Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!
North Carolina is one of the states that have a texting ban for all drivers. Distracted driving laws in North Carolina are tougher on novice drivers, prohibiting them from all cell phone use, whereas adult drivers are allowed to talk on their cell phones while behind the wheel. In 2011 and 2012, several bills were filed, that would ban all drivers from using hand-held cell phones, but none of them was approved.
Text Messaging Ban
All drivers in North Carolina are banned from texting while their vehicle is in motion. This means that they are not allowed to compose, read or send text messages or e-mails while driving. However, texting while sitting behind the wheel of a vehicle that is stopped or parked is not illegal. This is a primary law, meaning that you can be pulled over by a police officer and get a ticket for texting while driving, even if you haven't committed some other traffic violation.
The state of North Carolina defines novice drivers as those who are under the age of 18. They are prohibited from all cell phone use (hand-held and hands-free). This is also a ban that calls for primary enforcement.
Just like novice drivers, bus drivers are banned from all cell phone use, and this is a primary law, as well.
Drivers in North Carolina are allowed to use GPS and other voice-activated devices.
Novice drivers are subject to a $25 fine, whereas adult drivers who violate the texting ban face a $100 fine.
More from the blog: