Louisiana Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Residents of Louisiana who are applying for a motorcycle endorsement to be added to their driver s license are not required to pass a motorcycle training course. However, it is recommended by the Louisiana OMV that drivers complete “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program” prior to application. Completing the program will allow the driver to be exempt from both the skills and written tests that are required for drivers who have not completed the program. To find out more information about motorcycle knowledge and skills tests, refer to the Louisiana Motorcycle Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Louisiana motorcycle drivers are required by state law to wear a Department of Transportation-compliant helmet at all times when operating a motorcycle. Additionally, when applying for a motorcycle endorsement and taking the road portion of the skills test, a helmet is also required. Helmets are also required for all drivers under 18 engaging in off-road driving as well.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Residents of Louisiana with expiring car registrations can renew car registrations by following the directions on their car registration renewal notices. Oftentimes, this means online or by mail. If you don t receive a renewal notice though, then you must a local Louisiana OMV office to apply in person. Car registration renewal can be held up for a variety of reasons including:

  • Driver s license suspensions
  • Invalid emissions/safety inspections documentation
  • Lack of proof of insurance

If you have any delinquent payments to make, visit an OMV office to renew your auto registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
In the state of Louisiana, drivers who have undergone an official address change must submit an address change request to the Louisiana OMV to have their address changed in the OMV records. Drivers can take care of this at any local Louisiana OMV office. Once there, residents may change the address on their driver s license. However, to submit an address change request for a driver s license, drivers must also submit an address change request for their car registration. The fee for address changing on driver s licenses is $13, while the fee for address changing on car registrations is $12 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Car insurance companies throughout the country can many times be either local to a state or nationally recognized. Drivers with coverage from national companies typically can have their policies transferred from their former state to Louisiana upon moving. However, drivers with local insurance will most likely have to get a new car insurance policy upon arriving in Louisiana. Contact the company to find out their coverage areas and if the area extends to Louisiana.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
CDL license holders must visit either a local Louisiana CDL Issuance Office(if they have a Hazardous Materials endorsement and wish to retain it) or a local Louisiana CDL Renewal Office to renew their CDL license. This is due to the number of documents that must be presented during the CDL license renewal process, including:

  • CDL Medical Examiner s Certificate
  • Driver s license
  • Proof of insurance
  • License fee of $41 (fees may vary)

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Residents of Louisiana who would like a copy of their driving record can access the records online through the Louisiana OMV website. However, the option for online driving records does not include certified driving records. Online driving records are sent as PDF by email to print out, and the cost is $17 (fees may vary). For certified driving records, individuals must visit a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, you cannot take the DMV test online. At the OMV office, residents will be required to submit a number of required documents as well as have a parent or guardian sign off on the learners permit application (if the applicant is a minor).

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Louisiana residents in possession of a CDL license are required by Federal Law to submit self-certification forms classifying themselves as one of the following:

  • Interstate non-excepted: Interstate drivers who must meet the Federal Department of Transportation medical card requirements
  • Interstate excepted: Interstate drivers who do not need to meet the Federal Department of Transportation medical card requirements
  • Intrastate non-excepted: Intrastate drivers who must meetLouisiana medical requirements
  • Intrastate excepted: Intrastate drivers who do not need to meet Louisiana medical requirements

Certain industries are excluded from medical requirements for interstate or intrastate travel. To see the details of excepted and non-excepted interstate and intrastate travel, refer to the CDL License Self-Certification Requirements Handbook.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Yes, anybody can renew your car registration on your behalf if eligible to renew online or by mail. The Louisiana OMV mails out car registration renewal notices to all residents with expiring car registrations a few weeks before the registration expires. Car registration renewals done in person must have the registered driver present with their valid driver s license.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Do boats need to be registered?
Louisiana residents who own boats must have the boats registered with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries (LDWF). To do so, residents should print and fill out a Boat Registration and Title Application. Submit the application along with all required documentation listed on the application (such as proof of tax payment or proof of ownership). Mail the completed application packet and associated fees to:

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries

P.O. Box 14796

Baton Rouge, LA 70898

Fees vary from $23 to $73 depending on the size of the boat.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Louisiana residents who own and operate scooters and mopeds legal to drive on major road ways must get a motorcycle endorsement on their driver s license to operate the vehicles on the road. According to Louisiana state regulations, all drivers must pass a written knowledge test and skills test that is representative of the type of vehicle the resident will be operating under the motorcycle endorsement. Residents who have successfully completed a motorcycle safety course and provide documentation proving this are exempt from the knowledge and skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Residents of Louisiana who have received speeding tickets are not obligated to attend traffic school unless explicitly stated by the court under which the traffic ticket fines were received. Louisiana does not have a point system so there is no way to use traffic school to reduce points on a drivers license. However, courts may sometimes make driving school mandatory as part of the judgment in a traffic fine court case. Additionally, taking driving courses may lower a driver s insurance premium depending on the company.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Depending on the company a Louisiana driver has chosen as their car insurance provider, his or her car insurancemay be transferred to a new state. This typically applies for national auto insurance providers. However, some car insurance companies are local to Louisiana and do not have branches out of state. Contact the insurance company to see if their coverage extends to the new state. If so, there is no need to switch companies. If they do not cover the new state though, drivers must research a new company in the destination state.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Residents of Louisiana dealing with a lost or stolen drivers license are advised to report the loss or theft to local law enforcement. Once a police report is filed, the resident will be provided a copy which they should take with them when visiting a local Louisiana OMV office to apply for a drivers license replacement so the OMV office can keep it on file.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Though it is not a requirement, residents of Louisiana dealing with lost or stolen car registrations should report the loss/theft to local law enforcement officials prior to applying for duplicate car registrations. Once the police report is filed, bring a copy to a local Louisiana OMV office. Officials can add the report to the driver s file to make a note for possible identity theft prevention, and even waive the duplicate car registration fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Louisiana residents who have moved to another state and transferred their car registration to the new state are not required to surrender the old license plates. However, residents are urged to either destroy the plate or surrender it voluntarily. To surrender old Louisiana plates, drivers can either drop the plates at a local Louisiana OMV office or mail them to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P O Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
In Louisiana, residents applying for learners permits are required to take a driver education course to receive a permit to drive:

  • Younger than 18: You must complete a 38-hour driver education course with 30 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of road instruction.
  • 18 years of age: You must take a 14-hour pre-licensing course with six hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of road instruction.

Drivers must pass these courses before they can move on to the next stage of the licensure process. Certificate of completion is then submitted at a local Louisiana OMV office at the time of test taking.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
No, you are not required to turn in a damaged car title. You can apply for duplicate car titles either by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office or submitting an Application for Car Title by mail to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Residents who submit duplicate car title applications by mail should receive their duplicate car title in 30 days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, you should submit the damaged card registration certificate in to the OMV to be destroyed. When applying for a duplicate car registration due to a damaged car registration, include the Vehicle Applicationand the damaged car registration, along with the $12 duplicate car registration fee (fees may vary; local fees may apply).

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
In Louisiana, there is a distinction between motorcycles, mopeds and scooters. While motorcycles and mopeds are street-legal and therefore need to be registered, scooters are not street-legal and don t need to be registered. Residents found riding non-street-legal scooters on regular roads will be ticketed by law enforcement officials.

To register a moped, residents should visit a local Louisiana OMV office with the following:

  • Bill of sale
  • Moped title or notarized certificate of origin
  • Odometer statement
  • Proof of insurance

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
To get car registration in Louisiana, emissions inspections are required for vehicles that are gas-powered, weigh less than 10,000 pounds and are registered (or set to be registered) in one of the following counties:

  • Ascension
  • East Baton Rouge
  • Iberville
  • Livingston
  • West Baton Rouge

Emissions and safety testing fees are $18 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Under Louisiana state law, all licensed drivers owning and operating vehicles in Louisiana must have a minimum liability car insurance which includes bodily injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist liability. Drivers in Louisiana found without these minimum requirements will have their license and registration automatically suspended until they can provide proof of minimum liability insurance. Additionally, drivers found in violation of the law will be subject to a $500 reinstatement fee and have to file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (form SR-22) with the Louisiana OMV for three years after the offense is committed.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
Former active members of the military may be eligible for a veteran designation on ID cards. To be eligible, veterans must have received an honorable discharge from the military and present one of the following documents:

  • Uniformed Services Identification Card
  • Report of Separation
  • Discharge Certificate
  • Honorable Discharge Certificate
  • General Discharge Certificate
  • Certificate in Lieu of Lost or Destroyed Discharge
  • Standard Statement of Service
  • Enlisted Record and Report of Separation General Discharge

There is no fee for the veteran designation if the resident surrenders his or her current ID card. If the ID card is up for renewal or the veteran is requesting a duplicate, then there will be an associated fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
To prepare for the drivers license application process, drivers can refer to the Louisiana Driver’s License Guide. Information found in the guide includes document requirements, test requirements and other relevant information to help driver s get through the drivers license application process as efficiently as possible.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
To pay or disputetraffic ticket fines, you must identity which Louisiana county the traffic ticket was issued in. Depending on the county, residents may be able to pay traffic tickets online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

How can I renew my drivers license?
Louisiana residents with expired drivers licenses must renew their license with the Louisiana OMV. Residents can obtain drivers license renewals either by mail, online or in person. To renew drivers licenses by mail or online, drivers should follow the instruction on their drivers license renewal notices. Drivers license renewal notices are mailed out by the Louisiana OMV roughly three months before the drivers license expiration date. Residents who would like to renew drivers license online can do so at the OMV website.

