence of residency may include:

  • Iowa voter registration card
  • Utility hookup or bill
  • Credit, debit, or charge card statement

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Iowa car title replacement may require an in-person visit to the county treasurer s office. No documentation is required, but certain Iowa DOT forms must be brought to the office corresponding the vehicle in the assigned county. The following forms may need to be completed:

These applications, along with a $25.00 replacement title fee (subject to change) may be required at the local county treasurer s office. Contact the local office for information regarding certain vehicle requirements.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
To present proof of residency when changing the address on the driver s license card, the applicant is responsible for providing two different forms of address change evidence. The Iowa address change request involves presenting two forms of evidence and turning in the original driver s license.

Evidence of residency may include:

  • Iowa voter registration card
  • Utility hookup or bill (water, gas, electric, or garbage removal)
  • Second utility hookup or bill (different than the first)
  • Credit, debit, or charge card statement
  • Iowa residential mortgage, lease or rental agreement (lease and rental agreements must include the landlord s name and contact information)

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
Non-U.S. citizens must present both their original driver s license or ID card and evidence of new residency. It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the DOT within 30 days of the address change in person, online, or via mail or fax. If requesting an Iowa official address change on the license or ID, provide evidence of residency.

Evidence may include:

  • Iowa voter registration card
  • Utility hookup or bill (water, gas, electric, or garbage removal)
  • Second utility hookup or bill (different than the first)
  • Credit, debit or charge card statement
  • Iowa residential mortgage, lease or rental agreement (lease and rental agreements must include the landlord s name and contact information)

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
The only requirements needed to present to obtain when replacing car registrations in Iowa is the plate number of the vehicle and a registration replacement fee of $3.00 (subject to change).

The fee and plate number are brought to the local county treasurer s office. Most county treasurer s office work Monday through Friday, contact the office for hours of operation. County treasurer s office may be contacted by phone or email.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
In order to obtain an Iowa car registration, certain documents will need to be taken to a local county treasurer s office. Provide the current vehicle ownership document. This document is the certificate of title. With the document, make sure to complete an Application For An Iowa Certificate Of Title And/Or Registration. For access to the application, contact the local county treasurer s department. It may also be wise to infer about the vehicle registration fee.

Upon providing the certificate of title, application and appropriate fees the local county treasurer s office will allow a driver to get car registration in Iowa.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
No documents are necessary to renew a vehicle registration. However, it is important to have all payment and additional information at hand. An IA car registration renewal will be mailed out by the local county treasurer s office.

The notice will have the PIN and plate number needed to be able to renew car registration online.

If completing via mail, the only document required is a completed the Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration that may be accessed by contact the local county treasurer s office.

Contact the local county treasurer s office pertaining to questions regarding in-person renewal documentation.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
If choosing to renew an expired drivers license in person, visit a local Iowa issuance location, or a kiosk. Upon arrival to renew licenses, applicants are asked to provide the expired driver s license and the payment fees.

Failure to renew a driver s license may result in additional examination and requests from the Department of Transportation. If in possession of an Iowa expired drivers license for more than one year, the driver may have to retake knowledge and skills examinations with the DOT.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
To transfer an IA used car title, the original Iowa title for car is required. The forms can be obtained online or at a local county treasurer s office. The following forms must be filled and signed in black ink:

  • Completed the Assignment of Title on the back of the title document
  • Complete the Odometer Statement found in the back of the vehicle title or fill out the Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Complete the Damage Disclosure Statement
  • Complete the Certificate of Title by the buyer and seller
  • Provide a Bill of Sale

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
For identification purposes, a document is required when trying to replace drivers licenses. An IA drivers license replacement requires one document, documenting date of birth, identity and legal status or presence. Identification documents may include:

  • Certified copy of birth certificate issued by the United States
  • Citizenship Certificate
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S. Department of State
  • Naturalization Certificate
  • Valid, unexpired United States passport

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
To obtain a motorcycle driving privileges a series of examinations must be passed. The Iowa Motorcycle Operator Manual provides the necessary information for all required motorcycle examinations. Examinations for an Iowa motorcycle license include:

  • Motorcycle knowledge examination
  • Operator knowledge examination
  • Motorcycle skills (driving) examination
  • Vision screening

If obtaining anIowa motorcycle endorsement, the operator knowledge examination will be waived. If the applicant has completed an Iowa DOT-approved motorcycle rider education course, the skills (driving) examination may be waived as well.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Iowa

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
Along with the applicable fees, certain forms must be filled out to receive an IA duplicate car title. The vehicle owner must complete an Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle.

