Ohio Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you must complete a motorcycle drivers education course and motorcycle safety education course. However, if you are 18 years of age or older, you are not required to complete either course in order to take your road skills test to obtain a motorcycle license.

The courses are provided by Motorcycle Ohio. The courses they offer include the following:

  • Basic Rider Course
  • Basic Rider Course for Returning Rider
  • Basic Rider Course 2
  • Advanced Rider Course

The duration of each course varies. All of the courses have a mandatory fee of $50. Successful completion of either the Basic Rider Course or the Basic Rider Course for Returning Riders earns you the OH BMV skills test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement within 60 days of the course completion. In order to take either one of the advanced courses whether it is the Basic Rider Course 2 or the Advanced Rider Course, you must already have a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement prior to enrolling in the course. For more information on motorcycle safety education courses in Ohio contact Motorcycle Ohio at 1-800-83-RIDER.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
In Ohio, you are only required to wear a protective helmet while riding a motorcycle if you are 17 years of age or younger. The same rule applies if you are operating a moped or a scooter. The kind of protective helmet that meets state and federal standards and is required to be wornis stated in both the Motorcycle Operator Manual and the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws. Even though it is not required by law to wear a protective helmet in Ohio if you are 18 years of age or older, the OH BMV suggests wearing protective gear while in operation of a motorcycle as an extra safety precaution.

Motorcycle Ohio has established a club called “Saved by the Helmet” in efforts to increase public awareness about the life-saving value wearing protective helmets has on motorcycle riders. The club promotes people who have survived nearly fatal accidents as a result of not wearing a helmet to become members. Once they are members, they are encouraged toshare their experiences with others in order to persuade motorcycle riders in Ohio to voluntarily wear helmets. For additional information regarding the “Saved By the Helmet” club contact Motorcycle Ohio at 1-800-83-RIDER.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Some US states prohibit car registration renewal for certain periods of the years. In Ohio, car registrations expire either one year or two years after initial registration, and you may request a car registration renewal up to 90 days prior to the expiration date. In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Once you have successfully performed an address change on your Ohio drivers license, you may proceed with the required steps to update your change of address on your car registration as well. In order to perform an address change on your car registration, the Ohio BMV allows you to use four different methods: in person, online, by mail or by telephone.

You are required to notify the OH BMV of any change of address within 10 days after the change occurs. You may notify the OH BMV in writing on the Address Change Form provided by the OH BMV or through electronic means approved by the OH BMV. The information you provide should include your full name, date of birth, drivers license number, county of residence or place of business, Social Security Number or federal tax identification number of a business, and new address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
To keep the car insurance you have from your previous state of residence, contact your insurance company provider and inquire whether they offer their services nationwide or locally. If they are a nationally-recognized insurance provider, then you will have no problem transferring your car insurance from state to state. However, if you have a local insurance provider that is restricted to only local residents and vehicles, then you will have to cancel your car insurance and obtain a new one that is eligible within your new state of residence. It is recommended to contact the DMV in your new state of residency in order to inquire about options pertaining to car insurance within the state.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
The state of Ohio does not offer online renewal for commercial drivers licenses. In order to apply for a renewal of your commercial drivers license you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and complete the following steps:

  • Provide any updated information
  • If you wish to obtain or upgrade a HAZMAT endorsement, you must pass a written hazardous material test
  • Complete any additional testing required for renewal
Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to request a certified driving record online by visiting the website provided by the OH BMV site. In order to sign in you must provide your OH driver s license number and the last four digits of your Social Security Number or your full name, date of birth, and last four digits of your Social Security Number. Follow the steps as instructed and be prepared to pay any applicable fees. You can also request a certified driving record by calling the Automated Telephone System at 1-866-675-2837. If you wish to request a certified driving record in person, you can visit your local Regional Driver License Reinstatement Center or your local Deputy Registrar License Agency office and submit the OBMV Record Request form, provide documentation proving your identity, and pay the applicable fee.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers a written test that is required in order to be able to obtain a temporary drivers permit. The written test consists of two multiple-choice sections on Ohio s motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. For more information regarding the written testyou can contact the OH BMVat 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturday s 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
With an Ohio interstate commercial drivers license, you are legally authorized to drive across state lines. Non-excepted interstate commercial drivers license holders must meet federal medical requirements and must submit a medical card to the OH BMV. Excepted interstate commercial drivers who drive across state lines do not need to meet federal medical requirements. For more information regarding OH interstate and intrastate commercial drivers licenses, you can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday-Friday 7 a.m. 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. 2 p.m.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
No, no one else is allowed to apply for a car registration renewal for you. The state of Ohio only allows the owner whose name is on the car title to apply for a car registration renewal. If you are not the owner, you must have the power of attorney for the vehicle. If the vehicle is leased, the registrant is required to present the lease agreement with the power of attorney. In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, boats in Ohio need to be registered so that they may be legally operated. In order to register your boat, you will need to:

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Ohio

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
In Ohio, most of the licensing and registration procedures required for automobiles and motorcycles apply the same for those wanting to operate a moped. If you want to become licensed to operate a moped and you are 14 or 15 years of age, you must pass a vision test, a written knowledge test and a road skills test. This rule also applies if you are older than 15 years of age and do not hold any type of valid drivers license. In order to legally operate a motor scooter in OH, you must be at least 16 years of age and hold a valid drivers license with a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
In the state of Ohio, you are only required to attend traffic school if you ve received court or judge s order to do so. Traffic school in OH is referred to as a remedial driving instruction course. The purpose of the remedial driving instruction course is to grant a two-point credit against the total amount of points charged within a two-year period in Ohio. The course is designed for those who wish to have their citations dismissed. Participating in the course will not remove or delete points from your driving record but it will keep further points from being added to your driving record due to a traffic violation.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
In order to figure out if you will need to cancel your car insurance if you are moving out ofstate, you will need to directly contact your insurance company provider. Depending on which company you have obtained coverage with, you may be allowed to transfer your car insurance to the new state you are moving to. However, there are some car insurance companies that are restricted to Ohio drivers and vehicles only, and you will not be able to transfer the coverage out of state. It is recommended to contact the DMV in your new state of residency in order to inquire about options pertaining to car insurance within the state. Additionally, it is important to inquire about your new state s minimum liability coverage requirements to make sure you purchase the correct type of coverage.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
In the state of Ohio, it is not required to file a police report if your drivers license was lost or stolen in order to request a drivers license replacement. However, it is recommended to file a police report when dealing with a lost/stolen drivers license in order to avoid identity fraud. In order to file a police report, you can visit your local law enforcement office and speak to an officer about the incident.

For added security, you may contact your local OH BMV office to flag their record for any suspicious fraudulent activity. You can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles directly at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
In the state of Ohio, it is not required to file a police report in order to obtain a car registration replacement. However, it is recommended that you file a police report in the event that your car registration is stolen in order to avoid any illegal use. To file a police report, you can report your car registration stolen at the nearest police station. Be prepared to provide proper form of identification, which is required in order to fill out a formal police report. It is suggested to file a police report as soon as you become aware of your stolen car registration. Having a police report filed can help in the event that a law enforcement officer stops you, or if you are in an accident and you don t have your registration on hand. You will also be protected from any unlawful activity regarding your vehicle.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
The state of Ohio does not require for you to return your license plate if you are moving out of state. As an OH resident, it is your responsibility to register your vehicle to the state you re moving to. Each state has its own regulations placed in order to transfer out-of-state car registrations. The state your moving to may require a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection in order to determine whether your vehicle has been reported stolen. Transfer fees vary depending on what state you re moving to.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
If you are under the age of 18, you are required to complete an approved driver s ed course in order to be eligible to obtain an OH drivers license. This course is provided by the following:

  • Local High School s
  • Licensed Commercial Driver Training School s
  • Driver education conduction by the military

Once you obtain a driver s ed certification, you must present it to the examiner when you appear to take the road skills test in order to be issued a drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
In the state of Ohio, you are required to submit your original car title if found after you ve been issued a duplicate car title. If you ve been issued an OH duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires that the original title be immediately returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation. In order to inquire about whether you are required to turn in your damaged car title to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title officeyou can contact the Ohio BMV directly at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
You are encouraged to submit your damaged car registration so that it can be destroyed. In order to obtain a car registration replacement, visit to your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and present a completed Duplicate Registration Card, Transfer, Replacement Plates / Validation Sticker application, acceptable proof of identification, and be prepared to pay the applicable fee of $4.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, in the state of Ohio a motorized scooter is required to be registered in order to be legally operated on public roadways. Once you have purchased the title of a motorized scooter, you will need to obtain insurance and properly register the scooter at your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.You may be subject to pay any applicable fees. You can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268 for more information regarding registering motorized scooters. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Once your registration is purchased, you will be issued a motorcycle plate, which must remain fastened to the rear of your vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
In the state of Ohio, only vehicles that are up to 25 years old and up to 10,000 Gross Vehicle Weight Rating are subject to emissions testing and only in the following counties:

  • Cuyahoga
  • Geauga
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Portage
  • Summit

For more information regarding emissions testing, you are encouraged to contact E-Check at 1-800-CAR-TEST or the Ohio EPA at 614-644-3059.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
All licensed drivers in the state of Ohio are required to have car insurance that meets the minimum liability requirements in accordance to Ohio state laws. The minimum liability coverage requirements include bodily injury liability and property damage liability. If you fail to meet these requirements, you face drivers license suspension and are subject to additional penalties. Other penalties include losing your license plate and losing your vehicle registration. In order to reinstate the aforementioned documents, you will need to purchase and maintain minimum liability coverage requirements. You will also be subject to paying any applicable reinstatement fees that may vary.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you are an eligible veteran, you may request a veteran designation to be put on your Ohio ID card at the time of application. The stamp is place on the lower right of your OH ID card and provides recognition of your military service. You will not be charged any additional fees when requesting a veteran designation but normal OH ID card fees still apply. You must pay a fee of $8.50 for a new or renewed OH ID card. If you wish to apply for a duplicate or replacement OH ID card, you must pay a fee of $7.50.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Drivers can obtain a copy of the PDF version of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws online via the OH BMV website or you can pick up a physical copy at any Deputy Registrar Office location.The manual is available under the Forms and Publications for Download section on the site. The complete manual consists of 12 chapters and covers information on topics including:

  • Driver Licensing & Vehicle Registration
  • Commercial Driver Licensing
  • Motorcycle & Motorized Bicycle Regulations
  • Traffic Laws
  • Signs, Signals, and Pavement Markings

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Ohio residents are required to pay a fine if they receive traffic ticket fines. The method through which you will be able to pay for your traffic or parking ticket depends on what county you were issued the citation by. You will need to refer back to your OH traffic or parking ticket for specific instructions on how to pay your ticket.

