New Jersey Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Motorcycle license applicants under 18 years of age, must enroll in a New Jersey-approved Basic Rider Course. Applicants over 18 years old or applicants applying for a motorcycle endorsement are not required to enroll in a BRC.

The New Jersey MVC no longer offers basic rider courses. In order to take motorcycle drivers education classes, applicants must contact a state-approved provider.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
New Jersey state laws require all motorcycle license holders to wear a DOT-approved helmet. Wearing a helmet is an important element of motorcycle safety as the proper use of helmets reduces the number and severity of head injuries in motorcycle accidents by half. When choosing a motorcycle helmet, make sure it fits properly, has no obvious defects, and is approved by Department of Transportation.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Yes, New Jersey state laws prohibit drivers from renewing car registration if the motor vehicle in question is not covered by the minimum required liability insurance coverage. Also, if your license is suspended for whatever reason, you must wait for the suspension period to expire before you can renew your NJ vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Technically, drivers in NJ can have different addresses stated on their drivers license and car registration. The address change process you need to complete with the New Jersey DMV only updates your vehicle records and not your drivers license and car registration.

In order to obtain a new driving license or vehicle registration, you must apply for a NJ drivers license replacement and a NJ car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
If moving to New Jersey you must get auto insurance from an NJ-approved car insurance provider. If you are moving to another state, contact your vehicle insurance provider for the minimum liability coverage required in the state you are moving to.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, online CDL renewals are not permitted by the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission at this time. Renewing CDL by mail is also not allowed. Commercial drivers must renew their CDL in person at a NJ MVC location every four years. When doing so, you must present required proof of identification along with the applicable fees and the completed application form you receive in the mail prior to the expiration date on your commercial drivers license.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, the New Jersey MVC allows drivers to request a certified drivers record through the DMV s online service. To obtain a copy of your driving record online, follow these steps:

  1. Register for an NJ MVC online User ID
  2. Visit the My MVC website
  3. Follow the instructions provided

The NJ DMV also allows other persons to obtain a certified copy of your DMV driving record online by using the Customer Abstract Information Retrieval (CAIR) service. All you need to do is sign up for the CAIR program by completing the Application for Online Access to Motor Vehicle Records (Form OS/DS-19) in order to access multiple online driving records.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, the New Jersey DMV does not allow drivers permit applicants to take the written test online. To take the knowledge test, applicants must visit a DMV location and present forms of ID as required under the 6 Point ID Verification Program.

To prepare for the test, study the NJ Driver Manual as all the questions are based on information provided in the manual. It is also a good idea to take a few practice tests to better prepare for the DMV drivers exam.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
If you are a CDL holder moving to New Jersey, you have 60 days to transfer your license to drive commercial vehicles.

To transfer an out-of-state CDL to NJ, follow these steps:

  1. Head to your local NJ DMV
  2. Provide Medical Examination Report- Form RA-4
  3. Complete the CDL Holder Self-Certification form
  4. Purchase a $10 CDL transfer permit
  5. Pass a vision test
  6. Provide payment for the CDL transfer fee and required licensing fee

Additional forms and costs may apply if you are requesting to obtain additional endorsements on your commercial driving license.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Yes, if you are currently out-of-state or unable to complete the process, you can have another person renew your NJ car registration on your behalf.

If you are eligible to renew online or by mail, you can provide someone else with the necessary documentation, however, if you have to renew vehicle registration in person at a MVC location, you will also need to provide a signed Power of Attorney to the person renewing your registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, all boats in New Jersey longer than 12 feet and all motor-powered vessels must be registered with the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission. To register your boat in New Jersey, visit your local MVC office and follow these steps:

  1. Provide documents that meet the MVC s 6 Point ID Verification requirements
  2. Complete a Boat Registration application (Form BA-51)
  3. At least one document that proves ownership (for boats 12 feet long or shorter as well as jet-ski and non-titled watercrafts)
  4. A notarized Bill of Sale and statement of receipt from the seller (for boats 12 feet long or shorter as well as jet-ski and non-titled watercrafts)
  5. Pay applicable registration fees

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Yes, NJ requires all operators of mopeds and scooters in the state to carry a valid driving license. You must be at least 15 years old to get a license to drive a moped or scooter. Drivers, who already have a standard drivers license, motorcycle license, or CDL, are not required to get a license in order to operate a moped.

To apply for a moped license, visit your local NJ MVC office and follow the steps provided below:

  1. Complete an application for a moped permit, obtainable at MVC offices across the state.
  2. Present proof of identity as required by the 6 Point ID Program.
  3. Pay the required permit fee.
  4. Pass the knowledge exam.
  5. Pass a vision test.
  6. Validate your permit.
  7. Practice riding for at least 20 days.
  8. Pass the motorcycle road test.
  9. Visit you local MVC office with your permit, ride slip and score sheet.
  10. Pay the required licensing fee.
  11. Get you moped drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Getting a speeding ticket in New Jersey will add 2 to 5 points on your driving record. It is up to the court s discretion whether or not you will be required to attend a defensive driving course if convicted of a traffic violation.

However, successful completion of a traffic school could remove up to three points from your NJ drivers record. Note that you cannot dismiss a traffic ticket by enrolling in defensive driving classes.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes, if moving to New Jersey you must get auto insurance from an NJ-approved car insurance provider. Keep in mind that you could use this opportunity to compare car insurance quotes and get better and more affordable rates. However, it is also a good idea to consult your insurance company whether your out-of-state insurance policy will be accepted in New Jersey before applying for auto coverage.

If you are moving to another state, contact your vehicle insurance provider for the minimum liability coverage required in the state you are moving to.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Drivers must report a lost drivers license or stolen drivers license with the NJ police department. This is very important, as it will protect you from possible fraudulent activity and identity theft. You must also report your missing license to drive with the NJ DMV, as it is illegal to drive with expired or no license in the state of New Jersey.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Yes, if your car registration or license plates are lost or stolen, you must report the incident with the local police department. After filing your report, you need to head to a nearby NJ MVC and provide a copy of the report to obtain a replacement registration certificate or license plates. You must also bring payment for the applicable replacement fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Yes, if you move out of New Jersey you must cancel your vehicle registration and surrender your inactive license plates. You can turn them in to a nearby DMV location in person or mail them to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Commission P.O. Box 129 Trenton, NJ 08666

Don t throw away your surrender receipt so that you may use it as proof that your license plates are no longer active.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
To get a special learners permit, drivers must enroll in a drivers education course and present proof of enrollment when applying for an NJ learners permit. In addition, after successfully completing drivers ed school, drivers must revisit your NJ MVC location to get the permit validated and start practicing driving behind-the-wheel.

Attending a driver safety course is not required when getting an examination permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, you must surrender your damaged certificate of title along with a written statement explaining how your title was damaged. The statement should also include your personal information and vehicle details.

Keep in mind that the MVC imposes fines and penalties to drivers who request a duplicate car title while knowingly having the original title in their possession. To avoid paying a fine or being the victim of identity theft or fraudulent activity involving your NJ car title, turn in your damaged/mutilated pink slip to the New Jersey DMV.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
No, surrendering your damaged vehicle registration is not required when applying for duplicate car registration in New Jersey. However, it is strongly recommended that you turn in your damaged/mutilated car registration certificate to the NJ MVC, as this will protect you from possible identity theft or fraud. If you do not remember to bring it when replacing vehicle registration at the DMV, take extra care to properly dispose of it afterwards.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
All motor-driven cycles in New Jersey are classified as mopeds or motorcycles and must be titled and registered in their respective category. To register motorcycle or moped, visit a NJ MVC location near you and provide the following documents:

  • Proof of New Jersey insurance
  • Title and registration fee payment
  • Proof of ownership
  • Registration Application (Form BA-49)
  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MSO or MCO)
  • A color photo of the side of the motorcycle/moped

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Used passenger vehicles in New Jersey must undergo an emissions inspection upon registration and then again every two years. New vehicles are given a five-year inspection. Commercial vehicles and buses, on the other hand, need to be inspected annually. Motorcycles are exempt from inspections.

Emissions testing is conducted at the following inspection facilities:

  • CIF
  • Private Inspection Facility

Make sure you have your NJ driving license, vehicle registration and proof of auto insurance upon inspection. All documents presented must be original; photocopies and emails are not accepted. If you pass the test, the inspector will place a new two-year sticker on your windshield, which shows the due date for your next vehicle inspection.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
You must insure your vehicle in New Jersey if you wish to legally operate it within the state. NJ does not offer alternatives for opting out of car insurance. Failure to get or maintain proof of financial responsibility may result in a drivers license suspension as well as high fines and strict penalties.

If you do not wish to purchase auto insurance because of high rates, NJ has the basic policy available, which offers limited coverage, but is the most affordable option on the New Jersey insurance market.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
The state of New Jersey allows veterans to display a special designation on their drivers licenses and ID cards. Veterans can request their honorary veteran s recognition sticker either in person or by mail.

To get a veteran designation on your ID in person, visit a New Jersey DMV and provide the following documents:

  • Your current NJ driving license or ID card
  • Your honorable military discharge or General Discharge under Honorable Conditions documents as proof of your veteran s status
  • A DD-214 form or report of Separation of Active Duty

To obtain a veteran designation on your ID by mail, you need to send photocopies of the documents listed above and a self-addressed stamped envelope to the following address:

NJMVC 225 E. State Street PO Box 129 Veterans Trenton, NJ 08610

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
The New Jersey Driver Manual is a valuable resource when preparing for the DMV drivers exams as all the questions in the test are based on information provided in the manual. The NJ Driver Manual offers information about licenses and vehicle ownership, as well as traffic laws and regulations. You can download the NJ Driver Manual from the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
When getting a traffic ticket in New Jersey, you have two options: pay the traffic ticket and thus plead guilty to the offense or contest the ticket and take your case to court.

To pay a traffic citation in New Jersey you can use one of the following methods:

  • Online- Use the NJMC direct to pay traffic tickets online. Before you begin the transaction, make sure you have your traffic ticket, your license plate number and valid credit or debit card to pay the cost of the traffic ticket, the convenience fee and any additional surcharges.
  • In person- Visit the appropriate municipal court to pay your traffic citation. Note that courts vary on the payment methods they accept so make sure to consult the court before making your visit.
  • By mail- New Jersey courts accept checks and money orders, which you can send to the address on your traffic ticket. Don t forget to also include the complaint number found on your traffic ticket.

