Georgia Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Although you are not required to do so, completing a motorcycle training course will provide you with a license test waiver for 90 days. For three months, the Georgia DDS waives both the road skills and written parts of your application when you complete this program. If you would like to learn more, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Yes, the state of Georgia requires every motorcyclist to wear a helmet when riding a bike. Failure to do so may result in penalties and fees. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Yes, rules and regulations for car registration renewal depends on the county in which you live in. Some counties will allow you to renew during the period of January 1st to April 31st, whereas others will give you only a 30-day window. To be certain that your registration does not expire, read your registration card/tag carefully for details about dates. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
All of your Georgia DDS records should be up to date, therefore it is important that you maintain your current address on both your driver s license and car registration. Keep in mind that to change the address on your driver s license, you will need to contact the Georgia DDS. However, for your car registration, you must instead make a visit to your local tax county collector s office. For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia
Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, you are required to apply for car insurance in the state where you reside. It is highly recommended that you contact the DMV of the state you are moving to at your earliest convenience, in order to inquire about how to register and insure your vehicle there. Make sure to bring all the proper documentation with you, including your driver s license and any documentation pertaining to your vehicle. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, the state of Georgia does not permit CDL drivers to complete drivers license renewal online. Instead you must make an in-person visit to your nearest GA DDS and take a new picture, among other requirements. You will also need to bring in payment for any applicable fees, such as license and endorsement costs. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, Georgia drivers can request to obtain a certified copy of their drivers record. This version is printed, certified and mailed to the driver s address. If you do not have your current address onfile, you will need to contact the Georgia DMV at y our earliest convenient to update this information. You can request a driving record that includes a 3-year history or 7-year history. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
Can I take the DMV written test online?
The written driving tests can only be taken in person at a DDS Customer Service Center. If you plan to take the test at the end of the day, keep in mind that you must begin the Knowledge Exam at least 30 minutes before the center closes. Allow yourself sufficient time to take the exam at your own pace. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
If you have obtained an interstate CDL license, then you can drive across state lines, as long as you are abiding the rules and regulations of the roadways and highways you are passing through. Interstate drivers licenses are only issued to those who are 21 and older. In the event that you are unsure about certain road rules, contact the DMV of the state you will be driving to. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
If the vehicle is registered and titled under your name, it is best that you complete the renewal process. The state of Georgia offers three ways in which you can renew your car registration: online, in person or by mail. For many individuals, online is the most convenient option, thus saving you time and long waits in line. When requesting car registration renewal, make sure to have your current drivers license with you. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, boats and sailboats that are over twelve feet in length and used in state waters must be registered with the Georgia Department of Natural Resources. You can complete registration online, by phone or by mail. ONLINE To complete your boat registration online, visit the GA Department of Natural Resources website. BY PHONE Call 1-800-366-2661 BY MAIL Send a completed State of Georgia Vessel Registration Application, along with the proper payment to the address below: GA Dept of Natural Resources PO Box 934943 Atlanta, GA 31193-4943 For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Yes, the state of Georgia requires drivers with mopeds and scooters to apply for a motorcycle driving license. Although a moped does not need to be registered or titled, the same cannot be said for a motor scooter. You do need to complete a registration and title process for a motor scooter. To find out more, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
The court may order the driver to attend a traffic school course, depending on the ticket they have been issued. It will be under the court s discretion whether or not taking this class will be mandatory. You may also have the option to voluntarily sign up for a driver training course in order to improve your driving skills and become more familiar with road safety rules. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes, you will need to get car insurance in the new state you are relocating to. To find out about the specific requirements, contact the DMV of where you are moving to. You will be required to register your vehicle, as well as maintain minimum insurance coverage. It is important to note that Georgia does not require drivers to surrender their license plate when changing address to another state.

For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Although it is not mandatory to file a police report, it is highly recommended that you do so. Notifying the police about your lost drivers license or stolen drivers license will help prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring. Once you have filed a report, you may also request to be given a copy to submit to the Georgia DDS. To locate a Customer Service Center near you, visit this page. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card
Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Although it is not mandatory to file a police report, it is highly advisable that you alert the proper authorities of your lost car registration or stolen car registration. Filing this report will reduce your chances of experiencing any fraudulent activity on your driving record or DMV-related matters. In addition to this, you may have your duplicate car registration fee waived at the discretion of the GA DDS when presenting a police report. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services not require individuals moving to another state to surrender their license plate. However, you will need to get in contact with the DMV of your new state to find out about their requirements for soon-to-be residents. When visiting a local office, make sure to bring your drivers license with you and any documentation pertaining to your vehicle. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Yes, the state of Georgia requires beginner drivers to complete a drivers ed course. In addition to this, you must also have 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel-experience, six of which are to be completed during nighttime hours. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, if you have a damaged car title on hand, you will be required to hand it over to a representative at your nearest local tag office or Customer Service Center. While there, you can take advantage of completing the process of a car title replacement. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, if you have your damaged car registration with you, it is important that you bring it in to your local tag office. In the process of replacing registration, you will be asked to present identification, such as your Georgia drivers license, and payment for any applicable fees. You may also be asked to present proof of car ownership and proof of insurance. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Motorized carts are not registered in the state of Georgia. Other vehicles that are exempt from GA DMV car registration include these listed below:

  • Mopeds
  • All-terrain vehicles
  • Off-road vehicles
  • Certain tractors
  • Certain trailers

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
The state of Georgia requires the majority of vehicles registered in certain counties to undergo emissions and smog testing. You must get these inspections for your vehicle if you reside in one of the listed counties below:

  • Gwinnett
  • Henry
  • Cherokee
  • Clayton
  • Cobb
  • DeKalb
  • Coweta
  • Paulding
  • Rockdale
  • Douglas
  • Forsyth
  • Fayette
  • Fulton

To find out whether your vehicle requires a smog inspection, call the Georgia MVD Customer Service Center at 1-855-406-5221. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
If you wish to no longer use your vehicle, then you will need to cancel your registration, surrender your license plate and cancel your insurance policy. It is mandatory to maintain insurance for car in the state of Georgia. Failure to insure your vehicle will result in the suspension of your drivers license. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you are a veteran who is requesting an ID card,you will be issued one free of charge as long as you have the list of criteria below. In order to qualify, you will need to present a Certificate of Eligibility, as approved by the Georgia Department of Veteran Services. You can receive a Certificate of Eligibility by showing the documents below to the State Department of Veteran Services: Separation papers (DD-214) that provide information regarding the veteran s wartime service, honorable discharge, and that the individual is a Georgia resident. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
If you would like to review the Georgia Drivers s Manual, you can take a look at it here. You will find the manual is available to you in either digital format or PDF download. View whichever one is most convenient. Should you want to browse through the manual when you re offline, however, you may prefer to get a copy of the PDF download. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In the state of Georgia, you may be able to pay traffic ticket either online, in person, by phone or by mail. These options will depend on the county in which you received your citation. For example, some counties allow individuals to pay their ticket online, while others do not. To find the court you need to pay your ticket fine to, look at your ticket for additional information. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
How can I renew my drivers license?
If you are wondering how to renew drivers license, the Georgia Department of Driver Services provides three convenient options: online, in person or by mail.

ONLINE

In order to renew your GA drivers license online, you must meet the requirements listed below:

  • You are a United States citizen.
  • You are a resident of Georgia.
  • You hold a noncommercial drivers license that is not expired for more than two years.
  • You are younger than 64.
  • You have a credit card or debit card available for payment.

To renew drivers license online, simply visit the Georgia DDS website and have your driver s license number and payment ready.

IN PERSON

You can easily renew your GA drivers license in person by visiting your local DDS office with payment for the required fee and proof of the following:

  • Your Georgia residence
  • Your identity
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your legal status in the country or U.S. citizenship

BY MAIL

Certain drivers may be considered eligible to renew drivers license by mail. This option is available to you if you any of the below apply:

  • You are a military member who is stationed outside of Georgia.
  • You are temporarily working outside of Georgia.
  • You are currently attending school outside of Georgia.
  • You are physically incapacitated and therefore cannot visit a DDS branch.