To renew drivers licenses in person, visit a local Louisiana OMV office with proof of identification, proof of social security and proof of insurance. Additionally, residents will have to pass a vision exam and pay the $24.50 drivers license renewal fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Louisiana residents with expiring car registrations can apply for car registration renewal by mail, online or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To renew car registration online, residents should have their computer-generated renewal invitation sent out to them several weeks before the car registration expiration date. From there, visit the car registration renewal page on the Louisiana OMV website. Online car registration renewals will be processed in the mail with the new car registration and license plate stickers arriving at the resident s home address in a few business days.

To apply for car registration renewal by mail, residents will also need their car registration renewal notice. Car registration renewal notices should be mailed along with the car registration renewal fee to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Residents who have not received a car registration renewal notice must apply for car registration renewal at the local OMV office in person. Residents applying in person should have the following with them:

  • Car registration renewal notice or expiring Louisiana car registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Driver s license or photo ID
  • Valid safety inspection sticker (and emissions, if applicable)
  • Renewal fee

Renewal fees vary based on the weight and purchase price of the vehicle, with the minimum car registration renewal fee at $20.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Residents of Louisiana with vehicles registered within the state who are either leaving the state or have sold their car to somebody out-of-state will have to have the vehicle title and registration transferred to the new state. Vehicle registrations are regulated from state to state, so requirements in Louisiana may be different from requirements in other states.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
Residents of Louisiana who would like to apply for a Commercial Driver s License (CDL) must do so in person at a local Louisiana CDL Issuance Office. Residents will need to bring to the OMV the following items:

CDL license applicants will be required to take a vision, written and skills test. After passing the tests, the applicants will be issued a 60-day learner s permit. At the end of this period, the driver will be given the appropriate documentation to receive their CDL license.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
Residents of Louisiana who are disabled may apply for disabled person license plates when applying for car registration at a local Louisiana OMV office. Disabled license plates are available for individuals who are permanently-impaired or who are military veterans and impaired 50 percent or more. All applications for disabled license plates must be accompanied by a Medical Examination Form filled out by a qualified examiner and certifying the applicant s disability. For disabled veterans, an affidavit from the Veteran s Affairs office certifying the individual s disability from service can substitute the Medical Examination Form. Applicable fees are as follows:

  • Handling fee: $8
  • License transfer fee: $3 (no charge for veterans)
  • New license plate fee: $10
  • Motorcycle plate fee: $12

Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

How do I apply for a drivers license?
Driver s under 17 must meet more requirements than drivers over 17, including taking part in the graduated driver s licensing program which includes the steps of obtaining a learner s permit and intermediate license before a full license can be granted. Drivers who are 17 can obtain a full driver s license provided they have completed 50 hours of driving practice, including 15 hours at night (approved by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed adult over 18). Applicants who are 17 must also provide proof of school attendance (or a letter confirming home-schooling).

Residents who are 17 and have met the above requirements as well as residents over 18 can apply for drivers licenses by filling out an Application for License or Identification Card and bringing it to the local OMV office. Drivers license applications should be accompanied by the following documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Fee of $21.50 (fees may vary)

Additionally, drivers must pass the vision, written knowledge and driving tests administered at the OMV office. Additionally, before applying for drivers licenses, drivers must complete either a 38-hour driver s education course (if 17 years old) or a 14-hour pre-licensing course, each with at least 8 hours of behind the wheel instruction.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
Learner s permits in Louisiana allow residents to practice their driving skills legally and safely while accompanied by a licensed driver.Learners permit applications must be submitted in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To apply for a learners permit in Louisiana, residents must provide proof of residency and proof of legal presence in the country. Additionally, residents must provide a certified copy of their birth certificate and Social Security verification.

Beginning drivers must also have taken the corresponding driver education course for their age group:

  • Younger than 18: You must complete a 38-hour driver education course with 30 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of road instruction.
  • 18 years of age: You must take a 14-hour pre-licensing course with six hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of road instruction.

Once the driversed courses are completed, you must pass a vision and knowledge test. For minors, proof of school enrollment must be shown (or a Home Study Approval Notification Letter if home-schooled). A parent or guardian must be present for children under 17. The fee for a learners permit is $21.50 (fees may vary).

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In Louisiana, drivers have a motorcycle endorsement added to their existing class E drivers license. To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, visit a local Louisiana OMV office with a valid drivers license and proof of insurance. Motorcycle license endorsement applicants must pass a vision test in addition to any tests that may take place in lieu of a motorcycle training course.

Applicants are urged to complete the “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program” prior to applying for a motorcycle endorsement. Those who do not are required to take a knowledge test and skills test. To study for the knowledge and skills tests, refer to the Louisiana Motorcycle Manual.

Fees for motorcycle endorsements are $16 (fees may vary; additional local fees may apply).

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Louisiana residents who have recently undergone an official address change must notify various organizations within the state. Having an updated insurance card for proof of insurance is crucial when driving in Louisiana. To submit an address change request with insurance companies, find the customer service number on the car insurance documentation, call and ask to submit an address change request and ask for a new car insurance ID card with the updated address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

How do I change my address on my car registration?
Louisiana residents who have moved to a new address must notify the Louisiana OMV within 10 days. To conduct an official address change for car registrations, residents must submit an address change request for a duplicate car registration online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. For address changing online, visit the duplicate registration page on the OMV website. To submit by mail, send a written request with the vehicle s VIN, license plate number, make and model. Additionally, include proof of car insurance and the duplicate car registration fee of $12 (fees may vary). Mail the package to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Louisiana drivers in possession of a commercial driver s license (CDL) who have moved recently must make an official address change to their CDL. To do so, drivers must visit a local Louisiana OMV office and submit an address change request. In addition, drivers must present their current valid CDL, a copy of their driving record, proof of identification, Social Security card and proof of insurance. In addition, they must pay the replacement card fee (fees vary). Drivers will have to take a vision exam, as well as any written exams pertaining to any endorsements included on the CDL (i.e. Hazardous Material).

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Residents of Louisiana changing address when moving must notify the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) within 10 days of moving. To submit an address change request for driver s licenses, residents must go in person to a local Louisiana OMV office.For an official address change, residents should bring their current LA driver s license, proof of insurance and the $13 replacement driver s license fee. Additionally, drivers in Louisiana who are applying for a driver s license address changing must also submit an address change request for their registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Louisiana residents who have moved to a new address and possess a Louisiana ID card must notify the Louisiana OMV of the changing address within 10 days of moving. To make an official address change in Louisiana, visit in person a local Louisiana OMV office. To submit an address change request, bring a current LA ID card and the replacement ID card fee (varies by county). Once the driver s identity has been confirmed, he or she will be issued a new ID card with the official address change.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Residents of Louisiana are subject to Louisiana driver laws which require residents to have a minimum amount of liability insurance. Once a driver has had an official name change, he or she will need to update the information with all agencies and organizations of which they are a member or client, including their car insurance company. To change the name on insurance ID cards, residents should locate the policy documentation they received when they signed up for their insurance plan. From there, call the customer service number and notify them that there has been an official name change for the policy holder. The company should have the name updated and a new ID card sent out soon after.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
Louisiana drivers who have recently had an official name change and need to submit a name change request for their car registration should first visit a local SSA office and fill out an Application for a Social Security Card to change their name in SSA records. Once that step has been taken care of, residents must visit a local Louisiana OMV office and submit their official name change documentation to update the OMV records and receive a new car registration.
How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
Drivers in Louisiana who would like to request a name change on their driver s licenses must go through a two-part process first. The first part of the process is to submit a name change request to the Social Security Administration (SSA). Residents will have to supply documentation proving the legal name change in the form of one of the following:

  • Marriage certificate or divorce papers
  • Certificate of Naturalization with new name showing
  • Court order with name change approval

Drivers should then fill out the Application for a Social Security Card and submit it to a local SSA office. After the name changing has gone through the SSA, drivers may then visit a local Louisiana OMV officeto submit a name change request using one of the above documents to support the name changing. In addition, residents must submit their current driver s license and proof of insurance. Drivers must also pass a vision test. The fee for a new driver s license with the legal name change is $13 (fees may vary).

How do I change my name on my ID card?
Residents of Louisiana who have recently undergone a name changing and would like to submit a name change request for an LA state ID card must go through a two-part process to do so. First, residents need to submit an official name change request to the SSA by turning in an Application for a Social Security Card to a local SSA office with one of the following documents:

  • Marriage certificate or divorce papers
  • Certificate of Naturalization with new name showing
  • Court order with name change approval

Following the approval and update of the resident s Social Security records, they may visit a local Louisiana OMV office to submit a name change request using the same document(s) used at the SSA office. In addition, residents must submit their current state ID card and the ID card replacement fee (fees vary by county).