Keep in mind that most traffic violations include the payment of surcharges and court fees in addition to the traffic ticket fine. Drivers can pay surcharges online, by phone at 888-651-9999 or by mail to the following address:

NJSVS P.O. Box 4850 Trenton, NJ 08650

Please note that you must pay your NJ traffic fine before the date printed on the traffic ticket to avoid further penalties.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

How can I renew my drivers license?
A New Jersey drivers license is good for four years and must be renewed before it expires in person or by mail.

If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will send you “Skip the Trip” package which outlines all the requirements you must meet. If not, you will be required to make an in-person visit at your local NJ DMV and provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID verification requirements. You must also pay $24 renewal fee.

Additionally, the NJ DMV requires drivers to undergo periodic vision tests when renewing drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
In New Jersey, drivers can renew car registration either in person, by mail or online.

To renew car registration in person, visit a NJ MVC location near you and provide the following documents:

  • Proof of identity, as required under the 6 Point ID program
  • At least one of the following:
    • NJ registration renewal notice
    • Current car registration
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Payment of applicable fees

Drivers are eligible to renew car a registration online if they have received a PIN in their registration renewal notice. To proceed with the renewal online, visit the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission s website and follow the instructions provided.

To renew an expired car registration by mail, send your registration renewal notice with your proof of NJ auto insurance and a check or money order for the renewal fee to:

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission

Revenue Processing Center

P.O. Box 009

Trenton, NJ 08646-0009

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
If there is a lien on your car title, follow the steps provided below to complete a vehicle title transfer with the NJ MVC:

  1. Make sure the lien holder has the NJ corporation code as you cannot complete the title transfer without it.
  2. Visit a MVC office and complete the title release application.
  3. Mail the title release application to the lien holder. Once the lien holder signs off on the transfer, re-visit your MVC location and provide a completed Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7) and pay the applicable title transfer fee.
  4. Complete a sales tax form, unless you have bought the vehicle outside of New Jersey or you were not an NJ resident when you purchased the car.

Your NJ certificate of title will remain with your lien holder until you obtain a lien release.

After the lien on your vehicle has been paid and the lien holder sends the required paperwork to the NJ DMV, you will receive a car title with a signature of release. If you do not want your car title to show the lien release you can apply for a clean title by submitting the pink slip with the lien release stamp and pay the $85 title transfer fee either by mail or in person.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
If you are moving out of New Jersey, you need to cancel your vehicle registration and turn in your inactive license plates. The next step to take is to contact the DMV of the state of you are moving to and become familiar with the car registration procedures in your new home state.

If you have moved to NJ, you must obtain a NJ vehicle registration on your car. Visit your local MVC and follow these steps:

  1. Submit proof of NJ car insurance
  2. Present proof of your Social Security Number
  3. Submit your NJ driving license
  4. Provide the vehicle s odometer reading
  5. Complete the application for registration (Form BA-49)
  6. Pay the registration fees (vary depending on the age and weight of the vehicle)
  7. Have your vehicle inspected

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
To be eligible to obtain a commercial drivers license in New Jersey, applicants must:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Have a valid New Jersey driving license.
  • Meet the physical requirements under Federal law.

To apply for a New Jersey CDL, applicants must follow these steps:

  1. Self-certify in one of the four CDL categories set by the FMCSA. You can download the CDL Holder Self-Certification form or get it at any MVC Office.
  2. Study the CDL Manual
  3. Visit a local MVC office
  4. Present documents that meet the 6 Point ID Verification Program
  5. Pay the $125 CDL permit fee
  6. Present a Medical Examiner s Certificate
  7. Pass the CDL written test
  8. Pass the CDL road test

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
New Jersey has two types of handicap placards available to drivers with disabilities:

  • Permanent placard
  • Temporary placard

If you suffer from a permanent disability, you need to apply for permanent placard and/or a wheelchair symbol license plate either by mail or in person at an NJ MVC office. Make sure you complete an Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41) and attach your medical certification on the application. If you are applying for a wheelchair symbol license plate, you should also submit your current vehicle registration. The NJ MVC does not charge a fee for permanent handicap permits.

Temporary handicap tags are issued to drivers with temporary disabilities and are valid for up to six months. Handicap placard applications are submitted to the NJ police chief and not the New Jersey MVC, even though the $4 fee needs to be mailed to the MVC.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

How do I apply for a drivers license?
In order to be eligible to apply for a drivers license in New Jersey, you must have held a probationary drivers license for at least one year. To get your unrestricted NJ drivers license, visit your local MVC office and complete the following steps:

  1. Present your provisional license
  2. Submit documents that meet the 6 Point ID Verification requirements
  3. Provide payment for the $24 new driver’s license fee
  4. Have your photo taken

If you are moving to NJ, you can transfer your out-of-state drivers license within 60 days from moving. Out-of-state learners permits cannot be transferred to New Jersey, teen drivers must complete the stages of the New Jersey GDL program in order to obtain a NJ unrestricted driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
First-time drivers in New Jersey must complete the NJ MVC Graduated Drivers License Program (GDL) in order to apply for a new drivers license. The NJ GDL program is implemented in several phases to help new drivers get the necessary experience and skills to apply for a full-unrestricted NJ driving license.

The phases of the New Jersey MVC GDL program are as follows:

  • Special learners permit (for 16 year olds)
  • Examination permit (for 17 year olds)
  • Probationary driver license (for 17 year olds)
  • Unrestricted driving license (for 18 year olds and over)

Drivers are required to obtain either a special learners permit or an examination permit depending on their age. Also, keep in mind that all permit holders must display a reflectorized decal on each license plate, which can be obtained at the NJ MVC offices.

SPECIAL LEARNERS PERMIT

To obtain a special learners permit you must be 16 years old and have already enrolled in a drivers ed course. If eligible, visit your local NJ DMV location with your driving ed instructor and follow the steps provided below to get your student learners permit:

  1. Present acceptable proof of identification
  2. Present proof of enrollment in a driving education school
  3. Submit a letter of consent signed by a parent/guardian
  4. Pass a vision exam
  5. Pass a written knowledge test
  6. Pay the learners permit fee

Once you complete your drivers ed course, go back to your NJ MVC location and get your special learners permit validated. The permit must be validated before you begin your supervised driving practice. You must hold your student learners permit for at least six months before moving on to a probationary drivers license.

EXAMINATION PERMIT

If you are a 17-year-old, first-time NJ driver, you need to obtain an examination permit. To get a NJ examination permit visit your local MVC office and proceed with these steps:

  1. Meet the requirements of the 6 Point ID Verification system.
  2. Pass a vision exam
  3. Pass a written knowledge exam
  4. Pay the examination permit fee

PROBATIONARY DRIVERS LICENSE

To get a probationary drivers license in New Jersey you must be at least 17 years old and have completed at least six months of supervised drivers training. To get a probationary drivers license, head to your local NJ DMV office and follow these steps:

  1. Meet the requirements of the 6 Point ID Verification Program
  2. Pass a road test
  3. Pay applicable fees

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The state of New Jersey issues a motorcycle license (Class E) as a separate motorcycle driving license and as an endorsement on your existing NJ driving license. If you are under 18 years of age, you must obtain a motorcycle learners permit before obtaining an unrestricted motorcycle driving license.

In order to get a motorcycle permit, applicants must:

  • Be at least 17 years old.
  • Visit your local MVC office.
  • Complete the required application form obtained at NJ MVC locations.
  • Present proof of identity as required by the 6 Point ID Program.
  • Pay $5 motorcycle permit fee.
  • Pass a written knowledge test.
  • Pass a vision test.

In order to get a motorcycle drivers license, you must:

  • Take a Basic Rider Course at a state-approved Motorcycle Safety Education Program (if under 18 years of age).
  • Practice riding for three to six months depending on your age.
  • Pass a Motorcycle road test at a MVC testing facility.
  • Get probationary motorcycle license (Class E).
  • Hold your probationary motorcycle license for one year.
  • Apply for an unrestricted motorcycle driving license.
  • Pay required fees.

If you choose to get a motorcycle endorsement on your existing NJ drivers license, you must:

  • Take a Basic Rider Course at a state-approved Motorcycle Safety Education Program (if under 18 years of age). If you take the course, you are not required to pass a motorcycle road test.
  • Present course completion documents at a MVC testing facility, as well as proof of identity as required by the 6 Point ID Program to get a motorcycle permit.
  • Practice riding for at least 20 days.
  • Pass a motorcycle road test at a MVC testing facility, if you have not completed a Basic Rider Course.
  • Pay the required fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
In order to change your address on your car insurance, notify your insurance provider of your official address change, so that you may receive timely information from your auto insurance company.

Additionally, to save time and money, some NJ drivers who change their mailing address choose to obtain new car insurance quotes instead of changing the address with their current insurance coverage provider.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

How do I change my address on my car registration?
The NJ MVC allows you to change your address on your car registration online, by phone or in person.

  • To change your address online, visit the website of the New Jersey MVC and follow the instructions provided. You will be required to provide your ZIP code, drivers license number and SSN.
  • To change your address by phone, call the NJ DMV toll-free number (888) 486-3339 and provide your ZIP code, drivers license number and SSN.
  • To change your address in person, visit a New Jersey DMV near you and present documents that meet the 6 point ID program requirements. For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website.

After you complete the official address change, you will be sent new address stickers which you can attach to the back of your existing NJ registration card.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
To get a CDL showing your new address, you must obtain a CDL replacement by visiting a NJ DMV location and providing documents that meet the 6 point identification program requirements. For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the NJ MVC website.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
The NJ MVC allows you to change your address on your drivers license online, by phone or in person.

  • To change your address online, visit the website of the New Jersey MVC and follow the instructions provided. You will be required to provide your ZIP code, drivers license number and SSN.
  • To change your address by phone, call the NJ DMV toll-free number (888) 486-3339 and provide your ZIP code, drivers license number and SSN.
  • To change your address in person, visit a New Jersey DMV near you and present documents that meet the 6 point ID program requirements. For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website.