If there is a lien holder, the application is not valid unless the lien holder signs the application as well. If the lien holder will no longer be on the Iowa car title, an optional Cancellation of Security Interest form must be filled out. Contact the local county treasurer s officefor additional fees and forms that may apply to specific IA car title replacement cases. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If an Iowa traffic ticket fine is administered for serious traffic violations while operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle certain measures may be taken. Serious traffic violations include but are not limited to:

  • Excessive speeding (15 mph or more above the limit)
  • Following a vehicle too closely
  • Improper or erratic change of lanes
  • Reckless driving

Apart from having to pay traffic tickets online, in person or via mail at Iowa courts the CDL may be revoked for:

  • A minimum of 60 days if committing two serious traffic violations in three years
  • A minimum of 120 days if committing three or more traffic violations in three years

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
CDL drivers may face distinctive consequences when convicted of a DUI. If a driver is convicted of a DUI for the first time, the driver will lose the Iowa CMV license for at least one year. If the commercial driver is charged with a DUI and has a placarded CMV for hazardous materials, the license will be revoked for at least three years. If a driver is convicted for a second offense DUI, then he or she loses the CDL for life and is not eligible to apply for a CDL again.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If the original IA car title is lost and a replacement has been issued, properly dispose of the previous car title. The old car title is void and not valid for the vehicle any longer.

To avoid identity theft, it is recommended that important documentation be shredded properly. If concerned about identity theft, contact the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection at 866-908-4636. To obtain more information regarding identity theft contact the Iowa’s Office of the Attorney General at 515-281-5926.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

What information does a driving record contain?
When accessing a driving record, the record will provide personal information and driver s information. This may include:

  • Driving history
  • Endorsements
  • Restrictions
  • Status of driver s license

Personal information will provide the driver s name, address, date of birth, and driver s license or VIN. The Iowa driving history will include all convictions, suspensions and reinstatements that are recorded in the Iowa driving record database.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An ID card is an identification card, and is auseful form of self-identification. The Iowa ID card is issued under the state of Iowa government, under the Department of Transportation. The IA ID card serves as a form of documentation for Iowa residents to verify personal identity.It is not necessary for residents to get ID cards, but they are administered regardless of age.

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
An Iowa DUI ticket may range between$625.00 and $1,200.00 (subject to change). Aside from paying specific fines for OWIcharges, a series of other penalties may be administered to the Iowa court s decision. Penalties may include:

  • Community service
  • Incarceration
  • Drinking drivers courses
  • Substance abuse evaluation and applicable treatment or rehabilitation services

OWIcosts not only include DUI ticket costs but also civil penalty fees, reinstatement fees or any examinations or courses required by the Iowa Courts and the Iowa DOT.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Traffic ticket prices in Iowa vary based on the offense that led to the traffic fine. You can find out the cost of your traffic violation by checking the ticket documentation, checking the traffic ticket details online or waiting until your court appearance.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

What is the cost to get a driver record?
To access the Iowa online drivers record,there is no charge. However, to have a certified, Iowa DMV driving record, a $5.50 fee is required. If obtaining an online driving record, via myMVD there is anadditional $1.50 service charge.

If requesting the certified IA driving record through mail, complete the Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records form and enclose the $5.50 fee either in check or money order. The request may be mailed to:

  • Office of Driver Services Iowa Department of Transportation P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
If operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle, it is illegal to have a blood alcohol concentration above .04 percent. When in possession of a CDL, there is automatic consent to testing alcohol in the body. If charged with an Iowa OWIordriving under the influence in whichever state the CMV is operated, the CDL will be confiscated, suspended or revoked.