To complete the process via mail, take a look at the DDS Mail-in Renewal Package

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
It is easy to renew your Georgia car registration by simply selecting one of three options that are available to you: online, in person or by mail. ONLINE To renew car registration online, visit the State of Georgia Department of Revenue website. Once there, follow the instructions on the screen to begin your transaction. After you have completed the process, you can expect to receive your registration within five business days. IN PERSON Visit your local tax county collector s office with proper documentation in hand and payment for any applicable fees. BY MAIL To complete the process by mail, you will be required to fill out a Title/Tag Application, as well as gather proof of insurance and proof of emissions inspection. Mail these documents, along with payment via money order or check to the address below: GA Dept of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division 4125 Welcome All Road Atlanta, GA 30374 For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
If the car title you wish to transfer has a lien on it, there will be additional requirements to transfer title. In that case, you must complete and notarize a Notice of Satisfaction of Security Interest or Lien Holder’s Affidavit (Form T-4) for any unreleased liens recorded on the title or for any liens listed on the title that were paid. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia
How can I transfer my registration to another state?
If you are moving to another location, you should contact the Department of Motor Vehicles of your new state to find out about their own rules and regulations for car registration. States may vary in terms of the required documents to present and the amount you will have to pay in registration fees. In order to avoid any confusion and doubt, contact the DMV prior to your move for the full details of everything you need to know. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
If you are wondering how to get a CDL license, you will first need to meet the requirements for a standard driver s license, which entails showing proof of identity, legal status in the country, Social Security Number and state residency. Additionally, you must complete the following:

  • Fill out the proper CDL license application.
  • Present a valid Medical Examiner s Certificate.
  • Pass a CDL road skills test.
  • Pass the CDL knowledge exam.
  • Pass the vision exam.
  • Pay any necessary fees.

All of the aforementioned must be presented or conducted in person at a DDS center. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
The state of Georgia makes it easy to request a disabled parking placard or plate by visiting your local tax county collector s office. However, you will be required to submit proper medical documentation, certifying that you have a disability. You can do this by presenting your physician with the Disabled Person s Parking Affidavit. A handicap parking placard is offered to individuals who qualify free of charge. If you would like to apply for a disability license plate, you will also need to present proof of your car registration. The cost for a disability plate is $20 (fees may vary). For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
How do I apply for a drivers license?
In order to apply for a standard GA drivers license, you will be required to present certain documentation, as well as pass the Road Skills Test at your local Customer Service Center. You will also need to fill out a drivers license application and pay any appropriate fees. It is highly advised that you schedule your Road Skills Test online, prior to making your in-person visit. Keep in mind that your driving record must be clear of any convictions, violations or other driving-related offenses for a full license to be issued. If you are moving to Georgia from a different state, you may be exempt from taking the Written Test and Road Skills Test. However, you will still be required to submit any necessary documents. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to apply for a learners permit in the state of Georgia, you will need to pass certain tests and present required documentation. Additionally, you must be at least 15 years old in order to apply. To obtain a learners permit, you will need to pass both a vision test and a knowledge test. At the time of application, if you are less than 18 years old, your parent or legal guardian must be present for consent. After you have held your instructional permit for at least 12 months, you will then be apply to apply for an intermediate license. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The state of Georgia offers two different types of motorcycle licenses: Class MP, an instructional permit for those who are 16, and Class M, for those who are at least 17. The requirements vary for each. For a Class MP Motorcycle Instructional Permit, you will be required to do the following:

  • Turn in a certified Georgia Driver Training/Driver Education Course that consists of 30 hours.
  • Pass a Vision Exam.
  • Pass a Motorcycle Knowledge Exam.
  • Have a parent or legal guardian sign your application if you are under the age of 18.
  • Present any required documentation.

For a Class M Motorcycle License, you will be required to do the following:

  • Pass a Motorcycle Knowledge Exam (if it applies).
  • Pass a Vision Exam.
  • Pass a Road Skills Text.
  • Have a parent or legal guardian sign your application if you are under the age of 18.
  • Present any required documentation.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
In order to make your address change request, you should contact your insurance company at your earliest convenience. The simple task may only require you to submit your address change information over the phone. However, if the insurance representative needs proof of certain documentation, you may need to make an in-person visit at one of their local offices or submit any requested items via fax. For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia
How do I change my address on my car registration?
To complete an address changing on your vehicle registration, you have the option to do this bymail or in person. Regardless of the method you choose, you will be required to fill out a Title/Tag Application, as well as present your current ID/driver s license and pay any necessary fees. Additionally, you must show proof of your car title.

Submit your request by mail with the aforementioned documents to the address below:

DOR/MVD

PO Box 740381

Atlanta, GA 30374.

You can also update your information in person by visiting your local tax county collector s office with these items.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
The state of Georgia requires all commercial license drivers to notify the DDS of their new official address change in person. When paying a visit to a local office, make sure to bring documents that verify your address change and payment for any fees. The cost to change your commercial driver s license is $20, but this fee may vary. For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia
How do I change my address on my drivers license?
The state of Georgia allows drivers to complete address changing on their license by visiting a local DDS office or completing the transaction online.

ONLINE

To change your address online, visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services website and follow the step-by-step instructions to complete the process. Only those who are either United States citizens with residence in Georgia are authorized to change their address this way. If you are a commercial driver, you will be required to change your address in person.

IN PERSON

If you choose to change your address at a local DDS office, make sure to bring two documents that show proof of Georgia residency, in addition to proper payment. Acceptable documents may include a utility bill (electricity, water, cable, Internet, phone, etc), a recent statement from your bank or a Voter s Registration Card.

The fee to change the address on your driver s license is free once per renewal period.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Address changing on your ID card will require you to follow the same steps as you would for your driver s license. Georgia residents can update the address on their identification card either online or in person.

ONLINE

To make an official address change online, visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services website and follow the step-by-step instructions to complete the process. Only those who are either United States citizens with residence in Georgia are authorized to change their address this way. If you are a commercial driver, you will be required to change your address in person.

IN PERSON

If you choose to change your address at a local DDS office, make sure to bring two documents that show proof of Georgia residency, in addition to proper payment. Acceptable documents may include a utility bill (electricity, water, cable, Internet, phone, etc), a recent statement from your bank or a Voter s Registration Card.

You will not be charged a fee to change the address on your ID card, as long as this is the only time you ve had to update such information during your renewal period.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
The steps to change name on your vehicle insurance will require you to contact the company directly. Call and ask to speak to your car insurance representative, so you can inform them of your new name. Keep in mind that they may ask you to present certain items that verify this name change. If that is the case, you may be required to make an in-person visit with the requested documents.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
Before you update your car registration with your new name, you will first need to change the information on your driver s license. Once you have completed this process, then you should visit your local tax county collector s office to proceed with updating your car registration. Upon your visit, make sure to bring with you proof of name change, such as a Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree or another type of court-ordered documentation. Documents must either be originals or certified copies.