After you complete the official address change, you will be sent new address stickers , which you can attach to the back of your existing NJ driving license or ID card.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Drivers must complete all the required steps to change address on a New Jersey ID card within four weeks from moving to a new address. Drivers can change their address on an identification card online, by phone or in person.

  • To change your address online, visit the website of the New Jersey MVC and follow the instructions provided. You will be required to provide your ZIP code, ID card number and SSN.
  • To change your address by phone, call the NJ DMV toll-free number (888) 486-3339 and provide your ZIP code, ID card number and SSN.
  • To change your address in person, visit a New Jersey DMV near you and present documents that meet the 6 point ID program requirements. For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website.

After you complete the official address change, you will be sent new address stickers which you can attach to the back of your existing NJ ID card.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
To change your name on your vehicle insurance you will need to contact your auto insurance company directly. Once you get in contact with your NJ car insurance representative, inform them of your new name. Keep in mind that they may ask you to present certain documents that verify the change of name.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
In order to request a name change on car your registration in New Jersey, the NJ MVC allows you to do so either by mail or in person by visiting a visit a local New Jersey DMV office. To upgrade your name on your NJ vehicle registration you are required to provide the following documents:

  • A written request for the correction (only if changing name on car registration by mail)
  • Your original NJ registration card
  • Copies of documents that prove the official name change:
    • Marriage certificate
    • Certified court order
    • Divorce decree
  • Payment for the applicable fee

If you are changing your name by mail, send the documents to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Commission Data Base Corrections Unit P.O. Box 141 225 East State Street Trenton, NJ 08666

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
In order to complete a name change on drivers license in New Jersey, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA).

Proceed to updating your name on your NJ drivers license in person at a NJ DMV location within two weeks from your official name change with the SS by providing the following documents:

  • One primary proof of identity:
  • One secondary proof of identity:
    • Divorce decree
    • Marriage certificate
    • Court order
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address:
    • Utility bills
    • Bank statements
  • Payment for the $11 name change

For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website. Keep in mind that you must show at least one document to serve as a link between your old and new name.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
In order to complete a name change on identification card in New Jersey, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA).

After completed an official name change with the SSA, you can proceed to updating your name on your NJ ID card in person at a NJ DMV location by providing the following documents:

  • One primary proof of identity:
  • One secondary proof of identity:
    • Divorce decree
    • Marriage certificate
    • Court order
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address:
    • Utility bills
    • Bank statements
  • Payment for the $11 name change fee

For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website. Keep in mind that you must show at least one document to serve as a link between your old and new name.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
In order to complete an official name change in the state of New Jersey, you will need to get in touch with the Social Security Administration so this information can be reflected on your Social Security Number. To find a branch near you, simply visit the SSA website and search for an office in your area. Once you have located a branch in your surrounding area, make sure to bring the proper documentation with you for your visit.

After the SSA has verified your change of name, you can visit a NJ DMV near you and begin the process to change your name on your license and registration.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The information provided in your New Jersey driving record is confidential and cannot be accessed by anyone who is not covered by the “permitted use” category. If you believe that someone has obtained a copy of your NJ drivers record under false pretenses or has disclosed classified information from your driving record, you need to file an official complaint with the proper authorities. Contact the NJ DMV for more details on your specific case.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If your car registration and /or license plates have been stolen, you are required to report the theft to the local police and the New Jersey MVC. To do so, visit your local police station to file a police report, and then head to a nearby NJ DMV location and apply for duplicate license plates. You will need to provide the police report upon arrival at the MVC, as well as the stolen license plate number.

Reporting your stolen car registration with the police and the DMV will update your license plate status and protect you in the event of any fraudulent activities that may involve your NJ vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
In New Jersey, drivers are not required to file a police report if their vehicle title has been lost or stolen. In this case, drivers must apply for a car title replacement at a local MVC office.

However, it is highly suggested to contact a local police department and report your lost vehicle title or stolen pink slip. This will protect you against possible identity theft or fraudulent activity involving your New Jersey vehicle title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
There are three available methods for drivers to order their NJ drivers record: online, by mail or in person.

Online

In New Jersey, drivers can order a certified or non-certified driving record through the MVC online service. To obtain a copy of your driving record online, you must register for an NJ MVC online User ID. Once this is completed, visit the My MVC website and follow the instructions provided. Note that you will be charged a convince fee in addition to the drivers history fee. Also keep in mind that you cannot obtain a copy of the non-certified drivers record, this is for viewing purposes only.

By mail

To request a copy of a New Jersey driving record by mail, you are required to send the following documents to the NJ MVC:

In person

To obtain a New Jersey drivers record in person, visit a nearby DMV office and provide the following documents:

Make sure that you mark the permitted use number and describe the reason for your driver record request on the application form.

The NJ MVC needs seven days to process your application and payment and issue a copy of your drivers record.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If your New Jersey identification card is lost, stolen, destroyed or damaged, you must obtain a duplicate ID from the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission.

To replace your lost ID card, follow these steps:

  1. Visit a local NJ DMV location
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Submit a completed Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208
  4. Pay the $11 identification card replacement fee

The NJ DMV does not issue identification card copies by mail or online.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
The state of New Jersey does not issue any temporary, provisional or work licenses which permit the driver to operate a motor vehicle during certain hours of the day, or for the purpose of traveling to work.

NJ state laws do not allow the issuance of a hardship license after a DWI conviction or any violation that has resulted in a suspension on your drivers license. Moreover, driving on a suspended license incurs harsh penalties in New Jersey, such as five years of jail time.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are a military member on active duty outside of New Jersey or the country, you are allowed to apply for a duplicate drivers license by mail. To do so, send the following to the NJ MVC:

  • A letter with information why you can’t come in-person to get a duplicate drivers license, including how long you expect to be gone
  • A completed Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208)
  • Check or money order for $11 made out to to the NJ MVC
  • Documents that meet the 6 points identification verification requirements
  • Current out-of-state or out-of-country address

Mail the package to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Commission Government/Out-of-State Unit P.O. Box 016 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0016

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
The only way to dismiss a traffic ticket in NJ is to contest the citation and take your case to court. It is a good idea to hire the services of a traffic attorney, who can help you prepare your case or negotiate a plea agreement with fewer penalties.

New Jersey state laws do not allow drivers to dismiss a traffic ticket by attending defensive driving classes. Enrolling in an NJ-approved traffic school can deduct points from your driving record and help you avoid a suspension on your drivers license caused by an accumulation of points.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
The best way to find out if your drivers license has been mailed out is by contacting the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, directly. To do so, call their toll-free number at 888-486-3339.

If you need same day reinstatement of your driving license, make an in-person visit to any MVC office.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
In order to obtain a copy of someone else s driving record in NJ either by mail or online, you must fall in the category of “permissible use”. Attorneys, insurance companies, members of a law enforcement agencies and persons who have obtained a notarized written permission from the driver on the record all fall under the category of “permissible use”.

The New Jersey MVC offers a Customer Abstract Information Retrieval (CAIR) service that allows users to access multiple driving records online by following these steps:

  1. Complete an Application for Online Access to Motor Vehicle Records (Form OS/DS-19)
  2. Submit required documents
  3. Pay a $500 deposit to use the MVC CAIR online service

To obtain someone else s driving record by mail, send the following to the NJ MVC:

Make sure that you mark the permitted use number and describe the reason for your driver record request on the application form.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If your New Jersey vehicle registration is lost, damaged or stolen, you can apply for a duplicate car registration with the NJ MVC. To do so, follow the steps provided below:

  1. Visit a MVC office
  2. Provide proof of age and identification, such as your New Jersey drivers license
  3. Present proof of NJ auto insurance
  4. Complete a Replacement Application (Form BA-49)
  5. A completed Power of attorney (POA)
  6. Pay duplicate registration fee

If your license plates are damaged, you can request duplicate plates by mail, however, if the plates are lost or stolen, you must make an in-person visit to an MVC office near you and obtain replacements. In this case, you also need to report your stolen license plates to the police.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If your original New Jersey certificate of title has been damaged, lost or stolen, you must apply for a car title copy with the New Jersey DMV. The documents needed to replace a lost car title or stolen vehicle title in NJ include:

A different procedure applies to replace a damaged car title. In this case, drivers are required to provide the following documents:

  • A written statement that includes:
    • The reason for the damage to the original vehicle title.
    • Your name and address.
    • Your vehicle description, including the make, model and VIN.
  • The damaged certificate of title

In both cases, you must also provide payment for the $60 car title replacement fee.

You can submit the request in person at your local NJ DMV or send it by mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
Drivers in New Jersey can apply for a drivers license replacement if their license has been lost, stolen, destroyed or damaged beyond legibility. To replace a New Jersey driving license, visit your local NJ DMV and follow these steps:

  1. Provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID Verification requirements
  2. Complete an Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208)
  3. Pay the $11 fee

You may apply for a duplicate drivers license by mail, but only if you meet the requirements.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Any vehicle that has sustained considerable damage and for which the cost of repair is far greater than the cost of the vehicle, is a savaged vehicle. All vehicles in New Jersey have to be titled, including salvage cars.

To apply for a salvage vehicle title in NJ, submit the following documents to an NJ MVC:

  • A NJ certificate of title, properly assigned to your car insurance company
  • Payment for the titling fee
  • A completed Insurance listing sheet (BA-28), as well as a statement from the auto insurance company explaining how the car was acquired

After the completion of this procedure, the vehicle must undergo a vehicle inspection before being operated on NJ state roads.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How do I obtain car registration?
All New Jersey drivers must register their vehicles to be able to legally drive them on state roads. If you have purchased a vehicle from a dealership, the dealer usually handles all your registration and titling issues. On the other hand, if you have bought a used vehicle or if you are transferring an out-of-state car registration, you have 10 days to register your car with the NJ MVC.

In order to register an out-of-state car registration with the NJ DMV, visit a nearby MVC location and provide the following documents:

  • Certificate of title
  • Registration application (BA-49)
  • Vehicle odometer reading
  • The buyer s driving license or another proof of identification as stated under the 6 Point ID program
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of New Jersey auto insurance
  • Payment for sales tax and titling fees
  • Payment for registration fee
  • Information for the lien holder, if applicable
  • Certificate of Ownership (form SS-7) for out-of-state vehicles

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
A habitual offender is defined as a New Jersey driver whose drivers license has been suspended three times in three years. Reinstating a suspended drivers license as a Habitual Traffic Offender is the same as restoring a suspended license after your first offence.