Paying a traffic or parking ticket is an admission of guilt to the violation. By paying the ticket, you are waiving your right to trial in traffic court and you may be assessed points to your OH driving record. Other consequences for an admission of guilt to a violation are higher insurance premiums for your vehicle and points accumulation that can result in a suspended OH driver s license.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Ohio

How can I renew my drivers license?
To renew your driver s licensein Ohio, you must proceed with the following steps:

  1. Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.
  2. Provide your current or expired (not longer than six months) drivers license.
  3. Pay standard drivers license renewal fee of $25.75.

If you do not have your OH drivers license on hand at the time of renewal, the documents you must provide need to show proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship and proof of residency in order to successfully renew your drivers license. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
In order to request a car registration renewal, the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone or by mail.

In Person

Online

  • Visit the online link provided by the OH BMV.
  • Proceed with the steps as instructed in order to complete your car registration renewal.

Telephone

  • You can begin your car registration renewal process by calling 1-866-675-2837

By Mail

  • Mail out the form and any acceptable identification document with your Social Security Number to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor VehiclesATTN: License Verification Unit P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216-6784

You must also be prepared to pay the applicable car registration renewal fee of $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
If your car title shows a lien, you must contact the titling office and request that the lien holder send you the certificate of title. You will also need to submit a copy of the loan contract or security agreement to the OH titling office. In addition, you must pay a $15 lien notation fee.

If the loan on your vehicle has been paid, the lien holder will send you the title certificate with a stamp from a clerk of courts declaring the lien on the title released.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
If you are an Ohio resident and you are moving out of state, it is your responsibility to register your vehicle to the state you re moving to. Each state has its own regulations placed in order to transfer out of state car registrations. The state your moving to may require a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection in order to determine whether your vehicle has been reported stolen. Transfer fees vary depending on what state you re moving to. In order to find out the exact steps you need to take in order to transfer your OH car registration out of state, contact the state s DMV by visiting or calling the local DMV office.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
To apply for a commercial driver s license in Ohio, you are required to be at least 18 years of age and have a valid OH drivers license. If you re eligible to apply, you need to complete the following steps at your local OH BMV:

  • Present proof of Social Security Number
  • Meet minimum medical standards established by federal and state rules & regulations
  • Pass a vision test
  • Pass a written knowledge exam
  • Pass a CDL road skills test
  • Pay all necessary fees

If you re applying for a commercial drivers license with a HAZMAT endorsement, you are required to complete the TSA HAZPRINT application, have your fingerprints collected, and take a security threat assessment at an approved Transportation Security Administration (TSA) office.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
In order to apply for a disabled person-parking placard in the state of Ohio, you must complete the following steps:

There is also the option to:

  • Mail the application to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle P.O. Box 16521 Columbus, OH 43216-6521

  • Present prescription from health care provider
  • Pay processing fee of $3.50

In order to apply for a disabled license plate in the state of Ohio, you must complete the following steps:

OR

  • Mail application to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle P.O. Box 16521 Columbus, OH 43216-6521

  • Submit Ohio Certificate of Title Memorandum or valid car registration

You must be prepared to pay any applicable fees, which may vary. There are no additional fees for stock disability plates.

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in Ohio

How do I apply for a drivers license?
Once you have completed Ohio s Graduated Driver Licensing Program and are at least 18 years of age, you are eligible to obtain a full drivers license.

If you are a new resident of the state of Ohio, you must complete the following steps in order to obtain an OH drivers license:

  1. Get a copy of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws and study it. The booklet is available for download online or you can pick up a physical copy at your local driver examination station.
  2. Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and take a vision exam. No appointment is necessary. Just make sure to check the days and hours of operation for your local BMV.
  3. If you are a new resident of OH and have a valid out-of-state license, it is not required for you to take the driving test. However, the examiner may require you to take one if you need a license restriction.
  4. Must provide proof of full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship and proof of residency.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
The state of Ohio offers a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC). In order to be eligible to apply for an OH learners permit you must:

  • Be at least 15 years and six months old
  • Neverhave been previously licensed to operate a vehicle OR you are a new resident of OH who has been licensed in another state, but your license has been expired for longer than six months

In order to be issued a Temporary Permit you must:

  1. Visit your local Deputy Registrar Office to submit application. You must present the following forms of identification:
  • Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of Residency
  1. If you re under 18 years of age, you must have a parent or legal guardian present in order to sign the application form. This person is also required to present two forms of identification
  2. Provide medical information & history
  3. Pay an application fee of $22.00. If your current driver licensehas been expired for more than six months and within two years, the application fee is $25.00.
  4. Pass a vision exam
  5. Pass a written test covering OH motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs

Once you have completed all the preceding steps, you will be issued a learners permit. As a permit holder, you must have the application containing the front and back data along with your photo driver ID at all times while in operation of a vehicle. If you are a permit holder who is under the age of 16, an Ohio licensed parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor must supervise you while driving. If you are a permit holder who is 16 years of age or older, a licensed adult from any state who is 21 years or older can accompany you while driving.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
To apply for an Ohio motorcycle license, visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and complete the following steps:

If you re 18 years of age or older:

  • Pass a motorcycle road skills test.
  • Pass a written knowledge exam.
  • Present required documents showing proof of identity.
  • Pay any applicable fees.

If you re 16 or 17 and wish to obtain a Motorcycle Temporary Permit

  • Pass a written knowledge test.
  • Present two valid forms of identification.
  • Have a parent or legal guardian present to co-sign application.
  • Pay any applicable fees.

With an OH Motorcycle Temporary Permit, you must wear a helmet and eye protection at all times while in control of a motorized vehicle. You are restricted to only riding during daylight hours and must have no passengers on board while driving. You are not authorized to ride in congested roadways or interstate highways. An OH Motorcycle Temporary Permit is valid for the duration of one year from the date of issuance.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
In order to change your address on your Ohio car insurance, you are required to contact your car insurance company. Depending on which autocoverage provider you have, there are several ways in which you can contact them in order to perform an address change including:

  • By phone
  • In person
  • Online

For more information regarding specific documentation required to successfully update your address on your car insurance, contact your car insurance company directly.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

How do I change my address on my car registration?
In order to perform an address change on your car registration in Ohio, the OH BMV allows you to use four different methods: in person, online, by mail, or by telephone.

In Person

Online

  • Visit the online link provided by the OH BMV
  • Log in to access OH BMV records
    • Enter OH drivers license number
    • Enter Date of Birth
    • Enter first letter of your last name
    • Enter last four digits of Social Security number
  • Proceed with the steps as instructed in order to complete address change to your car registration

By Mail

  • Complete the Address Change Form or written statement
    • Written statements should include full name, date of birth, OH drivers license number, previous address and new address.
  • Mail out the Address Change Form or written statement to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor VehiclesATTN: License Verification Unit P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216-6784

Telephone

  • Call Vehicle Information Services at 1-800-589-8247
  • Provide assigned license plate number
  • Proceed with steps to change your address on your vehicle registration as instructed

You are required to notify the OH BMV of any change of address within 10 days after the change occurs. You may notify the OH BMV in writing on the form provided by the OH BMV or through electronic means approved by the OH BMV. The information you provide should include your full name, date of birth, drivers license number, county of residence or place of business, Social Security Number or federal tax identification number of a business, and new address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
In order to change your address on your Ohio commercial drivers license, you must visit a local DMV office that addresses CDL-related services. You will be required to show proper forms of identification, proof of address change, and pay applicable fees that may vary. In order to avoid any penalties, it is suggested to update your address on any licensing issued by the OH BMV.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
In order to change your address on your Ohio drivers license, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers three different methods: in person, online or by mail.

In Person

Online

  • Visit the online link provided by the OH BMV.
  • Log in to access OH BMV records
    • Enter OH drivers license number
    • Enter date of birth
    • Enter first letter of your last name
    • Enter last four digits of Social Security number
  • Proceed with the steps as instructed in order to complete address change.

By Mail

  • Complete the Address Change Form or written statement
    • Written statements should include full name, date of birth, OH drivers license number, previous address, and new address.
  • Mail out the Address Change Form or written statement to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor VehiclesATTN: License Verification Unit P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216-6784

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

How do I change my address on my ID card?
The steps to change your address on your Ohio ID card are similar to those required to change your address on your OH driver s license. In order to change your address on your OH ID card, the OH BMV offers three different methods: in person, online or by mail.

In Person

Online

  • Visit the online link provided by the OH BMV.
  • Log in to access OH BMV records
    • Enter OH ID card number
    • Enter Date of Birth
    • Enter first letter of your last name
    • Enter last four digits of Social Security number
  • Proceed with the steps as instructed in order to complete address change

Mail:

  • Complete the Address Change Form or written statement
    • Written statements should include full name, date of birth, OH ID card number, previous address, and new address.
  • Mail out the Address Change Form or written statement to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor VehiclesATTN: License Verification Unit P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216-6784

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
In order to change your name on your car insurance, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Visit the office of your insurance provider.
  2. Provide legal documentation proving your name change such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.
  3. Provide your insurance policy number.
  4. Provide a description of your vehicle.

Depending on your insurance provider, you may be able to complete the process by phone or through the provider s website.