The commercial driver s license will be suspended for one year if operating a CMV and:

  • Having blood alcohol concentration is .04 percent or more.
  • Refusing blood alcohol testing.
  • Being under the influence of a controlled substance.
  • Being under the influence of alcohol.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
A driver under the age of 21 is considered a minor according to Iowa law. Under the .02/”zero tolerance” violation,a minor may not hold any alcohol in their body while operating a vehicle. Penalties vary depending on each Iowa OWIcircumstances:

  • If a minor consents to chemical testing and the alcohol level is between .02 percent and .08, the driver s license will be revoked for 60 days on a first violation
  • If a minor does not consent to chemical testing and is suspected of driving with .02 percent or more, the driver s license will be revoked for one year

Minors penalized under the.02/”zero tolerance” violation are not eligible for a temporary restricted license during the period of revocation and are charged with driving while intoxicated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Iowa minimum liability insurance coverage is mandatory. To operate a vehicle on Iowa roadways legally, insurance for a cars must cover bodily and property damage. The minimum requirements for liability coverage includes:

  • Bodily Injury: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident
  • Property Damage: $15,000 minimum per person

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
The Knowledge examination (written test) requires the applicant to demonstrate understanding of road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving. All the required information is available in the Iowa Driver’s Manual and provides everything needed to pass the written examination.

IowaDOT government provides a 25-question examination based on the real knowledge questions. A score of 80% or higher is needed to be considered a passing score.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
To title a motorcycle, in the case the motorcycle is in used condition, the Iowa vehicle title must be provided to the county treasurer s office. When getting IA vehicle titles motorcycles or scooters may require fees and a submitted application and title or MCO to the appropriate Iowa county treasurer s office.

In the case of a new motorcycle, the vehicle must have a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) and be taken to the local county treasurer s department. The MCO may be accompanied by a completed Iowa Certificate of Title application. Contact the local county treasurer s office for further assistance regarding motorcycle titling.

If trying to get car titles for an Iowa scooter, the vehicle must have an MCO stating that the vehicle s maximum operating speed is less than 30 mph.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

What languages is the written test available in?
The Iowa Driver’s Manual serves as a study guide for the written examination. The Iowa Department of Transportation provides supplemental study guides in a variety of languages. The general knowledge test for an operator’s license is available in:

  • Arabic
  • Albanian
  • Bosnian
  • Burmese
  • Cambodian
  • Chinese
  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Greek
  • Hebrew
  • Hmong
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Laotian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Somalian
  • Vietnamese

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
After being charged with an Iowa DUI citation, a court hearing will be arranged. Depending on the court s decision and reinstatement guidelines, a series of requirements will be assigned in order to reinstate a driver s license when charged with an Iowa OWI. These reinstatement guidelines may include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Community service
  • Completing incarceration period
  • Completing Interlock requirement
  • Evidence of completed and approved drinking drivers course
  • Evidence of financial responsibility
  • Evidence of substance abuse evaluation and treatment or rehabilitation services
  • Paying $200.00 civil penalty fee (subject to change)
  • Paying required criminal DUI citation payments

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
The Iowa Department of Transportation holds the right to contact any licensee to communicate changes or notifications. Contact the DOTat 515-239-1101 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. for information on address changes and probable consequences. Address changes may be reflected on the driver s licenses or used strictly for mailing purposes. An IA address change request may be completed in person, online, or via fax or email.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
After the expiration date on the driver s license, the license is valid for up to 60 days. If found operating a vehicle with an Iowa expired driver licenses, a law enforcement official may issue a ticket. If a driver s license is expired for one year or more, the Department of Transportation may issue the knowledge and driving skills examinations.

If not in Iowa, unable to renew licenses in person and ineligible to renew online, a licensee may apply for a temporary extension. Simply fill out the Application for Temporary Extension of Motor Vehicle License and fax or mail to:

  • Iowa Department of Transportation

Office of Driver Services

P.O. Box 9204

Des Moines, IA 50306-9204

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
To register a vehicle, the Iowa Department of Transportation may require proof of insurance. Evidence of Iowa car insurance may be demonstrated by presenting the financial liability card issued for the vehicle by the insurance provider. The minimum liability must include bodily injury coverage of $20,000 minimum per person, bodily injury coverage of $40,000 minimum per accident, and property damage liability coverage of a $15,000 minimum per person.