You will be required to fill out a DOR Motor Vehicle/Title Tag Application when changing your name. If you prefer, you can also submit your request by mail with this application. Send the application and necessary documents to the address below:

DOR/MVD

PO Box 740381

Atlanta, GA 30374

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
In order to request a name change on your driver s license, you will first need to update your information with the Social Security Administration. Without this update, the Georgia DDS will be unable to issue you a new license. Once this has been completed, you will need to visit your local CSC office (or submit your request by mail) and present a certified legal document that supports your name change. Acceptable documents include the following:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Court order
  • Adoption papers

Documents must either be originals or certified copies. You can submit them at a DDS office near you. You can also visit the Social Security Administration website.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
The process of name changing on your ID card is the same to change this information on your driver s license. You will first need to update your new name with the Social Security Administration. Thereafter, you can visit any nearby DDS office (or submit your request by mail) to present the proper paperwork for your new name to be reflected on your ID card. Acceptable documentation includes the documents below:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Court order
  • Adoption papers

Documents must either be originals or certified copies. You can submit them to a DDS office near you. You can also visit the Social Security Administration website.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
In order to complete an official name change, you will first need to get in touch with the Social Security Administration so this information can be reflected on your Social Security Number. To find a branch near you, simply visit the SSA website and search for an office in your area with your ZIP code. Once you have located a branch in your surrounding area, make sure to bring the proper documentation with you for your visit.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you believe an unauthorized individual has gained access to your DMV driving record, then contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services as soon as possible. You can reach them by phone at 678-413-8400. Make sure to have your driver s license number on hand and be ready to provide any information pertaining to the suspicious activity. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If you have a lost car registration or a stolen car registration, you can make your way to a local police station to file a report. By notifying a law enforcement officer about your situation, they will be able to provide you with the copy of an official document you can then take to your tax county collector s office. To find a tag office near you, visit the GA Motor Vehicle Vision Tag Office website. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
The best way to file a police report is to visit your local station and speak to a law enforcement officer. After explaining your situation, they will be able to provide you with a copy of the police report you file. Bring this important document with you to a nearby DDS, so that a note of it can be added to the system. Filing a police report will help prevent any fraudulent activity on your driver s license. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
How do I get a copy of my driving record?
In Georgia, you can check your driving record online, in person or by mail. If you prefer to get a copy online, you will have the option to order a non-certified version or a certified version of your driving history. In person, you will have to make a visit to a DDS Customer Service Center to submit a Request for Motor Vehicle Report. To obtain a copy of your driving record by mail, you will need to send your request to the following address: Georgia Department of Driver Services MVR Request PO Box 80447 Conyers, Georgia 30013 Make sure to submit proper payment and your personal information, including your driver s license number, with your request. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
How do I get a duplicate ID card?
To obtain an ID card replacement, you will need to present a document from what the Georgia DDS labels “Category A” or two documents from “Category B.”

Examples of documents in Category A include:

  • Valid Foreign Passport
  • Valid U.S. Passport
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Certified copy of birth certificate

Examples of documents in Category B include:

  • Voter Registration Card
  • Valid or expired Military ID Card
  • Social Security Card
  • Original or certified Marriage Certificate
  • Current Car Registration
  • Current Auto, Home, Life or Health Insurance Policy

Present these documents at your nearest DDS office and bring $5 with you for the replacement fee. Fees are subject to change without notice. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services issues a limited driving permit in certain situations and at their discretion. With this limited license,you may be allowed to drive to and from work, school, treatment program classes, medical visits and drivers ed courses. Bear in mind that the Georgia DDS may also make special mention of the locations in which you can travel to and the restricted times. For those individuals who are qualified, it is important to note that a limited driving permit can only be used during the person s suspension period. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are currently stationed outside of Georgia, you can order a drivers license replacement online. To begin this process, you will first need to make sure that you meet the list of requirements below:

  • You hold a noncommercial license.
  • Your license is in good standing.
  • You are a Georgia resident.
  • You are a United States citizen.

If so, then visit the Georgia DDS website to qualify for your license replacement. You need to have a credit card or debit card available in order to complete the transaction. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
The only way you can attempt to have your traffic fines dismissed is by fighting it in court and winning. Even if you do plead “not guilty,” this does not guarantee that your ticket will be dismissed. Many factors will come into play, therefore it is best to hire a traffic ticket attorney to represent you in court. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
The best way to find out if your drivers license has been mailed out is by contacting the Georgia Department of Driver Services directly. You can do so by calling their toll-free number at 678-413-8400. Their regular operating hours are Monday to Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. You can also make an in-person visit to one of their offices. Find a DDS location nearyou using our DMV locator.
For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
In order to request somebody else s GA driving record, you will need to fill out a Request for Motor Vehicle Report. You will also need to provide full details about the licensee, such as their GA driver s license information, their full name and date of birth. You may make your request in person or by mail to: Georgia Department of Driver Services MVR Request PO Box 80447 Conyers, Georgia 30013 Be ready to make any necessary payment and also present proof of ID. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
The rules to get a Georgia car registration replacement depends on the county you live in. Some will allow you to request a replacement in person, whereas others require you to complete the process via mail. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
In order to get a car title replacement, you will need to provide your local tag office or the DDS Customer Service Center with the proper documentation, as well as payment for any applicable fees. Additionally, you must complete an Application for a Replacement Registration Certificate, which can be obtained at your tax county collector s office. If you have a damaged car title,make sure to also bring this item with you. You can also request a duplicate car title by mail. You will need to gather all of the aforementioned items and send them to the address below: GA Dept of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division 4125 Welcome All Road Atlanta, GA 30349 Should you have any questions, contact the MVD at 1-855-406-5221. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
How do I obtain a duplicate license?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services allows drivers to replace driving license either online or at a Customer Service Center.

IN PERSON

When requesting a license replacement, you will need to bring one document from what is known as “Category A” or two documents from “Category B.”

Acceptable documentation from Category A includes:

  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Valid Permanent Resident Card
  • Valid Permanent Employment Authorization Document
  • United States Passport
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certified copy of a birth certificate

Acceptable documentation from Category B includes:

  • Income Tax Return
  • Auto, Home, Life or Health Insurance Policy
  • Social Security Card
  • Voter Registration
  • Military ID card or orders
  • Marriage Certificate

ONLINE

In order to replace your license online, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You hold a noncommercial license.
  • Your license is in good standing.
  • You are a Georgia resident.
  • You are a United States citizen.

Should you meet these requirements, visit the GA DDS website to get started. The only acceptable forms of payment are debit cards or credit cards.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
If you need to get a Georgia car title for a repossessed car, you will need to visit your local tag office with the following items:

  • A filled out Title/Tag Application
  • A filled out Affidavit of Repossession
  • The car title or manufacturer s statement of origin
  • A copy of contract that was made between the repossessed and the party from whom the vehicle was repossessed.
  • Payment for $18 title fee (fees may vary)

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

How do I obtain car registration?
To register your vehicle for the first time, you will need to make a visit to your local tax county collector s office with the proper documentation and payment for required fees. If you are a new resident in the state, you will have 30 days to complete this process with the Georgia Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). If you have any questions about what you re required to bring in person, contact the Georgia MVD Customer Service Center at 1-855-406-5221. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
Reinstating suspended drivers license will require you to fulfill all the requirements set forth by your suspension period first. Thereafter, you will need to submit payment for a reinstatement fee before you can have your driving privileges restored. If you would like to speak to a DDS agent about your particular case, contact the Customer Service Center at 1-678-413-8400. Operating hours are from Monday to Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5:15 p.m.

For more infromartion: Suspended License Information for Georgia

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
The state of Georgia has an Implied Consent Law, which makes it mandatory for drivers to submit to administered chemical tests in the state if they are suspected to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Failure to take a chemical test will result in a drivers license suspension for a minimum of one year, and you will not be eligible to obtained a limited driving permit if convicted of a DUI.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
In order to reinstate suspended drivers license, you will first need to completed all the requirements stated in your suspension notice. You will not be allowed to drive during this time, and before your suspension period is over, you will receive a notice in the mail about how to proceed with restoring your driving privileges. Before your license is reinstated,you will need to pay your reinstatement fee. Payment can be made either by mail or in person, and in some cases online as well. If you would like to submit payment by mail, send it to the below address, along with your “Official Notice of Suspension”: Department of Driver Services (DDS) Validation Unit PO Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30013 For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of Georgia allows drivers to take certain defensive driving classes in order to reduce the number of points on their license. But keep in mind that you will not always be able to take this course whenever you choose. It is limited to only once every five years, and only a maximum of seven points can be removed. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
How do I renew my driving permit?
It is unnecessary to renew your instruction permit. The next step in obtaining your drivers license once you have your learners permit is to apply for your provisional/intermediate drivers license. You can apply for this license once you ha ve completed the following:

  • Taken an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program
  • Held your learners permit for at least a year
  • Completed 40 hours of behind-the-wheel experience
  • Must be 16 with completed drivers ed or 17 years old

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia

How do I renew my ID card?
The state of Georgia allows its residents to renew ID card in one of two ways: online or in person.