Drivers must meet all the restoration requirements listed on the suspension notice, pay the restoration fee and wait to receive a restoration notice in the mail in order to obtain a reinstated driving license.

Keep in mind that you might be faced with stricter penalties and higher fees when reinstating a suspended drivers license as a habitual offender.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
In New Jersey, drivers who refuse to undergo a chemical test will be detained and brought to a hospital where they will have to submit a blood sample for analysis. Refusing to take a breathalyzer test will result in a suspension on your NJ drivers license ranging from seven to twelve months, as well as fines between $300 and $500.

To reinstate your license, follow these steps:

  1. Pay all the DUI fees, fines and surcharges.
  2. Wait for your suspension period to end.
  3. Enroll in an alcohol awareness class at a Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  4. Pay the $100 restoration fee.

Once the restoration fee has been paid, visit a local NJ DMV office and present documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID requirements. Your NJ driving license will be restored on the same day.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Drivers in NJ are eligible to reinstate a suspended drivers license once all the restoration requirements, as listed on a NJ suspension notice, have been met. After your suspension period expires and all the conditions have been satisfied, the NJ MVC will mail you a Notice of Restoration and you will be required to pay the $100 restoration fee.

Once you pay the applicable fee, visit a local NJ DMV office and present documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID requirements. A restored NJ driving license will be issued to you that same day.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Successful completion of traffic school could remove up to three points from your NJ drivers record depending on the driver s program you enroll in. In addition, taking traffic classes could improve your auto insurance rates. NJ drivers can take a defensive driving course in person or they can enroll in an online traffic school.

However, keep in mind that you must complete a state-approved traffic course. Drivers can only enroll to a defensive driving course once every five years. Drivers cannot dismiss a traffic ticket by enrolling in defensive driving classes.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

How do I renew my driving permit?
All NJ driving permits issued under the Graduated Drivers License program are valid for two years. If a permit expires, NJ drivers must follow the same procedure required to obtain a new permit which requires following these steps:

  1. Visit a New Jersey DMV near you
  2. Meet the requirements of the 6 Point ID Verification system
  3. Pass the required tests
  4. Pay applicable fees

Please note that only student learner s permits can be renewed after their expiration date.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

How do I renew my ID card?
A New Jersey identification card is good for four years and must be renewed either in person or by mail before it expires.

If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will send you a “Skip the Trip” package, which outlines all the requirements you must meet. You will need to complete the renewal application and provide payment in the form of check or money order made out to the DMV.

To apply for an ID card renewal in person, visit at your local NJ DMV and provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID verification requirements. You must also pay $24 renewal fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are a military member who is on active military duty or a New Jersey National Guard and Reserve member, your NJ drivers license will be automatically extended until you are fully discharged.

If you are demobilized, you will be required to renew your expired drivers license within two weeks of the date you were demobilized. Make sure you carry the extension letter and documents proving you are on active duty when driving your vehicle.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
In order to get a license to drive commercial vehicles, you must comply with the regulations set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). This means that you must have a physical exam by a licensed physician who will complete and sign the Medical Examination Report- Form RA-4 (also known as a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certificate).

The Medical Examination Report must be renewed every two years. New Jersey CDL holders must carry the Medical Examination Report at all times when operating a commercial motor vehicle.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
A NJ motorcycle driving license is valid for four years and must be renewed in person at a NJ Motor Vehicle Commission office. When renewing motorcycle license, drivers are required to present the following documents:

  • Your expired NJ license to drive a motorcycle
  • Payment for the renewal fee
  • Documents that meet the 6-point identification verification requirements:
    • One primary proof of identity
    • One secondary proof of identity
    • Proof of valid Social Security Number
    • Proof of address

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
The process to replace driving license in New Jersey is the same for US and non-US citizens. The major difference lies in the documents you need to provide to meet the 6-point ID program requirements. If you are not a US citizen, you must provide the following documents:

  • One primary proof of identity:
    • Foreign passport with INS or USCIS verification
    • Foreign passport with valid Form I-551 stamp
    • Current alien registration card
    • Refugee travel document (Form I-571)
  • One secondary proof of identity:
    • Current photo employment authorization card
  • Valid Social Security card
  • Proof of NJ residency:
    • Utility bills
    • Bank statements

Keep in mind that the documents presented must be original forms, as the NJ MVC does not accept copies. You will also be required to complete the drivers license replacement application form and pay the applicable fee. You can replace your drivers license in person at a New Jersey DMV location or by mail if you are currently residing out of state.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
Drivers in New Jersey must meet the following requirements in order to be eligible to request a drivers license replacement by mail:

  • Applicants drivers license cannot have been lost for over three years.
  • Applicant cannot be currently living in the state of NJ (the DMV does not send temporary permits to NJ addresses).
  • Applicant must be a citizen of the US.
  • Applicant cannot be a CDL holder.
  • Applicant must have a valid New Jersey drivers license.

Also note that only non-digital licenses can be replaced. If your license has a digital picture, you cannot apply for replacement, but instead you must renew your NJ drivers license.

If you meet the aforementioned requirements, send the following documents to the NJ MVC to replace lost drivers license:

  • A letter with information why you can’t come in-person to get a duplicate drivers license, including how long you expect to be gone.
  • A completed Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208).
  • A check or money order for $11 made out to to the NJ MVC.
  • Documents that meet the 6 points identification verification requirements
  • Current out-of-state or out-of-country address.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
If you have recently moved to NJ, you must transfer your out-of-state car title and obtain NJ car registration.

If there is no lien on your vehicle of title, you must transfer car title in person at a NJ DMV location and present your current vehicle title, a completed Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7) and the applicable car title transfer fee. You will also be required to complete a sales tax form, unless you have bought the vehicle outside of New Jersey or you were not an NJ resident when you purchased the car.

Additional documentation is needed if you are transferring car title to NJ from a state that does not require vehicle titles. Follow the steps provided to complete the car title transfer in this particular case:

  1. Visit a MVC location near you.
  2. Present the vehicle registration.
  3. Submit a completed Bill of Sale.
  4. Submit a completed VIN Verification Statement (Form ISM/SS-321).
  5. Submit a copy of your drivers license.
  6. Submit a completed Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7).
  7. Pay the car title transfer fee.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you have lost your original car title, you must apply for a duplicate New Jersey pink slip. To get a car title copy, visit a NJ MVC location and provide the following documents:

You can also mail the paperwork and payment to the address printed on the form.

If you do not have a certificate of title because you are transferring car title to NJ from a state that does not require vehicle titles, follow the steps provided to complete the car title transfer:

  1. Visit a MVC location near you
  2. Present the vehicle registration
  3. A completed Bill of Sale
  4. A VIN Verification Statement (Form ISM/SS-321)
  5. A copy of your drivers license
  6. A completed Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7)
  7. Pay the car title transfer fee

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How do I transfer my car title?
Drivers in New Jersey are required to transfer a car title if they have recently bought, sold, inherited, gifted or received a vehicle as a gift or donation.

To transfer a car title if you are selling a car, follow these steps:

  1. Remove the license plates of the vehicle and turn them in to the NJ DMV
  2. Complete the back of the title with the following information
  • Buyer s details
  • Date of sale
  • Odometer reading
  • Sale price (If you are gifting the vehicle, use the word “Gift” instead)

If you have recently purchased a vehicle in New Jersey, you must perform a transfer of title with the NJ MVC by:

  • Providing the certificate of title, properly assigned with your signature and drivers license number.
  • Presenting proof of New Jersey car insurance.
  • Paying the title transfer fee.

Note that while you are transferring a car title, you can also register your vehicle. Drivers are required to transfer a car title within 10 business days from the date of sale or purchase, otherwise a penalty fee of $25 will be charged.

If you have inherited a vehicle in NJ, you have 30 days to request a car title transfer with the NJ DMV. To do so, you must:

  • Present the certificate of title.
  • Submit a copy of the death certificate, if you are a surviving spouse and the vehicle is titled in both names.
  • Present a completed Affidavit (Form BA-62) from the surviving spouse, if the vehicle is titled in both names.
  • Submit a Surrogate’s Short Certificate, if the vehicle is left to an heir and not a surviving spouse.
  • Pay the applicable titling and registration fees.

Note that if you have a leased vehicle, you must submit a Power of Attorney from your leasing company, in addition to the completed Application for Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-7) and payment for the titling and registration fees.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
To transfer ownership of an RV, visit an MVC location near you and submit acceptable proof of identity and a properly assigned Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) or Certificate of Title, as well as payment for the applicable titling fee.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
The requirements for military members to obtain a motorcycle license are the same as for regular NJ residents. Applicants must follow these steps:

  1. Complete an application form at any NJ DMV location
  2. Provide proof of identity as required by the New Jersey 6 point ID program
  3. Pass the required tests
  4. Pay applicable fees

If you are on active duty or you are a member of the New Jersey National Guard, your NJ motorcycle driving license will be automatically extended until you are fully discharged. Make sure you carry the extension letter and documents proving you are on active duty when operating your vehicle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

How does the DMV check my vision?
The vision test is administered at New Jersey MVC offices across the state. During the test, a DMV representative will ask you to read a line on an eye chart with both of your eyes open and then another line with each eye individually.

The NJ MVC requires drivers to have 20/50 visual acuity in at least one eye with or without corrective lenses. If a driver fails the vision exam, he/she must visit their doctor and complete a ST-14 form.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
To obtain a NJ drivers license, you must complete the stages of the New Jersey GDL program. This means that if you are 16 years old, you need to apply for a special learners permit, while if you are 17 years old you need to get an examination permit.

Drivers must hold either a special learners permit or an examination permit for at least six months before applying for a NJ probationary drivers license. Once a driver has held a probationary permit for at least one year, they can proceed to apply for a New Jersey driving license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Unfortunately, the NJ MVC does not allow drivers to replace a car title online. You can only request a car title copy in person at a nearby DMV location or by mailing the application form to the New Jersey DMV.