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Residents of Louisiana who have had an official name change and need to update their records with the Louisiana OMV must first submit a name change request with the Social Security Administration. To do so, residents should visit a local SSA office and submit an Application for a Social Security Card. To support the name change request, residents must also submit one of the following documents to verify the name changing:

  • Marriage certificate or divorce papers
  • Certificate of Naturalization with new name showing
  • Court order with name change approval

Applications for corrected Social Security cards may also be submitted by mail.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
Residents of Louisiana with proof that their driving record has been illegally accessed can bring legal action against the offending party under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (FDPPA). Under the FDPPA, anybody who obtains personal information from a driving record for purposes not permitted by the FDPPA are liable to the person whose information they accessed illegally. In this case, the individual whose information was accessed may bring a civil lawsuit against the offending party.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
Residents of Louisiana who have had a lost or stolen car registration should contact local law enforcement to report the loss or theft. Law enforcement officials will take the resident sstatement and issue them a copy of the police report. Take this report to a local Louisiana OMV office when applying so the OMV can have it on file.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Residents of Louisiana who believe they are dealing with a stolen car title should contact local law enforcement to file a police report for the stolen car title. Car titles constitute ownership of a vehicle, so it is advisable that the incident be reported as soon as possible to avoid any resulting disputes about vehicle ownership. Once a police report has been filed, bring a copy to a local Louisiana OMV office to apply for a duplicate car title and have the police report on file for theft prevention purposes.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Drivers in Louisiana who would like to receive a copy of their driving record can request one online, by mail or in person. To request an online driving recordin person, residents must fill out an Official Driving Record Request Form and submit it at an Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) location in the following counties:

  • Alexandria
  • Baton Rouge
  • Lake Charles
  • Monroe
  • Shreveport

To submit a Driving Record Request Form by mail, send the application with the $15 Official Driving Record fee (fees may vary) to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: ODR

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

To request official driving records online, residents can visit the OMV website s Online Driving Record request form. There is an additional $2 fee for electronic commerce purchases.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
Residents of Louisiana who have misplaced or damaged their ID cards or had their ID cards stolen must apply for a duplicate ID cardin person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Residents should bring with them the damaged ID card and the duplicate ID card fee (fees may vary). If the ID card has been lost or stolen, or if it is damaged to the point of being illegible, the resident must bring either one primary identification document and one secondary, or three secondary documents.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
Drivers in Louisiana who have a suspended drivers license may be eligible for a hardship license based on the offense committed. To find out hardship license eligibility, drivers should contact the Louisiana OMV either by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office or call the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146.

To obtain a hardship license, residents must fulfill all hardship license court requirements (like installing an interlock ignition device in the case of a DUI/DWI suspension), provide proof of insurance and pay the hardship license fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
To replace drivers licenses, active duty military members should print and fill out the Application for Reconstructed Duplicate/Renewal License/ID Card, checking the box on the form for “Duplicate Request Lost or Stolen License/ID Card.” Applications should be mailed along with the $13 duplicate drivers license fee (fees may vary) to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: Reconstructed License

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, La, 70896

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Residents of Louisiana who have received traffic ticket fines can dispute tickets by showing up to court on the date assigned on the ticket and entering a “not guilty” plea. Traffic ticket fines can be dismissed for vague or incorrect information being included on the ticket. Additionally, some court systems in Louisiana will allow drivers to take a driving school course in lieu of paying traffic tickets. Contact the county clerk court where the traffic ticket was issued.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act, only certain individuals and organizations are allowed to access a driver s official driving record. These organizations include:

  • Government agencies.
  • Employers.
  • Insurance companies.
  • Law enforcement.

Individuals may also request a driving record with a written authorization from the individual whose information is being accessed. Organizations in Louisiana that would like to obtain another person s driving record can do so online, by mail or in person. To access online driving records, visit the Louisiana OMV website. There is a $17 fee for online driving records (fees may vary). To mail in a request or make a request in person, residents can print and fill out the Official Driving Record Request Form. Then either take the form to a local Louisiana OMV office, or mail it along with the $15 driving record fee to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: ODR

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
Residents of Louisiana with lost, damaged or stolen car registrations can apply for a duplicate car registration either online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To apply by mail or in person, residents should print and fill out a Vehicle Application. Damaged registrations should be attached to the application during submission, along with the $12 duplicate car registration fee (fees may vary). Applications submitted in person should also include proof of insurance. To submit duplicate car registration applications by mail, send to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

To apply for a duplicate car registration online, visit the Louisiana OMV website and fill out the form on the Replace Car Registration Online link.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Residents of Louisiana dealing with misplaced, damaged or stolen car titles may apply for a car title replacement either by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To do so, drivers should print and fill out an Application for Car Title. From there, submit the application along with the vehicle s current registration and the $18.50 duplicate car title fee (plus an $8 handling fee; fees may vary). To submit by mail, send the application, registration and duplicate car title fee to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
Residents of Louisiana who have lost, damaged or stolen drivers licenses may apply for a duplicate drivers license by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office. Adult drivers will need to bring with them proof of identification, proof of insurance and the duplicate drivers license fee of $13 (local fees may also apply; fees may vary). For minor drivers, required documents include a certified copy of the driver s birth certificate and a completed Certificate of Required Attendance form from their school (or a Home Study Approval Notification letter if home-schooled).

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
First provide a statement from an insurance company proving the loss. Then, complete a Vehicle Application and write Salvage on the top. Bring the application and proof of loss to a local Louisiana OMV office along with the following documents:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

How do I obtain car registration?
Residents of Louisiana who are registering cars for the first time must do so in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. However, before registering, residents must have their vehicle inspected. The state of Louisiana requires all vehicles to be safety inspected before being registered. Many counties also require vehicles to have emissions tests. Vehicles must also be accompanied by proper proof of insurance documentation before drivers can get car registrations.

Once the vehicle has been inspected, print and fill out a Vehicle Registration Application and bring it to the local OMV office. Car registration applications should be accompanied by the resident s valid driver s license, the car s current title, proof of insurance, inspection certificates, proof of purchase, loan documents if the vehicle is financed (instead of a title) and the car registration and license plate fee of $20 to $82 dollars depending on the worth of the vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Residents of Louisiana who have had their driver s license suspended or revoked due to refusing to submit to a chemical alcohol test during a DUI/DWI stop must satisfy the requirements of their suspension before they can apply for driver s license. In Louisiana, a first-time offender of the implied consent law will have their license suspended for a year. Second and subsequent implied consent refusals will result in two-year suspensions. To reinstate, drivers should visit a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Depending on the offense that brought on the drivers license suspension, drivers in Louisiana will have to meet varying requirements to reinstate suspended drivers license. To find out the specific requirements, visit a local Louisiana OMV office or call the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146. Generally, drivers must meet all court requirements, provide proof of insurance and pay all reinstatement fees before reinstating suspended drivers licenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Louisiana does not have a formal point system for drivers. However, Louisiana residents who commit moving violations will see those violations recorded on their driving records. Having too many incidents on a driving record can result in higher insurance premiums, suspended licenses and a number of associated fines.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

How do I renew my driving permit?
In Louisiana, there is no renewal process for the learners permit. Drivers under 17 in possession of a learners permit must have a learners permit for at least six months and be at least 16 years old before they will be allowed to receive an intermediate drivers license. Once the beginning driver has turned 17, he or she will be able to take the road test to graduate from an intermediate license to a full unrestricted license. Unrestricted driver s licenses are valid for four years from the issue date.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

How do I renew my ID card?
Louisiana residents with expiring ID cards canrenew ID cards online or in person (out-of-state residents should contact the Louisiana OMV to find out how they can apply for ID cards by mail). To renew ID cards online, visit the OMV website with their mail-in renewal invitation and expiring ID card. To renew ID cards in person, visit a local Louisiana OMV office with the expiring ID card and the $21 ID card renewal fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Residents of Louisiana who are active duty military must inform the Louisiana OMV of their status by furnishing the office with a copy of their enlistment or deployment papers. Once the papers are provided, their drivers licenses will remain valid up to 60 days after discharge. At that point in time, visit a Louisiana OMV office with yourdrivers license and discharge papers. Military members who have not had their licenses flagged as Military with the Louisiana OMV and are already stationed out of state can send a copy of their enlistment or deployment papers to the following address to have their drivers licenses flagged:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Suite 200

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
Residents of Louisiana wondering about the status of their Medical Examiner s report with regards to their CDL license may check the status of their Medical Inquiry online at the Louisiana OMV website. Drivers with Medical Examiner s Certificate that are about to expire must make another appointment with a Medical Examiner to have an examination. Once the examination is over, the Medical Examiner must fill out another CDL License Physical Examination Form as well as the Medical Examiner s Certificate at the end of the form.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Drivers in Louisiana who have motorcycle endorsements on their driver s licenses will renew the motorcycle endorsement at the same time they renew their driver s license. To renew driver s licenses, visit a local Louisiana OMV officeor use the renewal invitation letter sent in the mail by the Louisiana OMV to apply for a renewal online or by mail:

  • Online driver s license renewals can be completed through the Louisiana OMV website.
  • Mailed applications should be sent to the address provided on the invitation letter.
  • In-person driver s license renewals will require the driver to provide either a current Louisiana driver s license or a combination of one primary identification document and one secondary (can also substitute three secondary documents). Additional required documents include:
    • Social Security number
    • Proof of insurance
    • Renewal fee of $24.50, $15.50 for drivers 70 or older (fees may vary)

A $15 late fee is assessed to all driver s licenses that have been expired for more than 10 days.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Residents of Louisiana who are non-U.S. citizens and have lost, damaged or stolen drivers licenses should visit a local Louisiana OMV office to apply for a drivers license replacement. Non-U.S. citizens will need to provide proof of identification in the form of either one primary and one secondary form of identification, or three secondary forms of identification. Acceptable documents are as follows:

  • Primary
    • Certificate of Birth Abroad issued by the US Department of State.
    • Certificate of Naturalization
    • Native American tribal document
    • Foreign Passport
    • Permanent Resident Card
    • Department of Homeland Security Refugee travel document
    • Department of Homeland Security Permit to reenter the United States
  • Secondary
    • Official driving record from the last state issued
    • Foreign driver’s license (combined with proper immigration documents)
    • Original Refugee Resettlement Program letter

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
Residents of Louisiana dealing with lost, damaged or stolen drivers licenses while out of state can replace a drivers license by mail. To apply for a duplicate drivers license from out of state, residents should print and fill out the Application for Reconstructed Duplicate/Renewal License/ID Card and select “Duplicate Request Lost or Stolen License/ID Card.” Residents applying for drivers licenses out of state must have a permanent address in Louisiana. Mail the completed application along with the duplicate drivers license fee to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: Reconstructed License

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, La, 70896

Allow 10 business days to receive the drivers license replacement by mail.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Each state s Motor Vehicle Department handles the issuance of titles with varying regulations and policies. Contact the local DMV to find out how to transfer title from Louisiana.

