New Mexico Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division, in affiliation with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, offers a training program with courses specialized for those seeking to obtain a motorcycle license. It is recommended but not required to enroll in a Basic Rider Course if you have no previous experience operating a motorcycle. If you are applying for a motorcycle endorsement and you re under the age of 18, you are required by NM state law to attend and complete the Basic Rider Course. You must have a parent or legal guardian present during the first class in order to sign all the required waivers and paperwork for you to be eligible to enroll.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
In New Mexico, you are only required to wear a protective helmet while riding a motorcycle if you are under the age of 18. This requirement also applies if you are operating a moped or a scooter. The protective helmet you are required to wear must meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety standards. Exact requirements are stated in the New Mexico Motorcycle Laws PDF. Even though it is not required by law to wear a protective helmet in NM if you are 18 years of age or older, it is recommended while in operation of a motorcycle as a safety precaution.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
There are times that a driver would not be able to complete their car registration renewal. Having a suspended drivers license or incomplete registration documentation would not meet the requirements for renewing vehicle registrations. For additional details, contact the local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
It is possible to hold different addresses on your driver’s license and your car registration card. As the procedure to change address is simple and user-friendly, you can do the changes on all documents quickly by submitting the same address change request form.

To check if you can use one form for multiple changes get in touch with DMV at:

MVD Data Entry Unit

P.O. Box 630

Santa Fe, New Mexico

87504-0630

The official address change will be only made in the electronic database. To change address on the hard copies, you must submit applications for new documents.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
You can keep the car insurance from your previous state of residence if it meets the minimum amount of liability coverage required by New Mexico:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

â—¦ One person: $25,000

â—¦ Two or more people: $50,000

  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $10,000

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
The state of New Mexico does not offer online renewal for commercial drivers licenses. In order to apply for a renewal of your commercial drivers license you must visit a MVD Field office and complete the following:

  • Present your valid or expired New Medico CDL
  • Present Commercial Driver Medical Certificate or any medical waiver issued
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity & date of birth

o 1 document proving U.S. citizenship or permanent residence status

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • If you wish to obtain or upgrade a HAZMAT endorsement, you must pass a written hazardous material test and a background check
  • Complete any additional testing required for renewal
  • Pay the commercial drivers license renewal fee:

o 4-year CDL license: $18.00

o 8-year CDL license: $34.00

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
The New Mexico DMV does provide online driving record requests. Visit the e-services website of the Motor Vehicle Division and provide the following information:

  • Your date of birth
  • Last four digits of your social security number
  • Your driver’s license number
  • A credit card

You have the option of choosing between a certified and a non-certified drivers record. Certified copies are accompanied by an official letter from the DMV and are acceptable as evidence in all official transactions.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
The state of New Mexico does not allow you to take the MVD written knowledge test online. You are required to visit your local MVD Field office in order to take the written knowledge test. New Mexico s MVD website provides you with links where you can take practice tests online. This test is required for anyone who wants to obtain a NM learners permit. In order to waive your requirement to take the written knowledge test, you must present a Certificate of Completion from a contracted driver education school.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
With an NM interstate commercial drivers license, you are legally authorized to drive across state lines. Non-excepted interstate commercial drivers license holders, must meet federal medical requirements and must submit a medical certificate to the NM MVD. Excepted interstate commercial drivers who drive across state lines do not need to meet federal medical requirements. If you operate in both intrastate commerce and interstate commerce, you must follow the interstate commerce guidelines.

For more information regarding NM interstate and intrastate commercial drivers licenses, contact the NM MVD at their toll-free number 888-683-4636.

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Someone else could go through the process of renewing car registration for you. You will need to pay the renewal fee with your debit or credit card, and then hand all your personal information to the person that will finish with the car registration renewal process for you. For more details on whether someone else can renew your car registration, contact your local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Do boats need to be registered?
Residents of New Mexico who wonder whether they are supposed to register boats, need to know that all motorboats within the state must be registered. A motorboat under 10 feet is not considered a boat, must be registered as a regular boat, but it is not required to be titled.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
A motorcycle license is not required to operate a scooter or moped in the state of New Mexico. You must currently hold or obtain a New Mexico drivers license to operate a scooter or moped.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Attending an NM defensive driving school is not a required when issued a speeding ticket. You can enroll in a DMV traffic school voluntarily to improve your driving skills and car insurance rates. Also, by successfully completing a state-approved traffic course, points can be removed from your driving record and you can avoid a future driver s license suspension. It is up to the court’s discretion whether your NM traffic ticket will be dismissed by enrolling in a defensive driving school. New Mexico drivers can only take defensive driving classes once every two years.

For more information: New Mexico Driver Education and Traffic Schools

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Whether you should cancel your car insurance when moving to another state or not, depends on the auto insurance provider you have chosen. If your car insurance company has branches outside of the borders of New Mexico, you should notify the company of your move. Providing your insurance carrier with your new address will allow you to continue using their car insurance policy adjusted for your new state of residence. However, if your auto insurance company does not cover this new state, you will be expected to find a new auto insurance company that does.

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
If your license was lost or stolen and you want to keep your old license number it is not mandatory in the state of New Mexico to file a police report.

To help prevent identity theft, and if you want a new license number, you must go to a local or state law enforcement agency and file a police report. The officer of record will then provide you with a copy of their report to bring with you can so you may continue with the drivers license replacement application.

Bring a copy of the report and a signed statement declaring that you want a new license number and that you have had your previous documents lost or stolen. Many drivers choose to file a report with the police even if they are not obligated to do so for identity theft protection.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Residents of New Mexico whose car registration has been lost or stolen must file a police report. Applicants for duplicate car registrations should report the loss/theft to local law enforcement officials before they begin the application process. You will be given a copy of the police report to bring with you to a local New Mexico DMV field office. Law enforcement officials will add the report to the driver s file in order to help prevent identity theft.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
New Mexico residents who plan to move out-of-state, may or may not have to return their license plates. If you want to sell or give your car as a gift, you will be required to remove the license plates and return them to your local New Mexico DMV office within 30 days.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
The state of New Mexico does require enrollment in a state-approved drivers education program in order to obtain a learners permit. Once you have held your learners permit for at least six months, you must show proof of having completed and passed a drivers ed program. As a learners permit holder, you are also required to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older or who has been licensed for at least three years.

Once you have completed each requirement as a learners permit holder, you can move on in NM s Graduated Drivers Licensing System and apply for a provisional drivers license. You must be at least 15 ½ years of age to apply for a provisional license and you must not have accumulated any convictions for traffic violations as a learners permit holder.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
There is no specific requirement in New Mexico to submit the old damaged copy when you request a duplicate pink slip.

Once a duplicate is requested, previous copies are declared as non-valid and cannot be used as proof of vehicle ownership.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
You are required by the state of New Mexico to submit the damaged registration card or certificate to a local New Mexico DMV field office when applying for a duplicate car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
In New Mexico, scooters are considered to be motorcycles, mopeds or bicycles, depending on the size and speed of the engine. All motorized scooters that are classed as a motorcycle, must be registered within the state. For further details, you could contact your local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Smog inspections are also known as emissions tests and are mandatory in New Mexico. If you are registering cars from another state, you are required to submit it to a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection prior to registering it. You should contact a New Mexico DMV office in order to find out whether they offer VIN inspections and can schedule appointments. Cars being registered for the first time in New Mexico are required to pass an emission test. This test is required every two years from residents and people who work a minimum of 60 days in Bernalillo County.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Owners of motor vehicles in New Mexico are required by a state law to purchase a minimum amount of liability coverage. Vehicles that do not have auto insurance, will be denied registration by the New Mexico MVD. Vehicle owners might face strict penalties such as fines, jail time, and vehicle registration suspension. You will be mailed a Verification of Mandatory Automobile Insurance letter if you have failed to provide proof of car insurance to the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB). One month after you receive this letter, you will receive a Notice of Suspension of Registration. You must provide auto insurance within these 30 days in order to avoid a registration and license suspension.

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you are a veteran in New Mexico, you are eligible to get a veteran designation mark on your ID card. You can get this designation when you apply to get your new ID card, or when you apply for ID card renewal or ID card replacement.

You must present form DD214 or another acceptable proof of honorable discharge from the United States military. Regular application, renewal and replacement fees apply. There is no additional fee for the veteran designation addition to the New Mexico ID Card.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Drivers can obtain a PDF copy of the NM Driver Manual on the NM MVD website or can pick up a physical copy at a MVD Field office. The complete manual consists of six chapters and provides in-depth details on the following:

  • General NM drivers license information
  • Traffic Laws & Traffic Violations
  • Road safety skills
  • On-road communication
  • Physical and circumstantial driving requirements

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
When you receive a traffic ticket in NM you have two options:

  • You can plead guilty and pay the traffic ticket
  • Contest the traffic citation in court.

