How to Get a New Car Title in Louisiana
New car titles cannot be obtained online or by mail. Titling must be done in person at your local DMV. Depending on your case, a car dealership may be able to request a title on your behalf. To make sure you are fully prepared for the titling process, download our informative online car title guide. Our guide contains everything you need to know to complete the application process quickly and easily. You will also get in-depth details on how to complete other important title transactions, such as transferring ownership, updating information and replacing your title if it is lost.
2. In Person at the DMV
To obtain a new title, you must provide details that relate to your car, such as its make, model, VIN number, date of purchase, odometer reading and lienholder information. You must also fill out a title application and pay various fees, such as new title and registration fees, emissions and VIN inspection charges & more. Filling out the title application and gathering the funds to cover all applicable fees can be confusing. You may not know which application to complete or which fees you need to pay. Furthermore, arriving at the DMV unprepared will likely result in a long wait time and potential mistakes on your application, which would mean having to return to complete the transaction.
A Louisiana car title serves as the official document of vehicle ownership. As such, vehicle owners must apply for a certificate of title immediately after purchasing or acquiring a new or used vehicle to avoid interest and tax penalties. Drivers must apply for an LA auto title before they may register their vehicles and obtain the license plates that come with it, or they may obtain a new or used car title and registration materials simultaneously if they wish.
To get car title certificates and registration documents at the same time, motorists must complete and sign a Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799) and submit it to the state within 40 days of acquiring a new or used vehicle. To learn more about how to get car title certificates and to find out how titles relate to registration documents, review the sections below.
Where to Apply for a Car Title in Louisiana
Car owners may apply for a vehicle title (also known as a pink slip), in person or by mail, regardless of whether drivers purchase a vehicle new, used, from a third-party seller or from a car dealership. To get a car title in person, motorists must visit a local Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to submit all titling documentation and fees. Alternately, drivers may apply for a Louisiana certificate of car title by mail. However, drivers can only apply for a title for car ownership using the mail-in method if they submit all documentation simultaneously. When getting car title materials by mail, vehicle owners must submit all paperwork to the OMV headquarters at the following address:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64884
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Note: To get an LA car title by mail, motorists must submit a personal or business check, cashier’s check, money order or an electronic funds transfer as payment for titling taxes and fees. When getting a car title in person, applicants may pay by credit card, debit card, cash, e-check, money order or electronic funds transfer.
The Louisiana Auto Title Application
To obtain a DMV car title in Louisiana, motorists must complete and sign a Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799) within 40 days of purchasing or acquiring a new or used vehicle. When completing the new car title application, drivers must provide the following information:
- The vehicle identification number (VIN), license plate number and registration expiration date.
- The vehicle make, body style, color, year, mileage and weight.
- The name, driver license number, address and signature of the vehicle owner(s).
- Lienholder information, if applicable.
- The vehicle purchase price and the date of the sale.
Note: Applicants may obtain a certificate of LA car title application online or in person at an OMV office.
Documents You Must Provide When Applying for a New Car Title in Louisiana
After completing a Louisiana car title application, vehicle owners may submit the application to title and register their vehicles at the same time. To obtain a title for an LA car, motorists must submit the application to the OMV along with the following supporting documents:
- Proof of liability insurance.
- A photocopy of valid photo identification.
- The Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (for new vehicles) or the current certificate of vehicle title (signed over to the new owner).
- The original bill of sale (if the vehicle is used).
- An original itemized invoice (when purchasing a new vehicle from a car dealership).
- An Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the vehicle is less than 10 years of age).
- An Act of Donation (if applicable).
- A financing statement (Form UCC-1), if recording a lien.
To obtain a new or used car title, applicants must submit all documentation simultaneously. If drivers cannot submit all auto title documentation at the same time, they must apply at an OMV facility.
Note: Whether getting a new title in person or by mail, vehicle owners must submit payment for all applicable taxes and fees. Car title fees include the following: general titling fees, handling fees, lien recordation fees (if recording a lien or other documents pertaining to security agreements), sales use tax and a license fee.
What is a Louisiana car registration?
Vehicle owners must obtain a car registration certificate and a vehicle title before they may operate a new or used vehicle on public roadways. However, vehicle registration documents are not the same as titles. LA auto registration certificates allow drivers to operate their motor vehicles on state roads without penalty.
DMV car registration documents show law enforcement officials that vehicles meet all state registration prerequisites, including the payment of new car registration taxes and fees, as well as auto insurance requirements. Drivers may get car registration documents and titles simultaneously, but the two documents serve different purposes.
What is the difference between a car title and a vehicle registration in Louisiana?
The main difference between Louisiana car registration certificates and titles is that motor vehicle registration acts as evidence of paying registration taxes and fees, while a title is a legal document that establishes proof of vehicle ownership. Drivers must get a car registration card, license plates and a title certificate before they may drive a new or used vehicle on public roadways.
To apply for a new vehicle registration and title certificate at the same time, car owners must complete a Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799) and submit the form in person at an OMV branch, or they may mail the application and all supporting documentation to the OMV headquarters in Baton Rouge.
Note: Keep in mind that drivers must renew DMV vehicle registration materials during the vehicle’s registration renewal period, while drivers do not need to renew their title certificates.
Car Title Costs in Louisiana
The Louisiana car title costs include a $68.50 title fee along with an $8 handling fee.