ONLINE

In order to renew online, you must be an applicant who is 64 or younger (seniors are required to renew in person). To complete your online transaction, have a credit card or debit card available. The GA DDS accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express or Discover Card.

IN PERSON

When renewing in person, you will be required to submit proof of the following:

  • Your Georgia residency
  • Your United States citizenship or legal status in the country
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your identity

You will also be asked to take a new ID card picture and to fill out an identification card application.

For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are currently outside of Georgia, you have the option to renew license by mail. The Georgia DDs has put together a convenient package that contains an application, Credit Card Payment Authorization Form and other materials to facilitate the process. Simply access the DDS Mail-in Renewal Package to get started. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
Those individuals who are interstate CDL drivers can renew their medical report by asking their medical examiners to complete the Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination. This form will must be submitted to the Georgia DPS after a physical examination has been completed, either by mail, online, or by fax. Some of the things the exam will check for is the driver s general appearance, as well as lungs,chest, ears, mouth, throat, eyes, heart, spine, neurological parts, abdomen, etc. For more information about the physical, take a look at the DOT Physicals page. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
How do I renew my motorcycle license?
In Georgia, you can renew your motorcycle license either in person, online or via mail (in some instances). If you would like to renew in person, simply visit your nearest DDS center. Those individuals who are deemed eligible to renew by mai l can do so by following the instructions on the DDS Mail-in Renewal Options Package. For you to qualify to renew by mail, one of the following must apply to you:

  • You are physically incapacitated and therefore unable to visit a DDS office.
  • You are temporarily working out of state.
  • You are attending school outside of Georgia.
  • You are a military member who is stationed out of the state.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are not a United States citizen, there are several documents the Georgia Department of Driver Services will accept for your GA duplicate drivers license. You will be required to present either one document from “Category A” or two documents from “Category B.” See the list below. Category A examples (must present one document):

  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Valid Permanent Resident Card
  • Valid Permanent Employment Authorization Document
  • United States Passport
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certified copy of a birth certificate

Category B examples (must present two documents):

  • Income Tax Return
  • Auto, Home, Life or Health Insurance Policy
  • Social Security Card
  • Voter Registration
  • Military ID card or orders
  • Marriage Certificate

Only originals or certified copies will be accepted. To locate a Customer Service Center near you, visit this page.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you lost drivers license outside of Georgia, you may be eligible to request a renewal online as long as you meet the criteria below:

  • You hold a noncommercial license.
  • Your license is in good standing.
  • You are a Georgia resident.
  • You are a United States citizen.

Processing your renewal request online will require you to submit payment with a debit card or credit card in order to complete the transaction. Once you have submitted your request, you can expect to have your new license sent to the Post Office within seven days. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
In order to transfer your title for car between states, you will need to contact the DMV of the new state you are moving to. A DMV representative will be able to provide you with all the information you need to know about obtaining a new car title. There is great chance that you will need to present your driver s license and proof of car insurance when making the transfer. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia
How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
For a GA car title replacement, visit your local tag office and present the following documentation:

  • Your Georgia driver s license
  • A filled out Tag/Title Application
  • Payment for the $8 replacement fee (fees may vary)

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

How do I transfer my car title?
If you have purchased your vehicle from a private owner:

  • Jot down all the key information about the vehicle, including but not limited to the VIN number, the date of transfer, the miles on the vehicle, the owner s signature and address.
  • Present the DDS with proof of car insurance, you current driver s license and acompleted Title Application (if applicable).
  • Have payment ready for any fees.

If you are selling your vehicle and transferring the title:

  • Write down the current number of miles prior to handing over your title to the buyer.
  • Make sure to have your car title signed, dated and notarized.

If purchasing your car through a dealer: The licensed dealer will take care of any paperwork and the entire process for you. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
To properly complete transfer of title of your RV, stop by your local tax county collector s office with these items:

  • Car title or valid manufacturer s certificate
  • Payment for any fees, including ad valorem tax if applicable
  • A completed Tag/Title Application

Keep in mind that if your RV is a double-wide or triple-wide, you will need to fill out an application for each side if there is a title for each side. If the RV has a serial number for each side listed separately, then this will also require you to fill out separate applications. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
In order to apply for a motorcycle drivers license, a military member will need to follow the same procedure as of other individuals. You will need to be physically present to complete the application process. However, if you want to renew your motorcycle drivers license and are currently out of state, Georgia allows a six-month grace period after your license expires to do so. You can also request a license renewal through the mail if this option is more convenient for you. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
How does the DMV check my vision?
Your vision will be tested in person, at a local DDS Customer Service Center. In order to pass, you must meet a minimum acceptable vision of 20/60 in one eye, and your field vision must be at least 140 degrees. If you fail the field vision portion of the test, you will need to ask your optometrist to fill out a Georgia Department of Driver Services Vision Report. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
In order to obtain your GA license to drive, you must first hold an intermediate driver s license after acquiring your learner s permit. You must have your learners permit for at least a year before you can apply for an intermediate. Once you reachthe age of 18, you can then apply for your full, standard drivers license as long as you have had no convictions or offenses on your record. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services does not offer the option to replace car title online. You can apply for a duplicate car title either by mail or in person. If replacing your car title in person, make a visit to your local tag office or a DDS Customer Service Center to complete the process. Keep in mind that there is an additional charge to replace your title at a Customer Service Center location. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Failure to take a chemical test will result in a drivers license suspension of one year if this is your first DUI offense. You will be required to complete all the terms stated in your suspension before you can reinstate your license. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
How long will it take to get my new ID card?
In order to find out how long it will be before you receive your ID card, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services for more information. The time in which it takes may vary, depending on whether you are submitting your request in person or online. When applying for your ID card, you may be asked to fill out a proper form. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
If a Georgia driver accumulates 15 points or more within a 24-month time frame, then their license to drive will be suspended. In order to reinstate suspended drivers license, you will have to first complete all the requirements set forth in your suspension period. For example, part of your suspension summary may include possible imprisonment, community service hours and payment of reinstatement fees. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
The state of Georgia only allows drivers to complete a defensive driving course once every five years in order to reduce the number of points on their driving record. You can deduct a maximum of seven points from your record. Upon successfully completing the course, you will receive a Certification of Completion, which you can present at a nearby DDS office or mail in person. Submission of the certificate by mail should be sent to the below address: Georgia Department of Driver Services PO Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30013 For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
In order to change name on car registration, you will need to contact your local tax county collector s office to find out about any related fees. When changing the name on your car registration, you will be required to fill out a DOR Motor Vehicle/Title Tag Application. If you prefer, you can also submit your request by mail with this application. Send the application and necessary documents to the address below: DOR/MVD PO Box 740381 Atlanta, GA 30374
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
You will need to submit payment for a $18 title fee in order to change name on car title. The Georgia DDS only allows drivers to change their name on their title in person or by mail. If you would like to complete this process by mail, simply visit a local tax county collector s office with documentation that certifies your new name. Acceptable documents must be original or certified copies only. To update your car title information by mail, fill out a DOR Motor Vehicle/Title Tag Application and send it to the address below: DOR/MVD PO Box 740381 Atlanta, GA 30374
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
If you are name changing within 150 days of your driver s license expiration date, then you will not be charged a set fee. However, you will be required to show documentation that verifies your identity, new name and your legal status in the country. To find a Georgia DDS branch near you to update your driver s license, use our DMV locator.
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
In the state of Georgia, a commercial driver is required to renew their commercial driving license 60 days prior to its expiration date. CDL drivers can only complete a license renewal at a nearby DDS Customer Service Center. You will need to have any payment ready for necessary fees. If you are obtaining a CDL license with a Hazardous Material Endorsement (Hazmat), then you will also be required to undergo a background and fingerprint check.