Allow the DMV some time to process your payment and application. However, if you still not have received your NJ vehicle title replacement after considerable time has passed, contact the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
New Jersey has implemented the “implied consent” law, which means that you must take a breathalyzer test if pulled over by the NJ police. Drivers who refuse to undergo a chemical test, will be detained and brought to a hospital where they will have to submit a blood sample for analysis.

The length of your suspension for refusing to take or failing a blood test ranges from seven to 12 months depending on the number of times you have been convicted of a DUI/DWI.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The NJ MVC usually takes about ten days to process the documentation and payment and issue a new, renewed or duplicate New Jersey identification card. If you have not received your NJ ID card within that time, contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission and check the delivery status of your non-driver ID.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The NJ MVC point system adds points to your drivers record for various traffic violations you have received. Once the points are added to your DMV driving record, the history of your points cannot be removed. If you accumulate 12 points or more, your NJ drivers license will be suspended and you will be required to pay a fine.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Unfortunately, you cannot remove points from your NJ driving record. However, you can deduce points from your driving record by successfully completing a traffic course . The number of points deduced from your record varies depending on the driver s program you enroll in. NJ drivers can take a defensive driving course in person or they can enroll in an online traffic school.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
The fee to update your name on your New Jersey vehicle registration is $5. If you wish to correct an error on your registration card caused by the NJ MVC, the correction fee will be waived. Make sure to check with your local DMV for the acceptable methods of payment and available services.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
To update name on car title, NJ drivers must provide their original certificate of title along with certified copies of documents that prove the official name change, such as: marriage certificate, certified court order and/or divorce decree. The legal name change process on a NJ car title also includes the payment of a $60 fee.

You can change your name on your New Jersey certificate of title in person at a NJ DMV location or by mail.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The cost to legally change your name with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is as follows:

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
A New Jersey commercial drivers license is valid for a period of four years. When your NJ CDL is about to expire, the NJ MVC will send you an application form by mail, which you must complete and present at your local MVC office.

In order to renew your expired CDL, visit your local MVC office and present the completed renewal application, your current CDL and documents that satisfy the requirements of the New Jersey 6 point identification program.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
In New Jersey, drivers are allowed to renew an expired NJ driving license as early as six months before it expires. The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission will send you a notice in the mail at least ninety days before your license expires, reminding you to renew your drivers license.

If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will send you a “Skip the Trip” package, which outlines all the requirements you must meet. If not, drivers must make an in-person visit at a local NJ DMV and provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID verification requirements.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
If you have inherited a vehicle from a family member, you need to submit the following documents to a NJ MVC location, in order to transfer the vehicle title to your name:

  • The certificate of title
  • A copy of the death certificate, if you are a surviving spouse and the vehicle is titled in both names
  • A completed Affidavit (Form BA-62) from the surviving spouse, if the vehicle is titled in both names
  • A Surrogate’s Short Certificate, if the vehicle is left to an heir and not a surviving spouse;
  • Payment for applicable titling and registration fees

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
No, the New Jersey MVC does not charge a late fee if you do not renew your car registration by the due date indicated on your registration renewal notice. However, bear in mind that you will be fined if caught driving on expired registration, so make sure that you renew on time.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
If you have provided a police report when requesting a drivers license replacement, is to the discretion of the New Jersey MVC if your duplicate drivers license fee will be waived or not.

In any case, NJ state laws require you to file a police report if your drivers license is lost or stolen, as this will protect you from possible fraudulent activity and identity theft.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you re involved in an auto accident in New Jersey, you must keep in mind that NJ implements a “no-fault” insurance system, which means that you need to report any and all damages to your vehicle to your insurance provider.

If you wish to pursue a claim against the at-fault driver, you have two years from the date of the car accident to get your case started by filing the initial complaint with the right branch of New Jersey s civil court system. Reporting minor accidents with the local authorities of the NJ MVC is not mandatory, however, drivers involved in auto accidents are free to do so.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes, all NJ residents, regardless of how much time they spend in the state, must insure their vehicles if they wish to operate them on New Jersey s public roads. There are two policies to choose from in NJ:

  • Basic policy
  • Standard policy

Please note that driving an uninsured vehicle in NJ can result in strict penalties and high fines as well as suspension on your NJ drivers license.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your traffic ticket, it is very important to retrieve this information as soon as possible. Luckily, NJ courts offer an easy-to-use online traffic ticket search system. All you need to do is enter your license plate number, court identification number and traffic ticket number, and follow the instructions provided.

If you are missing any of the aforementioned information, contact the relevant court and ask the clerk to provide you with any traffic or parking ticket information you need.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
All New Jersey residents must carry proof of financial responsibility if they wish to legally operate a motor vehicle within the state. This means that if you have more than one vehicle, you must provide get car insurance for each vehicle. Luckily, many NJ insurance companies offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy.

Check with your insurance company to find out if the multi-car discount is available and if you are eligible for it. Also, when choosing a car insurance provider and checking car insurance quotes, make sure to look for insurance companies that offer the multi-car discount.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
Military members currently on duty out of state or out of the country, who have lost their New Jersey identification card, cannot replace it by mail or online. If you lost your NJ ID card out of state, you must wait until you return to New Jersey to obtain a duplicate ID card. The NJ MVC only allows ID renewals by mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Confiscating a drivers license during a DUI/DWI arrest is not common practice in New Jersey, however, in such an event, your license will be returned to the NJ MVC. In order to restore your drivers license after a DUI conviction, you must wait for your suspension period to expire and pay the reinstatement fees.

Drivers will also be required to take part in an alcohol awareness class at one of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers across the state. Once all DWI fines and surcharges have been paid and all the reinstatement requirements have been met, drivers will receive a restored New Jersey drivers license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The DMV might flag your license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as their own. Also, a DMV clerk might suggest that you should apply for a duplicate license. However, to be on the safe side, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your local NJ DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
No, the procedure to replace personalized license plates in New Jersey is the same as replacing standard plates. However, the NJ DMV charges a $6 replacement fee for standard plates and an $11 duplicate fee for special interest or dedicated plates.

If your license plates are damaged, you can replace your plates by mail by sending a completed Application for Remaking of an Existing Licensing Plate (Form SP89), a copy of your vehicle registration, and a check or money order for the required fee to the NJ MVC.

If your plates are lost or stolen, you must obtain replacements by making an in-person visit at a New Jersey MVC office and providing your car registration certificate, your drivers license and payment for the duplicate fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, in New Jersey applicants must be at least 16 years of age and hold a valid NJ drivers license in order to obtain a New Jersey license to drive commercial vehicles. If you wish to drive a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of New Jersey or have a Class H endorsement on your CDL, you must be at least 21 years old.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is no age limit to renew a NJ drivers license. The same rules and regulations in the drivers license renewal process apply for NJ drivers of all ages. The NJ DMV allows drivers to renew expired drivers license by mail or in person at a New Jersey MVC locations across the state.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Drivers must get car registration and NJ car insurance in order to legally operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey. Both must be carried in your vehicle at all times. Failure to do so will result in penalties and fines and even a suspension on your registration privileges.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission does not mail duplicate drivers licenses to mailing addresses. Residents must obtain a driving license replacement in person at a local NJ MVC office.

NJ residents who are temporarily out-of-state and meet the requirements to replace a lost drivers license by mail, will receive their temporary license at the out-of-state or out-of-country address they provide in the application form.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
The same regulations that apply to all NJ drivers when renewing their licenses, apply to senior drivers as well. A New Jersey drivers license is good for four years and must be renewed before it expires in person or by mail. If you have a valid NJ license to drive, you can renew it up to six months before it expires.

The NJ MVC will send you a renewal notice, which outlines all the requirements you must meet to renew drivers license as well as specify if you are eligible to renew by mail. If not, you must visit a local NJ DMV and provide documents that meet the 6 Point ID verification requirements. You must also pay the $24 renewal fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
A certificate of title is a document that proves legal ownership of a vehicle, while the title transfer makes the change of vehicle ownership official. The most common reasons that require you to transfer car title, include:

  • Selling or purchasing a new /used vehicle
  • Gifting or receiving a vehicle as a gift or donation
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Changing ownership of the vehicle between family members
  • Changing the name of the vehicle owner

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
There are several reasons why the New Jersey MVC would suspend your driving privileges. Some of the reasons that could result in a drivers license suspension are listed below:

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
To get a motorcycle license or a Class E endorsement in New Jersey, applicants must be at least 17 years old. All applicants under 18 must complete a Basic Rider Course to get NJ motorcycle driving license. They also have to submit a signed letter of consent from a parent/legal guardian when applying for a motorcycle permit.

To obtain a license to drive a moped or scooter, applicants must be at least 15 years old.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
The NJ commercial drivers license endorsements are as follows:

  • Class H- Hazardous Material
  • Class T- Towing a Double or Triple Trailer
  • Class S- School Bus
  • Class N- Liquid Bulk/Tank Cargo
  • Class P- Passenger/Transportation

Please note that different CDL endorsements entail different requirements, such as a Class P endorsement requires drivers to complete a fingerprint application, while drivers with Class H endorsement on their CDLs must be trained and retested every two years as required by Federal Law. In addition, keep in mind that you have to pay $2 fee for each endorsement you have on your license, in addition to the CDL fee.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
The penalties of driving with a suspended drivers license imposed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, depend on the severity of the offence and the number of times the driver has been convicted of it. The fines and penalties implemented in New Jersey vary from points being added to your NJ drivers record to a license suspension. However, driving on a suspended drivers license will lead to harsher penalties, such as 5 years imprisonment in a correctional facility.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

What are the different types of driving records?
The following types of drivers records are available at the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission:

  • Non-certified driving records
  • Certified 5-year driver records
  • Certified driving records

Non-certified driving records are only available to view online. Certified driving records can be obtained online, by mail or in person at a NJ DMV location.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The ID-related fees in New Jersey are as follows:

  • New identification card: $24
  • ID card renewal: $24
  • Duplicate ID card: $11

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The fee to obtain a duplicate driving license in New Jersey is $11. Applicants must provide payment for the replacement fee upon visiting NJ MVC offices. Check your local NJ DMV location for acceptable methods of payment.

If you are eligible to replace lost drivers license by mail, provide a check or money order for the $11 replacement fee and send it to the NJ DMV along with the completed application form and necessary documents.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
There are various restrictions in place for learners permit holders, depending on the type of driving permit you have obtained.

