Welcome NORTH CAROLINA
DMV.com was created to help simplify your life by providing you with all the vehicle related information and North Carolina DMV services you may need, in one place. Quickly find information and services regarding driving records, vehicle registration, drivers license renewal, license plate renewal, getting a learners permit, and finding a North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles approved traffic school.
Online Services Available - Guide Sponsored Ads
Enter your question and our research team will find the answer!
Search for your DMV service or the nearest DMV office here.
North Carolina DMV Guide by DMV.com - Less Headache
Who are we
We present you the best guide to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles! We are glad to inform you that you're in the right place when it comes to finding info on driving and licensing issues.
Our privately owned website, that's not connected with any government agencies, will provide you with detailed information regarding cars, motorcycles, boats, you name it. We have a long list of articles here, just for you. See how you can get your driver's license, renew your license plates, get insurance for you drive/ride, etc. By using our guide you can save time and deal with the various DMV issues from your home.
Find what you need
Just type the info you want to read into the "search" section, or use the navigation sections. We have all covered for you. From vehicle registration and obtaining a driver’s license, to auto insurance and license renewal. All you motorcycle or boat owners and drivers, our website has a whole set of requirements for your vehicles as well.
Gives us feedback or ask questions. Help us do better and and we'll give you the most up-to-date information on the NC DMV. Became our fan on Facebook and exchange info with other users.
For information regarding salvaged vehicles, visit the NC DMV website. Generally speaking, if a vehicle claim has been paid off by an insurance company, the DMV must be given notice within 10 days. You can find out more about salvaged car titles in North Carolina by calling them at 919-861-3500.
For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in North Carolina
North Carolina offers a grace period of 15 days after your car registration expires to complete the renewal process without any penalty charge. However, it is in your best interest to renew your registration prior to the expiration date. Not only will this give you peace of mind, but it will also save you any trouble or hassle related to late fees.
For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in North Carolina
In some instances, North Carolina requires a driver convicted of a DUI to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. If you committed a DWI in North Carolina and need more information about ignition interlock requirements, then you can call one of the following ignition interlock providers:
- ALCOLOCK NC, Inc. at 1-855-664-0353
- Monitech, Inc. at 1-800-521-4246
- Smart Start, Inc. at 1-800-880-3394
For more information: DUI/DWI Information for North Carolina
You are allowed to renew driving license credentials up to six months before its expiration date. In North Carolina, you are only allowed to complete this process in person. it is recommended that you set up an appointment at your nearest DMV location, in order to avoid long wait times. If you are serving in the military, you may be eligible to renew your driver's license via mail instead.
For more information: How to Renew a Driver's License in North Carolina
We want to hear from you! Post your message below.
Subscribe For Updates
Stay current with the latest news on the DMV and automotive industry.