The financial liability card may be presented at the Iowa Department of Transportation as evidence of Iowa insurance for car. If there are questions regarding insurance coverage and liability contact the local insurance provider.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Upon renewing the registration with the local county treasurer s office, the processing and mailing should be completed within 24 business hours of the authorization of the payment. Payments are acceptable via mail, online or in person. Allow days for mail processing. If the registration tag or sticker has not been received after seven to 21 days of processing, contact the local county treasurer s office for further assistance.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
A new license will be sent to arrive in the mail after the renewal is complete. Allow the license between 7 to twenty days to arrive. If after twenty days of renewing a drivers license, contact the Iowa Department of Transportation.

The Iowa DOT is available Monday to Friday betweenthe hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. The department is available during business hours via phone and can be contacted at 515-239-1101.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
The state of Iowa requires a passing status on the DMV administered Knowledge and Vision tests. The Knowledge examination (written test) requires the applicant to demonstrate understanding of road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving. The Vision examination tests and determines any restrictions. It requires a 140° or better field of vision and a 20/40 acuity to be eligible to not hold any restrictions (unless using glasses or contacts). Both examinations are administered at local Iowa issuance locations and are necessary to obtain a permit for driving.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To apply for a CDL in Iowa,a series of examinations will need to be passed. All applicants must pass the general knowledge examination.

After the required knowledge examination(s) have been passed, three CDL skills examinations, taken in the type of vehicle the applicant will be licensed in, will be administered. The skills examination includes:

  • Vehicle inspection
  • Basic vehicle control
  • On-road driving

Use the Iowa Commercial Driver License Manual for preparation of CDL examinations and additional CDL information. Additionally, a vision screening examination will need to be passed. If applying as a non-expected interstate driver, a medical examination must be passed as well.Specific endorsements require additional examinations.

For more information: Iowa Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To obtain an Iowa license to drive, the applicant must obtain a passing status on the vision, knowledge and driving examination. The vision examination requires a 140° or better field of vision and a 20/40 acuity to be eligible to not hold any restrictions (unless using glasses or contacts). The Knowledge examination requires the applicant to demonstrate understanding of road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving. During the driving examination, the instructor will not ask the driver to do anything illegal and will test the driving skills. The Iowa Driver’s Manual provides helpful information on all the examinations required.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Iowa law lays out specific guidelines to follow when registering a vehicle. To register a vehicle, proof of Iowa car insurance must be demonstrated to legally drive in the state. The following liability coverage must be met for appropriate, legal car insurance:

  • Bodily Injury: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident
  • Property Damage: $15,000 minimum

Additionally, Iowa provides the following guidelinesfor minimal coverage:

  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000 minimum per person
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000 minimum per person

Iowa drivers may choose to reject the above additional coverage by giving a form to thechosen insurance company. Contact the current Iowa insurance provider for additional questions.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Most Iowa residents hold a Class C Operator license. The license entitles a licensee to conduce cars, pickups, and trucks weighing 16,000 lbs. or less. To apply for drivers licenses, an applicant must provide:

  • Evidence of identity, legal status and Iowa residence
  • Passing status on the vision, knowledge and driving examination
  • Provide applicable fees of $4.00 per year (subject to change)

This noncommercial license may include certain restrictions depending on vision and/or physical incapacities.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
According to Iowa State law, operating a vehicle on public property requires Iowa car insurance. Failure to keep or maintain car insurance in Iowa may result in one or more of the following:

  • $250.00 fine (subject to change)
  • Community service
  • Impoundment
  • Plate or registration removal
  • Warning or citation if pulled over without insurance

To reissue a driver s license or have vehicles returned proof of insurance would be required.

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
After the reinstatement process has been completed, driving privileges may be returned. To reinstate revoked drivers license in Iowa, the suspension period must be served.Casesinvolved inreinstating suspended drivers licenses in Iowamay require additional testing and fine payments. Information outlining Iowa drivers license suspension requirements may be explained during the hearing or may be requested.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

When does my car registration expire?
Car registrations expire on the date of expiration of the current vehicle registration. The local county treasurer s office allows a three month window to renew car registration online or via mail.

A registration renewal notice will be sent out by the local county treasurer s office as a reminder to renew expired car registration in Iowa, along with PIN and plate number information. This will be useful in accessing the online renewal at the Iowa Treasurer s website. An IA car registration renewal may also be completed via mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

When does my ID card expire?
Iowa identification cards expire after eight years. The date of expiration is printed and can be located on the ID card.Class O non-operator identification cards are administered regardless of age and have no minimum age requirement. If in possession of a driver s license, the license will need to be returned to strictly maintain the ID card only. The fee for an ID card is $8.00 per year (subject to change).