New residents in Louisiana who would like to transfer titles from their previous state must visit a local Louisiana OMV office with their car s current title, driver s license and the title transfer fee of $18.50 (fees may vary, additional fees may include handling). To get a Louisiana car title, you will need to have a Louisiana driver s license.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Drivers in Louisiana who have lost their car title must obtain a duplicate car title before submitting a car title transfer. To receive a duplicate car title, residents should visit a local Louisiana OMV office with a completed Vehicle Application and the car s current registration. Once a duplicate title is received, residents may then start the car title transfer process at the OMV office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

How do I transfer my car title?
To transfer titles in the state, sellers must sign the back of the car title and include the following details:

  • His or her name
  • His or her signature
  • Odometer reading
  • Selling price

The buyer then writes his or her name and dates the back.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
In Louisiana, drivers who own an RV must follow the same procedures for title transfer as with any other motor vehicle. Visit a local Louisiana OMV office with the following to process an RV title transfer:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Military members in Louisiana can have a motorcycle endorsement added to their existing class E drivers license using the same process as non-military members. To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, visit a local Louisiana OMV office with a valid drivers license and proof of insurance. Motorcycle license endorsement applicants must pass a vision test in addition to any tests that may take place in lieu of a motorcycle training course.

Applicants are urged to complete the “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program” prior to applying for a motorcycle endorsement. Those who do not are required to take a knowledge test and skills test. To study for the knowledge and skills tests, refer to the Louisiana Motorcycle Manual.

Fees for motorcycle endorsements are $16 (fees may vary; additional local fees may apply).

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

How does the DMV check my vision?
The vision test is administered at the OMV office and is not a medical exam. Vision screening is meant to determine whether or not the driver has the minimum standard 20/40 vision for safe driving. Drivers who fail the vision exam will be given a vision report which they must take to a vision specialist and have completed before returning to finish applying for drivers licenses. Drivers are required to wear corrective lenses to drive will have an “01” placed on their licenses.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
Residents with learners permits who would like to move up to an unrestricted license must go through a couple of steps first. Drivers with learners permits must wait at least six months or until they are 16 years old (whichever period is longer). Residents must also provide documentation from a parent or guardian proving that they have 50 hours behind-the-wheel time, including 15 hours at night. At that point, drivers younger than 17 are eligible for the intermediate driver s license, which has less restrictions than a learner s permit. Drivers 17 and older who have held a learner s permit for at least six months are eligible for a full unrestricted drivers license after passing the road test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
The Louisiana OMV does not allow you to requestduplicate car titles online. In the event of a lost or stolen car title, driversneed to either visit a local Louisiana OMV office or mail in a completed Application for Car Title to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Drivers who submit replacement car title applications by mail will receive the duplicate car title within 30 days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Licensed drivers in Louisiana are subject to implied consent laws which state that a driver agrees to a blood or breath test if requested from law enforcement officials while operating a motor vehicle in the state. Drivers who refuse to undergo a blood or breath test will have their licenses automatically suspended for six months for a first offense, and a year and a half for subsequent offenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Louisiana residents who would like to obtain an ID card can do so in person (for initial, renewal or duplicate ID cards) by mail (if out of state) or online (if renewal ID card). How residents apply for ID cards determines how long it takes for them to receive it. To apply for ID cards in person at a local Louisiana OMV office, applicants will receive ID cards the same day. When renewing ID cards online or by mail, you will receive a new ID card within 10 business days.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The Louisiana OMV accesses driving records from the National Driver Register (NDR), which keeps a national record of each driver s history on the road throughout the country. Drivers with a record on the NDR can have actions takes against them if it is found that they have excessive incidents on their records or their license has been suspended or revoked. Residents who would like to find out if their name and record is listed with the NDR should send a written and notarized letter to the NDR asking for a file check. The address to send NDR requests to is:

National Driver Register 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E. Washington, D.C. 20590

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Residents of Louisiana looking for ways to reduce penalties on their driving records do not have a point system to dispute with traffic school courses. Instead, Louisiana updates driver history records using the National Driver Register, which compiles information on drivers from various states. To dispute a record found in the NDR, drivers must contact the state that reported the offense. Typically, in the case of a license suspension or revocation there will be certain requirements drivers must meet with the original state where the offense was committed before having driving privileges reinstated.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
Residents of Louisiana who have recently had an official name changemust submit a name change request with both the Social Security Administration and the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. To update car registration, an updated Social Security card must first be obtained, as the Louisiana OMV verifies identities using the SSA database. Once this has taken place, residents can visit a local Louisiana OMV office with their official name change documentation to order a corrected car registration. Car registration duplication fees are $12 (fees may vary).
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Residents of Louisiana who have recently had an official name change must update their records with both the SSA and the Louisiana OMV. To notify the SSA of a name changing, visit a local SSA office and fill out an Application for a Social Security Card. To notify the OMV of an official name change, visit a local Louisiana OMV office with documentation proving the name changing. Fill out an Application for Car Title and pay the $18.50 title fee along with the $8 handling fee.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Residents of Louisiana who have had an official name change will need to update their name with the SSA and Louisiana OMV. Depending on how many items they need updated, residents will have to pay a few costs. For a corrected driver s license, the fee is $13 due in person at the time of the name change request. State ID card replacement fees vary by county, and residents should contact a local Louisiana OMV office to find out the details on specific ID card fees. Duplicate car registration fees are $12 (fees may vary).
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
ACDL licenseis valid for four years. Once there are 180 days left until the expiration date, residents are eligible to renew their CDL license. To renew a CDL license, drivers must visit either a local Louisiana CDL Issuance Office(if they have a Hazardous Materials endorsement and wish to retain it) or a local Louisiana CDL Renewal Office. When submitting a renewal CDL application, residents should bring the following with them:

  • CDL Medical Examiner s Certificate
  • Driver s License
  • Proof of insurance
  • License fee of $41 (fees may vary)

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Drivers in Louisiana with soon-to-be expiring drivers licenses will receive a drivers license renewal notice approximately three months prior to their drivers license expiration date. Residents can renew drivers licenses with these drivers license renewal notices at the time of receipt. However, drivers may also renew drivers licenses in person at a local Louisiana OMV office up to 180 days prior to the driver s license expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Residents of Louisiana who have inherited a motor vehicle must go through a slightly different process to initiate a car title transfer. Depending on whether or not there is a will available, the process might be simple or take a couple of steps.

If a will is present, ownership will most likely not be disputed and therefore family members can go straight to transferring car titles into their names. However, residents who have inherited a car without a will must fill out an Affidavit of Heirship and provide it along with a copy of the deceased resident s death certificate. From there, residents should fill out a Vehicle Application and bring it to a local Louisiana OMV office along with the following:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, there will be a late fee if yourenew car registration after the expiration date. Car registration renewals can be done online or by mail using the car registration renewal notice mailed out to homes a few weeks before the car registration expiration date. Residents who have not received a car registration renewal notice may apply in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Residents who renew car registrations late have a late fee added to their renewal fee that is based off a percentage of the renewal fee itself.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Residents of Louisiana dealing with a lost or stolen drivers license are urged to file a police report with local law enforcement officials. After filing, bring a copy of the police report to a local Louisiana OMV office and show it to OMV officials when applying for a drivers license replacement. Once the police report is verified, residents will have their drivers license replacement fee waived.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Louisiana state law requires all motorists who have been in an accident to report all damages to the Louisiana OMV. Additionally, residents must report the accident damages to insurance companies in order to make claims for financial compensation due to accidents. Minimum insurance requirements in Louisiana include bodily injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist liability.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Louisiana state law requires all residents who own and operate registered vehicles within the state to have minimum liability car insurance that includes bodily injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist liability. Drivers residing out-of-state for half the year but still own and operate vehicles in Louisiana for the other half of the year are still required by law to meet LA minimum liability insurance requirements.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Louisiana residents who have lost their traffic ticket fines paperwork should get in contact with the county court where the ticket was issued as soon as possible to receive their ticket information and not miss the payment deadline. To contact the necessary court, visit the Louisiana Clerk of Court Parishes website and find the necessary contact information for the county where the traffic ticket fines were received. Residents who have misplaced traffic ticket fines must still pay or dispute their ticket by the deadline printed on the ticket to avoid late fees and potential license suspensions for non-payment.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
Residents of Louisiana who are temporarily out of state or active military members stationed out of state are eligible to renew or replace ID cards through the mail. To check eligibility for mailed ID cards, call the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146. To apply through the mail, residents will need to print and fill out a Temporarily Residing Out of State Application for Reconstructed Duplicate/Renewal License/ID Card form and submit it along with copies of a primary identification document and a secondary identification document. The application, supporting documents and ID card fee should be mailed to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: Reconstructed License

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA, 7089

ID cards will arrive by mail within 10 business days.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Residents of Louisiana who have had their drivers license confiscated due to a DUI/DWI arrest may get it back at varying times depending on the result of the DUI/DWI arrest. Drivers convicted of a DUI or DWI will have their licenses suspended for anywhere from a year to three years depending on how many times they have committed the offense. Drivers arrested and have their licenses confiscated without receiving a DUI or DWIcitation must go to a local Louisiana OMV office to get a replacement driver s license (fees may apply).