If you opt to plead guilty, there is a variety of ways to pay your NM traffic fine:

  • Online
  • By mail
  • In person
  • By phone

The payment options depend on the court handling your case. Make sure to carefully go over your traffic ticket. It will list the acceptable manner of payment in your county, as well as provide instructions on how to pay your traffic ticket in New Mexico.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Mexico

How can I renew my drivers license?
All applicants who want to renew drivers licenses can do so in one of the two following ways:

  • In person
  • Online

If you apply in person, bring the relevant documents and fees to a MVD office including your expired drivers license. You can submit the application 90 days prior to the expiration date through 30 days after the expiration date.

If you want to renew drivers license online, you can do so via the e-services provided by the DMV. Online renewal is allowed only if you apply to renew within one year of expiration. CDL licenses cannot be renewed online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Renewing car registrations in New Mexico can be done in four different ways:

  • In person at any local New Mexico DMV office
  • Online
  • Using the Integrated Voice Response (IVR) System by calling Toll-free: 1-888-683-4636 (1-888-MVD-INFO)
  • By mail at the following address:

Registration Renewal Section Motor Vehicle Division PO BOX 25129 Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Each state has different regulations when it comes to car registrations. New Mexico residents are advised to contact the destination state s DMV to find out the steps of the transfer process of your vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
In order to apply for a New Mexico commercial drivers license (CDL), you must complete to following:

  • Visit your local CDL supported MVD Field office OR your local CDL Field office (Not all MVD Field offices issue CDLs)
  • Pass the CDL written knowledge test
  • Pass the CDL skills test
  • Present CDL learner s permit
  • Present Commercial Driver Medical Certificate or any medical waiver issued
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity & date of birth

o 1 document proving U.S. citizenship or permanent residence status

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Pay the commercial drivers license fee:

o 4-year CDL license: $18.00

o 8-year CDL license: $34.00

If you re applying for a commercial drivers license with a HAZMAT endorsement, you are required to complete a written test, have your fingerprints collected, and complete a background check.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
You can apply for a disability parking placard in New Mexico at any New Mexico DMV office. You should complete a Certificate of Eligibility for Parking Placard for Mobility Impaired Individuals and bring it to the DMV along with the required fee.

If you want to apply for disability license plates, you should complete an Application for Mobility limitation (HP) License Plate, which must be certified by a licensed doctor. You can submit this application by mail to the following address:

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division

MVD Vehicle Services Bureau

P.O. Box 1028

Santa Fe, NM 87504

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

How do I apply for a drivers license?
If you are applying for a first-time drivers license in the state of New Mexico, you must have completed the Graduated Licensing System along with the following:

  • A NM drivers license application (If under 18 years of age a parent/legal guardian must co-sign)
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Pass a vision exam
  • A written knowledge test
  • A road skills test
  • Show proof of having completed the “None for the Road” DWI awareness course
  • Pay the full unrestricted drivers license fee:

o 4-year license: $18.00

o 8-year license: $34.00

If you are new to the state of New Mexico and hold a valid out-of-state drivers license, you are required to surrender your out-of-state drivers license when applying for a NM drivers license. To apply for a NM drivers license you must complete the following:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Pass a vision exam
  • Show proof of having completed the “None for the Road” DWI awareness course OR provide proof of having complete an approved DWI prevention and education program
  • Pay the full unrestricted drivers license fee:

o 4-year license: $18.00

o 8-year license: $34.00

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to get a learners permit in the state of New Mexico, you must be at least 15 years old and complete the following procedures of the New Mexico Graduated Drivers Licensing System:

  • Provide proof of driver education program enrollment or completion
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Complete and sign instructional permit application along with parent or guardian
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Pass a written knowledge exam
  • Pay a $10 instructional permit application fee

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In order to apply for an NM motorcycle license you must visit your local NM MVD Field office and complete the following:

  • A NM motorcycle license application
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Pass a vision exam
  • A written knowledge test
  • A motorcycle road skills test
  • Show proof of having completed the “None for the Road” DWI awareness course
  • Pay the full unrestricted drivers license fee:

o 4-year license: $18.00

o 8-year license: $34.00

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
The best place to get information about how to change an address on your New Mexico car insurance is if you talk to your car insurance agent. A reputable car insurance company will be able to provide this information.

A proof of car insurance must be presented at the time of car registration. If the car registration and the car insurance proof are conflicted, your registration request may not be processed as fast as necessary. You may be asked to provide additional documents or update address on all personal documents beforehand.

Make sure to update all car insurance documents that can be submitted as proof of car insurance in New Mexico:

  • Car insurance card
  • Car insurance policy
  • A letter from your auto insurance company (on company letterhead)

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

How do I change my address on my car registration?
Address changing in New Mexico is done with the same form for all documents related to drivers and their vehicles. The address change request form can be processed in person, by mail or fax, or it can be scanned and send by email. To change address on your car registration complete the following information in the Change of Address Request Form:

  • Drivers’ personal information
  • Vehicle license plates number
  • Vehicle make
  • Year of manufacturing
  • VIN number

Provide information about the new address at the bottom of the form, sign and deliver the form to MVD. The change will only be made in the electronic database of MVD.

If you want the change to be seen on your car registration card you submit the full documentation for car registration and pay the relevant fees.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
You can change the address on your New Mexico commercial driver’s license by filling out the Change of Address Request Form and submitting it to a nearby MVD office in one of the following ways:

  • In person
  • By mail
  • By fax

Address change requests for CDL licenses cannot be submitted online via the MVD eservices system. The official address change on a CDL license must be made within 10 days from the moment the actual change occurred. Only the electronic database will reflect the address change after the address change request form is received. If you want to get a new license with your new address, you must finish the application for new commercial driver’s license.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Each change of your place of residence must be reflected on your personal documents, including your New Mexico drivers license. To change an address on a drivers license, drivers need to complete the Change of Address Request Form and submit it to the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) within 10 days.

You can submit the change of address form in one of five ways:

  • Mail
  • Fax
  • Email
  • Online
  • In person

Following this procedure will only change the electronic records at the MVD.

Then you must apply for a new drivers license, including paying the relevant fee. Current MVD fees are $18 for a four-year license and $34 for and eight-year license. Make sure to sign the form so that the change will take place.

DMV.COM Note: CDL owners cannot change their address online.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

How do I change my address on my ID card?
The New Mexico ID card is a crucial document that serves as an owner s proof of identity and residency in official transactions.

To change your address on MVD ID cards, you must complete the Change of Address Request Form and submit it by mail, fax, email, online, or in person to a nearby MVD office within 10 days.

If you only send out the form, the change of address will only take place in MVD’s electronic database. To get a secure ID card or an alternative ID card, you must file an application for a new card and include the necessary supporting documents and relevant fees:

  • For secure ID cards:

â—¦ One proof of identification number (SSN)

â—¦ One proof of identity

â—¦ Two proofs of residency

â—¦ Proof of date of birth

  • For alternative ID cards

â—¦ Two proofs of identity for persons not eligible for a social security number

â—¦ Proof of residency

  • Replacement fee of:

â—¦ $10 fee for four-year ID cards

â—¦ $18 fee for eight-year ID cards

Do not forget to sign the form, as forms without a signature are not valid.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
When you make an official name change at the SSA office and the New Mexico DMV office, you will need to update your personal information with all agencies and organizations. This includes your New Mexico car insurance company. After notifying your insurance company of your official name change, your records will be updated and a new ID card mailed. Depending on your situation, you be asked to go in person to verify the validity of your name change.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
To change names on car registration documentation, New Mexico vehicle owners first need an updated driver’s license.

Once in possession, visit any New Mexico DMV office with the following documents:

  • Proof of legal name change:

â—¦ Marriage certificate

â—¦ Court order

â—¦ Divorce decree

  • Current car registration
  • Current certificate of car title, or lien certificate

Once your application is received and the changes are made, you may ask for a duplicate vehicle registration certificate which reflects your new name.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
There are two steps for performing a name change on your drivers license in New Mexico.

The first step is to submit a name change request to the Social Security Administration (SSA) office. The NM DMV verifies your personal information through the SSA before processing your name change request. Give the SSA at least 72 hours to update your Social Security records with your new name.

Bring the following documents with you to the SSA office:

â—¦ ID card

â—¦ New Mexico driver’s license

â—¦ U.S. passport

â—¦ Military ID

  • Proof of legal name change:

â—¦ Marriage certificate

â—¦ Court order

â—¦ Divorce decree

  • Proof of U.S. citizenship or New Mexico residence:

â—¦ A permanent resident card

â—¦ U.S. birth certificate

The second step of the official name change process is submitting the aforementioned documentation at any local New Mexico MVD office in person. Also, you will be required to pay a fee for a replacement driver’s license:

  • $18 for a four-year driving license
  • $34 for an eight-year driver license
How do I change my name on my ID card?
The first step to changing names on your ID card is to submit a name change request at a local Social Security Administration (SSA) office. You will be asked to present the following documentation:

â—¦ ID card

â—¦ New Mexico driver’s license

â—¦ U.S. passport

â—¦ Military ID

  • Proof of legal name change:

â—¦ Marriage certificate

â—¦ Court order

â—¦ Divorce decree

  • Proof of U.S. citizenship or New Mexico residence:

â—¦ A permanent resident card

â—¦ U.S. birth certificate

The second step is to update your DMV records with an official name change at any local New Mexico DMV office. You will need to submit the aforementioned documentation and a payment for the duplicate ID card:

  • $10 for a four-year driving license
  • $18 for an eight-year driver license
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Visit the Social Security Administration (SSA) office, and submit the necessary documentation and the Application for a Social Security Card. The application for social security cards may also be submitted by mail. The SSA will process your application and will send you a new card within 10 business days. Fortunately, you can visit the DMV within three days’ time as your Social Security Number would be updated in the system.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you suspect that someone has illegally accessed your police record you should immediately inform the nearest DMV office about the breach.