How do I change my name on my car registration?
In order to perform a name change on your car registration in the state of Ohio, you are required to visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and provide the following documents:

  • Certificate of title
  • Show proof of name change

(Marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order)

  • Pay the $4.50 standard fee for replacement of car registration

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
In order to perform a name change on an Ohio drivers license, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and be prepared to submit the following documents:

  • Current Ohio drivers license
  • Marriage certificate/license
  • Divorce decree
  • Social Security card

After completing the aforementioned steps, you will be required to pay the standard fee of $24.50 for driver s license replacements. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
The steps required to perform a name change on an Ohio ID card are similar to those required for updating a drivers license. In order to perform a name change on an OH ID card, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and be prepared to submit the following documents:

  • Current Ohio ID card
  • Marriage certificate/license
  • Divorce decree
  • Social Security card

After completing the aforementioned steps, pay the standard fee of $7.50 for ID card replacements. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
To perform a name change, you can contact the Social Security Administration either in person or by mail. The documents you need in order to successfully complete a name change include:

  • Completed application for a Social Security card
  • Proof of name change

(Marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order)

  • Proof of identity

(Ohio drivers license, U.S. passport or Ohio ID card)

  • Proof of citizenship

(U.S. Birth certificate, citizenship certificate or naturalization certificate)

All documents must be original or certified copies. You can either mail or present these documents to your local Social Security Administration office. The SSA will mail you a new Social Security card within 10 business days.You are required toreport your name change with the SSA before you change your name with the Ohio BMV. For more information, visit the Social Security Administration website.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
To file a complaint if you believe someone has illegally accessed your Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles driving record, you are urged to contact the OH BMV directly. You can call the OH BMVat 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. You can also opt to send out a written request. Written complaints can be sent to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If your original Ohio car registration was stolen, it is recommended that you file a police report in order to avoid any illegal use. In order to file a police report, you can report your stolen car registration at the nearest police station.Be prepared to provide proper form of identification, which is required in order to fill out a formal police report. It is suggested to file a police report as soon as you become aware of your stolen car registration. Having a police report filed can help in the event that a law enforcement officer stops you or if you are in an accident and you don t have your registration on hand. You will also be protected from any unlawful activity regarding your vehicle.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If your original Ohio car title was stolen, it is recommended that you file a police report in order to avoid any illegal use. To file a police report, you can report your stolen car title at the nearest police station. Be prepared to provide proper form of identification, which is required in order to fill out a formal police report. It is suggested to file a police report as soon as you become aware of your stolen car title. Having a police report filed can help in the event that a law enforcement officer stops you or if you are in an accident and you don t have your registration on hand. You will also be protected from any unlawful activity regarding your vehicle.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Drivers in Ohio who would like to obtain a copy of their driving record can request one in person, by mail, by telephone, or online.

In Person

If you wish to request a copy of your driving record in-person you have two options:

  • Visit your local Regional Driver License Reinstatement Center
  • Complete and turn in a OBMV Record Request form
  • Provide proper documentation proving identity such as OH drivers license or ID card
  • Pay a fee of $5 for each driving record request

OR

By Mail

If you wish to request a copy of your driving record by mail, you are required to complete and mail a OBMV Record Request form with all your correct information.

You can mail the form to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

You will also be required to pay a fee for requesting a copy of your driving record by mail. The fee is $5 and you are required to make a check payable to “Ohio State Treasurer.” Once your request has been submitted, allow 14 to 21 days for it to process.

Online

If you wish to request a copy of your online driving record, visit the website provided by the OH BMV site. Follow the steps as instructed and be prepared to pay any applicable fees.

By Telephone

If you wish to request a copy of your driving record by telephone, you can call the Automated Telephone System at 1-866-675-2837.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If you wish to obtain a duplicate ID card in the state of Ohio, visit your local OH BMV and present your current ID card. The standard fee for a duplicate ID card is $7.50. The ID cards that OH provides are digitized. There is no minimum age required in order to obtain or renew an OH ID card. In OH, you are not allowed to hold an ID card at the same time as an OH standard drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
In order to obtain a hardship license in the state of Ohio, generally you must be a minor who is 14 or 15 years of age. The minor would be the only licensed driver in the household. The hardship license is only valid to use within a 10-mile radius from the drivers home. In special cases, a driver may be eligible to obtain a hardship license if they hold a suspended drivers license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are on active military duty outside of Ohio or the country, the OH BMV allows you to obtain duplicate license while out of state. To request a drivers license copy, order the out of state renewal package by calling the Telecommunications department at 614-752-7600. You can also visit the website of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles and follow the instruction provided to replace your OH drivers license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
If you ve been assessed with traffic ticket fines in Ohio, you can choose to pay traffic ticket fines upfront or you can dispute the ticket and request a trial. If you choose to pay traffic ticket fines, it is considered an admission of guilt and you will be assessed points on your driver s license. If you choose to dispute your traffic ticket fines and request a trial, you will be given a court date in which you will need to appear in front of a judge to argue your case. If the judge declares your traffic ticket fines to be dismissed, then you will not be subjected to pay the fine or be assessed with any points on your driver s license. If the ticket is not dismissed after you ve disputed it in court, you must pay the traffic ticket fine, as well as any associated court fees.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
After paying the drivers license reinstatement fee and providing the required documentation, the OH DMV takes at least three days to process your request. If you have not received your restored drivers license within two weeks’ time, call the OH BMV toll free number or make an in-person visit at one of their offices.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Drivers in Ohio who would like to obtain a copy of someone else sdriving record can request one in person, by mail, by telephone or online. The same procedure applies for each method. The only additional document that needs to be completed and turned in is the Notarized Written Consent Release of Personal Information form granting the written consent of the person. This form must be completed, notarized, and submitted along with the along with the OBMV Record Request form in order to successfully request someone else s driving record.

Present proper documentation proving your identity such as your OH drivers license or ID card. Also, be prepared to pay any applicable fees that vary depending on which request method you use.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
To obtain a duplicate car registration in Ohio, your original title must have been lost, stolen or destroyed. Only the owner may apply for a duplicate car registration.In order to obtain a duplicate car registration, you must complete the following steps:

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
In the event that your original car title is lost, stolen, or damaged, you may obtain an OH duplicate car title. You are only allowed to obtain a duplicate car title in the county where you were issued your original car title. In order to obtain a duplicate car title you must proceed with the following steps:

If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
In order to obtain a duplicate drivers license in Ohio, you must take the following steps:

  • Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office
  • Present one primary document or one secondary document. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:
    • U.S. Birth Certificate
    • Social Security card
    • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
    • Voter Registration Card
  • Sign a statement that your original license was lost or stolen
  • Pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Before obtaining a salvage car title in Ohio, the Ohio State Highway Patrol must complete an inspection of the vehicle in order to verify the ownership of all parts and to review all required documentation.Once the inspection is completed, you must visit your local Ohio County Clerk of Courts office, present your original car title, and apply for a salvage car title.

A vehicle is considered salvaged if it has undergone severe damage or been altered in such a way that it does not resemble the same vehicle stated in the title. These changes can be caused by a flood, fire, accident or vandalism. A salvage title is required when an insurance company determines the car is not economically worth repairing.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How do I obtain car registration?
In order to obtain car registration for your new vehicle in the state of Ohio, you must proceed with the following steps:

  • You must be the owner of the vehicle with power of attorney; if the vehicle is leased, you must present lease agreement and power of attorney.
  • Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office
  • Present your vehicle s original Certificate of Title or Memorandum Certificate of Title
  • Present one documents to prove identity such as:
  • Pay all applicable fees (Fees for new registration will be prorated, if applicable)

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
Depending on the offense you committed, the procedure to reinstate your suspended drivers license as a Habitual Traffic Offender will vary. To find out the exact steps you need to take, you can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268. The OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date. Completing the necessary requirements in a timely manner will allow the OH BMV to avoid any unnecessary delays and restore your full driving privileges once the suspension has come to an end.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If you refuse to submit a blood, breath or urine test in the state of Ohio, your license will be suspended for one year and confiscated immediately. You may petition the court to grant you limited driving privileges. To petition the court, file the request in the municipal, county, or juvenile court. In order to renew your suspended drivers license, you will need to complete the reinstatement requirements.

You may have to complete one or more of the following requirements in order to fully reinstate your OH drivers license:

  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Complete a driving course
  • Retake written knowledge and road skills tests
  • File and maintain SR22 car insurance for 3-5 years
  • Pay reinstatement fee
  • Show proof of insurance by forwarding the proper documentation to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

The OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date. Completing these requirements in a timely manner will allow the OH BMV to avoid any unnecessary delays and restore your full driving privileges once the suspension has come to an end.

To find out what your reinstatement requirements are and to apply for reinstatement, drivers should visit their local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
In order to reinstate suspended drivers license in Ohio, you will have to fulfill reinstatement requirements, which vary depending on the type of suspension you hold. The OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date.

Depending on what type of suspension you re under, you may have to complete one or more of the following requirements in order to fully reinstate your OH drivers license:

  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Complete a driving course
  • Retake written knowledge and road skills tests
  • File and maintain SR22 car insurance for three to five years
  • Pay reinstatement fees which vary and are subject to change

You can pay reinstatement in person at your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office, by phone, online, or by mail. All reinstatement requirement documents must be mailed to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

 

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
If you receive traffic ticket fines in Ohio, depending on the county that you have been assessed the ticket by; there are a number of ways in which you could resolve it. If you chose to dispute your traffic ticket fine, you will need to request a trial for your ticket and argue your case in front of a judge. If the ticket is not dismissed after you ve disputed it in court, you will be subjected to pay the traffic ticket fine as well as any associated court fees.

In order to inquire about how you can pay for your traffic ticket fine, you can contact your local county clerk office. Upon payment of your traffic ticket fine, you will also be assessed points based on the type of violation you committed. In order to be granted point credits, which would reduce the amount of points you ll be assessed with, you can take an approved remedial driving instruction course.

For more information: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Point System

How do I renew my driving permit?
The Graduated Driver Licensing system in Ohio requires you to hold a temporary learners permit for at least six months. If you are under the age of 18 and you have held a temporary permit for a period of six months or longer, you are then eligible to obtain a probationary drivers license. As a probationary license holder, you are not permitted to operate a vehicle with more than one person who is not a family member, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

How do I renew my ID card?
In order to renew your Ohio ID card, you must visit your local OH BMV and present your expired ID card. If you do not have your expired ID card, you must present the required documentation to show proof of your full name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency. The same initial fee of $8.50 applies for renewal of an OH ID card. There is no minimum age required in order to obtain or renew an OH ID card. In OH, you are not allowed to hold an ID card at the same time as an OH standard drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The Ohio BMV has a special procedure in place for those who are active duty in the military and are stationed elsewhere but wish to renew their OH drivers license. The OH BMV offers military personnel mail renewals by sending out a mail renewal packet. Once the mail renewal packet is received, you must complete it and return it to the OH BMV. The OH BMV also forgives those who have expired drivers licenses of more than six months, but apply for renewal not more than six months after their date of discharge from military duty. The standard drivers license renewal fee of $25.75 still applies.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
As an Ohio commercial drivers license holder, you are required to keep your medical report up to date.You will need to visit a licensed physician and submit a Medical Examiner’s Certificate.The certificate is valid up to two years. The certificate may be submitted to the OH BMV via mail at Ohio BMV CDL/Out-of-State Processing P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, Ohio 43216-6784, via fax at 614-308-5181, or via email at cdl@dps.ohio.gov. If you fail to meet the minimum medical standards in order to obtain a commercial drivers license for either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce, you are required to apply for a waiver.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
To renew your Ohio motorcycle license, present your current valid license or your expired license of no longer than six months to your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. If additional changes are required such as change of name or change of address, then you must present acceptable additional documentation. If you do not have your motorcycle license at the time of renewal, present a primary, secondary, and proof of residency document in order to be issued a renewal. The OH BMV only accepts original documents or a copy of original certification by issuing authorities. If you fail to provide required documents, the state of Ohio will deny renewal of your motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in Ohio

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are a non-United States citizen, you are required to take the same steps as citizens when applying for a drivers license replacement. To successfully apply for a drivers license replacement, you must:

  • Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.
  • Present ONE primary document or ONE secondary document. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:
    • Birth Certificate
    • Social Security card
    • Voter Registration Card
    • Naturalization Document
  • Sign a statement that your original license was lost or stolen.
  • Pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50.

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
For options on how to replace drivers license if it was lost out of state, you can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

In order to request an OH driver s license replacement, you must provide the OH BMV with the required documents, you must also sign a statement that your original license was lost or stolen and pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment. The OH BMV does not currently offer online requests for driver s license replacements.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
If you are a new resident to Ohio and you wish to transfer your out-of-state car title to the state of Ohio, review the following steps:.

  • Visit your local Ohio County Clerk of Courts office.
  • Present your vehicle s original Certificate of Title.
  • Present an Out-of-State Inspection Form.

The Out-of-State Inspection form is offered at any license agency or some car dealerships. The inspection will verify the year, make, model, body type and manufacturer’s serial number or vehicle identification number.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
In order to request a car title transfer in Ohio, you must provide a Certificate of Title. In the event that you have lost your original car title, you must visit your local Ohio County Clerk of Courts office and fill out an Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle in order to obtain a duplicate title. After completing the required forms and paying the $15 duplicate title fee, you are required to take your duplicate car title and continue the process to transfer your car title. The steps required to successfully complete a car title transferare as follows:

  • Complete a Bill of Sale
  • Write the new buyers name, address, and the price on the back of current title
  • Complete the odometer certification area stating the mileage
  • Complete and notarize the seller s notary section
  • Have the buyer acknowledge the mileage by providing his signature and printing his name

Once you have complete the aforementioned steps, you can release the vehicle title to the buyer, and he or she is responsible for transferring car titles.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How do I transfer my car title?
In order to transfer car titles in Ohio, you must locate your current car title and proceed with the following steps:

  • Complete a Bill of Sale
  • Write the new buyers name, address, and the price on the back of current title
  • Complete the odometer certification area stating the mileage
  • Complete and notarize the seller s notary section
  • Have the buyer acknowledge the mileage by providing his signature and printing his name

Once you have complete the aforementioned steps, you can release the car title to the person you re transferring your title to, and he or she is required to complete the title transaction at an Ohio County Clerk of Courts office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Residents of Ohio who own a recreational vehicle (RV) and would like to request a car title transfer must go through the same process as other vehicles in the state. In order to transfer vehicle titles in Ohio, locate your current vehicle title and proceed with the following steps:

  • Complete a Bill of Sale.
  • Write the new buyers name, address, and the price on the back of current title.
  • Complete the odometer certification area stating the mileage.
  • Complete and notarize the seller s notary section.
  • Have the buyer acknowledge the mileage by providing his or her signature and printing his or her name.

Once you have completed the aforementioned steps, you can release the vehicle title to the buyer, who is now responsible for completing an official car title transfer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
If you are a military member stationed in Ohio and you wish to obtain a motorcycle license in the state of Ohio you will have to follow the same standard procedures. Visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and complete the following steps:

  • Pass a motorcycle road skills test
  • Pass a written knowledge exam
  • Present required documents showing proof of identity
  • Pay any applicable fees

However, if you are a military member and you are stationed outside of Ohio, Motorcycle Ohio will accept a Basic Rider Course completed through the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. For more information regarding steps on how to obtain an OH motorcycle license for military personnel stationed outside of OH contact Motorcycle Ohio at 1-800-83-RIDER.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

How does the DMV check my vision?
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires for drivers to pass a vision exam when filling out a driver s license application. The vision exam tests for acuity, color perception, and horizontal field.The vision screening determines whether you meet the acceptable vision requirements based by the American Optometric Association, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, and the American Medical Association recommended for licensed drivers in OH. If you fail to pass the vision exam, the deputy registrar will refer you to an eye doctor for correction or to an examining station for a second vision exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The amount of time you need to have an OH learner permit is no less than six months before you are eligible to complete a road skills test and obtain a driver s license. However, if you are under the age of 18 and you have held a learners permit for six months or longer, you will be issued a probationary drivers license.While in possession of an OH drivers permit, you are required to complete 24 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of driving with a certified instructor. You must also complete 50 hours of driving with at least 10 hours of driving at night. A parent or legal guardian must certify the 50 hours.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
In order to inquire about how long it will take to receive your Ohio replacement car title, you can contact the Ohio BMV directly at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. In order to successfully request a replacement car title, you will be required to present a proper form of identification such as your OH driver s license and present a completed Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle form to your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office. Additionally, be prepared to pay the duplicate car title fee of $15. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to theOhio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
If you are stopped in the state of Ohio for drunk driving and you refuse to take the sobriety test requested by the law enforcement agency, your drivers license will be taken from you, and suspension will take place immediately. Depending on your drivers license history, your license may be suspended for a period ranging from one year to five years. You may petition the court to grant you limited driving privileges. In order to petition the court, you may file the request in the municipal, county, or juvenile court.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Once you have completed your application in order to obtain an Ohio ID card, your new ID card will be mailed out to the address you provided within seven to 10 days. In the meantime, the OH BMV will provide you with a temporary document for identification. In OH, you are not allowed to hold an ID card at the same time as an OH standard drivers license. For more information regarding obtaining an OH ID cardyou can contact the OH BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
In the state of Ohio, once you have accumulated a minimum of 12 points on your driving record within a two-year period, your drivers license will be automatically suspended. A 12-point suspension will last for the duration of six months, which begins to take effect the 20th day after the notice has been mailed. In order to reinstate an OH suspended drivers license based on an accumulation of 12 points or more, you must complete all of the reinstatement requirements which include:

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
In the state of Ohio, the remedial driver course does not delete or remove any points from the Ohio driving record. The purpose of the remedial course is to grant a two-point credit against the total number of points being charged within the span of two years. You re allowed to complete the remedial course once every three weeks. You are only limited to receiving a maximum of five credits within a lifetime. You must fulfill a minimum of eight hours in the course in order for it to count as completed.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
The standard fee for car registration replacements in Ohio is $4.50. In order to perform a name change on your car registration in the state of Ohio, you are required to visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and provide the following documents:

  • Certificate of title
  • Show proof of name change

(Marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order)

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
In the state of Ohio, you are not allowed to change a name on a car title if the change was due to a marriage, divorce, or court order. The only way the title on your call will update is when the vehicle is transferred and a new title is issued.

You are, however, allowed to change your nameon your OH ID card, OH drivers license, or car registration. In order to perform a name change for, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and be prepared to submit the required documentation to prove your identification and your name change. You are also required to pay the applicable fees. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The standard fee for driver s license replacements in Ohio is $24.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

In order to perform a name change on an Ohio driver s license, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and be prepared to submit the required documentation to prove your identification and your name change. Acceptable documents include:

  • Proof of name change

(Marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order)

  • Proof of identity

(Ohio drivers license, U.S. passport, Ohio ID card)

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
An Ohio commercial drivers license expires every four years on your birthday. You ll have up to six months after the expiration date to renew your commercial drivers license without having to retake any examinations. In order to apply for a renewal of your commercial drivers license you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and complete the following steps:

  • Provide any update information
  • If you wish to obtain or upgrade a HAZMAT endorsement, you must pass a written hazardous material test
  • Complete any additional testing required for renewal
How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
You are eligible to apply for renewal anytime prior to your current Ohio drivers license expiration date or up to six months after your driver s license is expired. If you choose to renew your drivers license more than 90 days before it expires, your renewed OH drivers license will be valid for three years instead of the usual four.

The OH BMV highly recommends applying for renewal of your OH drivers license no later than six months after your license expires. If your expireddrivers license surpasses the six-month expiration period, you will no longer be allowed to renew your drivers license and you will subjected to applying for an OH temporary permit. Upon applying for renewal at your OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office, you will be required to pass a vision exam and pay the standard drivers license renewal fee of $25.75.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
In the event that a family member dies and leaves their car to you in the state of Ohio, you may proceed with the following steps in order to request an OH car title transfer:

  • Visit your local Ohio County Clerk of Courts office.
  • Apply for Surviving Spouse Certificate of Title or car title transfer.
  • Provide the original car title.
  • Depending on the county, you may be required to provide a certified copy of the death certificate.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
If you do not renew your car registration on time in the state of Ohio, you will be subject to paying an additional late fee. A late fee of $10 will be assessed to any vehicle registration renewal more than 30 days after the expiration date. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. Car registration renewal fees in OH vary depending on the type of vehicle. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
No, if you file a police report on your lost/stolen drivers license the replacement fee will not be waived. You will be required to pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50. The Ohio BMV does not require you to file police reports in order to obtain a drivers license replacement, therefore, no discounts or waivers will be granted.

It is, however, recommended to file a police report when dealing with a lost/stolen drivers license in order to avoid identity fraud. In order to file a police report, you can visit your local law enforcement office and speak to an officer about the incident. For added security, you may contact your local OH BMV office to flag their record for any suspicious fraudulent activity. You can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles directly at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Ohio state law requires all drivers who have been in an accident to report all damages to the OH BMV. You are required to provide your name, address and vehicle registration number to all the parties involved in the accident. OH drivers must report all accident damages to their car insurance providers in order to make claims for financial coverage.