For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services allows drivers to renew license up to 150 days before it expires. You can complete this process either in person, online or by mail. However, some instances may require you to visit your local DDS branch for a license renewal. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
In the unfortunate event that a family member has passed away, you can obtain ownership of the vehicle they left for you by paying a visit to your local tag office and following the standard procedure of obtaining a car title. However, in addition to the standard documents such as proof of car insurance, car title and your current driver s license, you may also need to present a death certificate, a will (if applicable) and court orders. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia
If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, if your car registration expires you may be faced with penalties and high fines. In order to avoid any issue, you should renew car registration as soon as you are eligible to do so. The time of year in which you will be permitted to complete this process will depend on the county you live in. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Whether or not your replacement fee is waived is to the discretion of the Georgia Department of Driver Services. However, you should nonetheless file a police report at a local station and submit a copy to the DDS. When requesting a replacement in person, gather all the necessary documents to bring with you and show proof of identity. It is also advisable to bring payment with you, should any replacement fees apply. Acceptable forms of payment include credit cards, debit cards, checks, cash or money orders. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card
If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
The state of Georgia requires drivers to report any property damage that amounts to $500 or more. If you have been involved in a car accident,make sure to exchange insurance information with the other party and to file a police report right away. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
You are required to get car insurance in the state where you reside. If you are a resident of Georgia, you will also need to apply for vehicle registration and submit proper documentation to complete the process. The minimum insurance coverage requirements in Georgia include Bodily Insurance Liability and Property Damage Liability. Visit your local tag office for further clarification. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
In the event that you lost your ticket, find your ticket information by locating the county where you received your citation. Simply visit the Judicial Council of Georgia/Administrative Office of the Courts website to search for the correct court. Click on the “Find Your Court” tab to get started. Once you ve located your court, you will be provided with contact information, such as their phone number and address, for your convenience. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
Financial responsibility (commonly known as car insurance) is required by state law to drive legally in Georgia. Therefore, if you own multiple vehicles, all of them must have auto insurance coverage. While Georgia does not have any state-mandated vehicle insurance discounts, most insurance companies offer the discount for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. Keep in mind that terms and benefits offered by insurance companies vary, so make sure to check with your auto insurance provider first. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
You will be required to visit a Customer Service Center when you return to Georgia and bring in a couple of identifiable documents, along with the proper payment for a replacement fee. If you would like further clarification about your particular situation, contact the GA DDS at 678-413-8400 to speak to a representative. Their operating hours are from Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
In order to have your driving privileges restored, you will first need to complete all the terms of your DUI suspension period. Once you have fulfilled all your reinstatement requirements, you can then contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services about getting your license. Make sure to abide by all the instructions listed on your reinstatement summary.
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia
If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The DMV might flag your license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as your own. Also, a DMV clerk might suggest that you apply for a duplicate license. However, to be on the safe side, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your nearest DDS Customer Service Center. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated California Driver’s License or ID Card
Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
In the event that you lose personalized plates, contact your local tag office to inquire about the proper steps you must follow to receive new ones. There is a strong likelihood that you will need to follow the same process you would for replacing standard plates. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
A person who is 18 can apply for a commercial drivers license in the state of Georgia. However, the driving is limited to within the state. A person who is 21 or older can apply for an intrastate CDL license, which can be used nationwide. For both intrastate and interstate driving, you will be required to fill out the proper application, as well as meet all the requirements for the endorsement you want to obtain. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
Is there an age limit to renew your license?
The state of Georgia has no age restrictions in place when it comes to renewing drivers license. However, if you are a senior who is 64 or older, you must make an in-person visit to your local DDS office to renew your license. That s because you will be asked to pass a vision exam for issuance of your new license. Once you have submitted all necessary documents and posted payment, you can expect to receive your license within seven days. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
It is recommended that you keep your DMV car registration card/document inside your vehicle at all times, preferably in your glove compartment. In the event that you are pulled over by a police officer, you will have this information readily available. Make sure to also have your registration tag fully visible on your vehicle. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
After ordering your GA drivers license copy, it will be sent to the address you have on file with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If you have recently moved, make sure to visit your local Customer Service Center at your earliest convenience to update your address change. The state of Georgia allows drivers to report their new address within 60 days. Find a location near you by visiting the DMV offices page. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card
What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
If you are a senior who is 64 or older, you will be required to make an in-person visit to your DDS office at the time of drivers license renewal. That s because you will be asked to pass a vision test in order to be issued a renewed drivers license. If you do not pass the vision, then you will be handed a Vision Report Form to have your optometrist fill out and submit to the Georgia DDS. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
There are various reasons why a driver may need to transfer title. Some of the most common ones include the following:

  • You are in the process of donating your vehicle.
  • You are in the process of selling your vehicle.
  • You are in the process of giving your vehicle as a gift.

When transferring the car title of your vehicle, make sure that you have all the necessary documentation ready to go. For example, you will need to jot down the date of transfer and odometer mileage on the car title, as well as add your signature. You may also need to fill out a Bill of Sale, which will act as proof of the car sale. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
The state of Georgia may suspend a drivers license for a number of reasons, including but not limited to the following:

  • Felony forgery on an ID
  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Hit and run
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Refusal to take a chemical test
  • Driving under the influence
  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked registration
  • Racing
  • Reckless driving

If you have a GA suspended drivers license, you will be required to fulfill the terms and requirements of your suspension period before you become eligible to reinstate it. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
If you are applying for a motorcycle instruction permit, you can begin the process as early as 16. However, if you would like to apply for a regular Class M motorcycle license, you must be at least 17 years of age and a resident of Georgia. Keep in mind that if you are under the age of 18, your parent or legal guardian s signature will be required on the application. Aside from taking a few standard tests, you will also need to present proper documents when you apply. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
What are the available commercial license endorsements?
If you would like to get a Georgia commercial drivers license, there are seven different endorsements you can apply for. These commercial class endorsements are listed below:

  • C Limousine Chauffeur
  • T Double/Triple Trailers
  • X Tanker and Hazardous
  • H Hazardous Materials Haulers
  • P Passenger Vehicles (16 or more with driver)
  • N Tank Vehicles

The endorsement you get on your license depends on the type of vehicle you want to drive. Keep in mind that each endorsement has a number of varying rules and regulations. For example, some may require a specific type of Road Skills Test or a fingerprint/background check. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving with a revoked drivers license will result in unwanted penalties and high fees. For example, you may face jail time, a lengthier suspension period and additional fines. In order to avoid further driving violations, make sure to abide by the rules and regulations as set forth by your reinstatement summary. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
What are the different types of driving records?
There are two types of driving records Georgia drivers can obtain:

  • A Non-Certified Version
  • A Certified Version

Potential employers and insurance agencies usually request a certified version that has been stamped by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. When checking driving record, you wil also need to choose whether you would like one that includes a 3-year history or a 7-year history. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Depending on whether this is your first time filling out an ID card application or if you need a replacement, fees may vary. You can request an ID card from any Georgia CSC near you. See a list of fees below:

  • Five-year GA ID Card – $20
  • Eight-year GA ID Card – $8
  • Replacement ID Card – $5
  • Honorary ID Card Free
  • Veteran ID Card Free
  • Veteran Handicapped ID Card Free
  • Handicapped ID Card – $5

When requesting your ID card, you will be required to present documentation that identifies you, so it is important to keep these documents nearby. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services charges a $5 fee to replace license. You can bring payment for this fee to your nearest Customer Service Center. Acceptable forms of payment include cash, credit cards, debit cards, checks or money order. Fees may also vary, therefore it is best to contact the GA DDS prior to your visit. You can also request your license renewal online should you meet a list of qualifications. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card
What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
In order to drive with a Georgia learners permit, you will need to abide by the following rules:

  • You must be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old.
  • You must hold an unexpired Class C drivers license when driving.