You can also instigate legal proceedings in civil court.

The party who has accessed your information illegally will be prosecuted for criminal behavior according to local and national laws for data protection and infringement of privacy.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If you are a resident of New Mexico and your car registration has been stolen, you must immediately contact a local law enforcement agency to file a police report. Once the law enforcement officials take your statement they will give you a copy of the police report. You can take this police report to your local New Mexico DMV field office when applying for car registration replacement, so that the DMV can have it on file.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Stolen car titles must be reported to local or state law enforcement. A police report to protect your ownership and your car registration will be given to you by the officer filing the report. Once you apply to get a car title replacement your old copy will be declared as non-valid.

Many municipalities have an online reporting system you can use as an easy and convenient option.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Driving records in New Mexico can be obtained using several systems for single or multiple requests. Depending on the requestor, DMV offices provide two options for you to check driving records.

One is intended for individual requests and the other is intended for subscriber services for businesses:

  • Individual records can be obtained:

â—¦ In person

â—¦ By fax

â—¦ Online

  • Business and government entities subscriber services include:

â—¦ Drivers history records

â—¦ Drivers monitoring

â—¦ Vehicle, lien and registration search

â—¦ Vehicle registration suite

To check your driving record in person or by fax, complete and submit the Confidential Records Release form to a DMV branch office. Requests in person and by fax may take as long as one to two weeks to be complete.

To request an online driving record visit MVD eservices with the following information:

  • Your date of birth
  • Last four digits of your social security number
  • Your driver’s license number
  • A credit card

You must pay a fee for the type of driving record that you need to get.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
To apply for a duplicate ID card if your old one has been lost, stolen or damaged, visit a nearby DMV office and submit relevant documents and fees in person:

  • For secure identification cards:

â—¦ One proof of identification number

â—¦ One proof of identity

â—¦ Two proofs of New Mexico residency

â—¦ Proof of date of birth

  • For alternative ID cards:

â—¦ Two proofs of identity for persons not eligible for a social security number

â—¦ Proof of New Mexico residency

The same criteria for fees apply for both secure identification cards and alternative ID cards:

  • Four-year ID cards: $10
  • Eight-year ID cards: $18

The new ID card copy will be mailed to you within 45 days.

Although not mandatory, DMV.com recommends that you let the police know about the stolen or lost ID card. In this way, you will protect yourself from identity theft. If your ID card has been damaged you must submit the old copy at the time you apply for ID card replacement.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
A hardship license in New Mexico is referred to as a limited license. A driver must visit a MVD office to see if they qualify for a limited license to drive to school, work or for health related issues. The restrictions for offenders who are subject to drivers license suspension are given within the scope of actions and measures appointed by the court.

There is a restriction applicable to all DUI offenders in New Mexico. They must have an ignition interlock device installed for a period of at least six months once they are put under drivers license suspension.

If you need to get an ignition interlock license for your vehicle, the following requirements need to be completed:

  • Pay the $113 reinstatement fee
  • Provide adequate proof of insurance
  • Get an ignition interlock device from an authorized provider
  • Present contract for the ignition interlock

Once you put in place this device you must keep it for at least six months. It can be removed when you meet the criteria for drivers license reinstatement.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you have lost your license when stationed elsewhere you are not required to complete the drivers license replacement within a certain timeframe. Members of the military and their dependents can use theie expired drivers licenses for as long as they hold an active military status.

If reassigned or discharged, you must support the expired copy with proof of the current status and proof of ID to use it for 30 more days after the expiry. You may not be able to file a police report when out of the country, but it is recommended to do so promptly upon your return.

To get a drivers license copy you can apply online at DMV e-services with the following:

  • ID card number
  • Date of birth
  • Payment of the relevant fee

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
To get a traffic ticket dismissed in NM a driver must contest the traffic citation in court and win the case. Consulting a traffic attorney beforehand can help clear up the law surrounding a drivers violation. The court may dismiss a traffic violation if the defendant enrolls in a defensive driving course, depending on the official presiding over the case.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
To obtain a copy of someone else s driving record or checking police records, you must have the adequate permission to receive this information. Securing someone else s personal information has federal requirements.

To meet these requirements, you must obtain signed permission on the Confidential Records Release form from the person whose information you are attempting to acquire.

If you are checking drivers record online you must have previously obtained personal information and permission from the person in question. In both cases, adhering to federal laws is the responsibility of the requestor. Once you have obtained the proper permission, you can request the information:

  • In person
  • By fax
  • Online

Business and government entities can get a subscriber service by submitting the following forms to the New Mexico MVD:

  • For businesses:

â—¦ Subscriber services checklist

â—¦ New Mexico interactive registration agreement

â—¦ Agreement for access to drivers license and motor vehicle records

â—¦ New Mexico driver privacy protection agreement

  • For government entities:

â—¦ Subscriber services checklist

â—¦ New Mexico interactive online account security agreement

â—¦ Memorandum of understanding

â—¦ New Mexico driver privacy protection agreement

If you are checking driving records as an entity prepare the collective subscription fee of $75 and mail a check or a money order to:

New Mexico Interactive Attention: Subscriber Services 1221 Flagman Way, Suite B4 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
New Mexico residents dealing with stolen, damaged or lost vehicle registration, may apply for a duplicate vehicle registration. You may apply online or in person at a local New Mexico DMV field office. Only the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and the license plate number are required for a duplicate vehicle registration application. You will need a credit or a debit card in order to pay for the replacement fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
A car title certificate, also known as a pink slip, is a document proving ownership of a vehicle. In New Mexico if it gets lost, stolen or damaged then you must apply for a duplicate car title.

You can apply for the car title copy by submitting the application form, the supporting documents and applicable fees to a nearby DMV office either:

  • In person
  • By mail

Only the registered owner, the legal owner, the successor in interest or the legal representative can apply to obtain duplicate car title.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
New Mexico requires you to replace license if your current drivers license has been lost, stolen or damaged. You can apply for a drivers license replacement in two ways:

  • In person
  • Online

When you visit a DMV office, submit the documents and pay the fees in person, you will get a temporary copy within 48 hours. The permanent copy will be mailed to you within 45 days. This drivers license replacement will have the same number as the original.

If you want a new number on your license, you must report the loss or theft to the police before submitting the application for a drivers license replacement at a DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
New Mexico vehicles that have been damaged to the point that it is uneconomical to repair them, are known as salvaged vehicles. If you own such a vehicle, you will get a total loss payment from your insurance company and you will be able to obtain a salvage certificate of title. This salvage certificate of title can be obtained at any local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

How do I obtain car registration?
In order to get car registration the driver must insure the motor vehicle. Once you have your car insured, you can visit the New Mexico DMV office and complete the following:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
In New Mexico, violations that add up to six points may only receive a suspension warning. Violations that add to an amount between seven and ten points get a minimum three-month drivers license suspension.

Drivers who have collected more than 12 points can reinstate if they:

  • Wait for at least a year under license suspension
  • Submit an Affidavit for Reinstatement of Driver’s License
  • Surrender the drivers license to DMV
  • Attend a court hearing
  • Pay reinstatement fees
  • Pass drivers education course
  • Put ignition interlock device, if requested
  • Take appointed driver’s exams

In addition to the aforementioned, the court of jurisdiction will notify the offender of any additional action which they must complete to reinstate suspended drivers license.

When you provide all necessary proof and pay all relevant fees, you will be able to complete the reinstatement. Criminal prosecution is handled separately. You must also complete all criminal charge requirements and fines.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
The Implied Consent Act in New Mexico requires you to submit to a chemical test if pulled over by a police officer. Refusing to submit to a chemical test will get you an automatic license suspension. Whether you commit a first, second, third or any subsequent offense, you will receive a one-year license revocation. After the revocation period is over, you will be able to reinstate your license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
In order to obtain drivers license reinstatement you must comply with strict court orders and meet requirements whose severity depends on the points you have accumulated on your driving record. Most cases of a suspended drivers license can be reinstated if you do the following:

If you need to reinstate suspended driving licenses with commercial privileges, you may need to pass additional endorsement tests and/or pass medical exams.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of New Mexico allows drivers to attend traffic school in order to remove points from their driving record. To attend a defensive driving course in NM, you need to have a valid New Mexico driver’s license and you cannot have taken defensive driving classes within the last two years. A driver can attend an online traffic school or take the course in person. Traffic school courses in New Mexico take four to eight hours to complete and participants will be required to pass a test at the end of the course.