Minimum insurance requirements in Ohio include bodily injury liability and property damage liability. If someone was injured or if there was at least $400 in property damage and the driver or owner of one of the vehicles involved in the car accident doesn t have car insurance coverage, you are required to file a crash report with the OH BMV.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save.

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
In the state of Ohio, all licensed drivers are required to have car insurance that meets the minimum liability requirements in accordance to Ohio state laws. The minimum liability coverage requirements include bodily injury liability and property damage liability. If you live outside of Ohio for half the year but own and operate a vehicle in Ohio, you are still required to meet the minimum liability coverage requirements. If you fail to meet these requirements, your license will be suspended and you are subject to additional penalties. Other penalties include losing your license plate and losing your vehicle registration.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
In the event that you lost your Ohio traffic ticket fines documentation, you have a couple of options for retrieving your ticket information. Depending on the OH county you were issued the citation by, you may retrieve information about your lost ticket by visiting your local county clerk office website. You may also be allowed to pay traffic tickets online, depending on the county. You can also visit your local county clerk officeto inquire about lost ticket information and payment options. If you chose to visit your local county clerk office you may also inquire about disputing your traffic ticket fine.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
All Ohio residents must carry proof of financial responsibility if they wish to legally operate a motor vehicle within the state. This means that if you have more than one vehicle, you must get car insurance for each vehicle. Luckily, many OH insurance companies offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. Check with your insurance company to find out if the multi-car discount is available and if you are eligible for it. Also, when choosing a car insurance provider and checking car insurance quotes, make sure to look for insurance companies that offer the multi-car discount.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
In order to replace a lost or stolen Ohio ID card, you must visit a local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. Upon arrival, sign a statement indicating whether your original OH ID card was lost or stolen. You are then required to present documentary proof of your full name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency. The standard fee for a replacement OH ID card is $7.50. For more information regarding replacing a lost or stolen OH ID card you can contact the OH BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
If you are arrested with a DUI/DWI in the state of Ohio, your license may be confiscated. Drivers in OH who are convicted of a DUI or DWI can have their license suspended from a year to three years depending on the number of times they ve committed the offense. In order to get your license back after it s been confiscated due to a DUI or DWI, you must wait until the suspension is over, complete all of your reinstatement requirements, and pay the drivers license reinstatement fee. You will be assessed with points on your driving record, as well as having to complete your driver s license examination again. In order to begin your reinstatement process, visit your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The DMV might flag your drivers license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as his or her own. Also, a DMV clerk might suggest that you apply for an OH duplicate license. However, to be on the safe side, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your nearest Ohio BMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
In the state of Ohio, the same process is required in order to obtain a license plate registration regardless of whether it was personalized or not. If you lose your OH license plate, you can purchase a replacement license plate in person by visiting your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office or online using the site provided by the OH BMV and selecting the replace option.

The general fee for license plate replacement is $10.50. If you choose to replace your license plate online, you will be charged postage. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

h, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
In order to be eligible to receive an Ohio commercial driver s license, you must be at least 18 years of age and have a valid OH standard driver s license. If you re eligible to apply, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and present proof of your Social Security Number, pass a vision test, pass a written knowledge test, pass a CDL road skills test, and meet minimum medical standards established by federal and state rules and regulations. Once you have completed all the aforementioned steps, you will then be issued an OH commercial drivers license.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
The state of Ohio has no age limit in order to be eligible to renew your drivers license. You are eligible to apply for renewal anytime prior to your current Ohio drivers license expiration date or up to six months after your driver s license is expired. If you choose to renew your drivers license more than 90 days before it expires, your renewed OH drivers license will be valid for three years instead of the usual four.

If you re younger than 21 years of age, your OH drivers license will be valid until your 21st birthday regardless of the date it was issued. You are allowed to renew your OH drivers license within 30 days of your 21st birthday.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
In the state of Ohio, it is required to provide car registration documentation to any law enforcement officer if requested during a traffic stop. For this reason, it is recommended that drivers keep their car registration documentation in a safe place in your car. In order to obtain car registration for your vehicle, you must visit your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office, present your vehicle s original Certificate of Title or Memorandum Certificate of Title, present accepted documents to prove identity and pay all applicable fees. For more information regarding where you should keep your car registration, you can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your duplicate drivers license will be sent to the mailing address the OH DMV has on file. This is one of the reasons why it is imperative to inform the BMV of a change of address. If you have recently changed your place of residence, you must update your DMV records.

If you are applying for a drivers license replacement by mail, your duplicate driving license will be sent to the out-of-state address you provide in the OH BMV drivers license renewal package.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
An Ohio driver license expires on the fifth birthday after issuance. It can be renewed anytime prior to the expiration date. However, if the license is renewed more than 90 days prior to its original expiration date, the license will expire on the drivers fourth birthday from the date of issuance. An OH driver license, commercial driver license, or motorcycle or moped license either current or expired not more than six months is accepted in order renew your drivers license as long as no other changes are needed.

For more information: Senior Drivers in Ohio

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Some reasons for having to request car title transfers are:

  • Purchasing a used vehicle.
  • Selling your vehicle.
  • Moving an Ohio vehicle out-of-state.
  • Moving an out-of-state vehicle to Ohio
  • Death of a family member/vehicle inheritance

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Violations that may result in an Ohio suspended drivers license include, but are not limited to:

In order to restore driving privileges after your OH drivers license has been suspended, you are responsible to present your reinstatement requirements in a timely manner to the OH BMV. These requirements will vary depending on what was the cause of your suspended drivers license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
In the state of Ohio, you are eligible to obtain an OH motorcycle license with no restrictions if you re 18 years of age or older. If you are 16 or 17, you are required to obtain an OH Motorcycle Temporary Permit before you can obtain the standard motorcycle license. Restrictions with an OH Motorcycle Temporary Permit include mandatory helmet and eye protection use while in the control of a motorized vehicle. You are restricted to only riding during daylight hours and must have no passengers on board while driving. You are not authorized to ride in congested roadways or interstate highways. An OH Motorcycle Temporary Permit is valid for the duration of one year from the date of issuance.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In Ohio, there are eight different types of commercial drivers license endorsements. You can apply for the following:

  • H endorsement To drive a vehicle transporting hazardous materials in an amount requiring placarding
  • Tendorsement To drive a vehicle configured with double or triple trailers that create more than one articulation point for the combination
  • P endorsement To drive vehicles designed to transport sixteen or more passengers, including the driver
  • P1 endorsement To drive class A vehicles designed for fewer than 16 passengers, including the driver, and all lesser classes of vehicles without restriction as to the designed passenger capacity of the vehicle
  • P2 endorsement To drive either class A or class B vehicles designed for fewer than sixteen passengers, including the driver, and all lesser classes of vehicles without restriction as to the designed passenger capacity of the vehicle
  • N endorsement To drive tank vehicles
  • S endorsement To drive school buses transporting children
  • X endorsement To drive tank vehicles transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If you drive with a suspended drivers license in Ohio, you could be faced with a first-degree misdemeanor. Consequences of a first-degree misdemeanor include:

  • 180 days in jail
  • A maximum fine of $1,000

If the reason for your license being suspended was due to failure to provide financial responsibility for your vehicle, you may be charged with an unclassified misdemeanor on the first offence. Consequences of a unclassified misdemeanor may not include jail time but may include:

  • Completion of community service hours
  • A maximum fine of $1,000

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

What are the different types of driving records?
In the state of Ohio, drivers have access to a single official driving record with all their information, regardless of what type of license they have. Driving records include information such as:

  • Accident history
  • Drivers license status
  • CDL license status (if applicable)
  • Record of offenses

In order to request a copy of your driving record, you can do so either in person, by mail, by telephone or online. You will be subjected to pay an applicable fee. The fees for driving record requests vary depending on the method in which you place the request.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The fees associated with an Ohio ID card vary depending on whether you re obtaining your first ID card or you re replacing an expired, lost, or stolen ID card.

  • New or Renewal ID card Fee: $8.50
  • Duplicate or Replacement ID card Fee: $7.50

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment. When applying for a new OH ID card or requesting a renewal, replacement, or duplicate ID card, you must have all required documents and you must pay all required fees.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The standard duplicate or replacement fee of an Ohio s drivers license is $24.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment. The OH BMV does not currently offer online requests for drivers license replacements.

In addition to having to pay the duplicate or replacement fee, you will be required to present one primary document and one secondary document to your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office,and you will have to sign a statement stating that your original OH drivers license was either lost or stolen.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
During the first year of being a learner s permit holder, the state of Ohio requires that you be accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, or certified driving instructor at all times while operating a motor vehicle. If you have a learner s permit and are under the age of 18, you will also be prohibited from driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless you re accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
All drivers applying for an Ohio commercial drivers license are required to meet minimum medical standards established by federal and state rules and regulations. Requirements may vary depending on whether you intend to operate a CDL vehicle across intrastate lines or interstate lines. You will need to visit a licensed physician and submit a Medical Examiner’s Certificate.If you fail to meet the minimum medical standards in order to obtain a commercial drivers license for either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce, you are required to apply for a waiver:

Intrastate Commerce

  • Medical standards for Ohio commercial licensed drivers who operate in intrastate lines has been adopted by the Ohio Public Utilities Commission (PUCO) and the Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP).
  • If you do not meet the minimum medical standards, you are required to apply to PUCO for an intrastate medical waiver.
  • For additional informationregardingintrastate medical waiverscontact the offices of PUCO at 614-466-3191.

Interstate Commerce

  • In order to be eligible to apply for an interstate waiver, you must have a missing or have an impaired use of a foot, leg, hand or arm.
  • The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) processes interstate waivers. For additional information regarding interstate waivers contact the Columbus office of Federal Highway Administration at 614-280-5657.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
There are a number of reasons why you would need to request car registration replacement in Ohio. The most common reasons for needing to obtain a car registration replacement are if your registration was:

  • Lost
  • Damaged
  • Stolen

To obtain a car registration replacement, you must visit your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and present a completed Duplicate Registration Card, Transfer, Replacement Plates / Validation Sticker application, acceptable proof of identification, and be prepared to pay the applicable fee of $4.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you hold a temporary learner s permit in the state of Ohio and you receive a traffic ticket fine, you will be faced with additional penalties. If you have a temporary learner s permit and you have accumulated a minimum of three traffic violations before turning 18, your license will be suspended for the remainder of one year. If you have accumulated less than three traffic violations before turning 18, your license may be suspended for six months. If you are convicted of a DUI before turning 18, your license may be suspended for six months. If you are under the age of 15 years and six months at the time of the violations, you will not be eligible for a temporary learner s permit until you are 16 years of age.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in the state of Ohio, you will be faced with penalties, which include serving jail time. Penalties are based on the number of DUI/DWI convictions you re faced with over a six year period.