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
The Iowa DOT requires a person to contact the department within 30 days of their IA address changing. The notification may be done in person, online, or via mail or fax.

  • If requesting in person, visit a local Iowa issuance location with the current driver s license and the address change.
  • If requesting online, visit the Iowa myMVD website. The portal allows a mailing address change free of charge.
  • If requesting via mail or fax complete, the Iowa address change form titled Change of Address Notice. Fax the IA address change form to 515-239-1837. The mailed request can be sent to the Office of Driver Services Iowa Department of Transportation P.O. Box 9204.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Iowa

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
For security and confirmation purposes, it is recommended the Bill of Sale be completed as soon as theIA car title transaction occurs. It is advisable that before the Bill of Sale is completed, all other paperwork be completed. The Bill of Sale is not valid without the new copy to the owner of the vehicle for which the title is issued. Necessary documents and forms may include:

Contact the local county treasurer s office of the specific vehicle for county-specific procedures and instruction.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Iowa

When will I need to renew my license?
An Iowa driver s license is usually valid between five to eight years. It is advisable to renew the driver s license before the date of expiration or before thirty days after the date of expiration. The date of expiration is printed on the driver s license. The license may be used for driving up to 60 days after the printed expiration date. It is possible to apply for an Iowadrivers license renewal 30 days before it expires.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Iowa duplicate drivers license require time for processing and mailing. Usually, a temporary driving permit may be issued for 30 days. The temporary paper permit is useful for driving until the new IA drivers license replacement arrives. The plastic Iowa driver s license card will arrive via mail in seven to 21 days.

If the duplicate drivers license has not yet arrived contact the Iowa Department of Transportation Monday to Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 515-239-1101.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Iowa Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
To check if a driver is in possession of an Iowa suspended drivers license, visit the online Iowa myMVD website. The online database offers a driving record along with reinstatement requirements. To access the online services, make sure to provide:

  • First name
  • Last name
  • Date of birth
  • Iowa s driver s license
  • Last 5 digits of Social Security number

For more information: Suspended License Information for Iowa

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
The state of Iowa administers vehicle titles, registrations, and vehicle documentations through the local county treasurer s office.

These offices work separately from the Iowa Department of Transportation and vary county to county. If trying to replace a license registration contact the local county treasurer s office.

The County Treasurers’ Office locations by countycan be found online. Make sure to see which location reflects the county under the vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
In Iowa driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will result in an IA OWIif above a .08 alcohol level. An ignition interlock device may be assigned under Iowa law to drivers convicted of an OWIand needing to maintain limited driving privileges. The Iowa DOT allows ignition interlock devices to be administered by approved agencies.

The Iowa DOT website provides an Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated) page. On the page, there is a subsection titled Iowa’s ignition interlock devices. This subsection explains Iowa ignition interlock policies and provides a list of approved administrators by the Division of Criminal Investigation.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Information regarding paying traffic tickets and corresponding ticket information can be found online using theIowa Courts Online Search Trial Court E-paymenton the Iowa Courts government website. To locate the traffic ticket, use the search engine using the Case Number on the issued traffic ticket. Not all traffic tickets can be paid online, some may require payment by mail or in person.

Parking tickets must be paid according to the specific county where the parking ticket was issued. Most counties have specific parking fine payment centers, online or in person.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

Where can I get a new drivers license?
There are a variety of driver license issuance offices available in Iowa. The Office of Driver Services looks over these offices and handles licensing, records, driver safety and identification. To obtain an Iowa drivers license visit any of the following offices:

  • Iowa DOT driver’s license issuance site
  • County treasurer s office

There are 19 Iowa DOT sites and 81 County treasurer s offices. Contact a local license issuance office to schedule adriver license application.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Iowa

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Contact the local county treasurer s office for any issues regarding vehicle titles including Iowa duplicate car titles. The county treasurer s office that completes replacement requests is in the county the vehicle is titled and registered under. Contact the local office for information on replacement title requests; most counties require an in-person application.