For more information: New Mexico Driver Education and Traffic Schools

How do I renew my driving permit?
In order to renew your New Mexico learners permit, you must visit the NM Motor Vehicle Division directly. You call the NM MVD s toll-free number at 888-683-4636 for more information.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

How do I renew my ID card?
To renew expired ID cards applicants must submit the relevant documents to a MVD office. The same criteria for fees apply for both secure identification cards and alternative ID cards:

  • Four-year ID cards: $10
  • Eight-year ID cards: $18

When you visit a DMV office to renew ID cards, prepare to submit the following:

  • For secure identification card:

â—¦ The expired ID card

â—¦ One proof of identification number

â—¦ One proof of identity

â—¦ Two proofs of New Mexico residency

â—¦ Proof of date of birth

  • For an alternative ID card:

â—¦ The expired ID card

â—¦ Two proofs of identity for persons not eligible for a social security number

â—¦ Proof of New Mexico residency

When you receive your temporary copy at the time of ID card renewal, the old one will be hole-punched. You must carry your hole-punched, expired ID card with you to prove the validity of the temporary paper copy. The new identification card will be mailed to you within 45 days.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are stationed abroad, use the DMV e-services for online drivers license renewal. In cases that you do not fulfill some of the criteria for online license renewal, you have a period of 30 days after the expiration date to renew license in person in a MVD office. You can complete this when you return to the country can drive with the old license until you get your new copy. Spouses can also use this privilege.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
New Mexico commercial drivers license holders are required to keep their medical reports up to date. You will need to visit a licensed physician and submit a renewed Commercial Licensing Medical Examination Certificate. A medical professional on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners must complete all Commercial Driver Medical Certifications. A medical waiver may be issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or by a licensed physician.

If you fail to meet the minimum medical standards in order to obtain a commercial drivers license for either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce, you are required to apply for a waiver.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
You can renew your NM motorcycle license online or in-person. A New Mexico license can be renewed up to 90 days before it expires or before it has been expired for 1 year. Renewing a license in person at a MVD Field office only requires your current NM motorcycle license. If you are eligible to renew your license online you can visit the NM MVD website.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Residents of New Mexico who do not have United States citizenship can replace lost or stolen drivers licenses if they provide adequate evidence of their lawful status or presence in the country.

You must apply in person or online, present the relevant documents and pay appropriate fees. Acceptable evidence for your status in the country include:

  • Valid passport
  • Valid working or student card
  • Valid employment card

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
New Mexico drivers who have lost driver licenses out-of-state may use the online drivers license replacement option. Visit the link for e-services at New Mexico DMV and follow the steps to take you through the process. Proof of ID, proof of social security number, and an online payment is required.

You will only be able to apply for a drivers license copy which has your old license number on it. If you require a new number on your license, you must wait until you return home to file the mandatory police report with local or state law enforcement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Each state DMV has different requirements and regulations for car title transfers. Residents of New Mexico who want to move to another state and a transfer car title, need to contact the DMV office at their destination state. If you have recently moved to New Mexico and you want to transfer car title from another state, you will be required to collect the needed documentation and visit a local New Mexico DMV office with:

  • Out-of-state title
  • Request for Lien Holder Title, if the title is hold by a lienholder
  • VIN inspection
  • Proof of:

â—¦ Car insurance

â—¦ Identity

â—¦ New Mexico residency (two proofs)

â—¦ Emissions testing (for residents of the Bernalillo County)

  • Payment for the required car title transfer fee

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
New Mexico drivers who have lost their original car title are required to apply for a duplicate car title before transferring car title. A duplicate car title can be obtained at any local New Mexico DMV office. Visit the DMV in person and submit the following:

After you have received a duplicate car title, you can apply for a car title transfer at any local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

How do I transfer my car title?
A Certificate of Title is a document proving the legal ownership of a vehicle. Residents of New Mexico who deal with selling, buying, donating, gifting or inheriting a motor vehicle, are required to learn how to transfer car title. The process is includes:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Drivers of recreational vehicles (RVs) in New Mexico are required to register and title their vehicles following the same process as for a regular vehicle title transfer. Visit a local New Mexico DMV office and submit the same documents needed for a regular titling of a motor vehicle. If you want to know the exact documentation is required, contact the DMV.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
If you are a military member stationed in New Mexico and you wish to obtain a motorcycle license you will have to follow the same standard procedures. Complete the following steps at a MVD Field office:

  • A NM motorcycle license application
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity

o 2 documents proving NM residency

  • Pass a vision exam
  • A written knowledge test
  • A motorcycle road skills test
  • Show proof of having completed the “None for the Road” DWI awareness course
  • Pay the full unrestricted drivers license fee:

o 4-year license: $18.00

o 8-year license: $34.00

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

How does the DMV check my vision?
The New Mexico drivers license vision exam must determine that you have at least 20/40 vision in one eye, with or without corrective lenses. The vision exam also tests for side vision, your ability to judge distances and speed, and night vision. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, you are required to always wear them while in the operation of a motor vehicle. You are also required to take and pass the vision exam if you have a valid out-of-state license and you wish to obtain a new license in NM. For more information regarding how the NM MVD conducts the vision exam, you can contact them directly at their toll-free number 888-683-4636.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
In New Mexico, in order to obtain a provisional driver s license you must hold a learners permit for no less than 180 days. You must be at least 15 ½ years old, have completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel supervised practice, and have not obtained any convictions for traffic violations as a learners permit holder.

Lerners permit holders must only be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older and who has been licensed for at least three years at all times. A state-approved driver education program must also be completed. If you have completed all of the requirements successfully and you meet the specified criteria, you will then be able to apply for a provisional drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
DMV offices in New Mexico do not offer the option for online car title replacement. You can only apply to get duplicate car titles in person or by mail.

Once the procedure is completed with the MVD, the car title copy will be mailed to you at your official mailing address. The process takes approximately 60 days.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
In New Mexico if you are stopped by a traffic officer and asked to submit to a chemical test, you are legally compelled to comply. If you refuse, the law enforcement officer can confiscate the license under the New Mexico implied consent law. This is an administrative procedure separate from the drivers license suspension procedure.

Depending on the type of points you have previously accumulated, your refusal to submit to a chemical test will be charged according to the point-based system.

If you are found guilty of DWI for the first time, your license will be suspended for at least one year. Repeated unlawful behavior can result in:

  • Second offense: two-year suspension
  • Third offense: three-year suspension
  • Fourth or subsequent offense: lifetime suspension

If you own a commercial driving license and are found guilty of a DUI offense, the consequences are:

  • First offence: One year license suspension
  • Second offence: Lifetime license revocation

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
You will receive a temporary paper copy at the time you submit your application to the New Mexico MVD. A fully-valid ID card will be mailed to you within 45 days from the date you submitted your application.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
Drivers license suspensions in New Mexico occur when drivers have accumulated a certain number of points on their driving record from traffic offenses. When a judge is evaluating a drivers record, the court of jurisdiction will keep the following guidelines in mind:

  • Suspension warning for a record which contains up to six points
  • Three-month suspension for a record between seven and ten points
  • One-year suspension for over twelve points

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
In New Mexico a driver cannot attend a traffic school course if he or she has already completed one in the past 12 to 18 months.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
The cost for name changing is free; however, you must pay for a car registration duplicate if you wish to have your new name printed on the certificate. In New Mexico, a replacement car registration certificate costs $5.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Changing names on car titles is free in New Mexico. You are advised to order a duplicate car title though, so that your new name is reflected on your car title. A replacement car title costs $16.50.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
New Mexico residents first need to update their SSA records and then make an official name change request at a local New Mexico DMV office. The cost for a replacement driver’s license depends on the length of validity of your driver’s license:

  • $18 for a four-year driving license
  • $34 for an eight year driver’s license
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
A commercial drivers license holder will need to renew his or her CDL four years or eight years from the date of issuance depending on the initial type received from the MDV. In order to apply for a renewal of your commercial drivers license you must visit a MVD Field office and complete the following:

  • Present your valid or expired New Mexico CDL
  • Present Commercial Driver Medical Certificate or any medical waiver issued
  • Present proper forms of identification including:

o 1 document proving Social Security number

o 1 document proving identity & date of birth

o 1 document proving U.S. citizenship or permanent residence status

o 2 documents proving New Mexico residency

  • If you wish to obtain or upgrade a HAZMAT endorsement, you must pass a written hazardous material test and a background check
  • Complete any additional testing required for renewal
  • Pay the commercial drivers license renewal fee:

o 4-year CDL license: $18.00

o 8-year CDL license: $34.00

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
All expired drivers licenses can be renewed in person as early as 90 days before the expiration date and as late as 30 days after the expiration date.

Online drivers license renewal is done only within one year of the last renewal. If you fail to renew within that year, you must visit a MVD office to apply in person.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
If you are a New Mexico resident who has inherited a motor vehicle due to the death of a family member, you need to begin with a process of car title transfer. The process differs according to the status of the estate of the deceased family member. The estate can be probated (with or without will) or non-probated (no will).