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Residents who have lost, damaged or stolen car registration along with lost or stolen personalized license plates should follow the same procedure residents without personalized plates follow. To apply for a duplicate car registration by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office, print and fill out a Vehicle Application, then submit it with the applicable duplicate car registration fees. Additional fees may apply for personalized plates. To find out more about personalized license plate replacement, call the Title Registration Unit at 225-925-6371.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
To apply for aCDL license, youmust be at least 18 years old. The only exception to this concerns drivers who want to add a Hazardous Materials endorsement on their CDL licenses. Drivers with a Hazardous Materials endorsement must be over 21. To apply for a CDL license, visit a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
Louisiana residents have no age restrictions on when they can renew drivers licenses. However, drivers over 70 who are renewing drivers licenses must do so in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Senior drivers may be required to take a vision test, as well as the written knowledge exam. Drivers license renewal fees for senior drivers over 70 are discounted to $15.50 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Residents of Louisiana registering carsin the state may wonder where they should keep the registration documentation. While Louisiana does not have any specific requirements about where to keep car registration documents, it is recommended that drivers keep the documentation either on their person or somewhere secure within the vehicle itself. However, car title documentation should be kept somewhere safe inside the driver s home, as titles convey car ownership.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Louisiana residents (including active military members) who are out of state temporarily can apply for a drivers license replacement through the mail by printing, filling out and mailing an Application for Reconstructed Duplicate/Renewal License/ID Card to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: Reconstructed License

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, La, 70896

Duplicate drivers licenses applied for by residents out of state will be mailed to the resident s permanent home address in Louisiana.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Louisiana drivers age 70 and older are required to renew drivers licenses in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. There, drivers may be required to take a vision test to make sure they are seeing the required 20/40 when on the road. Additionally, drivers may also have to take the written knowledge exam as well. Drivers who are required to take the knowledge exam should review the Louisiana Driver’s License Guide in preparation.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Residents of Louisiana have the option of transferring car titles through the Louisiana OMV. Common reasons for initiating a car title transfer include the following:

  • Inheriting a vehicle following a family member s/spouse s death
  • Receiving a vehicle as a gift
  • Selling a used vehicle
  • Buying a used vehicle
  • Donating a used vehicle to a charity

The car title transfer process can be started by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Registered drivers in Louisiana must abide by the driving laws and regulations within the state. Residents who violate driving laws are subject to a variety of penalties, including the possibility of a drivers license suspension. Drivers can be assessed a suspended drivers license for a number of reasons, including:

  • Any felonies involving a motor vehicle.
  • Texting while driving.
  • DWI and DUI convictions.
  • Failing to submit to a chemical test (implied consent).
  • Reckless driving.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
For Louisiana residents, the age restrictions on motorcycle endorsements are the same as age restrictions for regular class E driver s licenses. Drivers under seventeen must go through the graduated driver s licensing program s learner s permit and intermediate license before they turn 17, pass their road exam and receive an unrestricted driver s license. Once the unrestricted license is received, residents may then apply for a motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In Louisiana, drivers in possession of a CDL license may add certain endorsements to their commercial drivers licenses to expand the amount of tasks they can complete. Available endorsements include:

  • Tendorsement Double or Triple Trailers
  • P endorsement Passenger Vehicles
  • N endorsement – Tank Vehicles
  • Hendorsement – Hazardous Materials (must be 21 or over)
  • X endorsement – Combination Tank Vehicles and Hazardous Materials
  • M endorsement – Motorcycle
  • S endorsement – School Bus

To apply for a CDL license endorsement, inquire at the OMV office where the renewal CDL applicationwill be filled out.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Drivers found to be driving with a suspended drivers licensewill receive fines and jail time based on previous convictions, the type of license they possess and the reason for their license suspension:

  • Drivers in Louisiana with class D or E licenses driving under suspension are subject to a $500 fine and six months in jail.
  • Drivers with class A, B or C (Commercial Drivers Licenses) drivers licenses are subject to fines of up to $5,000, six months in jail and possible civil penalties of $2,500.

Drivers convicted of driving with a suspended drivers license could see their drivers license suspension extended for another year.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

What are the different types of driving records?
In Louisiana drivers have access to a single official driving record with all their information regardless of what type of license they have. Driving records include information such as:

  • Any accidents the driver has been involved in, both at-fault or not.
  • Driver s license status: active, suspended or revoked.
  • CDL license status, if applicable.
  • Record of offenses, like moving violations.

To request an online driving record, visit the OMV website. To request driving records by mail or in person, fill out an Official Driving Record Request Form and bring it to a local Louisiana OMV office or mail it to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: ODR

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

The fee for online driving records is $17and the fee submittingdriving records by mail or in person is $15.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Depending on the county within Louisiana and whether or not the resident is getting a new ID card, a replacement or a renewal, resident ID card fees vary. Fees for new ID cards are $21. For ID card renewals, the fee will be listed on the mail renewal invitation sent out prior to the ID card expiration date, and is typically also $21. Replacement ID card fees are also $21, though there may be added fees depending on the county. ID cards that are renewed past the expiration date are also subject to a late registration fee as outline by the Louisiana OMV.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Drivers license replacements fees areas follows:

  • Class A, B, and C (CDL) drivers license replacement: $5
  • Class D & E drivers license replacement: $13

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Drivers in Louisiana in possession of restricted learners permits must abide by certain restrictions. Learners permit drivers must be accompanied at all times by a licensed parent, guardian or other adult 21 or older. Drivers may substituted the adult 21 or over with a licensed sibling who is over 18. Once a driver has graduated to the intermediate license, they may driver a vehicle without an adult between the hours of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. Outside of those hours, a licensed adult over 21 (or a licensed sibling over 18) must accompany the driver.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
Residents of Louisiana who are looking to apply for a CDL must do so in person at a local Louisiana CDL Issuance Office. One of the requirements residents must meet before receiving a CDL license is to be medically certified by an approved medical examiner. To do so, residents must take a CDL License Physical Examination Form to an approved medical examiner and have them fill out the form and the Medical Examiner s Certificate at the end of the form. From there, bring the form and certificate to the OMV office to have the records updated. Drivers must carry a copy of the Medical Examiner s Certificate with them at all times when driving a commercial vehicle.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reason for car registration replacement is losing the certificate. Car registration documents can also be damaged from liquid, fire or other general mishaps. Additionally, some residents may be targets ofstolen car registrations for the purposes of identity theft. In the event of the latter, residents should promptly report the theft to local law enforcement officials before visiting a local Louisiana OMV office to apply forduplicate car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you have a learner s permit and receive a number oftraffic tickets, you will not be able to get an unrestricted drivers license in the timeframe that was expected. Additionally, drivers with learner s permits who violate the restrictions of driving with a learner s permits (like times of day restrictions and accompanying driver requirements) could lose their driving privileges.

For more information:Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Louisiana drivers stopped by law enforcement officials and found to be driving above the legal alcohol limit will be assessed a DUI or DWI citation. Penalties for DUI/DWI convictions vary depending on the nature of the offense, but include a combination of jail time, license suspension and fines as follows (penalties vary case-by-case):

  • First offense
    • Two days to six months jail time
    • Up to $1,000 in fines
    • Mandatory substance abuse/alcohol treatment program
    • Up to one year license suspension
    • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
  • Second offense
    • Thirty days to six months jail time
    • Up to $1,000 in fines
    • Mandatory substance abuse/alcohol treatment program
    • Up to two yearsdrivers license suspension
    • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
  • Third offense
    • Up to five years in prison (mandatory 30 days)
    • Up to $2,000 in fines
    • Mandatory substance abuse/alcohol treatment program
    • Up to three years license suspension
    • Mandatory ignition interlock device requirement

Other possible penalties include community service requirements and eventual lifetime revocation of driving privileges for more than three offenses.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Suspended drivers license reinstatement fees vary depending on the offense, and are as follows:

  • First DWI/DUI suspension: $100
  • Second DWI/DUI suspension: $200
  • Third DWI/DUI suspension: $300
  • Failing to submit to blood/breath test: $50
  • Lack of insurance and other general suspensions: $60

Credit card transactions are also subject to a $5 credit card fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
When applying for car registration, the following fees will apply:

  • Title fee: $18.50
  • Sales and use tax: 4 percent of the vehicle s market value
  • Local/municipal taxes: for some counties, varies by county
  • Safety and emissions inspection: $18 (may vary)

License plate and registration fees vary based on the market value of the car and can range from $20 to $82.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
Drivers in Louisiana in need of a duplicate car title due to their existing car title being lost, damaged or stolen must apply for a duplicate car title by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To do so, print and fill out an Application for Car Title. Submit the application along with the current vehicle registration to the OMV office or by mail to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Fees for duplicate car titles are $18.50 plus an $8 handling fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
Duplicate car registration fees are $12 (fees may vary).To apply by mail or in person, residents should fill out a Vehicle Application and submit it along with the damaged car registration and the duplicate car registration fee. To replace car registration online, visit the Louisiana OMV website.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Louisiana residents with expiring car registrations can renew car registrations by submitting their car registration renewal notice by mail or online. Residents without a car registration renewal notice can apply for car registration renewalin person by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office. Along with the required documents, a car registration renewal fee is due at the time of application as well. All vehicles will be charged 0.1 percent annually (car registration renewals are every two years) based on the original purchase price of the vehicle (minimum $10,000).

