How to Get a New Car Title in Vermont
New car titles cannot be obtained online or by mail. Titling must be done in person at your local DMV. Depending on your case, a car dealership may be able to request a title on your behalf. To make sure you are fully prepared for the titling process, download our informative online car title guide. Our guide contains everything you need to know to complete the application process quickly and easily. You will also get in-depth details on how to complete other important title transactions, such as transferring ownership, updating information and replacing your title if it is lost.
2. In Person at the DMV
To obtain a new title, you must provide details that relate to your car, such as its make, model, VIN number, date of purchase, odometer reading and lienholder information. You must also fill out a title application and pay various fees, such as new title and registration fees, emissions and VIN inspection charges & more. Filling out the title application and gathering the funds to cover all applicable fees can be confusing. You may not know which application to complete or which fees you need to pay. Furthermore, arriving at the DMV unprepared will likely result in a long wait time and potential mistakes on your application, which would mean having to return to complete the transaction.
A Vermont title for car purchases, also called a pink slip, provides proof of vehicle ownership. Getting car title documentation is an important part of being a responsible and law-abiding driver within the state and the country. Fortunately, a car title is fairly easy to obtain, though it may seem complicated at first look.
The key to getting a vehicle title quickly is having the required paperwork on hand. To start the certificate of title process, fill out the Vermont Registration Tax & Title Application form. More on DMV car title requirements in Vermont and other relevant information is available in the sections below.
Where to Apply for a Car Title in Vermont
The Vermont DMV requires car title certificates for all automobiles newer than 15 years old. For older cars, no auto title is needed. You must only show a bill of sale to provide proof of vehicle ownership. To get car title certification, fill in the online application form and print it out. Submit this new car title application at one of several Vermont DMV locations.
This multi-purpose VT DMV car title form is necessary when applying for titling of new transactions, renewals, transfers, lease buyouts, title-only transactions, and adding or deleting an owner to an existing title.
The Vermont Auto Title Application
A VT pink slip is obtained via the Vermont Registration Tax & Title Application (Form VD-119). This all-purpose car title application will require the following information:
- Owner/Lessee current name and any former legal names.
- Email address and phone number.
- Current address where you live and receive your mail.
- Vermont driver license number.
- License plate number.
- Model, make, body type and other basic car information.
Vehicle titles in Vermont are only issued to cars that are 15 years old or newer. However, an auto title can be issued to a car with a model age 25 years or older. Vehicles in this age range are considered antique, as long as an Exempt Title Affidavit (form VT-023) is submitted.
An exempt vehicle title will be subject to applicable fees to be paid by the owner, who must be a Vermont resident. Drivers wondering how to get car title documentation on an antique vehicle should note that there cannot be any liens or other impeding obstacles tied to the vehicle.
Documents You Must Provide When Applying for a New Car Title in Vermont
When getting a new VT car title, you will need to submit certain documents with your application. Gather all car title documents before submitting the application to avoid any delays in processing time. Which documents you need depends on the vehicle you are titling. Below are the required documents for various types of vehicles:
- A New Vehicle Title requires a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or if the vehicle was manufactured in Canada, a New Vehicle Information Statement. Additionally, an Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TA-VT-05) must be submitted if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
- Used car titles for cars which have been previously titled require the original previous Certificate of Title, signed by all parties. Attach the bill of sale that shows the complete chain of ownership and lien-free status. Provide an Odometer Disclosure Statement on cars newer than 10 years old. If the vehicle is registered to the applicant out of state, complete section 7.
- Used vehicle titles for cars with no prior title require an original or certified copy of the most current certificate of registration and all subsequent bills of sale. Bills of sale must be signed by the seller and show the vehicle’s year, make, model VIN, mileage, date of sale and purchase price.
Note: If you are titling a vehicle in VT that was previously titled in another state or country, or is eligible for an exempt vehicle title, visual verification of the VIN is required. If this is unavailable, complete the Verification of VIN or HIN (Form TA-VT-10). Keep in mind this form must be partially filled out by a law enforcement officer.
What is a Vermont car registration?
A VT car registration and a vehicle certificate of title are not the same thing. Motor vehicle registration serves as confirmation that the Department of Motor Vehicles has allowed it to legally operate on roadways.
When a car owner renews DMV car registration in Vermont, the owner retains continued driving privileges. Whenever you buy a car, you must get car registration in your name. New car registration is tied to license plates and plate numbers, as well as clean emissions check certification.
What is the difference between a car title and a vehicle registration in Vermont?
In Vermont, car registration and car title application go hand in hand, despite being different documents. The certificate of title proves that you own the car, while motor vehicle registration gives you permission to drive the vehicle on state and national roadways.
A vehicle title serves as proof of ownership and is only completed one time per purchase. Each time the car is sold, it undergoes one title transfer from existing owner to new owner. Car registration is renewed annually. Each time the auto registration is renewed, associated taxes must be paid again.
Car Title Costs in Vermont
A new car title costs $15 in Vermont, while a duplicate and/or corrected credential is sold for $35.