  • Probated estate: a court-appointed administrator can transfer car title to you
  • Non-probated estate: the legal spouse, heir or successor can apply for a transfer of title only if there is no pending application for an administrator of the estate. You are required to wait at least 30 days after the death of the family member in order to apply. After this period, you will be able to apply for transfer of title, submitting the following:

o Copy of the death certificate

o Certificate of Transfer Without Probate

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
If you renew auto registration within 30 days of expiration, you will be required to pay an additional fee of $10. If you are more than 31 days late in renewing car registration, you will have to pay a penalty which is equal to 75 percent of the registration fee.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Each applicant who applies for driving license replacement must pay the relevant fee at the MVD even if you file a report with the police.

The only fee waivers are for drivers over 75 who may get their duplicate license without incurring any fees.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been involved in an accident while operating your motor vehicle, you are required by New Mexico state law to report all damages to person and property to the New Mexico DMV office and your car insurance company. The property damage liability insurance covers damages to vehicles and property (house, building, fence, lamppost, etc).

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If you are a New Mexico resident who works or studies out-of-state, or is on active duty in the military, you are still required to have car insurance. You can keep the insurance you have bought in New Mexico, as long as your vehicle remains in the state. The following documents must be submitted to the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB):

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your NM traffic citation, you need to contact county court where the violation took place. They will retrieve your lost traffic citation information and provide you with instructions on what to do next. Prompt retrieval of your traffic ticket information will allow you to establish a due date by which you must address the traffic violation. Failure to address violations in a timely manner may result in additional fees, other administrative actions or the NM DMV suspending your drivers license.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you have lost your ID card out-of-state, you must wait to reapply for a duplicate ID card when you return to New Mexico.

The procedure to get ID cards must be done in person as it requires photo identification and thumb-print submission.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
If your New Mexico drivers license has been confiscated and revoked due to a DUI or DWI, you must fulfill the following requirements to reinstate your license.

  • Complete the license revocation period
  • Install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • Drive for six months with an IID and an ignition interlock license

After completing the reinstatement requirements, you will have to fill out the drivers license reinstatement application, pay the fee, and retake the drivers license exams again. You might also need to enroll and complete a drug or alcohol assessment program. Lastly, you will be required to purchase SR22 insurance in order to prove your financial responsibility.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Drivers with lost personalized plates should immediately contact a local New Mexico DMV field office or call them at (888) 683-4636 (888-MVD-INFO) and get all the necessary information for ordering replacement plates. If the license plates were damaged, submit them to the MVD. You must file a police report with local or state law enforcement for lost personalized plates or decals.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
The minimum age to obtain a New Mexico commercial driver s license valid for intrastate transport is 18. If you wish to drive a commercial vehicle to or between destinations outside the state of NM, you must be at least 21 years of age. To apply, you must visit a MVD Field office, submit and complete the following:

  • Proof of your Social Security number
  • Pass a vision test
  • Pass a written knowledge test
  • Pass a CDL road skills test
  • Meet minimum medical standards established by federal and state regulations.

Once you have completed all the aforementioned steps, you will then be issued an NM commercial drivers license.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
There is no age limit for drivers license renewal in New Mexico. You can renew your license as many times as you want, every four or each eight years, depending on the expiration date.

There is an exception for drivers over 75, who must renew their licenses annually and are exempt from renewal fees.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
New Mexico requires car registration documents to be carried in the motor vehicle at all times.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
In New Mexico your drivers license replacement will be mailed to the address you provided at the time of application.

If you have changed your address, you must complete a change of address request for your ID card or license with a MVD office. Applicants must check this requirement when applying to replace license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
If you are a senior who is 75 years of age or older, the state of New Mexico requires you to renew your drivers license every year. Renewing your drivers license can be done in-person or online and no renewal fees will be charged. If you choose to renew your license in person visit a MVD Field office and bring your current NM drivers license. You will need to inquire if you are eligible to renew your license online by visiting the NM MVD site. If the site determines that you are eligible for online renewal you can continue with the steps as instructed.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
There are several reasons why a New Mexico resident might need a car title transfer:

  • Selling a used vehicle
  • Purchasing a new or used vehicle
  • Receiving a vehicle as a gift
  • Donating a vehicle
  • Inheriting a vehicle as a result of the death of a family member

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Drivers license suspension is a result of driving actions which violates traffic regulations and other laws. Some infractions that may result in a suspended driving license are:

  • Driving while intoxicated
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test
  • Driving with a suspended license or with no license
  • Speeding
  • Excessive moving violations
  • Failure to appear at a court hearing
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Reckless or careless driving
  • Illegally passing school buses
  • Making improper turns at intersections
  • Operating a vehicle without registration

The New Mexico MVD has established a point system to evaluate decisions about drivers license suspensions. Violations are given points which, when accumulated up to at least seven, may result in a suspended license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
New Mexico residents are eligible to obtain an NM motorcycle license with no restrictions if 18 years of age or older. If you are 16 or 17, you are required to obtain a NM motorcycle instruction permit before you can obtain the standard motorcycle license. A NM motorcycle instruction permit holder must wear helmet and eye protection while in the control of a motorcycle. You are required to be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older who has been licensed for at least three years. With a NM motorcycle instruction permit, you are entitled to drive on public highways for six months. After six months and completion of all the requirements as a NM motorcycle instruction permit holder, you will be eligible to apply for a provisional motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In New Mexico, there are six different types of commercial drivers license endorsements. You can apply for any of the following:

  • H To drive a vehicle used to transport placarded quantities of hazardous materials
  • N To drive a vehicle intended for hauling liquids in bulk
  • P To drive a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more occupants, including driver
  • S To drive a school bus
  • T To drive combination vehicles with double or triple trailers
  • X To drive a combination of tank vehicle and hazardous materials endorsements

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If you drive with a suspended driving license and do not follow the instructions given by New Mexico magistrate’s court order, you may get additional points on your drivers license. The points will be collected and added up to your driving record. Depending on your previous convictions you may receive:

  • Three-month suspension
  • Twelve-month suspension
  • Three-year drivers license revocation

If the suspension was a result of receiving DUI conviction you will receive:

  • Imprisonment from seven days to one year
  • Fine from $300 to $1,000

Each of the aforementioned procedures requires that the violator take steps to restore legal driving privileges. Drivers with suspended licenses will need to pay fees for driver’s license reinstatement and an ignition interlock device, if applicable.

CDL license holders may receive a CDL disqualification, which means they will not be able to operate commercial vehicles.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

What are the different types of driving records?
The different types of driving records obtainable in New Mexico are:

  • Certified driving records
  • Non-certified driving records
  • Driving records for individuals
  • Driving records for entities:

â—¦ Businesses

â—¦ Government officials

Certified records are verified with an official letter from the MVD and are accepted by employers and insurance companies. Driving records for entities are available through subscription services.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
New Mexico DMV offices have the same fees for secure ID cards and for alternative ID cards. Equal fees apply to the following procedures:

  • Applications for new ID cards
  • ID card replacements
  • ID card renewals

Fees depend on the length of your ID card validity:

  • $10 for ID cards valid for four-years
  • $18 for ID cards valid for eight-years

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Fees associated with the application to replace driving licenses in New Mexico depend on the type of license and their validity:

â—¦ $18 for a license valid for four years

â—¦ $34 for a license valid for eight years

Senior citizens who are over 75 can get their drivers license replacement with no fee.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
As a learners permit holder in New Mexico, you are restricted to only operating a motor vehicle while under supervision. You are required to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with a licensed adult. The adult must be at least 21 years of age or be a licensed driver of at least three years. The 50 hours of supervised driving practice must include 10 hours of nighttime driving. You must have a parent or legal guardian sign your driving log. Once you have completed the required driving practice and have held your learners permit for at least six months, you will be eligible to apply for a provisional drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
All drivers applying for a New Mexico commercial drivers license are required to meet minimum medical standards established by federal and state regulations. Requirements vary depending on whether you intend to operate a CDL vehicle across intrastate lines or interstate lines. You will need to visit a licensed physician and have him or her fill out a Commercial Licensing Medical Examination Certificate. The examination certificate will determine your health history and state the test results for your vision, hearing, and blood pressure. It will also show a routine physical examination result. You may also be required to provide a Medical Examiner s Certificate in the event that you have a specific condition or restriction the MVD needs to be aware of before you are issued a CDL.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reasons to replace vehicle registration In New Mexico are:

  • Registration certificate was lost, stolen or damaged
  • License plates were lost, stolen or damaged
  • Registration stickers or decals were lost, stolen or damaged

New Mexico drivers must apply for a duplicate vehicle registration at any local New Mexico DMV field office if their registration or license plates have been lost, stolen, or damaged

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If a learners permit holder gets a traffic citation, the six-month period required to hold the instruction permit will be extended by thirty days for each traffic violation received. If a provisional permit holder gets a traffic ticket during the one-year period required to hold a provisional license, that period will be extended by 30 days for each traffic violation that individual receives.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
A New Mexico driver convicted of a DUI or DWI might face different penalties. These penalties depend on the number of times the driver has committed a particular offense:

  • First offense:

â—¦ Jail time: Up to 90 days

â—¦ Fine: up to $500

â—¦ License suspension: Up to one year

  • Second offense:

â—¦ Jail time: Four to 364 days

â—¦ Fine: $500 to $1,000

â—¦ License suspension: Two years

  • Third offense:

â—¦ Jail time: 30 to 364 days

â—¦ Fine: $750 to $1,000

â—¦ License suspension: Three years

  • Fourth offense:

â—¦ Jail time: Six to 18 months

â—¦ Fine: Up to $5,000

â—¦ License suspension: Lifetime

  • Fifth offense:

â—¦ Jail time: One to two years

â—¦ Fine: up to $5,000

â—¦ License suspension: Lifetime

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
To reinstate revoked drivers licenses in New Mexico, offenders need to pay the basic administrative amount for reinstatement.

