In Missouri, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for “Disabled” status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you:

  • Cannot walk 50 feet without stopping to rest.
  • Cannot walk without assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
  • Are restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the your forced respiratory expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm of mercury on room air at rest.
  • Use portable oxygen.
  • Have a severe Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the standards set by the American Heart Association.
  • Are severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
  • The person is blind as defined in Section 8.700, RSMo.

Disabled persons can acquire a disabled placard or license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of $50-$300. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, fines, and possible imprisonment.

Other facilities available for disabled drivers include:

  • Ability to take a leashed service animal along to the MVDL.
  • Alternative methods to complete the written Drivers License Examination.
  • TTY for Speech and Hearing Impaired.
  • Specially designated counters for Disabled Persons at the MVDL office.
  • Special accessibility features on the Department of Revenue website for persons with disabilities.
  • Easy access to online services from the Department of Revenue website.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a disabled placard or license plate. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Disabled license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled. They must be renewed every 4 years.

Disabled placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled that were issued after 1 January, 2008 are valid for 4 years. They expire on 30 September, 4 years after issue.
  • Disabled placards issued prior to January 1, 2008 are valid for 2 years and expire on September 30, 2 years after they were issued.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 180 days or the date noted by your physician, whichever is earlier.

How to apply for disabled license plates or a disabled placard

To obtain disabled license plates:

  1. Download and complete the here.
  2. Have a licensed physician, advance practice registered nurse, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist complete and sign the disability plates application form.
  3. Submit the completed forms along with applicable fees to the nearest office of the Department of Revenue, or mail it to the address on the form
    Missouri Department of Revenue
    Motor Vehicle Bureau
    Personalized License Plate Section
    PO Box 569, 301 W High St, Room 370,
    Jefferson City MO 65105-0569    
  4. The plates will be delivered to the nearest license office of your choice within 6 weeks.

To obtain a disabled placard:

  1. Complete the Application for Disabled Person Placard. This form may be obtained from the nearest Department of Revenue office or by completing a Mail Order Request online.
  2. Have a licensed physician, advance practice registered nurse, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist complete and sign the disability plates application form.
  3. Submit the completed forms at the nearest license office or mail them to the following address:
    Motor Vehicle Bureau
    PO Box 100
    Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100    
  4. Along with your placard, you will receive a validated receipt of the Application for Disabled Person Placard, which you must carry with you when in the vehicle, and present upon request by law enforcement officers or other authorized persons.

FEE

A permanent disabled placard is free. There is also no fee for replacement. A fee of $2 is charged for a temporary placard. $4 is charged for replacement temporary placards. A fee of $15 is charged for disabled plates in addition to the registration fees.

RENEWAL

Once the validity of your disabled placard is over:

  1. The Department of Revenue will automatically mail you a new placard to the address on record, if you are over 75 years of age or a disabled veteran.
  2. If a physician’s statement is required, you will be mailed a renewal form to the address on record. Have a licensed physician, advance practice registered nurse, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist complete and sign the disability plates application form and submit it along with the renewal form to the address on the form.
  3. If your address has changed, follow inform the Department of Revenue about your address change well in advance.
  4. Temporary placard holders can renew their placard once by following the application process for a new temporary placard.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates:

  1. Submit a notarized Application for Disabled Person Placard and a copy of your latest validated receipt and applicable fees (only for replacement temporary placards) for the original placard to your nearest license office or mail it to the following address:
    Motor Vehicle Bureau
    PO Box 100
    Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100.    
  2. If you have lost your copy of the validated receipt, you will also have to submit a disability plates application form duly completed and signed by a licensed physician, advance practice registered nurse, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist along with the application form.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!