Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!
Replace a Louisiana Drivers License
Drivers license replacement in Louisiana is required for damaged, stolen or lost drivers licenses. As operating a vehicle without a license is against the law, residents must make sure to obtain a copy of drivers license in order to continue to drive legally. Applications for duplicate drivers licenses in Louisiana are processed by the LA Office of Motor Vehicles and its Public Safety Services. Depending on the driver's age, the documents required for a replacement drivers license in LA are different for adults and minors. If you are interested in learning how to replace drivers licenses in Louisiana, explore the topics outlined below.
How to Report a Lost or Stolen LA Driver's License
Reporting a stolen or lost drivers license in Louisiana to the police is strongly encouraged by the OMV and your local police department in order to prevent identity theft. When reporting stolen drivers licenses, drivers must obtain a police report that will outline the main points of the case. Presenting the police report to your local LA OMV office along with the rest of the application documents will waive your drivers license replacement fees and you will receive a duplicate drivers license free of charge. You may be asked for a document of identification at the police station.
Replacing Your Louisiana Driver's License
Duplicate drivers licenses in Louisiana can be obtained in person, by visiting a local LA OMV office or by mail, if you are temporarily out of state. Each application method requires you to submit the appropriate documents and pay the related fees. Adult drivers must provide documents to prove their identity and vehicle insurance, while minor applicants must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and present a school attendance form, among other documents. Both driver categories are required to pay the drivers license replacement fees.
To apply for a copy of drivers license in Louisiana in person, you must visit your local LA OMV branch and present the required documents. The documents you will need to prepare depend on your age, i.e. adult drivers will provide different documents from minor drivers.
Adults applying for a Louisiana DMV duplicate license must present the following paperwork:
- Two documents of identification:
- One primary document such as a U.S. birth certificate or birth card, U.S. passport, Permanent Resident Card, Certificate of Naturalization or a Native American tribal document.
- One secondary document such as a state ID card, employment ID card, high school diploma, Medicare card, pay stubs, W-2 forms, car registration.
- A document proving vehicle insurance (if you own a car).
- Payment for the fees (initial drivers license replacement fee of $13 for a four year license and $17 for a six-year license and additional local fees, wherever applicable).
Payments can be made in cash, by a credit or debit card or money orders. Transaction fees may also apply for credit or debit card payments.
Minors who need a replacement drivers license in Louisiana must gather the following items and present them to their local LA OMV branch:
- A certified copy of their birth certificate.
- A complete Certificate of Required Attendance or a Home Study Approval Notification letter.
- A parent or a legal guardian with proof of identity (in cases of joint custody, only the signature of the custodial parent is needed).
- Payment for the fees.
Mailing applications for a duplicate drivers license in Louisiana are available to out-of-state residents who are temporarily outside of the state or for members of the U.S. military who are on active duty. Applicants are required to be legal LA residents with a valid state address. They will need to provide a temporary out-of-state address along with their permanent Louisiana resident address. If the applicant is a minor, a custodial parent or legal guardian must complete the appropriate section in the application.
Replacing an LA License for Military Members and Out-of-State License Replacement
Out-of-state drivers license replacement in LA is only available to military members or residents who are temporarily absent from Louisiana. To apply for a Louisiana duplicate drivers license while out of state, you must complete a special Application for Reconstructed Duplicate/Renewal License/ID Card and enter the following information:
- Drivers license number (if you have it).
- Full name.
- Social Security Number.
- Date of birth.
- Out of state address.
- In-state (LA) address.
- Date of completion.
- Signature of applicant.
If you are a minor driver, your parents/legal guardians must complete a special section in the application. The application, along with payment for the fees (by check or money order) must be sent to the following address:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
You will receive your LA drivers license copy within 10 days of the day of applying.