Fees that may be charged to reinstate drivers license are:

  • $102 reinstatement fee
  • $20 returned check fee for child support
  • Car insurance fee
  • Remit penalty assessment fee
  • More points or certain unlawful behavior may require additional fees

Child support or bankruptcy convictions may ask that you provide court clearance, petition of bankruptcy or clearance of Form D51 for parental responsibility surcharge.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The fees for vehicle registration in New Mexico differ according to the type of vehicle and the length of validity of the car registration. Those fees are listed below:

  • Passenger vehicles:

â—¦ One-year registration: $27 to $62

â—¦ Two-year registration: $54 to $124

  • Trucks that weigh 26,000 lbs. or less:

â—¦ One-year registration: $38 to $207

â—¦ Two-year registration: $76 to $414

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The fees required for obtaining a car title replacement are explained in detail in the Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title and are:

  • $16 for vehicle title
  • $10 for boat titles
  • $5 for adding or deleting liens

Fees can be paid in cash in DMV offices only. If you apply by mail you must send a valid check or a money order.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
New Mexico residents will be required to pay a $5 fee for the car registration replacement. When making an online duplicate registration request, you will be required to pay an additional $1.25 transaction fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Car registration renewal fees in New Mexico are different depending on the duration of the car registration:

  • One-year car registration renewal: $33
  • Two-year car registration renewal: $54

If you renew car registration online or by phone it will cost $5 less.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In the state of New Mexico, in order to legally operate a three-wheeled motorcycle your license must have an endorsement of “Z”, “Y” or “W” to be considered valid. Each endorsement is assigned to different kinds of three-wheeled motorcycles:

Z Required to drive any two or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine of less than 50 cubic centimeters piston displacement

Y Required to drive any two or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine of at least 50 but less than 100 cubic centimeters piston displacement

W Required to drive any two or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine of 100 or more cubic centimeters piston displacement

Once you have obtained a NM standard drivers license or a motorcycle license, you can have the applicable endorsement added to license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
A Hardship license is referred to as a limited license in New Mexico. It may be obtained under special circumstances for driving to school, to work or to church. This is under conditions in which you are not able to use your full-operator driving license in cases where it was suspended or revoked.

There is a restriction applicable to all DUI offenders in New Mexico. They must have an ignition interlock device installed for a period of at least six months once they are put under drivers license suspension.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you do not pass your road skills test on your first attempt, you will be required to schedule a date and time to retake it. You must wait at least one week before you can attempt it again. A test can be re-scheduled through the NM MVD online appointment scheduling system.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
In order to successfully apply for a learners permit you are required to submit the proper forms of identification to your local MVD Field office. The required documents include:

  • Proof of driver education program enrollment or completion
  • 1 document proving Social Security number
  • 1 document proving identity
  • 2 documents proving NM residency

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
The documents required to obtain a NM motorcycle driving license at a MVD Field office are:

  • 1 document proving Social Security number
  • 1 document proving identity
  • 2 documents proving NM residency

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
In order to apply for a NM drivers license, you must visit a MVD Field office and present the required documentation:

  • 1 document proving Social Security number
  • 1 document proving identity
  • 2 documents proving NM residency

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
If your pink slip has been lost, damaged or stolen, you must get a new copy in a New Mexico DMV office. When you visit a MVD office for a car title replacement be sure to complete the following documents:

Submit the documents in original form or copied, if you are applying by mail. Once the MVD receives and processes your application for your new pink slip, the duplicate car title will be mailed to the address you have provided.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Acceptable proofs of residency in New Mexico which will be considered as valid documents to change address on DMV records are originals of the following:

  • If you are over 18:

â—¦ Real property lease or purchase agreement

â—¦ Utility bill

â—¦ Insurance bill

â—¦ Bank or Credit Union statement

â—¦ Employment pay stub

â—¦ A local property tax statement or mortgage document

â—¦ Proof of minor child enrolled in school

â—¦ Current valid motor vehicle registration

â—¦ Original documents from a New Mexico authority confirming residency

â—¦ New Mexico medical or public assistance card

  • If you are under 18

â—¦ Proof of school enrollment

â—¦ Membership in a religious organization

â—¦ Membership in a sports organization

All of the above documents must be less than three months old.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
All New Mexico applicants who wish to change their address and do not have current proof of citizenship in the U.S. can use one the following documents to change address in MVD records:

  • Original or certified copy of a foreign birth certificate with a notarized English translation
  • Valid permanent resident card issued by the United States Government
  • Valid Passport issued by a country of citizenship
  • Matricula Consular card issued after February 1, 2005 by the Mexican Consulate in Albuquerque or El Paso

Documents must be originals and must confirm lawful presence in the country and the state. They must also contain the physical address to be able to serve as evidence of the official address change of the non-citizen.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
Drivers in New Mexico who want to get a car registration replacement, can either request one online or in person at a local New Mexico DMV field office. No forms or applications are needed, only the following:

  • Your vehicle information:

â—¦ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

â—¦ License plate number

  • A credit or debit card to pay the duplicate car registration fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
In order to get car registration, you need to visit any local New Mexico DMV office and submit the following documentation:

â—¦ Current auto insurance card

â—¦ Copy of the current auto insurance policy

â—¦ A letter from the auto insurance company, verifying your insurance

  • Submit a Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement, if registering previously used vehicle
  • Submit a release of lien, if applicable
  • Power of Attorney, if other person applies instead of you
  • Pay the required fees

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
The documents that residents of New Mexico need in order to renew car registrations are different according to the way the renewal is made. Each way of renewing car registrations are listed below along with the required documentation:

In person

  • Registration renewal notice
  • Payment

Online

  • Control number or license plate number and VIN number
  • Vehicle model year and owner’s name
  • Credit card information for the renewal fee

By phone

Using the Integrated Voice Response (IVR) System by calling Toll-free: 1-888-683-4636 (1-888-MVD-INFO) which is available 24 hours a day. When you call the number, you will be supposed to enter:

  • Control number or license plate number
  • Credit card information

By mail

You can also mail the registration renewal notice and the payment for the required fee to the following address:

Registration Renewal Section Motor Vehicle Division PO BOX 25129 Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
To renew driving license in person present the following at a MDV office:

  • You expired drivers license
  • Proof of ID, if you do not have your old license
  • Appropriate fee:

â—¦ $18 for a license valid for four years

â—¦ $34 for a license valid for eight years

  • Proof of vision exam
  • Proof of knowledge and driving test, if required

You can renew driving license online only if you have:

  • Submitted the last application in person
  • You do not need to submit documentation about changes in your eye vision
  • Have proof of your social security number
  • A clear driving record.

Online renewal is possible only if there has been maximum one year since the expiration date.

CDL s, learner’s permits and licenses for citizens over 75 cannot be renewed online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
The documents needed for transferring car titles in New Mexico varies slightly depending on whether the vehicle is being bought, sold, gifted or inherited. In each of these situations the drivers are required to collect and submit certain documentation to a local New Mexico DMV office:

â—¦ New vehicle:

â–ª Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)

â–ª Out-of-state title

â–ª VIN inspection

â—¦ Purchased vehicle:

â–ª Collect the documents from the seller

â–ª Bill of Sale

â–ª Odometer Disclosure Statement

  • Provide proof of:

â—¦ Car insurance

â—¦ Identity

â—¦ New Mexico residency (two proofs)

â—¦ Emissions testing (for residents of the Bernalillo County)

  • Payment for the required car title transfer fee

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
New Mexico drivers are not able to present proof of their current license for stolen drivers licenses and lost drivers licenses. If your previous license has been damaged, you must present the old copy at the time of application. The following is a list of documents which must be presented at MVD office or online if you are using e-services:

  • Proof of ID, if you do not have your old license
  • Proof of social security number for online license replacement
  • Appropriate fee:

â—¦ $18 for a duplicate license valid for four years

â—¦ $34 for a duplicate license valid for eight years

  • A copy of the police report for duplicate license with a new number
  • A signed statement for duplicate license with a new number

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
The state of New Mexico requires you to pass a written knowledge test and a motorcycle road skills test. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, it is required by NM state law to attend and complete the Basic Rider Course with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The course consists of five hours of classroom instruction and at least ten hours of practical riding in a controlled environment. At the end of the course you will need to take a knowledge test and a skills evaluation. Once you ve completed the course, you will be handed a completion card and you will be eligible to apply for a motorcycle learners permit or motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
Submissions for lost car titles, stolen car titles or damaged car titles are completed on the same form called Application For Duplicate Certificate of Title (Form MVD – 10901). Only the registered owner, the legal owner, the successor in interest or the legal representative can apply to obtain duplicate car titles.