In Iowa replacing car titles requires the following when fulfilling a title replacement request:

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Iowa ID cards are administered at around 100 local Iowa issuance locations, including DOT locations and kiosks. IA Identification cards are administered during business hours usually Mondays to Fridays between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

If obtaining an ID card, remember to bring:

For more information: How to Apply for an Iowa Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Iowa law requires a person operating a motor vehicle registered in Iowa to have minimum financial liability coverage in effect. Any vehicle that must be registered to operate on Iowa public property requires the minimum liability coverage of the state. When pertaining to cars, keep the following in mind when having to get car insurance:

  • Bodily Injury: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident
  • Property Damage: $15,000 minimum per person

For more information: How To: Save on Iowa Auto Insurance

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
It is required that the parent or guardian sign the Parent’s/Guardian’s written consent form to receive an IA learning permit. The form acknowledges parental consent in applying for a permit or license in the case of a minor. The form also acknowledges and declares the minor s proof of residencyin the State of Iowa.

The form also gives approval for:

  • Organ donation (if applicable)
  • Driving privilege supervision(if applicable)

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Iowa

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Traffic tickets are available for viewing on the myMVD webpage. Traffic tickets may also be found on the Iowa Courts case look-up government webpage. If the traffic ticket does not appear on the record, it may mean that the traffic ticket has yet to be processed into the system. In other cases, it may be a citation that is not allowed to be shownor is not a moving violation. For questions regardingIowa driving records and history contact the Iowa Department of Transportation at 515-239-1101.

For more information: Your Iowa Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Each IA driver s license renewal requires a vision screening examination to be administered. Vision screening may be completed at a local doctor or at a local Iowa issuance location. In order to be given a renewed license, the applicant must receive a passing status on the vision examination. The screening will test at least 20/40 in one eye, distance and speed judgment and night vision.With certain impairments, the DOT may place restrictions on the license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
If preferred, the Iowa Department of Transportation allows licensees to apply for a renewal notice electronically to notify when a licensee should renew their Iowa expired drivers license. The electronic mail renewal is available online at the myMVD Iowa DOT webpage. The electronic renewal will send a notification via email with a renewal notice. The method is applicable to renew licenses or identification cards.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Iowa

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
If having three or more vehicle convictions in a period of six years, the Iowa driver s license may be barred for at least two years. Certain driving convictions may require paying traffic tickets in Iowa as well as fulfilling court-mandated revocations. The following traffic violations may lead to points on a license:

  • Driving under suspension, revocation, or denial:two points
  • Driving under the influence: four points
  • Serious injury caused by operating a motor vehicle: five points
  • Manslaughter by operating a motor vehicle: six points

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Iowa

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
In various cases involving driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated in Iowa, the Iowa Court will assign alcohol awareness courses and evaluations. The court and the Iowa DOT will require the OWIoffender to attend a Drinking Drivers course as well as undergo a substance abuse evaluation. In many cases, the substance abuse evaluation may require accompanied substance abuse treatment. The court may choose to issue a Substance Abuse Reality Program as part of the reinstatement requirements.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Iowa

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Iowa county treasurer s offices differ from county to county. Certain registration fees and processes may differ. Most counties require only the vehicle plate number and the car replacement registration fee assigned by the county.Contact the local county treasurer s office to inquire about how to replace car registrations in the assigned Iowa County.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
To obtain an Iowa duplicate car title no proof of insurance is required. Most local county treasurer s officeonly requires a completed Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle. Aside from the application, a $25.00 replacement title fee (subject to change) will be required. Visit a local county treasurer s officein the county of the corresponding vehicle with all form and fees requirements. For questions concerning title replacements and requirements contact the office of the local county treasurer.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Iowa

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The county treasurer offices of each designated county will administer IA car registration renewal notices. A registration renewal reminder will be administered via mail. The reminder holds a specific PIN needed to log onto the online system to renew car registration online. Vehicles may be renewed a month before and a month after the renewal registration month. In the case that a renewal registration notice is not received it is the vehicle owner s responsibility to renew expired car registration in Iowa.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Car registrations expire on the date noted on the registration card. Car registrations expire on the first day of the following month of expiration. The three-month window allows for the car registration holder to renew Iowa car registration a month prior to the month of expiration, the month of expiration, and the first day of the month proceeding the month of expiration. Iowa car registration renewals may be completed online, in person or via mail. Contact the local county treasurer s office appropriate information, payment, and completed forms.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Iowa