  • First offense: Minimum of 72 hours in jail and drivers license suspension ranging from six months to three years
  • Second offense: Minimum of 10 days in jail and drivers license suspension ranging from one to five years
  • Third offense: Minimum of 30 days in jail and drivers license suspension ranging from one to 10 years
  • Fourth offense: Minimum of 60 days in jail and drivers license suspension ranging from three years to permanent suspension

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Your OH suspended drivers license reinstatement fee will depend on the offense you committed in order to get your license suspended. Some types of suspension fees include:

  • DUI conviction: $475
  • Minor traffic violations: $25
  • Failure to appear in court: $25
  • Child support: $25

All reinstatement fees are subject to change. If you were convicted in court, you may have to pay additional fines. The OH BMV does not accept cash to be mailed in for reinstatement fees. You are required to send a check or money order, made payable to the “Ohio State Treasurer” to the appropriate address. The OH BMV now allows for reinstatement fees to be paid online by electronic check only. No credit or debit cards are accepted. Payments processed online can take up to seven business days to process.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
To apply for a new car registration in the state of Ohio, you may be subject to pay certain fees. Fees for new registrations are prorated, if applicable. In order to inquire about fee information regarding new car registrations, you can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
In order to receive a car title replacement in the state of OH, you are subjected to pay the car title replacement fee placed by the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The fee for a car title replacement is $15 and must be paid upon request at your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment. You must also be prepared to present a proper form of identification and a completed Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle form. If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The required feeto get a car registration replacement is $4.50. The fee for a replacement sticker is also $4.50. If you are in need of a license plate replacement, the fee is $10.50. You must be prepared to pay any applicable fees at the time you request a car registration replacement. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The state of Ohio requires you to pay applicable fees at the time of car registration renewal. Renewal fees vary depending on which county you live in and what type of vehicle you have registered. General fees for different types of vehicle include:

  • Passenger vehicle: $34.50
  • Motorcycle: $28.50
  • Non-commercial trucks:
    • Under 1,500 lbs.: $49.50
    • 1,500 lbs. to 1 ton: $84.50
  • Moped: $24.50

The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In the state of Ohio, in order to legally operate a three-wheeled motorcycle you must pass a three-wheeled motorcycle road skills test. Once you have completed the road skills test, you must have a three-wheel endorsement added to your standard OH driver s license. If you already have a motorcycle endorsement, you will not need to take any additional tests in order to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle. All standard motorcycle testing such as the motorcycle road skills test and written knowledge tests qualify to legally drive a three-wheeled vehicle. As a driver of a three-wheeled motorcycle in OH, you must abide by the same laws as an operator on a standard motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
In the state of Ohio, the OH BMV typically issues a hardship license to a minor who is 14 or 15 years of age. In order to qualify for a hardship license, the minor would be the only licensed driver in the household. The hardship license is only valid to use within a 10-mile radius from the drivers home. In special cases, a driver may be eligible to obtain a hardship license if they hold a suspended drivers license.

In order to see if you qualify for a hardship license in Ohio, you can contact the Ohio BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturday s 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail the Ohio driving test, you have to wait seven days before you can retake it. Luckily, you will only have to retake the part of the exam you failed. However, keep in mind that if you fail your test four times, you will have to start the entire drivers license application process all over again. Make sure you practice driving under the supervision of a parent or guardian so as to ensure that you pass the exam on the first try. It is also a good idea to take a few practice tests before heading to the Ohio BMV to take the road test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
The state of Ohio requires you to present documentary proof of your full name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency in order to obtain a learner s permit.

Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
In order to obtain an Ohio Motorcycle license, you must present one primary and one secondary document or two primary documents to prove your full legal name, your date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship or legal presence, and proof of residency. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
When applying for your Ohio drivers license, the documents you must provide need to show proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship and proof of residency. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
To request a car title replacement, present the following documents to your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office:

You are eligible to request a car title replacement if your original car title is lost, stolen or damaged. You are only allowed to obtain a duplicate car title in the county where you were issued your original car title. If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
To change your address on any licensing issued by the Ohio BMV, you are required to show proof of residency of your new address. Required documents accepted as proof of address includes but is not limited to:

  • Valid insurance policy
  • Bank account statement
  • Any utility bill dated within the last 60 days
    • Electricity
    • Water
    • Internet
  • Voters Registration Card
  • Mortgage or rent agreement

Additionally, you will be required to complete the Address Change Form and pay any applicable fees that may vary.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
If you are a non-United States citizen wishing to perform an address change in the state of Ohio, you are required to submit proper documentation proving your identification, residency and legal status. Acceptable documentation includes but is not limited to:

  • Birth Certificate
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Valid Immigrant Visa
  • Naturalization document

Additionally, you will be required to complete the Address Change Form and pay any applicable fees that may vary.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
In order to obtain a car registration replacement, you must present the following documentation to your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office:

Once you have presented the required documentation and paid the applicable fee, you will be granted a replacement car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
If you are applying for a new car registration in the state of Ohio, present the following required documents:

  • Your vehicle s original Certificate of Title or Memorandum Certificate of Title
  • Present one documents to prove identity such as:
    • Ohio drivers license
    • Social Security card

These documents are required in order to obtain a new car registration because they prove ownership. The title must be notarized and contain the Clerk of Court s seal. A photocopy of a title is not an acceptable document even if it s notarized or certified. An Ohio title may be obtained at the County Clerk of Courts.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Ohio

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
For a car registration renewal in Ohio, present acceptable documentation which proves your identity and states your Social Security Number, and your signed and dated registration renewal notice. Only if you re renewing your OH car registration from out of state will you need to complete and mail in the Application for Out-of-State Registration by Mail form.

In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. You must also be prepared to pay the applicable car registration renewal fee of $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
In order to renew your Ohio drivers license, your current or expired (not longer than six months) OH drivers license is sufficient enough proof to successfully renew. If you do not have your OH drivers license on hand at the time of renewal, the documents you must provide need to show proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency in order to successfully renew your drivers license. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
In the state of Ohio, in order to complete a car title transfer you will only need two documents:

  1. Current car title
  2. Bill of sale

Your current title must have the new buyer s correct information written on the back as well as the mileage of your car. You and the buyer must sign it and it must be notarized. You must also complete a Bill of Sale form. Both documents should then be released to the buyer so that they may complete the title transaction at the Ohio County Clerk of Courts office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

 

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
In order to request an OH drivers license replacement, you must present one primary document or one secondary document to your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. The primary document must include your full legal name and date of birth. The secondary document must include your Social Security Number. Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Voter Registration Card

Upon presenting the required documents, you must also sign a statement that your original license was lost or stolen, and pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
In order to obtain a motorcycle license in the state of Ohio, you are required to pass a written knowledge test and a motorcycle road skills test. However, if you are 16 or 17 years of age, you must complete a motorcycle drivers education course and motorcycle safety education course. The courses are provided by Motorcycle Ohio and include the Basic Rider Course and the Basic Rider course for Returning Riders course. Each course has a standard fee of $50 and earns you the OH BMV motorcycle road skills test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement within 60 days of the course completion.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Ohio

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In order to successfully request a duplicate car title in Ohio, you must fill out the proper form and documentations. The form that must be completed and presented to your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title officeis the Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle. Additionally, you must present an acceptable form of identification such as your OH driver s license and you must be prepared to pay the duplicate car title fee of $15. The Ohio BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
The state of Ohio receives and shares information regarding traffic violations and convictions with other states. Therefore, failure to pay an out-of-state traffic fine has the same consequences as failing to pay a traffic ticket in your home state. This implies a possible suspension on your OH drivers license and higher costs to reinstate your diving privileges.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you are an Ohio resident who has a commercial driver s license and you ve been convicted with traffic violations you will be faced with penalties. If you ve been convicted with two serious traffic violations within the span of three years, your CDL will be suspended for one month. If you ve been convicted with three serious traffic violations within the span of three years, your CDL will be suspended for two months.

A first-time conviction of a DUI will result in your CDL being suspended for one year. A second-time conviction of a DUI will result in your CDL being suspended for life. You may request a hearing within 30 days of the mailing of the disqualification notice. If you are granted with a hearing, the disqualification will remain pending the outcome of the trial.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are an Ohio commercial drivers license holder and you are convicted of driving under the influence you will lose your license for one year upon first conviction. If you are convicted of a DUI for a second time, you will lose your commercial drivers license for life. You may request a hearing within 30 days of the mailing of the notice of disqualification. If the hearing is granted, the disqualification will be stayed pending the outcome of the hearing. Under the current commercial drivers license law set in Ohio, any person who holds a commercial drivers license is required to consent to any testing required by the state or jurisdiction. If any level of alcohol is detected by law enforcement, the commercial driver can be placed out-of-service for 24 hours.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If you ve been issued an OH duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires that the original title be immediately returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation. In the event that you don t find your original and are in need of a duplicate title, you must visit your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title officeand present the following:

You will also be required to pay the $15 duplicate car title fee. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

What information does a driving record contain?
Residents of Ohio who wish to obtain a copy of their driving record can do so either in person, by mail, by telephone or online. Driving records for Ohio resident include the following information:

  • Accident history
  • Drivers license status
  • CDL license status (if applicable)
  • Record of offenses

To access a copy of yourdriving record, visit the OH BMV website or your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An Ohio ID card serves as a primary form of documentation for minors or for anyone without a standard OH drivers license. When in possession of a government-issued OH ID card, you have proof of identity, which can be used when you want to open a bank account, travel by air, or make purchases with a credit card. For minors, it is recommended to have an OH ID card in case that child is reported missing. The OH ID card would significantly help authorities identify and find a missing child. It also enables law enforcement to distribute a photograph and information of the missing child to the media in order to assist a recovery.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in the state of Ohio, you will be faced with a court-imposed drivers license suspension, serving mandatory penalties of time in jail, and will be subjected to paying mandatory fines. The amount of money a DUI citation in Ohio costs drivers depends on the circumstances of the DUI and on the driver s driving history. Depending on the severity of the conviction, DUI citations can cost drivers in Ohio anywhere from $375 to $10,500, and can include anywhere from two days to 60 days of consecutive jail time. In order to renew a suspended drivers license from a DUI/DWI, you must serve your suspension period, complete all of your reinstatement requirements, forward proper documentation showing proof of insurance to the OH BMV, and pay a DUI/DWI reinstatement fee of $475.