Student learner permit holders must:

  • Attend a drivers ed course.
  • Not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • Be accompanied by a licensed adult.
  • Be supervised by a parent /guardian if you have more than one passenger.
  • Only have your parents/ guardians, or dependents as passengers.
  • Have a reflectorized decal on each of your license plates.

Examination permit holders must:

  • Not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • Be accompanied by a licensed adult.
  • Be supervised by a parent /guardian if you have more than one passenger
  • Only have your parents, guardians, or dependents as passengers.
  • Have a reflectorized decal on each of your license plates.

Probationary drivers license holders must:

  • Not drive after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • Be supervised by a parent /guardian if you have more than one passenger.
  • Not use cell phones, video games or other hands-free communication devices.
  • Wear seat belts at all times.
  • Have a reflectorized decal on each of your license plates.

Certain exemptions apply, such as hours-related exemptions for employment or religious reasons.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
In order to get a license to drive commercial vehicles, you must comply with the regulations set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Applicants are required to have a physical exam conducted by a licensed physician, who will determine if an applicant is medically fit to operate a commercial vehicle safely and competently. The physician needs to complete and sign the Medical Examination Report- Form RA-4 (also known as a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certificate), which you must present when applying for a CDL and carry with you at all times while operating a CMV.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Some of the most common reasons why drivers obtain duplicate vehicle registration certificates include the following:

  • Voluntary replacement at any time during your registration period
  • Lost car registration certificate, license plate and/or decal
  • Stolen car registration or license plate
  • Your registration certificate has been damaged to a point of illegibility and the necessary information cannot be read from it

If any of the reasons can be applied to your specific case, visit your NJ Motor Vehicle Commission location and apply for a duplicate car registration or license plates.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you are convicted of a traffic violation while holding a NJ learners permit, you run the risk of facing the same penalties as adult drivers. Penalties depend on the violation that you have committed and range from points being added to your driving record to a suspension of your driving privileges. In addition, both you and your instructor or supervising adult will bear the responsibility.

Bear in mind that stricter penalties are in place for DUI/DWI convictions, such as court-ordered community service and alcohol education and highway safety program participation.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
DUI convictions in New Jersey are considered to be a serious offence and the state implements sanctions accordingly. Some of the penalties you might face when caught driving under the influence include, but are not limited to:

  • Fines, fees and DUI surcharges
  • Drives license suspension
  • Jail time
  • Taking part in an alcohol awareness class at a Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Court-ordered community service

Note that DUI penalties and fines vary according to several factors, such as your BAC level, the number of your previous DUI/DWI convictions and the severity of your offense.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The basic restoration fee drivers in NJ need to pay to reinstate a suspended drivers license is $100. However, other reinstatement fees may apply, such as an annual surcharge or court fees, depending on the reason for your suspension.

There are several ways to pay the NJ restoration fees, which include:

  • Online
  • In person
  • By mail

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
Vehicle registration fees for used cars in New Jersey vary according to the weight and age of your vehicle. Check with the New Jersey MVC for the exact amount you will be required to pay before making your visit to a DMV location near you.

If you have purchased a new car, you must pay four years of registration fees upon the initial registration of the vehicle. Also, purchasing a leased vehicle requires drivers to pay a registration fee for the full term of the lease. To determine how much you owe the MVC in registration fee, use the NJ MVC Registration Fee Calculator.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission charges a $60 car title replacement fee for drivers who have lost or damaged their original NJ certificate of title, as well as for drivers whose vehicle title has been stolen.

Note that even though the duplicate car title fee is regulated by law, the MVC might still impose a fine if a driver attempts to replace car title while still in possession of a legible and valid NJ certificate of title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The fees associated with a car registration replacement in New Jersey are as follows:

  • $5 for one year passenger/commercial registration
  • $5 for the last year of four year accelerated registration
  • $11 anytime during the first three years of a four year accelerated registration

The fees to obtain replacement license plates, if your original plates have been lost, stolen or damaged are:

  • $6 for standard plates.
  • $11 for special interest or dedicated plates.

You must replace car registration in person at a nearby NJ MVC location. If you are not sure what methods of payment are available at the MVC office of your choice, contact them for more information before heading out. You can send a check or money order for the duplicate license plate fee if you are replacing them by mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
New Jersey car registration renewal fees vary depending on the type of the vehicle, the weight and the year. Your registration renewal vehicle will indicate the exact amount you will be required to pay.

Also, keep in mind that if you are a disabled or senior driver (65 and older), you get a $7 discount off the vehicle registration renewal fees. The NJ MVC does not charge late fees if you fail to renew your registration, however, you will be fined if caught driving with expired decals.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
To operate a three-wheel motorcycle in New Jersey, you must take a Basic Rider Course for a three-wheel motorcycle. After you successfully complete the motorcycle safety education school, visit your local New Jersey DMV to get a motorcycle endorsement with a restriction for operating a 3-wheel motorcycle. Additionally, applicants must pass a vision test and pay the applicable fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
The state of New Jersey does not have any temporary, provisional or work licenses, which allow the driver to operate a motor vehicle during certain hours of the day, or for the purpose of traveling to work.

NJ state laws do not allow the issuance of a hardship license after a DWI conviction or any violation that has resulted in a suspension on your drivers license. Moreover, driving on a suspended license incurs harsh penalties in New Jersey, such as five years of jail time.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail the driving exam required in order to obtain a NJ drivers license, you must wait for a minimum of two weeks before being allowed to re-take the test. If you fail the driving test more than twice, you will be required to wait at least six months before re-taking the NJ skills test.

When taking the DMV drivers test, make sure you are accompanied by a licensed driver and present forms of ID as required under the 6 Point ID Verification Program. Applicants must also provide a fully registered vehicle with current inspection sticker and insurance card to use when taking the drivers exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
Learner permit applicants must meet the requirements of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 6 Point ID Verification system to obtain a permit for driving. To do so, first-time drivers must present the following documents:

  • One primary proof of identity
  • One secondary proof of identity
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address

For more information regarding the selection of documents and satisfying the requirements, visit the MVC website. If you are 16 years old, you must also present proof of enrollment in drivers ed classes and a signed letter of consent from your parent or guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
To obtain a New Jersey motorcycle permit or motorcycle endorsement on your NJ driving license you need to visit a NJ DMV near you and present documents that satisfy the requirements of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 6 Point ID Verification program, which include:

  • One primary proof of identity
  • One secondary proof of identity
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address

For more help regarding the selection of documents and satisfying the requirements, visit the MVC website.

Additionally, applicants will be required to complete a motorcycle permit application form, obtainable at New Jersey MVC offices. Drivers under 18 years old must present a signed letter of consent from a parent or legal guardian.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
Drivers license applicants must meet the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 6 Point ID Verification requirements in order to obtain a license to drive. To do so, new drivers must present the following documents:

  • One primary proof of identity
  • One secondary proof of identity
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address

For more help regarding the selection of documents and satisfying the requirements, visit the MVC website. If you have an out-of-state drivers license, you must surrender it to the NJ MVC when applying for a new driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
If your original New Jersey certificate of title has been damaged, lost or stolen, you must apply for a car title copy with the New Jersey DMV. The documents needed to replace a lost car title or stolen vehicle title in NJ include:

Different documents are required to replace a damaged car title. In this case you are required to provide the following:

  • A written statement that includes:
    • The reason for the damage to the original vehicle title.
    • Your name and address.
    • Your vehicle description, including the make, model and VIN.
  • The damaged certificate of title

In both cases, you must also provide payment for the $60 car title replacement fee.

You can submit the documents in person a nearby MVC office or mail them to the following address:

State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Special Title Section/Duplicate Titles P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
One of the items on your New Jersey address change checklist is providing proof of NJ residency as part of the documents required under the 6 Point ID verification program. When changing your address with the New Jersey MVC, you must provide at least one of the following documents:

  • Utility or credit card bill
  • Bank statement
  • Original lease or rental agreement
  • Property tax bill, statement or receipt
  • Any letter or correspondence (including tax bills) received from the IRS or state tax office
  • First-class mail received from any federal, state or local government agency

You must also provide at least one primary proof of identity and at least one secondary proof of identity, as well as a valid Social Security Number and the $24 renewal fee payment.

For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
The requirements to change address in New Jersey are similar for both US and non-US citizens. Non-US citizens must also meet the 6 point ID verification requirements when completing the required steps to change address with the New Jersey MVC. The only difference is that non-US citizens must also provide at least one of the following documents as primary ID:

  • Foreign passport with INS or USCIS verification
  • Foreign passport with valid Form I-551 stamp
  • Current alien registration card
  • Refugee travel document (Form I-571)

Additionally, non-US citizens must provide at least one secondary proof of identification, a valid Social Security Number and proof of NJ residency.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
The New Jersey MVC requires drivers to submit the following documents to successfully replace a car registration:

  • A NJ drivers license
  • Proof of New Jersey car insurance
  • A completed Replacement Application (Form BA-49)
  • A Power of attorney (POA) from a leasing company, if you are replacing the registration of a leased vehicle

Drivers must also pay the applicable fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
If you have purchased a vehicle from a dealership in New Jersey, the dealer usually handles all your registration and titling issues. On the other hand, if you have bought a used vehicle or if you are transferring an out of state car registration, you need to submit the following documents to a nearby MVC location:

  • A certificate of title, properly assigned with the name of the seller and the sales tax information section completed
  • A completed Registration Application (BA-49)
  • At least one proof of identification as stated under the 6 Point ID program
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of New Jersey auto insurance
  • Certificate of Ownership (form SS-7) for out-of-state vehicles

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Drivers can renew car registration in New Jersey either online, by mail or in person at a MVC location and are required to submit the following documents:

  • Proof of identity, as required under the 6 Point ID program
  • At least one of the following:
    • NJ registration renewal notice
    • Current car registration
  • Proof of auto insurance

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
There are two ways to renew a New Jersey drivers license: in person or by mail. If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will send you a “Skip the Trip” package, which outlines all the requirements you must meet. Applicants will be required to complete the application included in the package and mail it along with a check or money order for the renewal fee to the NJ MVC.