In order to drive with an intermediate license, you will need to abide by the following rules:

  • No driving is permitted between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m.
  • No driving is permitted on public roadways, streets and highways during the first six months of license issuance if an immediate family member is not present in the vehicle.
  • No driving is permitted on public roadways, streets and highways during the next six months of license issuance if there is more than one passenger in the vehicle less than 21 years of age.
  • No driving is permitted on public roadways, streets and highways after the second six-month period of license issuance if there is more than three passengers in the vehicle less than 21 years of age.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
When applying for a CDL license, you will need to submit a Medical Examiner s Certificate or Card, plus a filled out Commercial Driver Self-Certification Form. On this form, you will have to indicate the type of commercial driving you will partake in:

  • Non-Excepted Interstate
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Intrastate

It is important that you become in agreement with all state motor carrier safety regulations. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
There are a few reasons that may require a driver to request a GA duplicate car registration. Some of the most common ones include the following:

  • Your vehicle registration was damaged
  • Your vehicle registration was stolen
  • Your vehicle registration is in damaged condition

Depending on the county you live in, you can request a car registration copy either by mail, in person or both. Contact your local tag office to find out which options are available to you. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Depending on how many points you have acquired with your traffic ticket, your learners permit may be suspended. A drivers license suspension will result when four or more points are accumulated within a year. Find out more by contacting the county clerk where your ticket was issued. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
The penalties for a DUI depends on what offense you have committed. Your penalties can include but not be limited to the following:

  • High penalty fees
  • License suspension for an extended period of time
  • Required completed of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Possible imprisonment
  • Possible ignition interlock device installed in person s vehicle
  • Clinical evaluation
  • Mandatory community service

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The reinstatement fees you will be required to pay depends on your Georgia drivers license suspension. The cost will also vary, depending on the method in which you choose to submit payment. In most cases, you will have the option to pay in person or by mail, and in some instances, you may even pay online. When paying your reinstatement fee, you will also need to provide the GA DDS with an “Official Notice of Suspension.” Payment must be made in full with a money order, cashier s check or personal check payable to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If you would like to pay by credit card or debit card, a Credit Card Authorization Form must be filled out. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The required fees for car registration in the state of Georgia varies. The amount you are required to pay will depend on various factors pertaining to your vehicle. In order to find out the exact cost for your car, contact the Georgia MVD Customer Service Center at 1-855-406- 5221. They will also be able to provide you with information about a tax county collector s office near you. For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia
What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The general car title copy fee is $8, in addition to a processing fee of $1. Should you decided to submit your request at a DDS Customer Service Center, there will be an extra charge of $10. Both checks and money orders are accepted as forms of payment. Make sure they are made payable to the Office of the Tax Commissioner. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
In order to find out about the replacement fees you are required to pay, contact the local tag office in your county. To find a branch near you, visit the GA Motor Vehicle Vision Tag Office page. Make sure to give a full description of your vehicle, as well as provide your driver s license information so they can properly locate you in their system. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Car registration renewal fees will vary, depending on various factors pertaining to your vehicle. For example, you will be required to submit payment for a tag fee and ad valorem tax. The amounts will be based on your car s value and the type of vehicle that you own. For more details, contact your local tag office or renew online to find out the exact cost. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
If you want to drive a three-wheel motorcycle in Georgia, you will need to complete the proper steps to obtain a standard motorcycle drivers license, including but not limited to: passing certain exams, submitting necessary paperwork, paying the proper fee, filling out an application, etc. To schedule an appointment at your local DDS Customer Service Center, simply visit the DMV Office page for a list of branches near you. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia
What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
The state of Georgia offers a limited driving permit for certain individuals that allows them to drive to and from the following:

  • Your workplace
  • Your doctor visits
  • Your school
  • Alcohol/drugs treatment program
  • Drivers ed courses

A limited driving permit is made available at the discretion of the DDS, and is not offered to any individual who drives a commercial vehicle. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If it is the first time you have failed the driving test, then you must allow at least 24 hours to pass before you can retake it. If it is your second or subsequent time failing the test, then you must allow at least seven days to pass before you can apply for retesting at the DDS Customer Service Center. Prior to retaking the test, you will be required to pay the permit fee, either by way of cash, money order, credit card, debit card or a check. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When applying for a GA driving permit, the Georgia Department of Driver Services will ask you to submit certain documentation such as the following:

  • Proof of residential address
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of your Social Security Number
  • Proof of your U.S. citizenship or legal status in the country
  • High School Diploma/GED/ Certificate of Attendance from the past 30 days

The documents that you present must be in English. Keep in mind that if you are less than 18, you will need either your parent or a legal guardian to sign your license application. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Getting a motorcycle license will require you to present the documents below at your local DDS branch:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of residential address
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of United States citizenship or legal residence
  • Proof Georgia residency
  • Certificate of Attendance if under the age of 18, or a High School Diploma
  • ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion if under 18

The documents you submit to the Georgia DDS must be in English. You will also need to have payment ready for the application fee. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
The state of Georgia requires drivers to present proof of identity (one document), proof of residency (two documents) and proof of Social Security Number (one document) when applying for a driving license.

Some acceptable documents for proof of identity include the following:

  • United States passport
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Birth Certificate
  • I-94 (Refugee status)
  • Unexpired foreign passport

For proof of residency, acceptable documents may include:

  • Utility bill (electricity, water, cable, Internet, telephone)
  • Statement from your bank/financial institution
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Vehicle Insurance Card

You may present your Social Security Card or W-2 form as proof of Social Security Number.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
When requesting a GA duplicate car title, you will be required to turn in the following documents:

  • A completed Tag/Title Application. If you have recently acquired a new name, fill out the form with this updated information. Make sure to also bring in a legal court document that confirms this name change, such as a marriage certificate of a divorce decree.
  • A Lien or Security Interest Release form (if applicable)
  • Payment for the $8 replacement title fee (fees may vary)
  • The damaged car title (if you have in your possession)

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
If you are in the process of “changing my address”, you will need to submit proof of this update with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Acceptable documents that show proof of residency may include the following:

  • Voter Registration Card
  • Recent utility bill
  • Bank statement with your new address
  • Other statement (doctor s visit or vet bill transaction, for example)
  • Magazine subscription
  • Mortgage or lease statement
  • School record or transcript

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
If you are not a United States citizen, you will be required to visit a nearby Customer Service Center to update your address. In the event that you are asked to present proper documentation that confirms your legal status in the country, acceptable items may consist of the following:

  • Foreign passport with temporary I-551
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Employment Authorization Card

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
The documents you are required to submit may vary, but generally speaking it is best to bring the following items with you to your nearby tag office:

  • Your damaged plate or tag if you have it
  • Your current GA drivers license
  • Proof of ownership
  • Proof of vehicle insurance

If you also have a police report on hand, make sure to turn that in as well so it can be documented in the system. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
When getting car registration, you will be required to show certain documentation in order to be issued car registration. Some of these documents include the following:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Georgia

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
In order to renew car registration, you will need to show these documents at your local tag office:

  • Proof of car insurance
  • Proof of passing emissions testing
  • A completed Title/Tag Application
  • Your current GA drivers license
  • Payment for registration fees

You can also renew your car registration online or by mail. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
If you are renewing drivers license in person, you will need to present proof of a few things, include these listed below:

  • Your Georgia residence
  • Your identity
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your legal status in the country or U.S. citizenship

Additionally, the Georgia DDS requires those individuals completing license renewal to fill out a new application, as well as update their license with a recent photo. If you are an individual who is 64 or older, you will also be asked to take a vision test. Documents presented at your local DDS must be originals or certified copies. No photocopies will be accepted. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
In order to have a car title transfer to your name in the state of Georgia, you will need to visit your local tag office with the following documentation:

If you are transferring your car title to a buyer, you will need to fill out all the requested information, and make note of the date of transfer and odometer mileage as well. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
In order to replace DMV drivers license in person, you will need to submit proper documentation that identifies you. The Georgia DDS requires drivers to present documents from either “Category A” or “Category B.” Category A examples (must present one document):

  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Valid Permanent Resident Card
  • Valid Permanent Employment Authorization Document
  • United States Passport
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certified copy of a birth certificate

Category B examples (must present two documents):

