DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

Information for Disabled Drivers in Louisiana

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!

In Louisiana, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Mobility Impaired" status.

You are also considered to be mobility impaired if you:

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
  • Cannot walk without the assistance of a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assisting device.
  • Are restricted by lung disease to the extent that your forced respiratory and expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm of mercury on room air at rest.
  • Use portable oxygen.
  • Have a severe Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
  • Are severely limited in your ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.

Disabled persons can acquire a mobility impaired hang tag or license plate. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines or lose their special parking privileges. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, including time in state prison.

Visit the FAQ section for the mobility impaired at the Louisiana Department of Safety website for more details.

HOW TO APPLY FOR MOBILITY IMPAIRED STATUS

You are considered to have mobility impaired status when you acquire a mobility impaired hang tag or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Mobility impaired license plates are available only to those who have a permanent lifelong disability. They must be renewed every 2 years.

Mobility impaired hang tags may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 4 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for 1 year.

How to apply for mobility impaired license plates or hang tag

To obtain mobility impaired license plates:

  1. Have a licensed physician complete and sign a disability plates application form.
  2. Submit the certificate along with your license plate, registration, and applicable fees to the nearest Office of Motor Vehicles.
  3. If you do not own the title to the motor vehicle you will use, you can designate the license plate to be issued to another person by completing and submitting a Designation Form in addition to the above documents.

To obtain mobility impaired hang tag:

  1. Have a licensed physician complete and sign a disability plates application form.
  2. Submit the certificate along with relevant fees to the nearest Office of Motor Vehicles.

FEE

A fee of $3 is charge for both permanent and temporary mobility impaired hang tags. Hang tag renewals and replacements also attract a fee of $3. A fee of $10 is charged for mobility impaired license plates in addition to $8.00(or as applicable) handling fees. Additional handling fees are not charged for renewals.

RENEWAL

Once the 4 year validity of permanent mobility impaired hang tags or 1 year validity of temporary mobility impaired hang tags is over:

  1. Take your hang tag and identification card to the nearest Office of Motor Vehicles along with the applicable fees. .
  2. Holders of permanent hang tags do not require recertification by a doctor.
  3. Temporary hang tags can only be renewed once.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated hang tags:

  1. Submit a written application along with a statement attesting to loss, destruction or mutilation of your hang tag, and relevant fees to the nearest Office of Motor Vehicles.
  2. A new hang tag will be issued for the same duration as original hang tag.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Submitted by melindafgray on 23rd May 2013

I am unable to down the

I am unable to down the physician form. "Designation of Mobility Impaired License Plate" is what you get!!!!!

Submitted by P Dogg on 10th Apr 2012

Do they allow you people to

Do they allow you people to issue drivers license ? Or are you the one who sweeps the floors at night? Someone needs to change jobs because you don't have anyone to run this web site. The page links as listed on this site are improperly set up . Some one needs to answer these questions where the remarks are posted. If Your link to obtain Doctor's Application worked instead of bringing you to Office of Motor Vehicles DESIGNATION OF MOBILITY IMPAIRED LICENSE PLATE page none of the remarks would be posted.

Submitted by llgirard on 13th Mar 2016

You, sir, are stupid. This

You, sir, are stupid. This website is not government; it is independently owned and managed. Maybe you should read things before posting.

Submitted by arthurcarolyn777 on 15th Aug 2011

How do I find an application

How do I find an application form for my physician to fill out for a mobility impaired hang tag online?

Submitted by imani4103 on 22nd Dec 2014

need a application form.

need a application form.

Submitted by imani4103 on 22nd Dec 2014

I need the form that the

I need the form that the doctor has to fill out.

Submitted by jeanettelewing on 7th Nov 2011

I need an application form

I need an application form for my physician to fill out.

Submitted by Susan Gerhart on 8th Dec 2011

I need the application form

I need the application form that the Physician signs and fills out