Registration renewal fees are as follows:

  • Trucks: $40 every four years
  • Motorcycles: $12 every four years
  • Commercial vehicle registration renewal: $10 per year
  • Motor home registration renewal fees: $50 every two years.

A late registration fee will be assessed if the vehicle s registration has passed the expiration date. Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In Louisiana, there is no distinction between a two-wheel and three-wheel motorcycle. During the motorcycle endorsement application process, drivers will need to pass the “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program,” pass another approved motorcycle course or pass the road skills test at a local Louisiana OMV office (along with the motorcycle written knowledge exam if no safety course was taken). While taking the road test, drivers are required to supply their own vehicle a three-wheel motorcycle is accepted. If the driver passes the road test and the other motorcycle endorsement requirements, he or she will receive amotorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Drivers in Louisiana who have a suspended drivers license may be eligible for a hardship license based on the offense that brought on the drivers license suspension. To check hardship license eligibility, drivers should visit a local Louisiana OMV office or call the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146. To apply for a hardship license, drivers can visit a local Louisiana OMV office with proof of insurance, a court order allowing for the hardship license as well as proof of any other requirements necessary (like ignition interlock device documentation, if applicable). Residents will also be required to pay a hardship license fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
Drivers can submit an Application for License or Identification Card along with all the required documentation to support their application at a drivers license office. When applying for drivers licenses, drivers must also take three tests: vision test, written knowledge test and road skills test. In the event that a driver fails the driving test, they may return at a later date to retest.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When applying for a drivers permit, bring the following items:

  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of legal presence in the country
  • Certificate of successful completion of 38-hour driving course (for 15 to 17 year olds) or 14-hour pre-licensing course
  • Certified copy of birth certificate
  • Social Security verification
  • Certificate of required attendance from school office, or Home Study Approval Notification Letter if home-schooled (for minors)
  • Method of payment for the $21.50 (fees may vary)

A parent or guardian must accompany minors who are applying for learners permits.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Residents of Louisiana who would like to apply for a motorcycle endorsement must provide a number of documents at the local Louisiana OMV office. Required documents include proof of insurance, a valid driver s license and a certificate of completion from the “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program.” Residents who have not completed the motorcycle safety program must take both the motorcycle skills test and knowledge test. Fees for motorcycle endorsements are $16 (fees may vary; additional local fees may apply).

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
Louisiana residents looking to apply for drivers licenses will need to provide a number of documents when visiting a local Louisiana OMV office to apply. Required documents include:

  • Application for License or Identification Card
  • Certificate of completion from either the 38-hour driver s education course (if 17 years old) or the 14-hour pre-licensing course
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Fee of $21.50 (fees may vary)
  • Proof of 50 hours driving practice time, 15 of those hours at night (if 17 years old)

Drivers must also pass the vision, written knowledge and driving tests.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Residents of Louisiana who have lost or stolen car titles can apply for a duplicate car title either by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Duplicate car titles can be obtained by filling out an Application for Car Title and submitting it along with the current car registration and the duplicate title fee of $18.50, plus $8 for handling (fees may vary). Duplicate car titleapplications can also be mailed to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Residents of Louisiana applying for an address change request must submit certain documents as one of the steps to change address in the state. One of the purposes of submitting these documents is to establish the identity of the driver, while another is to establish their Louisiana residency. Documents that can be used to establish Louisiana residency include:

  • Paid receipts for utility or phone bills
  • Bank statements
  • Paycheck stub
  • Car insurance policy
  • Louisiana driver license or ID card with current address

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
A resident of Louisiana recently changing address when moving must update the Louisiana OMV within 10 days of the move. Non-U.S. citizens who want to submit anaddress change request must present certain documents to establish identity. This includes one primary document and one secondary for driver s licenses, or one primary and two secondary for ID cards (all documents are “if applicable”):

Primary:

  • Certificate of birth abroad from the U.S. Department of State
  • Certificate of naturalization
  • Permanent resident card
  • Department of Homeland Security Refugee travel document
  • Department of Homeland Security Permit to reenter the U.S.

Secondary:

  • Foreign driver s license
  • Original Refugee Resettlement Program letter

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
Residents of Louisiana who have lost, damaged or stolen car registrations must replace car registrations as soon as possible. Drivers can replace car registrations either online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To apply for a duplicate car registration, residents will need the following documents:

  • Vehicle Application
  • Damaged car registration (if applicable; attach to application)
  • Proof of insurance
  • Duplicate car registration fee of $12 (fees may vary)

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
Residents of Louisiana who have purchased a vehicle and need to know how to register cars in the state can do so by printing and filling out a Vehicle Registration Application. The application should then be brought toa local Louisiana OMV office along with all supporting documentation. Required documents include:

  • Valid driver s license
  • Proof of insurance
  • Safety and (if necessary) emission inspection certificates
  • Proof of purchase
  • Current car title or loan documents if the vehicle is financed (instead of a title)
  • Car registration and license plate fee of $20 to $82 dollars depending on the worth of the vehicle

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Louisiana residents with expiring car registrations can renew car registrations with their renewal notice online or by mail. Residents without a car registration renewal notice may also apply in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. When applying to renew expired car registrations, residents should have the following documents with them:

  • Car registration renewal notice or current vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Driver s license or photo ID
  • Valid safety inspection sticker (and emissions, if applicable)
  • Renewal fee

Car registration renewal fees vary based on certain factors such as the weight and purchase price of the vehicle. Minimum car registration renewal fees are $20.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
Residents of Louisiana looking to renew drivers licenses can do so either online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To renew drivers licenses online or by mail, drivers must submit their drivers license renewal notice along with the applicable fees. To renew drivers licenses in person, bring the following documents to the local OMV office:

  • One primary form of identification
  • One secondary form of identification OR three secondary form of identification (if no primary)
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of insurance

Additionally, residents applying for drivers license renewals must pass a vision exam and pay the $24.50 drivers license renewal fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
To process a car title transferat a Louisiana OMV office, bring the following items:

Additionally, if the vehicle was a gift, the driver must fill out an Act of Donation form. Individuals who have inherited a vehicle will need to submit an Affidavit of Heirship.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
Required documentation when applying for a duplicate drivers license varies depending on whether or not the driver is a minor. Required documents include:

  • Adults
    • One primary form of identification and one secondary form of identification or three secondary forms of identification
    • Proof of insurance
  • Minors
    • Certified copy of birth certificate
    • Completed Certificate of Required Attendance form from school
    • Home Study Approval Notification letter (if home-schooled)
  • Fee of $13 (there may be additional local charges; fees may vary)

Minors applying for duplicate drivers licenses must also be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
Residents of Louisiana who would like to apply for a motorcycle license endorsement must do so in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. When applying, residents must bring their valid class E driver s license and proof of insurance. Additionally, drivers should bring a certificate of completion from an approved motorcycle safety course. Drivers who do not complete an approved course or the “Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Safety, Awareness and Operators Training Program” will need to take and pass both a motorcycle written knowledge exam and the road skills test. For more information on the tests, refer to the Louisiana Motorcycle Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Louisiana

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
To receive a duplicate car title, drivers must fill out an Application for Car Title and submit it along with a valid car registration and the car title fee of $18.50 plus the $8 handling fee. Applications should be submitted in person at a local Louisiana OMV office or by mail to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
CDL drivers who receivetraffic ticket finescan pay the fine or dispute the ticket. To dispute the ticket, drivers should contact the county clerk of the Louisiana county the ticket was received in. CDL drivers should also report the traffic fines to their employer within 30 days. If you have a CDL and plead guilty to a traffic ticket, you may have restrictions placed against your CDL driving privileges depending on the offense.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Residents of Louisiana who have been convicted of a DUI while in possession of a CDL license face harsher penalties than drivers with regular driver s licenses. While the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent, the legal limit for CDL license holders is 0.04 percent. Drivers found to have a BAC higher than this while operating a commercial vehicle will have their CDL license suspended for a year (three years if transporting hazardous materials). For a second offense, CDL license holders will lose their drivers license for life. Drivers found with any detectable alcohol under 0.04 percent will have their driving privileges revoked for 24 hours.