If you are not allowed to renew your expired drivers license by mail, visit a NJ DMV location and provide documents that meet the NJ 6 point ID verification requirements. These include:

  • One primary proof of identity:
    • Current NJ drivers license
    • Birth certificate
    • US passport
  • One secondary proof of identity:
    • Military ID
    • Marriage certificate
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address:
    • Utility bills
    • Bank statements

For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website. Also make sure you provide payment of $24 for the renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
When transferring a car title in New Jersey, you need to provide the following documents:

  • A Certificate of Title, which must contain the following information:
    • Buyer s details
    • Signature of the seller
    • Odometer reading
    • The buyer s drivers license number
    • Date of sale
    • Sale price (or the word “Gift” if you are gifting the vehicle)
  • Proof of New Jersey auto insurance
  • A copy of the death certificate, if you are a surviving spouse transferring pink slip titled in both names.
  • A completed Affidavit (Form BA-62) from the surviving spouse, if the vehicle is titled in both names.
  • A Surrogate’s Short Certificate, if the vehicle is left to an heir and not a surviving spouse.

Keep in mind that you can register your vehicle at the same time with the car title transfer. You must also provide payment for the applicable registration and titling fees.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To replace a NJ driving license, visit a NJ DMV location and present documents that meet the 6 Point ID Verification requirements, which include:

  • One primary proof of identity:
    • Current NJ drivers license
    • Birth certificate
    • US passport
  • One secondary proof of identity:
    • Military ID
    • Marriage certificate
  • Proof of valid Social Security Number
  • Proof of address:
    • Utility bills
    • Bank statements

For more information on selecting the right documents and satisfying the requirements of the 6 point ID verification program, visit the MVC website. You are also required to complete the Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208). This form is not available for download and can only be obtained at a New Jersey DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
To obtain a NJ motorcycle drivers license, applicants must pass the following tests:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test
  • Motorcycle road test

Keep in mind that if you successfully complete a Basic Rider Course, you will not have to take the MVC driving exam. Make sure to schedule the exam in advance, considering not all New Jersey MVC locations offer this service.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Jersey

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In the event of your vehicle title being lost or stolen, the NJ MVC requires you to complete a Application for Duplicate Certificate of Ownership (Form OS/SS-52).

If you have damaged your certificate of title, you need to present a written statement that includes your personal and vehicle information as well as the reason for the damage to the New Jersey car title.

You can submit the forms in person at your local DMV or send the application by mail to the NJ MVC.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
Failure to pay an out-of-state traffic fine has the same consequences as failing to pay a traffic ticket in your home state. This implies a possible suspension on your NJ drivers license and higher costs to reinstate your diving privileges.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
NJ CDL holders face stricter fines if convicted of a traffic violation. The penalties imposed by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) depend on the severity of the offense and the number of times the drivers has been convicted of it. Penalties range from a drivers license suspension for one year to lifetime disqualification of your CDL driving privileges. In addition, all CMV drivers must notify their employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic offense.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
All New Jersey CDL holders convicted of driving under the influence must notify their employers within thirty days of receiving the citation. DUI/DWI penalties are stricter for CDL holders than for regular drivers, especially for commercial drivers who transport hazardous material. CMV operators convicted of driving while intoxicated for the first time face a drivers license suspension for one year, while a second offence will result in a lifetime ban on your CDL.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Once the NJ MVC issues a duplicate car title, your original title is no longer valid. However, in the event of your lost car title or stolen vehicle title being recovered, submit it to the DMV or properly dispose of it in order to protect yourself from possible identity theft or fraudulent activity involving your New Jersey vehicle title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

What information does a driving record contain?
A NJ driving record includes personal information, as well as information about your New Jersey drivers license. It also contains details about your traffic convictions, past accidents, violations, points assigned to your record, as well as any previous drivers license suspensions and restoration fees you may have paid to the NJ DMV.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

What is an ID card?
A New Jersey identification card is a legal document that is mainly used by individuals who do not drive but wish to carry an identification document on their person. This is essential as this document can be used for a number of purposes, including to enter any government building or to present as identification when traveling.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
DUI fines depend on several factors, such as the driver s BAC level, the number of previous DUI/DWI convictions and the severity of the offense in question. Fines for DWI convictions can move between $500, for a first offense, to a $1,000 for a second offense within 10 years.

Keep in mind that in addition to the basic DUI fine, you will be required to pay other fees and surcharges, such as the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee or the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee. DUI surcharges can range from $1,000 a year to $1,500 a year for the duration of three years and can be paid online, by phone at 888 651-9999 or by mail to the following address:

NJSVS P.O. Box 4850 Trenton, NJ 08650

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of New Jersey traffic tickets is the same throughout the state; however, it depends on the offense you have committed. Different fines apply to different violations. Also keep in mind that in addition to the traffic ticket price, you might be required to pay various surcharges and court fees, which vary, based on the offense you are pleading guilty to.

Check your traffic ticket for the exact amount you are required to pay and the method of payment you can use.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The cost to check your driving record with the New Jersey DMV is $15. You can pay the fee by check, money order, credit/debit card or cash. The method of payment depends on the approach you choose to request a copy of your or someone else s driving record. Also keep in mind that if you apply for a drivers record online, you will be charged an additional convenience fee.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
NJ CDL holders face stricter fines if convicted of DUI/DWI. The penalties imposed by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) depend on the severity of the offense and the number of times the drivers has been convicted of it. These range from a drivers license suspension of one year to a lifetime disqualification of your CDL driving privileges. In addition, all CMV drivers must notify their employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic offense.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
The NJ penalties that apply for underage drivers with a DWI conviction are as follows:

  • Drivers license suspension ranging from 30 to 90 days
  • Mandatory community service
  • Taking part in alcohol education and highway safety programs at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

These penalties can be combined with the fines and penalties that apply to adult drivers convicted of driving while intoxicated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum liability requirements in New Jersey are as follows:

  • $5,000 per accident for damage to someone else’s car or property
  • $15,000 per person per accident for personal injury protection (PIP) benefits, and
  • $250,000 per person per accident in PIP benefits for certain serious injuries.

Bodily injury liability (BDL) insurance is not included in the Basic Policy, although, it is still offered as an option. In addition, this insurance does not cover injuries to someone who is not in the car with you in the event of an accident.

Note that there are two insurance policies available in New Jersey that drivers can choose from:

  • Basic Policy- This policy is the most affordable option and it covers the minimum liability requirements in New Jersey, however, it offers limited coverage.
  • Standard Policy- This policy has a higher premium; but it does offer more comprehensive coverage.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written knowledge test required to obtain a New Jersey student learners permit or examination permit, consists of 50 questions and drivers need to successfully complete at least 80 percent to pass the exam.

The written drivers test covers traffic laws, rules and regulations. To prepare for the test, study the NJ Driver Manual as all the questions are based on information provided in the manual. Drivers can take the written drivers exams at NJ DMV offices.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
To get a certificate of title for your NJ motorcycle or scooter, visit a nearby MVC office and provide the following documents:

  • Proof of New Jersey auto insurance
  • A Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MSO or MCO) or a notarized Bill of Sale from the previous owner
  • Payment for the applicable titling and registration fees

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

What languages is the written test available in?
The New Jersey written drivers test is available in the following languages:

  • English
  • Arabic
  • Chinese
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Korean
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Japanese

In addition, the New Jersey MVC offers oral tests in English and Spanish. If your native language is not the list, you are allowed to use the services of a state-approved interpreter when taking the DMV drivers exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
DUI convictions in New Jersey are a serious offence and the state will suspend your driving privileges if you are caught driving while intoxicated. To reinstate your license, follow these steps:

  1. Pay all the DUI fees, fines and surcharges.
  2. Wait for your suspension period to end.
  3. Enroll in an alcohol awareness class at a Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  4. Pay the $100 restoration fee.

Once the restoration fee has been paid, visit a local NJ DMV office and present documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID requirements. Your NJ driving license will be restored on the same day.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Any driver who moves to New Jersey or has recently moved to a new residence is required to make an official address change with the NJ MVC within 10 days of moving. Failure to do so may result in select fees and/or fines.

In addition, if you do not report an official address change to the New Jersey DMV, you will not be able to receive your renewal notices, which could lead you to have to pay late renewal fees.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Driving with an expired driving license is illegal in New Jersey. Possible penalties include a fine in the amount of $150 and even a drivers license suspension.

Also, keep in mind that if you have not renewed your drivers license within three years after the expiration date, you will have to apply for a new drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Once you get car insurance in New Jersey, you will be issued a New Jersey insurance identification card for each vehicle on your policy. This card contains the name of your insurance company, the policy number and expiration date in addition to your vehicle description and your personal details.

You must present your New Jersey insurance ID card when registering your vehicle for the first time. If your Insurance ID card is not in your possession, you can provide the NJ MVC with the name of the car insurance company and policy number instead.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you renew your New Jersey car registration in person at your local MVC office you will receive your registration tags on the same day. However, if you renew expired car registration online or by mail, you must wait at least seven days for the MVC to process your application.

If you have not received your renewed registration within that time, contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to get more information on the delivery status of your vehicle registration tags.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
It usually takes the New Jersey MVC ten business days to process the documentation and payment and issue your renewed NJ drivers license. If your renewed driving license has not arrived by that time, contact the NJ DMV for more details on the delivery status of your license to drive.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In order to get a New Jersey student learners permit or examination permit, you must pass the following tests:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test

After holding your student learners permit or examination permit for at least six months, drivers are required to pass a road test in order to get a probationary drivers license.

When taking the DMV drivers test, make sure you are accompanied by a licensed driver and present forms of ID as required under the 6 Point ID Verification system. You must also provide a fully registered vehicle with current inspection sticker and insurance card to use when taking the drivers exam.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To get a CDL in New Jersey, applicants must pass a written knowledge exam and a CDL skills test.

The written drivers test is carried out in NJ DMV offices and contains 50 questions. Applicants must answer 80 percent of the questions correctly in order to pass the test. If you fail the exam, you have to wait for seven days before re-taking it. After successfully completing the DMV drivers test, your commercial permit will be validated and you will have at least ten days of supervised behind-the-wheel supervised driving practice before taking the road test.