The form can be submitted either in person to a DMV office or mailed to:

Services Bureau

P. O. Box 1028

Santa Fe, New Mexico

87504 – 1028

Phone: 1-888-683-4636

MVD-info

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
The state of New Mexico receives and shares information regarding traffic violations and convictions with other states. Failure to pay an out-of-state traffic fine has the same consequences as failing to pay a traffic ticket in your New Mexico. Including a possible suspension on your NM drivers license and higher costs to reinstate your diving privileges.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
New Mexico CDL holders convicted of a traffic violation must notify their employer within 30 days of receiving the ticket. Employer notification is required even if you are convicted in another state or if you receive a traffic citation while driving your private vehicle. The penalties and fines vary depending on the severity of the offense and the number of times you have been convicted of it. Certain severe traffic violations, such as an alcohol- and drug-related offense, may result in a lifetime ban on your driving privileges.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are convicted of a DUI as an NM commercial drivers license holder you will lose your license for one year. If you are convicted of a DUI for a second time, you will lose your commercial drivers license for life. You may request a hearing within 30 days of the post marked date of the notice of disqualification. If the hearing is granted, the disqualification will be stayed pending the outcome of the hearing. Under the current commercial drivers license law set in New Mexico, any person who holds a commercial drivers license is required to consent to any testing required by the state or local jurisdiction.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
The state of New Mexico voids old car titles documents when a new one has been issued. Once you have initiated the procedure for car title replacement, the old copy is declared as non-valid. The only valid copy you can use in future transaction is the new duplicate car title.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

What information does a driving record contain?
Driving records only contain specific information regulated by federal personal data protection guidelines. Each drivers police record contains information about their past driving history and details about:

  • Suspensions
  • Accumulated points
  • Convictions
  • Withdrawals
  • Accidents

Personal address, social security information, and other sensitive personal data is not included in a police record. Disclosing such information is against federal and local laws and will be prosecuted in criminal proceedings.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

What is an ID card?
ID cards serve as officially recognized photo identification. New Mexico secure ID cards can be used in all official transactions where you need to submit a proof of your identity.

Alternative ID cards are also issued in New Mexico to applicants who cannot fulfill the federal criteria for the secure ID cards. New Mexico Alternative ID Cards are not accepted at airport security and cannot be used when applying for a New Mexico driver’s license, learner’s permit or secure identification card.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of DUI or DWI convictions in New Mexico depends on the number of offenses that the driver has committed:

  • First offense: Up to $500
  • Second offense: $500 to $1,000
  • Third offense: $750 to $1,000
  • Fourth offense: Up to $5,000
  • Fifth offense: Up to $5,000

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Traffic ticket fines in New Mexico vary from county to county, even though the penalties and points assigned to your drivers record are the same. Your traffic citation will list the traffic ticket price you are required to pay in addition to instructions on how to pay traffic citation. If you have lost your NM traffic ticket, contact the county court where the violation took place to retrieve the necessary information.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Costs of obtaining driving records depends on the type of record requested. The fees applicable to all driving record requests are:

  • $6.63 for individual non-certified records
  • $9.99 for individual certified records
  • $75 for annual business subscription for 10 driving records per month
  • Additional monthly fee per request for businesses and driving records subscriber services

The fees can be paid with a check or a money order payable to New Mexico Interactive.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Drivers with a New Mexico CDL also face penalties for DUI citations. CDL drivers who receive DWI citations will have a license suspension for one year if found with a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than 0.04 percent. This applies even if the commercial driver was not operating a commercial vehicle at the time. A second offense will result in a lifetime CDL suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors in New Mexico face stricter DUI penalties than adults do. They have the lowest legal alcohol limit of 0.02 percent blood alcohol content (BAC), and they face the same penalties as adults. The New Mexico Implied Consent Act stipulates a one-year drivers license revocation for minors who fail or refuse to submit to a chemical test. Minors convicted of a DUI face the following penalties:

  • First conviction:

â—¦ Jail time: Up to 90 days

â—¦ Fine: Up to $500

â—¦ License suspension: 90 days to one year

  • Second conviction:

â—¦ Jail time: Up to one year

â—¦ Fine: $500 to $1,000

â—¦ License suspension: Up to two years

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Drivers in New Mexico are required to obtain a minimum amount of liability car insurance in order to legally operate a motor vehicle. Without car insurance, drivers will not be able to register and title their vehicles. The minimum amounts of liability insurance required by New Mexico are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

â—¦ One person: $25,000

â—¦ Two or more people: $50,000

  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $10,000

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
In order to obtain a learners permit in New Mexico, you are required to pass a NM MVD written knowledge test. A score of 70 percent or higher is considered passing for the written knowledge test. It is recommended to study the New Mexico Driver Manual, in order to successfully pass the written test. You can obtain a PDF copy of the NM Driver Manual on the NM MVD website or you can pick up a physical copy at your local MVD Field office. In order to waive your requirement to take the written knowledge test, you must present a Certificate of Completion from a contracted driver education school.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In New Mexico scooters may be classified as motorcycles, mopeds or bicycles depending on the engine. When you want to title your scooter, you should find out in which category your scooter belongs. The process for getting a standard vehicle title applies for titling all vehicles that classify as motorcycles. Visit a local New Mexico DMV office and submit the same documents needed for a regular titling of a motor vehicle. If you need more detailed information, you are recommended to contact the DMV prior to taking any action.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

What languages is the written test available in?
If you need to take the written knowledge test in another language other than English contact the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. You can call the NM MVD at their toll-free number 888-683-4636.

To pass the NM MVD written knowledge test, it is recommended to study the New Mexico Driver Manual. The NM Driver Manual is available in English and Spanish. You can obtain a PDF copy of the NM Driver Manual on the NM MVD website or you can pick up a physical copy at a MVD Field office. You can waive your requirement to take the written knowledge test by presenting a Certificate of Completion from a contracted driver education school.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
When a New Mexico driver is convicted of DUI or DWI, his or her drivers license is confiscated and revoked for one year. To restore a driver license, the following requirements must be met:

  • Complete the license revocation period
  • Install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • Drive six months with an IID and an ignition interlock license
  • Retake all driving license exams
  • Pay the driver’s license reinstatement fee ($102)
  • Provide proof of SR22 insurance
  • Complete an alcohol treatment program, if required

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
There is no specific penalty in New Mexico for applicants who fail to complete the address changing process within the 10-day limit. The official address is a record used in transactions with official authorities and the conflict of address may have an impact in situations in which you must present official proof of residence. For example, you will not be able to use documents which are not updated in applications where two proofs of residency are required.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
New Mexico does not give any specific penalties to applicants who have been late to renew expired drivers licenses.

You will not be able to renew driver’s license online if you are more than one year from the license expiration date. If you are over the 30-days grace period, you may be asked to present additional proof of passed knowledge, vision or driving tests.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
New Mexico requires proof of insurance when registering vehicles at the New Mexico DMV office. That proof of insurance can be obtained from your car insurance company and you should always carry it with you when operating your vehicle. The proof of insurance can be:

  • Current car insurance card
  • Copy of your current car insurance policy
  • Letter from your car insurance company verifying your car insurance coverage

Without any of these proofs of car insurance, you will not be able to register your vehicle at the DMV. You will also recieve a vehicle registration suspension if found driving without one of the aforementioned forms of proof of insurance.

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Drivers of New Mexico who have an expired car registration for their vehicle, can renew car registrations online, by phone, in person or by mail. The instructions for the process of renewing car registration are written on the renewal registration notice. If you have followed the registration instructions correctly, but have not received your registration tags or stickers, you must contact your local New Mexico DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you renewed your license in person, you should have received a temporary copy at the DMV office. The official license will be mailed to you within 45 days. If you have not received your drivers license with 45 days, visit the DMV e-services link and have the following information to submit in the online system:

  • Driver’s license or ID card number
  • Date of birth
  • Last four digits of your ID

The online system will take you through the procedure for drivers license renewal. You will be able to see how far has the procedure gone or submit an online inquiry. An MVD office can provide you with information pertaining to the status of your renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In order to obtain a learners permit in New Mexico, you are required to pass a NM MVD written knowledge test and a vision exam. It is recommended to study the New Mexico Driver Manual in order to prepare for the written knowledge test. You can obtain a PDF copy of the NM Driver Manual on the NM MVD website or you can pick up a physical copy at your local MVD Field office. In order to waive your requirement to take the written knowledge test, you must present a Certificate of Completion from a contracted driver education school.

The NM MVD requires you to pass a vision exam before obtaining a learners permit. This exam measures that you have at least 20/40 vision in one eye, with or without corrective lenses. The vision exam also tests for side vision, your ability to judge distances and speed, and night vision. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, you are required to always wear them while in the operation of a motor vehicle.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
When applying for a NM commercial drivers license, depending on the class of CDL licensing and endorsements you are applying for, you are required to take the following tests:

  • CDL written knowledge test
  • CDL road skills test
  • A written knowledge test on the class of CDL and each endorsement if required

The NM CDL road skills test is administered by a third party examiner and takes approximately two hours to complete. It consists of the pre-trip, basic control skills, and road testing portions.

