Welcome NEW MEXICO
DMV.com was created to help simplify your life by providing you with all the vehicle related information and New Mexico DMV services you may need, in one place. Quickly find information and services regarding driving records, vehicle registration, drivers license renewal, license plate renewal, getting a learners permit, and finding a New Mexico Department of Motor Vehicles approved traffic school.
Online Services Available - GuideSponsored Ads
Enter your question and our research team will find the answer!
Search for your DMV service or the nearest DMV office here.
New Mexico DMV Guide by DMV.com - Less Headache
We would like you to present to you our guide to the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. This is THE place if you're in search to find any MVD related information fast. We at DMV.com work hard to get you the most up-to-date info when it comes to driving and licensing issues.
This is privately owned website and is not affiliated with any government agency, thus there is no dealing with government bureaucracy. Our articles contain detailed information about various topics, like: driver's licenses, vehicle registration, auto/motorcycle insurance, driving schools and manuals, DUI charges/lawyers, all about boats and motorcycles, credit reports and more.
It has never been easier to find so accurate information as it is now on our website. Simply, use the “search” bar at the top of the page or the navigation sections below and find the topic you want to read in no time.
Contribute to our com
You as readers are always welcome to give us your feedback, to comment on our pages, ask questions, and share your thoughts on our Facebook page. It will be of great assistance, and will help us work even better.
If you are a military member stationed in New Mexico and you wish to obtain a motorcycle license you will have to follow the same standard procedures. Complete the following steps at a MVD Field office:
- A NM motorcycle license application
- Present proper forms of identification including:
o 1 document proving Social Security number
o 1 document proving identity
o 2 documents proving NM residency
- Pass a vision exam
- A written knowledge test
- A motorcycle road skills test
- Show proof of having completed the “None for the Road” DWI awareness course
- Pay the full unrestricted drivers license fee:
o 4-year license: $18.00
o 8-year license: $34.00
For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New Mexico
If you renew auto registration within 30 days of expiration, you will be required to pay an additional fee of $10. If you are more than 31 days late in renewing car registration, you will have to pay a penalty which is equal to 75 percent of the registration fee.
For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New Mexico
A hardship license in New Mexico is referred to as a limited license. A driver must visit a MVD office to see if they qualify for a limited license to drive to school, work or for health related issues. The restrictions for offenders who are subject to drivers license suspension are given within the scope of actions and measures appointed by the court.
There is a restriction applicable to all DUI offenders in New Mexico. They must have an ignition interlock device installed for a period of at least six months once they are put under drivers license suspension.
If you need to get an ignition interlock license for your vehicle, the following requirements need to be completed:
- Pay the $113 reinstatement fee
- Provide adequate proof of insurance
- Get an ignition interlock device from an authorized provider
- Present contract for the ignition interlock
Once you put in place this device you must keep it for at least six months. It can be removed when you meet the criteria for drivers license reinstatement.
For more information: Suspended License Information for New Mexico
Acceptable proofs of residency in New Mexico which will be considered as valid documents to change address on DMV records are originals of the following:
- If you are over 18:
◦ Real property lease or purchase agreement
◦ Utility bill
◦ Insurance bill
◦ Bank or Credit Union statement
◦ Employment pay stub
◦ A local property tax statement or mortgage document
◦ Proof of minor child enrolled in school
◦ Current valid motor vehicle registration
◦ Original documents from a New Mexico authority confirming residency
◦ New Mexico medical or public assistance card
- If you are under 18
◦ Proof of school enrollment
◦ Membership in a religious organization
◦ Membership in a sports organization
All of the above documents must be less than three months old.
For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New Mexico
We want to hear from you! Post your message below.
Subscribe For Updates
Stay current with the latest news on the DMV and automotive industry.