The CDL driving exam consists of three parts: pre-trip, basic skills and road skills. To take the skills test you must provide a vehicle with valid current inspection sticker, registration and insurance card and a valid examination permit. If you fail the test, you must wait a minimum of two weeks before re-taking it. Make sure to study the New Jersey CDL manual to ensure that you pass the DMV drivers exam on the first try.

For more information: New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission does not require you to take any tests when applying for drivers license. However, you must have held a learners permit for at least six months and a probationary drivers license for at least one year before being eligible for a new NJ driving license. First-time drivers applying for a learners permit must take the following tests:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test
  • Driving exam

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
If you wish to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey, you must have one of the forms of auto insurance provided below:

  • Liability insurance
  • Personal injury protection
  • Uninsured motorist coverage

NJ insurance companies also offer additional types of insurance such as collision coverage, which pays for physical damage to your car as the result of your vehicle colliding with an object and comprehensive coverage, which pays for damage to your vehicle from fire, severe weather, vandalism, floods and theft.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission issues the following types of non-commercial drivers licenses:

  • Learners permits and restricted licenses for first-time drivers under the Graduated Drivers License program, which include:
    • Student learners permit
    • Examination permit
    • Probationary license
  • Basic automobile license (class D), which is issued to non-commercial drivers who are 18 years of age and older.
  • Motorcycle license (class E) , which can be issued as a separate license or endorsement on your existing NJ driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
It is illegal to drive an uninsured vehicle in New Jersey. Operating a motor vehicle in NJ without getting car insurance can result in:

Note that in addition to strict penalties and high fines, driving without auto insurance also puts you at risk in the event of an accident.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
Drivers can reinstate a suspended drivers license if they have met all the restoration requirements as listed on a NJ suspension notice. After a suspension period expires and all the conditions have been satisfied, the NJ MVC will send you a Notice of Restoration. Drivers will then be required to pay the $100 restoration fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

When does my car registration expire?
A New Jersey car registration must be renewed annually. This applies to all commercial and non-commercial vehicles operated on NJ state roads. To help you with the process, the MVC will sent you a registration renewal notice in the mail prior to the expiration date on your registration certificate.

In addition, the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission offers three methods to renew vehicle registration: online, by mail or in person. Whichever you choose, make sure you have all the necessary documents and required payment before you get the car registration renewal process started.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

When does my ID card expire?
A New Jersey identification card is valid for four years. Residents can renew an expired ID card either in person or by mail, if temporarily residing out of state.

If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will send you a “Skip the Trip” package, which outlines all the requirements you must meet. If not, you need to make an in-person visit at your local NJ DMV and provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID verification requirements. You must also pay $24 renewal fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Drivers must change their address with the New Jersey MVC within four weeks from moving to a new address. The NJ DMV allows you to update your address on your DMV documents online, by phone or in person.

After you complete the official address change, you will be sent new address stickers which you can attach to the back of your existing registration card, certificate of title, drivers license or ID card.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Jersey

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
A Bill of Sale is used when the Certificate of Ownership or Certificate of Title is unavailable, for instance if you are transferring car title from a state that does not require vehicle titles. The Bill of Sale can also be used as additional proof of the transaction between the buyer and seller.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Jersey

When will I need to renew my license?
The New Jersey license to drive is valid for four years and must be renewed before its expiration date in person or by mail. The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission allows you to renew up to six months before your driving license expires. In addition, you will receive a renewal notice from the New Jersey MVC at least ninety days before your license expires reminding you to renew your drivers license.

Drivers can renew their NJ drivers license by mail or in person at a local NJ MVC.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Drivers applying for a drivers license replacement in person will be issued a duplicate driving license immediately. Drivers applying by mail must wait a minimum of ten business days for the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to process the payment and the documentation provided.

If your drivers license copy has not arrived at your out-of-state or out-of-country address within that time, contact the New Jersey DMV to check on the delivery status of your driver s license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Jersey Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
NJ drivers can check their New Jersey driving record for information on their drivers license status. Drivers can also check if they have met all the reinstatement requirements by visiting a local NJ MVC office or regional service center. To find the nearest NJ MVC, you can use our DMV locator.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Jersey

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
In New Jersey, the Motor Vehicle Commission handles both licensing and registration and titling matters. If you need to complete a registration-related service, use our DMV locator to find a MVC office near you. By clicking on your location of choice on the map, you will all the information about that particular DMV location, from office hours to acceptable methods of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If convicted of driving under the influence in New Jersey, the court might order you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle as part of your drivers license reinstatement requirements. The length of time during which you must keep the IID in your vehicle depends on the number of times you have been convicted of DUI.

If the court orders you to install an IID, you will receive instructions on how to obtain and install the device on your vehicle in your MVC suspension notice, including a list of state-approved IID vendors. Also, you must present proof of IID installation when reinstating your driving privileges with the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission. Please note that failure to get a court-ordered IID could add another year to your drivers license suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
New Jersey courts offer an easy-to-use online traffic ticket search system. All you need to do is enter your license plate number, court identification number and traffic ticket number, and follow the instructions provided.

If you are missing any of the aforementioned information, contact the relevant court and ask the clerk to provide you with any traffic or parking ticket information you need.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

Where can I get a new drivers license?
To obtain a new drivers license in New Jersey, drivers must visit a MVC Driver Testing Center. Upon arrival, drivers need to present certain documents required under the 6 Point ID Verification system as well as a current NJ provisional drivers license. Additionally, applicants must pay the $24 new drivers license fee. Check with the DMV near you for accepted methods of payment.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Drivers requesting a NJ car title replacement, can submit an application in person at a local MVC location or send the request by mail to the following address:

State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Special Title Section/Duplicate Titles P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666

When applying for a duplicate vehicle title, make sure to include payment for the $60 car title copy fee in the form of check or money order made out to the MVC.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents can obtain a New Jersey ID card in person at any NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Office across the state.

To get an NJ identification card, follow these steps:

  1. Visit a local NJ DMV location
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Submit a completed Application for Driver’s License (Form BA-208)
  4. Pay the $11 identification card replacement fee

At this time, NJ residents cannot apply for an ID card by mail or via an online service.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Jersey Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All drivers in New Jersey must get auto insurance to be able to legally operate a motor vehicle in the state. This includes passenger vehicles, RVs, motorcycles and mopeds. NJ motorists must choose one of the two available insurance policy:

  • Basic policy
  • Standard policy

Both meet the minimum liability insurance requirements, however, the basic policy is cheaper, while the standard policy offers more extensive coverage.

For more information: New Jersey Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are a NJ teen driver, you can either get a special learners permit or examination permit before moving on to a probationary drivers license.

When applying for a student learners permit, you must be accompanied by a licensed drivers ed instructor, as well as submit a letter of consent signed by a parent or legal guardian.

Drivers applying for an examination permit or a probationary drivers license are not required to get consent from a parent/guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Jersey

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Your DMV driving record may not always contain the most recent information concerning a recently received NJ traffic ticket. If you need to address the traffic citation immediately, use the online traffic ticket search system of the New Jersey courts to get all your traffic ticket information. Alternatively, you can contact your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office.

For more information: Your New Jersey Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Not all drivers have to pass a vision test when renewing expired driving license in New Jersey. However, the NJ MVC administers periodic vision exams for driving license renewals.

The NJ MVC requires drivers to have 20/50 visual acuity in at least one eye with or without corrective lenses. If a driver fails the vision exam, he/she must visit their doctor and complete a ST-14 form.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission will send you a notice in the mail at least ninety days before your license expires reminding you to renew your drivers license.

If you are eligible to renew by mail, the NJ MVC will also send you a “Skip the Trip” package, which outlines all the requirements you must meet. If not, you need to make an in-person visit at your local NJ DMV and provide documents that satisfy the 6 Point ID verification requirements.

However, keep in mind that even if you do not receive a renewal notice in the mail, it is your responsibility to check the status of your NJ driving license. To do so, you can request a copy of your New Jersey drivers record.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Jersey

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Yes, if you receive a ticket outside of New Jersey, it will be treated as if received in your home state. This means that points will be added to your driving record if convicted of a moving violation in another state. However, you have two options: pay the fine or contest the ticket in court.

For more information: New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Point System

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Yes, New Jersey has a point system in place to track traffic violations and convictions. The amount of points added to your drivers record depends on the violation you have committed. For instance, two points are assigned to your record for getting a speeding ticket, while reckless driving can result with up to five points being added to your DMV record.

To remove points from your NJ driving record, you can enroll in a state-approved defensive driving course. Successful completion of a traffic school could remove up to three points from your NJ drivers record depending on the driver s program you enroll in.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
All drivers convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs must take part in alcohol education and highway safety programs at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. NJ has IRDCs in each county, which offer alcohol awareness training for drivers.

Since the IRDC reports your progress in the programs to the NJ MVC, successful completion of the alcohol awareness program may speed up your drivers license reinstatement process. On the other hand, failure to comply with this requirement will lead to an increase in your license suspension and possible jail time.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Jersey

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, you will be required to complete a Replacement Application (Form BA-49) to replace vehicle registration in New Jersey. This application is only obtainable from the New Jersey DMV offices.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Yes, you must present proof of NJ vehicle insurance when replacing car title. Once you purchase auto insurance from a state-approved insurance provider, you will be issued a New Jersey Insurance Identification Card, which you must present when requesting a duplicate vehicle title. If you have lost or you have not received an insurance ID, you need to provide the NJ MVC with the name of your insurance company, as well as your insurance policy number.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Jersey

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, the NJ MVC will send you a registration renewal notice reminding you that your New Jersey vehicle registration is about to expire. The MVC notice to renew vehicle registration will indicate the renewal fee you need to pay, the renewal due date and it will provide either a PIN, if you are eligible to renew online or an enclosed envelope, if you are allowed to renew by mail.

Please note that even if you do not receive a notice in the mail, it is your responsibility to renew car registration before it expires. The NJ MVC does not charge late fees if you fail to renew your registration on time, however, you will be fined if caught driving with expired decals.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
No, New Jersey vehicle registrations are valid for one year, which means that your NJ car registration will expire one year after the initial registration or renewal. You will be reminded of the expiration date on your registration certificate by receiving a renewal notice from the NJ MVC.

Keep in mind that even if you do not receive a renewal notice in the mail, you are still responsible for renewing expired car registration on time, as failure to do so will result in fines and various penalties.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Jersey