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
In the event that the lost or stolen car title is found, keep both it and the duplicate car title together as proof of car ownership.

Request a replacement pink slip by filling out an Application for Car Title and submitting it either in person at a local Louisiana OMV office or mailing it in to:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

What information does a driving record contain?
Residents of Louisiana who would like to obtain driving records can do so online, by mail or in person. Driving records for Louisiana residents include the following information:

  • Any accidents the driver has been involved in (whether it was their fault or the other drivers)
  • Driver s license status (active/suspended/revoked/etc.)
  • CDL license status (if applicable)
  • Record of offenses (i.e. moving violations)

To access driving records, visit the OMV website or a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

What is an ID card?
Louisiana residents without driver s licenses can apply for state-issued ID cards. Louisiana ID cards can be used to prove a resident s age and identity in the following situations:

  • Voting
  • Banking
  • College enrollment
  • Purchasing age-restricted items

Louisiana residents may apply for ID cards at any age, though residents under 17 must have a parent or guardian present when filling out the ID card application.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The amount of money a DUI citation in Louisiana costs depends on the circumstances of the DUI. Factors that can influence the monetary sum of a DUI conviction include:

  • Accidents caused by the driver
  • Children present in the vehicle
  • Driver refusal of a chemical test
  • How many DUI citations the driver received prior

Depending on the severity of the conviction, DUI citations can cost drivers in Louisiana anywhere from $1,000 to $5,000 and can include anywhere from two days 30 years of jail time.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Louisiana residents who have received traffic ticket fines will have to pay the fine or dispute the moving violation charge within a couple of weeks of receiving the ticket. Traffic ticket prices vary based on the offense committed and whether or not this was the driver s first offense or not. Traffic ticket prices are written out on the traffic ticket paperwork, with instructions for how you can go about paying traffic tickets in that county. Tickets also include information on how to dispute traffic tickets.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Drivers in Louisiana who would like to check driving records can do so in one of three ways: online, by mail or in person. To submit an online driving record request, residents should visit the Louisiana OMV website. The fee for online driving records is $17. To request adriving record request in person, residents should fill out an Official Driving Record Request Form and submit it to an OMV office in one of the following areas: Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Lake Charles, Monroe or Shreveport.

For mailed requests, submit the request form to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

Attention: ODR

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

The fee for mailed or in persondriving record checks is $15 (fees may vary).

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Louisiana CDL license holders face stiffer penalties for DUI citations than drivers with class E licenses. CDL drivers who have received a first-offense DUI citation will have their licenses automatically suspended for a year, in addition to other regular Louisiana DUI penalties. If the driver was transporting hazardous materials, then the mandatory license suspension period is three years. Second offenses will result in the driver losing their CDL license for life.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Underage drivers in Louisiana face stiffer DUI restrictions than drivers 21 and older. Drivers under 21 have a legal alcohol limit of 0.02 percent BAC. Minor drivers found to be over the legal limit face regular Louisiana DUI penalties. Additionally, minors face an additional set of charges that can include:

  • Distributing alcohol to other minors that are passengers in the vehicle
  • Minor in possession of alcohol or drugs
  • Soliciting alcohol as a minor
  • Child endangerment
  • False ID possession (if false ID was used to purchase alcohol)
  • Moving violations committed during DUI

Additionally, drivers insurance premiums can be raised. Some insurance companies have rules that will automatically drop minors from their policy for a DUI conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Drivers in Louisiana who own and operate vehicles in the state must meet minimum liability car insurance coverage requirements as outlined by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). Required liability coverage includes:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: minimum $15,000 per person; $30,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: minimum $25,000
  • Medical payments: minimum $1,000 (drivers can opt out of this coverage)
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury: minimum $15,000 per person; $30,000 per accident.

Residents may also get higher coverage depending on their needs and financial capabilities.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written knowledge test is conducted at thelocal Louisiana OMV office where the driver is applying for their learners permit. Written knowledge tests include information on Louisiana traffic laws, safe driving techniques, traffic signs and driver rules. The test must be passed with a score of 80 percent or higher.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
Driverswho own scooters, mopeds or motorcycles must visit a local Louisiana OMV office with the following documents to title and register their vehicles:

Scooters in Louisiana are not street legal and therefore cannot be titled, as they are restricted to off-road areas only.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

What languages is the written test available in?
Residents of Louisiana who are looking to apply for drivers licenses will need to do so in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. When applying, drivers will need to bring an Application for License or Identification Card along with all required documents and a certificate of completion from either the 38-hour driver s education course (if 17 years old) or the 14-hour pre-licensing course. Additionally, drivers will need to pass the vision exam, road skills test and written knowledge exam. By default, written knowledge exams are administered in English. However, if English is not the driver s first language, arrangements can be made by calling the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Drivers in Louisiana who have been given a DUI citation and had their license suspended as a result must meet all the requirements of their DUI conviction and license suspension period before they are allowed to receive a driver s license reinstatement. Requirements include:

  • Minimum one year suspension
  • Required attendance of state-approved substance abuse and alcohol treatment program
  • Provide proof of insurance
  • Retake all driving tests (vision, written knowledge and road test)
  • Pay driver s license reinstatement fee (fees vary)
  • Install ignition interlock device (if court-ordered)

Drivers can start the driver s license reinstatement process by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Drivers in Louisiana who have had an official address change must notify the Louisiana OMV within 10 days. Drivers that fail to submit an address change request in this time are subject to a fine if pulled over by a law enforcement official and found to have the wrong address on their license. To submit an official address change form to the Louisiana OMV, visit a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Residents in Louisiana with expired drivers licenses must renew drivers licenses either online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Drivers in Louisiana who fail to renew drivers licenses by the expiration date are not legally allowed to operate motor vehicles in the state until they have renewed. Likewise, drivers who are late on their drivers license renewals will be assessed a $15 late fee (fees may vary) on top of the regular drivers license renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Louisiana state law requires all licensed drivers to provide proof of car insurance if involved in an accident or stopped by local law enforcement. To provide proof of car insurance, residents can provide:

  • A paper insurance card issued by their insurance company.
  • A copy of their insurance policy.
  • An electronic copy of their insurance data.

Drivers found without proof of insurance are subject to fines and possible license suspension.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Residents of Louisiana with expiring car registrations can renew car registrations online, by mail or in person. To renew car registrations online or by mail, residents should follow the instructions on the mailed car registration renewal notice. Residents who have not received a notice can renew car registrations in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Residents who have not received their new car registration stickers and documentation within two weeks of application should contact the Louisiana OMV at 225-925-6146.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Residents of Louisiana who have applied for a drivers license renewal online or by mail should receive their drivers licenses within 10 business days. Drivers who have applied for a drivers license renewal at a local Louisiana OMV office will receive their license at the OMV office. Drivers who have not received their drivers license renewal in the mail within the allotted time should contact the Louisiana OMV by phone at 225-925-6146, or by mail at:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
Louisiana residents applying for a learners permit must visit a local Louisiana OMV office to submit required documentation and also to take the required tests. Required tests for learners permits include both a vision test and a written knowledge test the passing score for the written is 80 percent. Additionally, depending on the age of the drivers, they must pass either a 38-hour driver course (for minors) or a 14-hour course, each with eight hours of road instruction and the rest classroom instruction.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Residents of Louisiana looking to apply for a CDL license must pass a number of tests to receive their CDL license. Tests include a written exam, skills test and vision test. The vision test is conducted at a local Louisiana OMV office. The written test(s) include a general knowledge test that must be taken by all driver s license applicants in the state, as well as a number of other tests reserved for certain CDL license endorsements such as:

  • Passenger transport test for bus driver applicants
  • Air brakes test for drivers operating commercial vehicles with air brakes
  • Combination vehicles test if looking for a combination vehicle endorsement
  • Hazardous Materials test if applicable
  • Tanker test for applicants planning to pull liquid or liquid gas with 119 gallons or more in a permanently mounted cargo tank
  • Doubles/Triples test for drivers pulling trailers
  • School bus test

Additionally, CDL license applicants must pass a skills test which includes:

  • Pre-trip vehicle inspection test
  • Basic vehicle control test
  • On-road test

For more information: CDL Commercial Drivers License Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
Required tests to get drivers licenses in Louisiana include a vision test, written knowledge test and driving test. The written knowledge test consists of about 40 questions and must be passed with a score of 80 percent or higher. Driving tests can be conducted either at the local Louisiana OMV office or at a third-party provider.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Louisiana drivers are required to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance to own and operate vehicles within the state. Required car insurance includes:

  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage
  • Medical payments
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury

Additionally, drivers who have purchased new vehicles that are being financed through a separate party may have to apply for full coverage car insurance as part of their financing agreement.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Depending on the age of the driver submitting a drivers license application, there are three different types of class E non-commercial drivers licenses you may apply for. New drivers younger than 16 must apply for the learner s permit and hold it for at least 180 days or until their 16th birthday (whichever period is longer) before they can graduate to the next step. Drivers between 16 and 17 who have had a learners permit for at least 180 days can apply for an intermediate license, which they can hold onto until they ve completed at least 50 hours of driving practice (15 at night) and the rest of the drivers license application requirements. Drivers over 18 or drivers who are 17 and have met the requirements can apply for a full non-restricted class E drivers license, provided they ve completed either a 38-hour driver s education course (if 17 years old) or a 14-hour pre-licensing course.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Drivers in Louisiana who opt out of getting car insurance and still plan to operate a motor vehicle are subject to the penalties of minimum liability coverage laws in the state. Drivers found without minimum liability insurance will have their license and registration suspended. A $500 fee will be assessed when their license is reinstated and the driver will have to file an SR-22 Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate with the Louisiana OMV for three years after the offense is committed. Minimum insurance requirements in Louisiana include bodily injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist liability.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
Drivers with suspended drivers licenses in Louisiana must wait the length of their entire suspension before driving privileges reinstated. Drivers license suspension lengths depend on the offense, and whether or not this is the driver s first conviction.