  • Income Tax Return
  • Auto, Home, Life or Health Insurance Policy
  • Social Security Card
  • Voter Registration
  • Military ID card or orders
  • Marriage Certificate

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
When applying for a GA motorcycle license, you will need to complete and pass the following exams:

  • Vision Exam
  • Knowledge Written Exam
  • Road Skills Exam

In order to best prepare for the Knowledge Written Exam, you can review the Driver s Manual ahead of time to learn everything you need to know about operating a motorcycle. For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Georgia

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
As part of the Georgia car title replacement process, you will need to complete a Tag/Title Application. You may also be required to present a Lien or Security Interest Release form, if it applies. In addition to these forms, your local tag office will ask you to present certain documentation to verify your identity, as well as to confirm that you possess vehicle ownership of the car you need a duplicate title for. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
If you get a traffic ticket in another state, it will be treated as if it were received in your home state. Therefore, failure to pay an out-of-state traffic ticket in the state of Georgia may result in points being added to your driving record or even a suspension on your driving license. Keep in mind that not all traffic violations result in points being added to your driving record. Points are added to your drivers record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Depending on the violation that was committed, a driver with a CDL license may face a drivers license suspension. In any case, the state of Georgia requires those who operate CDL vehicles to notify their employers within 30 days of any convictions they have received. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will face a drivers license suspension period of at least a year. The state of Georgia also requires you to notify your employer of your conviction and suspension within two business days. In order to restore your driving privileges, you will have to follow your reinstatement requirements. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Your original car title will be considered invalid if you have already requested a replacement. The Georgia Department of Driver Services may require you to turn in the original title once it has been recovered. In order to find out about specific rules and steps you must follow, contact your local tag office for further details. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
What information does a driving record contain?
The state of Georgia allows you to obtain a non-certified driving record or a certified driving record. You can also choose driving reports that provide a 3-year history or a 7-year history. General information on your report will include the following:

  • Accidents you have been involved in
  • Convictions, violations or offenses you have committed
  • The current status of your drivers license
  • The expiration date of your drivers license

For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An identification card is a legal document that is mainly used by individuals who do not drive but would like to have a form of ID on them. This document can be used for a number of purposes, including to enter any government building or to present as identification when traveling. The state of Georgia allows any individual to request an identification card at a CSC office.
For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
Driving under the influence fees can vary, depending on the type of offense you have committed and whether or not you have multiple related offenses on your driving record. Your fine can range from hundreds to thousands of dollars. Along with reinstatement fees, you may also find yourself facing attorney fees and other penalty costs. Most reinstatement fees can be paid in person or by mail. If you wish to pay by mail, send your full payment to: Department of Driver Services (DDS) Validation Unit PO Box 80447 Conyers, Georgia 30013 In some instances, you may also have the option to pay online. To see if this option is available to you, visit the GA DDS website.
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia
What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The amount you will be required to pay will be listed on your traffic ticket. The cost of traffic ticket varies, depending on the violation you committed and where your ticket was issued, among other factors. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
What is the cost to get a driver record?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services has different set fees, depending on the type of drivers record you want to request. The fees are as follows:

  • 3-year history driving record: $6
  • 7-year history driving record: $8

For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
The state of Georgia prohibits commercial drivers to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .04 percent or higher. If you are convicted of a DWI, you will face harsher penalties than an individual with a standard drivers license. If you refused a chemical test, your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year. You will also be required to complete an Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program and pay high court and reinstatement fines. To find out more, contact the Georgia DDS to inquire about your particular case.
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia
What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
The penalty for driving while intoxicated varies for minors between the ages of 16 to 20, and those under 15. In either case, the young driver will have his driver s license suspended, be required to pay a reinstatement fee and present a Certificate of Completion from a DDS-approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program. This 20-hour course can be taken and completed within a week s time. To see a complete list of approved programs, visit the Georgia Department of Driver Service website.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
In Georgia, you are required to have the minimum limits of insurance liability, which consist of the following:

  • Bodily Injury Liability – $25,00 per person, $50,000 per occurrence
  • Property Damage Liability – $25,000 per occurrence

Other forms of GA car insurance to consider getting to ensure full coverage are Uninsured Motorist Insurance, Collision Insurance, Comprehensive Insurance and Car Rental services. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written driving test is made up of two sections: the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs test. To get a passing grade, you must get at least 15 out of 20 question correct on each individual exam. The Road Signs Test is available in English only, however, the Road Rules Test can be taken in a few, different languages. Contact the Georgia DDS to find out more. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
The process to obtain a new car title for your motorcycle is the same as obtaining a standard car title. When visiting your local tag office, make sure to bring with you your GA driver s license, the car title proof of insurance, a Bill of Sale (if applicable) and payment for the proper fees. You may also be required to fill out a Tag/Title Application. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia
What languages is the written test available in?
The written driving test is divided by two sections: the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test. The Road Signs Test is only available in English, however, you can take the Road Rules Test in a non-English language if you feel more comfortable doing so. You may choose to take the Road Rules portion in one of the following foreign languages: Chinese, Arabic, Hindi, Japanese, Spanish, Korean, Vietnamese, Russian, French or Turkish. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
In order to have a GA suspended drivers license reinstatement, you will need to fulfill all the terms of your suspension period. For example, if this is your first DUI offense, your drivers license will be suspended for 120 days. Thereafter, you will need to submit a Certificate of Completion of a DDS approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program. You will also be required to pay any reinstatement fees.
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia
What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you fail to update your address with the DDS, you may face unwanted penalties and fines. In order to avoid any issues, it is highly recommended that you notify the DMV of any recent changes at your earliest convenience. Keep in mind that you have the option to change your address online if you are a United States citizen who resides in the state of Georgia. For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia
What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
It is important that you renew driving license expires in order to avoid any penalties and fines. If you allow your license to expire for more than two years, you may also be required to retake certain exams, such as these:

  • Vision Exam
  • Road Skills Test
  • Written Knowledge Exam

You have the option to renew your license up to 150 days before it expires. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
When getting car registration a local tag office, you can present your insurance information card as proof. Other forms of acceptable insurance includes a Bill of Sale from the past 30 days and a valid insurance declaration page from the insurer. Keep in mind that the state of Georgia requires drivers to keep proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you have yet to receive your registration tag, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Make sure to verify that your personal in formation on file, including your residential address, is up to date and accurate. You can reach the DDS Contact Center by calling 1-678-413-8400. The hours of operation are Monday to Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you have not received your license, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services to find out about its status. Once you have completed your request for a license renewal, you can expect your new license to be sent out within seven days. This process will take longer if you are also requesting an address change. In that case, it may take between 14 to 21 days to have your license delivered to you. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
The state of Georgia requires soon-to-be drivers to pass both a vision exam and a DMV knowledge exam when applying for their learners permit. You can prepare for the knowledge exam by reviewing the Driver s Manual ahead of time and taking a practice test. In order to pass the vision exam, you must have a minimum acceptable vision of 20/60 in one eye, with or without contact lenses. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Getting a license to drive commercial vehicles requires the individual to take and pass a few exams. You may be required to complete further testing depending on the type of endorsement you are applying for. But, generally speaking, a potential CDL driver must take a vision test, a written knowledge exam and a road skills test. These exams will require you to be physically present at a local Georgia DDS center. For more information: Georgia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To apply for drivers license, you will need to take the Road Skills Test. This test must be taken at your local DDS Customer Service Center, and it is strongly advised that you schedule an appointment ahead of time. When arriving for your Road Skills Test, you will need to present the following for your vehicle:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Proof of safety inspection
  • Proof of vehicle registration and valid tag

In the event that you fail the Road Skills Test a first time, you must wait at least a day before you can return for a retest. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The state of Georgia requires its drivers to carry the following types of car insurance:

