DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

Information for Disabled Drivers in North Carolina

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!

Information for Handicapped Drivers in North Carolina

In North Carolina, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Handicapped" status.

You are also considered a handicapped driver if you have

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping or if you need the support of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or another person.
  • Restricted walking due to arthritis, neurological or orthopedic conditions.
  • Suffer from lung disease or use portable oxygen.
  • A cardiac condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV.
  • Vision problems and/or is legally blind.

Handicapped persons can acquire a Handicapped placard or Handicapped license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines and/or imprisonment. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, including time in state prison.

HOW TO APPLY FOR HANDICAPPED STATUS

You are considered to have handicapped status when you acquire a handicapped placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Handicapped license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled.

Handicapped placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 5 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for 1- 6 months.
  • Plates need to be recertified every 5 years.

How to apply for Handicapped license plates or a Handicapped placard

To obtain Handicapped Drivers Registration plates:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Handicapped Drivers Registration Plates (MVR 37).
  2. Have a licensed physician, an optometrist or ophthalmologist or Division of Services for the Blind sign the Disability portion of the form.
  3. Provide the current registration card in your name, or documents that prove the vehicle is registered in your name; as well as any registration fees due on the vehicle.
  4. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

To obtain a Permanent Handicapped placard:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Handicapped Placard or Permanent Disability Registration card (MVA 37A).
  2. Have a licensed physician, an optometrist or ophthalmologist or Division of Services for the Blind sign the Disability portion of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

Alternatively, to obtain either the plates or the placard, you can take the form to a local DMV office. You will receive your placard (or plates) within approximately two weeks.

FEE

A permanent handicapped placard, or a temporary handicapped placard is $5 each. Only 2 placards will be issued for each person.

Handicap License Plate Fee    
  • Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles - $28

RENEWAL

  1. The permanent handicapped placards have to be renewed every 5 years.
  2. The handicapped registration plates can be renewed by a sticker, but needs to be recertified every 5 years.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates, visit a local DMV office.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Submitted by sdbarr on 2nd Nov 2016

I went to local Shallotte DMV

I went to local Shallotte DMV office to pick up the disability placard for my husband, after having the form faxed to me by his physician; only to be told that she could not issue the placard without a signature in original ink. THERE IS NO SIGN IN THE OFFICE TO THAT EFFECT, AND IT IS NOT PRINTED ANYWHERE ON THE APP. You folks either need to place signs on the app and in the offices, or accept faxed forms. I had proof that it came from the doctors fax. This should not be a problem, especially when one can do so much on a computer, and you people have no idea whose on that computer. I at least, went in person, stood in a long line, to take care of my form. I wasn't some faceless person. You should take care of this problem, as I'm sure I'm not the first person to deal with this, nor will I be the last. At least give the average person a break and fix it!!!

Submitted by Helen D on 3rd May 2016

My placard is bending and

My placard is bending and starting to tear near the top corner. Can I laminate it, so it will not tear, or do I have to purchase a plastic sleeve for it?

Submitted by Joseph L. Sistare on 11th Jan 2015

What does a new NC resident

What does a new NC resident provide if they have handicapped sticker for their vehicle from their previous residence in the state of Florida?

Submitted by Madixon16 on 14th Apr 2016

You still need to get a dr

You still need to get a dr signed paper like in the other state from DMV. I just did this today because I moved here with VA tags.

Submitted by mountain driver on 20th Dec 2014

Can people drive with these

Can people drive with these placards hanging from the rear view mirror? Seems to me it blocks a significant field of vision. Yet in my town, almost 4 out of 5 cars go by on the street with them hanging.

Submitted by Chauncey Edwards on 29th Feb 2012

I recently renewed my

I recently renewed my Handicapped Plaque for another 5 years. The New plaques that I received were made of paper material covered with a light laminate. I have already torn one of the plaques removing it from my mirror. I think you should make these new plaques out of better material as I don't believe they could last for 5 years. I am very disappointed in the new plaques and thought I would offer my conerns. Do I have to pay for a replacement if the other one gets torn from use? Is there anything that can be done about this situation?

Submitted by nctankman on 13th Jun 2013

I agree. Moving to a paper

I agree. Moving to a paper placard that is suppose to last for 5 years? Give me a break! And yes, we will have to pay for a replacement.

Submitted by billy montgomery on 30th Apr 2012

I NEED A HANDICAP PLACARD,

I NEED A HANDICAP PLACARD, BUT I CANT STAND IN LINE WHAT CAN I DO TO GET THE PLACARD I NEED WITHOUT STANDING IN LINES?

Submitted by Madixon16 on 14th Apr 2016

Go online and apply for one

Go online and apply for one

Submitted by Mary Gail Johnson on 18th May 2013

What do I need to do to renew

What do I need to do to renew my handicap hang tag ? Where in Greensboro NC ?

Submitted by Doris Ebert on 5th Apr 2016

Still cannot walk 200 feet or

Still cannot walk 200 feet or less without stopping to rest.

Have neurological pain, arthritis, and orthopedic problems which restricts walking abilities.

Needing another back surgery.

Submitted by Doris Ebert on 5th Apr 2016

Still cannot walk 200 feet or

Still cannot walk 200 feet or less without stopping to rest.

Have neurological pain, arthritis, and orthopedic problems which restricts walking abilities.

Needing another back surgery.

Submitted by Doris Ebert on 5th Apr 2016

Still cannot walk 200 feet or

Still cannot walk 200 feet or less without stopping to rest.

Have neurological pain, arthritis, and orthopedic problems which restricts walking abilities.

Needing another back surgery.