Once the drivers license suspension period has passed, you may apply for reinstatement. For certain types of convictions, drivers may request a suspension hearing.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

When does my car registration expire?
Car registrations in Louisiana are valid for two years from the issue date. Every two years, residents will receive a car registration renewal notice in the mail that details how to renew car registrations online or by mail. Residents who have not received a car registration renewal notice must visit a local Louisiana OMV office to renew car registrations in person. When renewing car registrations in person, make sure to bring the following documents:

  • Car registration renewal notice or current vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Driver s license or photo ID
  • Valid safety inspection sticker (and emissions, if applicable)
  • Renewal fee

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

When does my ID card expire?
Louisiana ID cards are valid for four years from the issue date. Within 90 days of the expiration date, the Louisiana OMV will send out mail renewal invitations with instructions on how residents may renew ID cards. ID card renewals can be done either in person at a local Louisiana OMV office or online through the OMV website s online ID card renewal page. ID card renewal fees vary based on the county the resident lives in.

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Louisiana residents who have had an address changing recently must update their records with the state within 10 days. However, residents who have moved from out of state must submit an official address change, change their driver s license address as well as any car registrations within 30 days of moving. Any ID cards the resident possessed must also be updated. To submit an address change request, visit a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Louisiana

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
There are certain situations where a Bill of Sale is necessary for Louisiana drivers who are initiating a car title transfer. Complete a Bill of Sale form if any of the following is applicable:

  • Title assignment doesn t reflect the date of sale
  • Title assignment doesn t reflect selling price
  • Title assignment doesn t reflect buyer/seller signatures

Bill of sale documentation must be notarized and fully describe the vehicle in question. All vehicles with a date of sale after Aug. 1, 2012 must be accompanied by a copy of a valid photo ID.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Louisiana

When will I need to renew my license?
Louisiana drivers licenses are valid for four years, and expire on the driver s birthday in the fourth year. The Louisiana OMV mails out drivers license renewal notices approximately three months prior to the drivers license expiration date. Drivers license renewal notices carry all the information necessary to renew drivers licenses by mail, online or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Residents of Louisiana who need to apply for duplicate drivers licenses must do so by visiting a local Louisiana OMV office. After submitting the proper identification documents, proof of insurance, and the $13 duplicate drivers license fee (fees may vary), drivers will receive their drivers license replacement right there at the facility. However, drivers out of state and applying through the mail must wait 10 business days to receive adrivers license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Louisiana Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
To check the status of a license in person, visit a local Louisiana OMV office. If an in person visit is difficult, residents may also call the OMV offices at 225-925-6146. Residents may also check their drivers license status online by ordering a driving record.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Louisiana

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Residents of Louisiana who have had to deal with a lost, damaged or stolen car registrationcan apply for a duplicate car registration either online, by mail or in person. To apply in person, residents should print and fill out a Vehicle Application and bring it along with the damaged car registration (if applicable), proof of insurance and the duplicate car registration fee of $12 to a local Louisiana OMV office. OMV offices are located throughout the state, with most having hours between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Residents of Louisiana convicted of driving under the influence or driving while intoxicatedwill be ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle for the following reasons:

  • Refusing to submit to a chemical test in one of the following situations:
    • A car accident
    • A child in the vehicle
    • Prior alcohol violation in the past five years
  • Testing above 0.08 percent BAC on chemical in one of the following situations:
    • A car accident
    • A child in the vehicle
    • Prior alcohol violation in the past five years
  • Court-ordered after license suspension period ends
  • Possessing a restricted hardship license

IIDs must be installed by one of the state-approved interlock manufacturers in Louisiana. Manufacturers include:

  • ADS Alcohol Detection Systems (Safestart)
  • B.E.S.T. Labs, Inc.
  • Consumer Safety Technology, Inc.
  • Draeger Interlock/Draeger Safety Diagnostics, Inc.
  • Guardian Interlock
  • Lifesafer
  • Smart Start of Louisiana

Contact one of the IID manufacturers for more information on purchasing and installing IIDs in vehicles.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Residents of Louisiana who have received traffic ticket fines can pay them either online, by mail or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office depending on the Louisiana county they received the traffic fines in. Depending on the county, residents may or may not be able to access their traffic fines information online, as well as pay for the ticket online. To find out if there is online access for traffic ticket fines information, check the paperwork received with the ticket for online instructions. Residents with tickets in counties that do not have online access should visit a local OMV office or mail their traffic fines payment in.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

Where can I get a new drivers license?
Drivers license applications may not be mailed in or completed online. To apply for drivers licenses, visit your local OMV office, then print and fill out an Application for License or Identification Card and submit it along with the proper documentation. Additionally, drivers license applicants will be required to take either a 38-hour driver s education course (if 17 years old) or a 14-hour pre-licensing course. Additional tests include the written knowledge exam, road skills test and vision test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Louisiana

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Application materials include an Application for Car Title, the current vehicle registration and the duplicate car title fee of $18.50 (plus an $8 handling fee; fees may vary). Mailed applications should be submitted to the following address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents of Louisiana looking to obtain ID cards can do so by visiting in persona local Louisiana OMV office. Initial ID cards cannot be obtained online or by mail. To apply for ID cards, residents must bring a combination of either two primary identification documents, or one primary identification documents and two secondary. The fee for an ID card is $17 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Louisiana Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Louisiana law states that all motor vehicles registered in the state must be insured by the owner of the vehicle. Vehicles that are inoperable or not being driven must either have liability car insurance, have the license plates surrendered or have a completed Statement of Non-Use on file for the vehicle. Statements of Non-Use can be submitted by printing out the form, completing it and visiting a local Louisiana OMV office. Statements of Non-Use may also be submitted online by visiting the OMV website.

For more information: Louisiana Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Residents of Louisiana who would like to obtain a learners permit and are under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. Applications for learners permit can be submitted in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. Parents or legal guardians must present valid photo ID when signing for the minor. If there is a case where joint custody is involved, the domiciliary parent is the only one allowed to sign. Fees for learners permit are $21.50 (fees may vary).

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Louisiana

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Louisiana residents who have obtained a copy of their driving records should check them thoroughly to make sure the records are accurate. Drivers who believe there are mistakes on their driving records should contact the Louisiana OMV to notify them. Written requests can be sent to:

Mailing Address:

Office of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

For more information: Your Louisiana Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
If you receive a drivers license renewal notice, then you do not need to take a vision test. By renewing online or by mail, vision test requirements are waived. However, if yourrenew drivers licenses in person at a local Louisiana OMV office, then you are subject taking a vision test. This is often the case if you renewed your drivers license online or by mail the previous time. Drivers with expireddrivers licensesof a year or more are required to take the vision and written knowledge exams again.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, the OMV sends outdrivers license renewal notices approximately three months prior to expiration dates. The notices include instructionson how torenew drivers licenses online or by mail. Drivers who have not received a drivers license renewal notice must apply to renew drivers licenses in person at a local Louisiana OMV office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Louisiana

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Traffic ticket finesdo not result in point in Louisiana. However, moving violations are recorded on driving records, which could lead to higher insurance premiums, driver s license suspensions and a number of associated fines.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Drivers in Louisiana who are assessed DUI citations face a list of penalties that includes jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, license suspensions and restrictions on driving after the license suspension period is over. Additionally, drivers assessed DUI citations may be required to attend state-approved substance abuse/alcohol treatment programs. Treatment programs are assessed based on the court s decision for a first offense, and are mandatory for all alcohol- and drug-related driving offenses committed after.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Louisiana

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Drivers in Louisiana who have lost, damaged or stolen car registrations will need to submit an application for duplicate car registration either by mail, online or in person at a local Louisiana OMV office. To apply by mail or in person, residents should print and fill out a Vehicle Application and attach both the damaged car registration (if applicable) and the duplicate car registration fee of $12 (fees may vary; local fees may apply).

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Required documentation when applying for a duplicate car title includes the current vehicle registration and the duplicate car title fee of $18.50 (plus an $8 handling fee; fees may vary). Proof of insurance is not required.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Louisiana

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles sends out car registration renewal notices several weeks prior to car registration expiration dates. These notices include all the information necessary for Louisiana residents to renew car registrations online or by mail. Residents who do not receive a car registration renewal notice are still obligated to renew their vehicle registrations by the expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Residents of Louisiana looking to renew car registrations in the state can find the expiration date for their vehicle registration on the registration documentation itself. Most car registrations in Louisiana are valid for two years. Exceptions include:

  • Light trucks: every four years
  • Motorcycles: every four years
  • Commercial vehicles: every year

Car registration renewals can be processed online or by mail with a car registration renewal notice, or in person with a current car registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Louisiana