The OH BMV does not accept cash to be mailed in for reinstatement fees. You are required to send a check or money order, made payable to the “Ohio State Treasurer” to the appropriate address. The OH BMV now allows for reinstatement fees to be paid online by electronic check ONLY. No credit or debit cards are accepted. Payments processed online can take up to seven business days to process.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
If you receive a traffic ticket in the state of Ohio, you will receive a traffic ticket fine. Traffic ticket fines vary depending on what type of traffic violation you are being charged with. In order to inquire about exactly how much your traffic ticket fine is, you can refer back to your ticket which will have all the information stated. Depending on which county in Ohio you are assessed traffic ticket fines with, the method you can use in order to submit a payment is determined.

Paying traffic or parking tickets is an admission of guilt to the violation. By paying the ticket, you are waiving your right to trial in traffic court and you may be assessed points to your OH driving record. Other consequences for an admission of guilt to a violation are higher car insurance premiums and points accumulation that can result in a suspended OH driver s license.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

What is the cost to get a driver record?
In order to request a copy of your driving record in the state of Ohio, you will be subjected to pay an applicable fee. The fees for driving record requests vary depending on the method in which you place the request. If you chose to request a copy of your driving record in person, you will be subjected to the following fees depending on what location you choose to go to:

  • Regional Driver License Reinstatement Center: $5
  • Deputy Registrar License Agency office: $8.50

If you chose to request a copy of your driving record by mail, you will be subjected to pay a $5 fee.

You are required to make any checks payable to the “Ohio State Treasurer.”

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in the state of Ohio and you hold a commercial driver s license, you will be faced with even more serious penalties than those who hold a standard OH drivers license. A commercial drivers license holder who has a BAC level of 0.4 percent or higher or refuses to take the chemical test during a traffic stop will be arrested for DUI and their CDL will be suspended for one year following a first-offense. A second CDL DUI or DWI offense will result in you being arrested and your CDL being revoked for life. For more information regarding CDL DUI laws you can contact the Ohio BMV directly at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
If you are under 21 years of age in the state of Ohio and you are convicted of a DUI/DWI, you will be faced with certain penalties.

  • First offense: possible jail time for up to 30 days, possible fine of up to $250, CDL suspension from 90 days to two years
  • Second offence: possible jail time for up to 30 days, possible find of up to $250, CDL suspension for minimum of one year and up to five years

For both first and second offenses, minors will not be eligible for a temporary driving permit for the first 60 days of their suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
In the state of Ohio, drivers are required to meet minimum liability car insurance coverage requirements in order to legally own and operate a vehicle. The minimum required liability insurance coverage includes:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: minimum $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: minimum $25,000

However, it is recommended to purchase more coverage than Ohio s minimum requirements so that you mayprotect yourself and your assets fully in the event of a serious accident.

In order to determine how much coverage you should purchase, calculate the approximate value of your assets. Not having enough insurance coverage in the event of an accident grants the victim the right to take any of your assets they choose in order to cover costs for damages that may occur.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written test that is required to obtain adrivers permit covers your knowledge of Ohio s motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. It consists of two parts; each part consists of 20 multiple-choice questions. In order to pass, you must correctly answer 75 percent of the questions, or 15 questions in each portion of the test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In order for your scooter or motorcycle to obtain a title in the state of Ohio, proceed with the following steps:

  • Visit your local Ohio County Clerk of Courts office.
  • Present a letter from the manufacturer stating that the vehicle meets FMVSS.
  • Present a picture of the FMVSS sticker on the vehicle including the VIN OR the manufacturer s certificate of origin.

After being issued a title for your scooter or motorcycle, you will need to obtain motorcycle insurance and register your vehicle at your local Ohio Deputy Registrar’s office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

What languages is the written test available in?
The written knowledge test for the state of Ohio is available in seven different languages. It may also be taken with the assistance of an interpreter, if needed. For more information regarding available language options for the written test you can contact the OH BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI or DWI offence, your driver s license will be suspended for the duration of one year after the first conviction.In order to renew your suspended drivers license, you will need to complete the reinstatement requirements.

The OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date. Completing these requirements in a timely manner will allow the OH BMV to avoid any unnecessary delays and restore your full driving privileges once the suspension has come to an end.

You may have to complete one or more of the following requirements in order to fully reinstate your OH drivers license:

  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Complete a driving course
  • Retake written knowledge and road skills tests
  • File and maintain SR22 car insurance for 3-5 years
  • Install ignition interlock device, if court-ordered
  • Pay a DUI reinstatement fee of $475
  • Show proof of insurance by forwarding the proper documentation to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

To find out what your reinstatement requirements are and to apply for reinstatement, drivers should visit their local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
For information on penalties you may be faced with if you fail to change your address with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, you can contact the OH BMV at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday-Friday 7 a.m. 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. 2 p.m. In order to avoid any penalties, make sure to update your address with the OH BMV. There are three prominent methods for performing an address change for your OH drivers license or your OH ID card:

  • In person
  • Online
  • By mail

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If your expired Ohio drivers license surpasses the six-month period for accepted renewal, you will be subjected to applying for an OH temporary permit. Once you have been issued a temporary permit, you will need to re-take all the required examination before you can receive a permit, drivers license or endorsement. Exams include the written knowledge test, the road skills test, and the vision exam.

You are also required to pay all applicable fees that may vary.The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Ohio state law requires all licensed drivers to provide proof of car insurance if involved in an accident or stopped by local law enforcement. You can show proof of car insurance coverage with the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles by presenting any of the following documents:

  • Insurance policy
  • Insurance Identification Card
  • Surety Bond in the amount of $30,000
  • BMV Certificate for money or government bonds in the amount of $30,000

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
In the state of Ohio, if you applied for a car registration renewal online or over the phone, you should allow 10-15 business days to receive your registration, validation sticker and/or license plate. If you renewed by mail, you should allow no less than 15 days to receive the aforementioned documents. If you have not received your car registration tags or stickers then you are urged to contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 1-866-868-0006 to inquire about any delays. Their hours of operation are Monday-Friday 7 a.m. 5:45 p.m. and Saturday s 8 a.m. 2 p.m. In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone, or by mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
In the event that you have yet to receive yourrenewed license, you must contact the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.You can also visit your local OH BMV office to inquire about the status if your renewed license. The state of Ohio does not currently offer online renewals for driver licenses. You are eligible to apply for renewal anytime prior to your current drivers license expiration date or up to six months after your driver s license is expired.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
Learners permit applicants in Ohio are required to take a vision exam and a written test that covers knowledge of OH motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. The vision exam determines whether you meet the acceptable vision requirements based by the American Optometric Association, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, and the American Medical Association recommended for licensed drivers in OH. The written test is consists of two parts and is based on the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
When applying for an Ohio commercial drivers license, depending on the class of CDL licensing and endorsements you are applying for, you are required to take the following tests:

  • A written knowledge test on the class of CDL and each endorsement
  • A CDL road skills test
  • A test on removing air brake restrictions

The OH CDL road skills test consists of a pre-trip inspection and a road test that takes up to 90 minutes to complete. You are required to provide a vehicle that is appropriate for the class of license and endorsements you re applying for.

For more information: Ohio Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
If you are a new resident to the state of Ohio and want to obtain a new driver s license, you will need to pass a vision exam. The vision exam determines whether you meet the acceptable vision requirements based by the American Optometric Association, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, and the American Medical Association recommended for licensed drivers in OH. Vision exams are held at your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office during the days and hours of operation. No appointment is necessary.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In the state of Ohio, you are required to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance to legally own and operate vehicles within the state. The two mandatory types of insurance include:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage

However, it is recommended to purchase additional coverage such as:

  • Medical payments
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Drivers who have recently purchased new vehicles that are being financed through separate parties may be required to apply for full coverage car insurance depending on their financing agreement.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The state of Ohio offers two different kinds of noncommercial licenses, a standard full drivers license and a motorcycle license. If you are a new resident to the state of Ohio and you wish to obtain an OH drivers license you must obtain a copy of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws and study it, pass a vision exam, and provide accepted documents that show proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship and proof of residency. If you wish to obtain a motorcycle license, the state of Ohio requires you to present your motorcycle learner s permit as well as your standard driver s license and pass the state motorcycle skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Ohio residents who opt out of getting car insurance and still plan to operate a motor vehicle within the state are subject to face certain penalties. Drivers who fail to meet the minimum liability coverage requirements will have their drivers license suspended immediately. Other penalties include losing their license plate and losing their vehicle registration. In order to reinstate the aforementioned documents, drivers will need to purchase and maintain minimum liability coverage requirements, which include bodily injury liability and property damage liability. They will also be subject to paying any applicable reinstatement fees that may vary.

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
You can reinstate your Ohio suspended drivers license immediately after your suspension ends. Reinstatement requirements for an Ohio suspended drivers license vary depending on what type of suspension you re under. The OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date. Completing these requirements in a timely manner will allow the OH BMV to avoid any unnecessary delays and restore your full driving privileges once the suspension has come to an end.

Depending on what type of suspension you re under, you may have to complete one or more of the following requirements in order to fully reinstate your OH drivers license:

  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Complete a driving course
  • Retake written knowledge and road skills tests
  • File and maintain SR22 car insurance for 3-5 years
  • Pay reinstatement fees

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

When does my car registration expire?
If you have a car registered in the state of Ohio, the expiration of your car registration depends on your date of birth. Your car registration is set to expire on your first birthday or your second birthday depending on what kind of registration you requested. You can request either a one-year car registration or a two-year car registration. In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone or by mail. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

When does my ID card expire?
The Ohio ID card is valid for the duration of four years. It expires on the applicant s birthday on the fourth year since issuance. In order to apply for an Ohio ID card, you must visit a local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. Upon arrival, you are required to present accepted documentary proof of your full name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship and proof of residency. An Ohio ID card serves as a primary form of documentation for minors or for anyone without a standard OH drivers license. In OH, you are not allowed to hold an ID card at the same time as an OH standard drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
You must notify the OH BMV of a change of address within 10 days after moving. In order to perform an address change on your car registration in Ohio, the OH BMV allows you to use four different methods: in person, online, by mail, or by telephone.

In Person

Online

  • Visit the online link provided by the OH BMV
  • Log in to access OH BMV records
    • Enter OH drivers license number
    • Enter Date of Birth
    • Enter first letter of your last name
    • Enter last four digits of Social Security number
  • Proceed with the steps as instructed in order to complete address change to your car registration

By Mail

  • Complete the Address Change Form or written statement
    • Written statements should include full name, date of birth, OH drivers license number, previous address and new address.
  • Mail out the Address Change Form or written statement to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor VehiclesATTN: License Verification Unit P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216-6784

Telephone

  • Call Vehicle Information Services at 1-800-589-8247
  • Provide assigned license plate number
  • Proceed with steps to change your address on your vehicle registration as instructed

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Ohio

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
In order to successfully complete a car title transfer, you must complete a Bill of Sale. A Bill of Sale is intended to show transfer of ownership of the vehicle. You are required to: submit the Bill of Sale to your local Ohio county Clerk of Courts office

  • Write the new buyers name, address, and the price on the back of your current original title.
  • Complete the odometer certification area stating the mileage.
  • Complete and notarize the seller s notary section.
  • Have the buyer acknowledge the mileage by providing his or her signature and printing his or her name.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Ohio

When will I need to renew my license?
In the state of Ohio, you are eligible to apply for renewal of your drivers license if you have a current valid drivers license on the verge of expiring or you have an expired drivers license for no longer than six months. In order to renew your OH drivers license, you must visit your local OH BMV, provide your current or expired (not longer than six months) OH drivers license, and pay the standard drivers license renewal fee of $25.75. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

It is highly recommended to apply for renewal of your OH driver s license no later than six months after your license expires. If your OH drivers license surpasses the six-month expiration period, you will no longer be allowed to renew your drivers license and you will subjected to applying for an OH temporary permit.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
You can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles directly at 844-644-6268 in order to inquire about when you will receive your replacement license after applying. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

In order to renew your OH drivers license, you must provide the OH BMV with the required documents, you must also sign a statement that your original license was lost or stolen, and pay the standard duplicate or replacement fee of $24.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment. The OH BMV does not currently offer online requests for drivers license replacements.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Ohio Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
You can order a driving record to learn the status of drivers license. If your drivers license is suspended, the OH BMV recommends that you send out your suspended license reinstatement requirements approximately 20 days before your suspension end date. Completing the necessary requirements in a timely manner will allow the OH BMV to avoid any unnecessary delays and restore your full driving privileges once the suspension has come to an end.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Ohio

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
To request a car registration replacementin Ohio, you do not have to go in person to local tax county collector s office. All requests and transactions regarding registration are handled at Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles offices. In order to obtain a car registration replacement, visit your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and present a completed Duplicate Registration Card, Transfer, Replacement Plates / Validation Sticker application, acceptable proof of identification, and be prepared to pay the applicable fee of $4.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you are an Ohio resident and you are convicted of driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, a judge can place an order for an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed in your vehicle. Circumstances that may result to being ordered to use an IID include:

  • Refusing a chemical test when stopped by a law enforcement officer.
  • Testing above 0.08 percent BAC on chemical test
  • Ordered by the court after your driver s license suspension ends.

IIDs must be installed by one of the state-approved interlock manufacturers in Ohio. Manufacturers include:

  • LifeSafer, Inc.
  • Alcohol Detection Systems, Inc.
  • Guardian Interlock Systems, Inc.
  • Draeger Safety Diagnostics, Inc.
  • B.E.S.T. Labs, Inc.

The OH Bureau of Motor Vehicle provides a full list of state-approved manufactures as well as their contact information in the Ignition Interlock Devices Certified For Use In Ohio PDF.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Access to traffic or parking ticket information varies in Ohio depending on which county you are assessed a citation in. In order to inquire about whether you can find your traffic or parking ticket information online, refer back to your citation and visit the website of your local county clerk office. In the event of a lost traffic ticket, Ohio residents may use the online service to check due dates and opt to dispute the traffic fines. Depending on the county, residents may also be able to pay traffic tickets online as well. If your county does not offer online access to traffic or ticket information, refer back to your ticket for specific instructions on how to pay your ticket.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Ohio

Where can I get a new drivers license?
In order to apply for a new drivers license, you need to visit your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. You will be required to take a vision exam and also provide the required documents for proof of identification.The documents you must provide need to show proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Ohio

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
The OH BMV currently does not offer mail-in requests for replacement car titles. In order to successfully request a replacement car title, you must apply in person at your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office. Upon arrival, you will be required to present a proper form of identification such as your OH driver s license and a completed Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle form. Additionally, you must be prepared to pay the duplicate car title fee of $15. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to theOhio Clerk of Courts Title officefor cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

Where can I obtain an ID card?
You can obtain an Ohio ID card at any local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. In order to apply for an OH ID card you are required to present documentary proof of your full name, date of birth, Social Security Number, proof of citizenship, and proof of residency.

Acceptable documents for proof include, but are not limited to:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Valid U.S. Passport/Passport card
  • Naturalization Papers
  • Voter Registration Card

In addition, you will also have to pay a standard fee of $8.50 in order to be issued an OH ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for an Ohio Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In the state of Ohio it is required for all motor vehicles registered within the state to have adequate car insurance by the owner to be legally operated. The required types of insurance and minimum required liability coverage include:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: minimum $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: minimum $25,000

You can show proof of car insurance coverage with the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles by presenting any of the following documents:

  • Insurance policy
  • Insurance Identification Card
  • Surety Bond in the amount of $30,000
  • BMV Certificate for money or government bonds in the amount of $30,000

For more information: Ohio Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are a minor applying for an OH learners permit or drivers license, you must have a parent or legal guardian present in order to co-sign the temporary permit application or drivers license application. This person is required to present two forms of identification prior to signing.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Ohio

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Ohio residents who have obtained a copy of their driving records should check them thoroughly to make sure the records are accurate and there is no missing information. If you believe there are mistakes on yourdriving record, contact the Ohio BMV directly to notify them. You can call the OH BMVat 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.Written requests can be sent to:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn. RE Fee P.O. Box 16520 Columbus OH 43216-6520

For more information: Your Ohio Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
The state of Ohio does require you to take a vision test upon renewal of your drivers license. You must visit your local OH BMV office in order to apply for renewal and take the required vision exam. The vision exam determines whether you meet the acceptable vision requirements based by the American Optometric Association, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, and the American Medical Association recommended for licensed drivers in OH. Vision exams are held at your local OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office during the days and hours of operation. No appointment is necessary.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
You are eligible to apply for drivers license renewal anytime prior to your current Ohio drivers license expiration date or up to six months after your driver s license is expired. If you choose to renew your drivers license more than 90 days before it expires, your renewed OH drivers license will be valid for three years instead of the usual four. The OH BMV highly recommends applying for renewal of your OH driver s license no later than six months after your license expires. If your OH drivers license surpasses the six-month expiration period, you will no longer be allowed to renew your drivers license and you will subjected to applying for an OH temporary permit.

For more information regarding whether you will receive a renewal notice in the mail prior to your current drivers license expiration date, you can contact the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 844-644-6268. Their hours of operation are Monday through Friday 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. and Saturdays 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Ohio

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Yes, if you receive a ticket outside of Ohio, it will be treated as if received in your home state. This means that points will be added to your driving record if convicted of a moving violation in another state. However, you have two options: pay the fine or contest the ticket in court. Contact a traffic attorney to help you fight the out-of-state traffic citation if that is the step you wish to take. Otherwise, contact the court or the DMV of the state that issued your traffic ticket for information on how to pay traffic tickets.

For more information: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Point System

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
If you have been assessed traffic ticket fines in Ohio, you may have points assessed to your driver s license based on the type of traffic ticket fine you receive. Violations that could earn you points include homicide by vehicle, DUI, drag racing, and failure to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a crash you were involved in. Each violation ranges in number of points you may be assessed with. An accumulation of 12 or more points within the span of two years will result in your driving privileges being suspended for the duration of six months. You may also be subjected to taking the remedial driving course in order to satisfy the requirements of a suspended drivers license.

For more information: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Point System

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
If you are assessed a DUI citation in the state of Ohio, you will be faced with mandatory penalties that include jail time and paying mandatory fines. In order to get your license back after it s been confiscated due to a DUI or DWI, you must wait until the suspension is over, complete all of your reinstatement requirements, and pay the drivers license reinstatement fee. You may be required to attend a state-approved substance abuse/alcohol treatment program depending on the court s order. You will also be assessed with points on your driving record, as well as having to complete your driver s license examination again. In order to begin your reinstatement process, you can visit your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Ohio

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, in the state of Ohio you are required to fill out the proper application form at the time you request a car registration replacement. The application you are required to present is the Duplicate Registration Card, Transfer, Replacement Plates / Validation Sticker application. It should be signed and dated when presented at your local Deputy Registrar/OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. Additionally, you will need to present acceptable proof of identification, and be prepared to pay the applicable fee of $4.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
In the state of Ohio, you will not be required to present proof of insurance in order to request a replacement car title. You will, however, be required to present a proper form of identification such as your OH driver s license and present a completed Application For Certificate of Title To A Motor Vehicle form to your local Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office. Additionally, you must be prepared to pay the duplicate car title fee of $15. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouchers as forms of payment.If you ve been issued a duplicate car title, and you find your original title, the original must be returned to the Ohio Clerk of Courts Title office for cancellation.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Ohio

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will send you a vehicle registration renewal notice 45 days before the expiration of your vehicle registration. When you get your notice, verify that all personal and car information is correct. In order to renew your car registration, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone or by mail. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
In the state of Ohio, your car registration will expire on your birthday. Your car registration is set to expire on your first birthday or your second birthday depending on what kind of registration you requested. You can request either a one-year car registration or a two-year car registration. In order to apply for a car registration renewal, the OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to use three different methods: in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. The general fee for a passenger vehicle renewal is $34.50. The OH BMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, certified cashier checks, traveler s checks, county agency vouchers, and intra-state agency vouches as forms of payment.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Ohio