  • Bodily Injury Liability
  • Property Damage Liability

Failure to maintain car insurance in GA may result in the suspension of your driver s license. Although it is not mandatory, it is also highly recommended that you obtain Uninsured Motorist Insurance as well. By including this insurance on your policy, you will be protected in the event that an uninsured party causes an accident where your vehicle sustains damage, and you or your passengers are injured. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
As it pertains to noncommercial driving licenses, the state of Georgia issues a Class C full license. This type of license is issued to drivers who are at least 18 years of age and have no violations, convictions or offenses on their driving record in the past 12 months. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Failure to obtain car insurance in Georgia may result in a drivers license suspension. It is mandatory to maintain the minimum limits of insurance liability, which includes Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability. You will also be required to show proof of insurance when registering your vehicle. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
You will be eligible to reinstate suspended drivers license after you have completed all the terms of your suspension period. These requirements will vary, depending on the conviction or violation on your driving record. If you would like to receive a copy of the citation that resulted in your suspension, contact the court that has your case pending, or the law enforcement authority who issued you the citation. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
When does my car registration expire?
The expiration date of your vehicle registration depends on which Georgia county you reside in. Most counties offer a one-year car registration period, whereas other counties have a four-month non-staggered registration system in place. These counties are as follows:

  • Calhoun
  • Clay
  • Stewart
  • Turner

Residents in the aforementioned areas can only renew their registration between January 1st to April 30th. However, it is important to note that Talbot county has a four-month staggered registration period. For more details, contact your local tag office. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia

When does my ID card expire?
The state of Georgia allows individuals to apply for ID card that is valid for a period of five years or eight years. You can begin the process of renewing your identification card up to 150 days before its expiration date. In order to avoid any penalties, you should renew your ID card in advance. To learn more, contact the Georgia DDS at 678-413-8400. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
When must I change my address with the DMV?
If you have recently moved, you are required to update your driver s license/ID card within 60 days of settling in to your new residence. If you are changing the information on your car registration or car title, you have 30 days to make this effective. To learn more about the requirements of address changing, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services. For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Georgia
When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
If you are completing a car sale with a private owner or buyer, it is strongly encouraged that you fill out a Bill of Sale. A Bill of Sale will serve to act as proof of the car sale, so that both parties are fully protected in the exchange of car titles. On this document, make sure to note the vehicle s description, odometer mileage, date of transfer, your name, address and the other party s personal information as well. In order for the Bill of Sale to be deemed valid, signatures must also be included. For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Georgia
When will I need to renew my license?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services allows drivers to renew driving license up to 150 days before its expiration date. You can renew your license either online, in person or, in some cases, by mail. Keep in mind that if you let your license expire for more than two years, you will be required to retake a number of tests. For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
If you renew drivers license online, you can expect to have your new license delivered to the Post Office within seven days. If you are in the process of also requesting a change of address, then it will take a little bit longer to receive your license. Allow 14 to 21 days to get your license if you have also asked for an address change. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card
Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
If you would like to see the status of your drivers license, you can do so in one of two ways: online or by calling the Georgia Department of Driver Services. To view your status online, visit the GA DDS website and input your driver s license number to get started. You can also obtain this information when you call 1-404-657-9300. You will also be required to have your driver s license number on hand. For more information: Suspended License Information for Georgia
Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
In order to locate a tag office near you, check out the GA Motor Vehicle Vision Tag Office website. You can search for an office by your county of residence. Hours and days of operation may vary, therefore it may be best to call your preferred branch ahead of time. When visiting your local county tax commissioner s office, make sure to bring all the proper documentation with you, including but not limited to your valid Georgia driver s license. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
There are a number of ignition interlock providers all across the state of Georgia. To find one near you, visit the GA Department of Driver Services Ignition Interlock Providers page. There, you will be able to view several locations by address, city and ZIP code. Phone numbers for each office are also available, should you want to speak to a representative prior to making an in-person visit.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Georgia does not currently provide online services to find your ticket information. You will have to look at the ticket itself for information about payment and the county court you can submit payment to. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
Where can I get a new drivers license?
To begin the application process of getting your new license to drive, you will need to pay a visit to your local DDS Customer Service Center. It is highly recommended that you schedule an appointment ahead of time, so it is guaranteed that you will be seen that day. Also remember to come prepared with all the proper documentation and payment for any required fees. For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Georgia
Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
If you would like to make your request via mail, send any necessary documents, along with proper payment and a completed Tag/Title application to the address below: GA Dept of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division 4125 Welcome All Road Atlanta, GA 30349 You may also contact them by phone at 1-855-406-5221. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
Where can I obtain an ID card?
When applying for a Georgia DMV ID card for the first time, you will need to make a physical appearance at your local DDS office. There are several scattered all across the state for your convenience. Simply choose the one that is closest to you. For a full list of Georgia DDS offices by city, see our DMV locator. For more information: How to Apply for a Georgia Identification Card
Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
The vehicles that must be insured in the state of Georgia include but are not limited to the following:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Commercial vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Trucks
  • Vans

To find out whether or not your vehicle requires insurance, visit your local tag office with a complete description of your car and your Georgia drivers license. For more information: Georgia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are less than 18, you must have a parent or legal guardian physically present when applying for your learning permit. That s because said parent or legal guardian will be required to provide consent and sign the application on your behalf. For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Georgia
Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
A sufficient amount of time may not have passed for your traffic ticket to be reflected on your driving record. If you would like more information about your ticket, contact the county clerk s office where your citation was issued. You can also visit your local court to inquire about your traffic ticket. You will need to have your Georgia drivers license with you. For more information: Your Georgia Driving Record
Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Individuals who are 64 or older will be required to take and pass a vision test upon visiting a DDS office to renew their license. If you have an expired drivers license for more than two years, you will also be required to submit to vision testing. In order to pass this exam, you must have a minimum acceptable vision of 20/60 in one eye, and a field vision of at least 140 degrees. In the event that you fail this exam, you will be required to have your optometrist fill out a Georgia Department of Driver Services Vision Report.
For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, the Georgia DDS will mail you a renewal notice when the expiration date of your license is approaching. Bear in mind that you do not need this notification to renew drivers license online, by mail or in person. You can begin the process of license renewal up to 150 days before its expiration date. To find a branch near you, visit the DMV Offices page.
For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Georgia
Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Unfortunately for Georgia residents, if you get a traffic ticket in another state, the GA DMV will count that ticket on your driving record. As a result, the DDS will put points on your Georgia drivers record for traffic convictions that you receive in other states. Keep in mind that not all traffic violations result in points being added to your driving record. Points are added to your drivers record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
The number of points you get on your driving record will depend on the type of violation you have committed. For example, an HOV lane violation only carries one point, whereas unlawfully passing a school bus carries six. However, it is also important to note that not all violations come with points. In that case, your driver s license will not be affected. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Georgia
Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Yes, the state of Georgia requires all drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence to complete a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Course. The course lasts up to 20 hours and can be taken within a week. You can expect both an Assessment Component and Intervention Component when completing this intervention program. The total amount of the course is $355 (subject to change without notice). For a full list of approved Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction programs, visit the website of the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Georgia
Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
You may be required to enter information on an Application for Replacement License Plate (Tag) and/or Decal. When replacing car registration at a local tag office, a customer service representative will let you know if this is necessary. Make sure to also bring your current Georgia drivers license with you and payment for any fees. If you have a copy of a police report, have that on hand as well. For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Yes, when in the process of applying for a Georgia duplicate car title, you will be asked to submit proof of car insurance, such as your insurance card. Other types of documentation you will need to present include your valid Georgia driver s license and a completed Tag/Title Application. You should also have payment for a replacement fee readily available. For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Georgia
Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, you can expect to receive a registration notice that will notify you of your approaching expiration date. When renewing car registration, you can bring said document with you to your local tax county collector s office and use this in the place of a Title/Tag Application. If you have not received your renewal registration notice in the mail, you want to double-check with the GA DDS that they have your correct address on file. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia
Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
The date in which your car registration expires will depend on the county you reside in. The majority of counties offer a one-year car registration period, but others have a four-month non-staggered registration system in place. These counties are as follows:

  • Calhoun
  • Clay
  • Stewart
  • Turner

Contact your local tag office if you would like further clarification about your expiration date. For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Georgia