For more information: New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
In order to obtain a first-time New Mexico drivers license, you are required to pass the following tests:

  • Vision exam
  • Written knowledge test
  • Road skills test

You are not required to take the written knowledge test or the road-skills test if you have a valid out-of-state drivers license at the time you re applying for a NM drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
New Mexico has a state requirement that all motor vehicles have liability insurance. Drivers are required to obtain minimum liability amounts if they want to own and operate motor vehicles. The required car insurance consists of:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance

There is another type of insurance known as uninsured and underinsured coverage which covers the costs of an accident when a driver does not have car insurance.

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The state of New Mexico offers three different kinds of non-commercial drivers licenses:

  • Class D License: Allows drivers 18 years of age and older to operate vehicles less than 26,001 lbs. without any restrictions.
  • Class E License: An exemption license that authorizes a driver to operate a vehicle that weighs 26,001 pounds or more such as recreational vehicles, certain farm and ranch vehicles, firefighting vehicles, and military vehicles owned or operated by the department of defense.
  • Class M License: Allows drivers to legally operate a motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
New Mexico residents who operate their motor vehicles without the minimum amount of liability car insurance required, will have their vehicle s registration suspended. You will receive a Notice of Suspension of Registration letter from the New Mexico MVD. The New Mexico Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act requires residents to return their vehicle registration and license plates to the New Mexico DMV within 10 days of receiving this notice. If you fail to do so, you will face severe criminal penalties.

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
If you are a New Mexico driver with a suspended drivers license, you may reinstate suspended driving license only after you have completed all requirements appointed by the court. These may include administrative actions, fees, as well as criminal penalties. Reinstating suspended driving licenses in New Mexico is possible only after you:

  • Pass approved drivers education 90 days prior to the reinstatement request
  • Pay reinstatement fees
  • Pass required driver’s exam, if required
  • Have an ignition interlock for at least six months
  • Complete all court appointed administrative actions

Once you fulfill all aforementioned conditions, you must present proof to the DMV for your suspended drivers license to be restored.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

When does my car registration expire?
New Mexico has two types of car registration which vary according to the length of the registration period:

  • One-year car registration
  • Two-year car registration

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

When does my ID card expire?
Identification cards in New Mexico expire in four years or eight years from the date of issuance. This depends on which was requested and paid for in the initial application. The expiration date is printed on the card itself.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
All New Mexico address change requests must be submitted within 10 days of the moment the actual change took place.

The update is immediately put in the New Mexico MVD electronic system and you will get all your future official correspondence at your new address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale document is needed only if you are purchasing or selling a motor vehicle in New Mexico. Residents are required to undergo a process of car title transfer when they sell or buy a vehicle. A seller is required to complete a bill of sale and give a full description of the vehicle before selling it.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Mexico

When will I need to renew my license?
Depending on the type of license you own, you must renew your expired driving license within:

  • One year
  • Four years
  • Eight years

There is a window of four months to renew expired licenses. All expired drivers licenses can be renewed in person as early as 90 days before the expiration date and as late as 30 days after the expiration date.

Online drivers license renewal is possible within one year of the last renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
The New Mexico DMV delivers driving license replacements to applicants within 45 days from the application date. In the interim period, you will receive a temporary paper copy.

If you do not receive the duplicate within the 45 day period, you can do an online inquiry at DMV e-services, or check in person at a DMV office for the reason behind the delay.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New Mexico Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
Information on your suspended drivers license can be obtained in a branch office of the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division.

Information about approved traffic schools and ignition interlock systems can be obtained at the subdivision of the New Mexico Department of Transport, called The Traffic Safety Bureau.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
New Mexico has DMV field offices that are also known as County Treasurer’s offices. They are located throughout the state, so you may begin the process of vehicle registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
New Mexico drivers convicted of DUIs or DWIs need to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on the motor vehicles they drive. The driver is required to breathe into the IID to start the vehicle. The IID then detects the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the driver, and the engine will not start if the BAC is above the legal limit. Visit this page for more information on how to get an interlock ignition device.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
New Mexico courts do not have a service that allows drivers to find information regarding traffic tickets online. If you have lost your NM traffic citation, you need to contact the county court where the violation took place. They will retrieve your lost information and provide you with instructions on what to do next. It is recomended that you act quickly in retrieving your traffic ticket information as each NM citation contains a due date by which you must address the traffic violation. Failure to do so may result in the NM MVD suspending your drivers license, along with other fines and administrative actions.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New Mexico

Where can I get a new drivers license?
In order to obtain a new NM drivers license, you will need to visit a NM Motor Vehicle Division office. You must complete the drivers license application and present documentation to prove your identity:

  • 1 document proving Social Security number
  • 1 document proving identity
  • 2 documents proving NM residency

You will also be required to pay the applicable fee. The fee for a 4-year drivers license is $18.00 and the fee for an 8-year drivers license is $34.00.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New Mexico

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
The request for a car title replacement can be mailed at the address stated on the reverse side of the relevant Application For Duplicate Certificate of Title form which is:

Services Bureau

P. O. Box 1028

Santa Fe, New Mexico

87504 – 1028

Phone: 1-888-683-4636

MVD-info

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

Where can I obtain an ID card?
The only place where you can apply for ID card replacement, ID card renewal, or to get a new identification card are MVD offices. Applications for ID cards usually requires photo identification and thumb prints.

Find which of the DMV offices across the state is close to where you live or work.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Mexico Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Every type of vehicle operated in the state of New Mexico is required to apply for vehicle insurance. The minimum amount of liability insurance required in New Mexico are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance to one person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance to two or more people: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $10,000

For more information: New Mexico Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are under 18 years of age and you wish to apply for a driving permit in New Mexico, you are required to have a parent or legal guardian co-sign the application. Your parent or legal guardian is required to present proper forms of identification prior to signing the instructional permit application. An instructional permit application fee of $10 upon arrival at your local MVD Field office is also required.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New Mexico

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
A recent traffic ticket will not appear on a driving record until the law enforcement officer responsible reports the offense to a DMV branch office. It is recommended to wait at least ten to fifteen days before requesting your most recent driving record.

Online driving record databases are updated in thirty-day cycles. For that reason, checking driving records in person can take up to two weeks to process and you may not receive the most updated version. DMV.com encourages you to order a driving record online.

For more information: Your New Mexico Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
There is a requirement that you must present a proof of vision exam each time you renew driving license. If there is a special prescription made by a physician, than you must include directions in the proof of vision screening. The vision exam is valid as long as the license. The only exception is for citizens over 76 whose vision screening certificate is valid for six months, unlike their license which is valid for one year.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
There is no obligation for the DMV to send you a renewal reminder in the mail. Depending on the type of license you own, it is the responsibility of the license holder to renew within the stated period. There is only a 30-day grace period in which you can drive with an expired license. If you are late to renew for over one year, you will lose the option to renew driver’s license online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
If you receive a ticket outside of New Mexico, it will be treated as if it was received in NM. Points will be added to your driving record if convicted of a moving violation in another state. You have two options:

  • Pay the fine
  • Contest the ticket in court

Contacting a traffic attorney to help you with an out-of-state traffic citation will be helpful in navigating unfamiliar laws and procedures. Contact the court or the DMV of the state that issued your traffic ticket for information on how to pay traffic ticket.

For more information: New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division Point System

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
New Mexico does have a point system in place to track violations and traffic convictions. If you are found or plead guilty to a traffic violation, points will be added to your driving record. Different violations carry different points and the more severe the offense, the more points will be assigned to your DMV driving record. If you accumulate six points, you will receive a warning notice by mail. Accumulating seven to ten points over the course of one year will result in a suspension on your NM driving privileges for three months.

For more information: New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division Point System

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Drivers with DUI citations may be required to attend a driver improvement course and/or DWI Prevention and Education Program approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau. These two programs are assessed based on a court s decision and they may or may not be mandatory.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New Mexico

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
New Mexico residents do not complete any applications or forms when applying for a car registration replacement. You will only be required to provide your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and license plate number.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Proof of insurance is not a mandatory document to get a duplicate car title. The car title or the pink slip certificate serves as proof of ownership of the vehicle. Obtaining car insurance is mandatory only when you apply for car registration.

If the car registration was lost, stolen or damaged at the same time as your car title, and you want to get a duplicate of the car registration card then you must provide proof of car insurance.

For more information: New Mexico Vehicle History Reports (VIN reports) by DMV.com

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
New Mexico will send a renewal registration notice in the mail around 65 days before the expiration date of your car registration. This notice has the control number written on it, which is needed when renewing car registration online and by phone. When renewing in person or by mail, you are required to take the renewal registration notice to any local New Mexico DMV office or mail it to the following address:

Registration Renewal Section Motor Vehicle Division PO BOX 25129 Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Vehicle registration in New Mexico will expire one year or two years from the date of registration, depending on the type and fee paid. This does not correspond to a drivers birthday or birth-month. Around 65 days prior to the expiration date, you should receive a registration renewal notice reminding you that you should start preparing the needed documentation for a vehicle registration renewal. You can apply for a vehicle registration renewal online, in person, by phone or by mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico