How to Get a New Car Title in Wyoming
A Wyoming car title is an official document used to establish ownership of a motor vehicle. Any time a vehicle changes ownership, the certificate of title must be changed to display the new owner’s name. WY certificates of title are only available to residents, who must provide their physical address on the title document.
To obtain a title for car ownership, complete the appropriate application and pay the established fees to the county clerk located in your county of residence. To learn more about the process for obtaining a vehicle title in WY, and how titles differ from car registration, continue reading the sections below.
Where to Apply for a Car Title in Wyoming
Wyoming residents wondering how to get car title documentation on a vehicle will not have to travel far to obtain a pink slip, because the process is handled by a state-wide network of Wyoming County Clerk Offices. These offices usually have a person dedicated to auto title issues and are located near the county seat in your county of residence. Getting a car title in Wyoming is an in-person process as the state does not accept title requests by mail or online.
County clerk office hours and days of operation can vary greatly by location, so you should call ahead before visiting. If you are buying a car with anything but a Wyoming vehicle title, you will first need to have a vehicle identification number inspection performed before getting your WY car title application started. Get your VIN vehicle title inspection from law enforcement officers at your local police department, sheriff’s department or highway patrol station.
The Wyoming Auto Title Application
Whether obtaining a new car title or a used car title in WY, applicants will receive a copy of Form MV-300-A, Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form. Available online, this WY DMV car title application requires drivers to enter information about themselves and the vehicle being titled, including its manufacturer, year and odometer reading.
The car title application also includes spaces for salvage or lien holder details, if applicable. Like all documents required to get car title or registration documents in Wyoming, Form MV-300-A must be notarized and signed to be valid.
Note: If getting car title documents for a vehicle with two or more owners, every person listed on the title must sign off on the document in front of a notary public whenever the vehicle is sold. This DMV vehicle title policy applies even if the names are joined by the word “or” instead of “and.”
Documents You Must Provide When Applying for a New Car Title in Wyoming
When getting a car title in WY, always bring your state driver license or another government-issued form of photo ID. In addition, the clerk issuing your certificate of car title must see your dealer’s invoice, proof of insurance on the new vehicle, and a notarized bill of sale or a notarized affidavit of gift. If the vehicle has a pink slip issued by another state or country, you must provide a recent VIN inspection statement obtained in Wyoming.
If you bought your vehicle from a licensed auto dealer, you should have received a Wyoming Sales/Use Tax Form. Present this to your vehicle title clerk along with your other title info and make sure you pay your sales tax within 50 days of purchase. If you are getting a car title on a vehicle that was manufactured within the past 10 years, you must provide a conforming odometer statement signed by both the seller and the buyer.
What is a Wyoming car registration?
A WY car registration provides proof that a vehicle has approval from the state to operate legally on public roads. The Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) oversees motor vehicle registration applications and drivers may receive new car registration through the same network of county clerk and treasurer’s offices that provide vehicle title documents.
Drivers must submit proof of adequate car insurance coverage to obtain a Wyoming auto registration and the license plates that come with it. Additionally, drivers must have resolved any vehicle title issues before a car registration, license plates or validation tabs can be issued by the state.
What is the difference between a car title and a vehicle registration in Wyoming?
Many people do not realize that obtaining a car title and a vehicle registration are two separate processes and two different documents entirely. A vehicle title proves ownership, while DMV car registration provides proof that the car meets state standards to be driven legally on the state’s roadways.
Another difference in Wyoming new car registration and new car titling is the agent to whom you pay your title or registration fees. According to Wyoming state law, county clerks issue certificates of title and county treasurers collect registration fees, license plate fees and sales tax.
Car Title Costs in Wyoming
As previously mentioned, car title costs in Wyoming are decided by the county clerks office in your area. This can mean that fees may fluctuate slightly based on county taxes and any additional fees that may apply. Overall, a standard price of $30 is usually given for those who wish to purchase a new car title.
- Titles, Plates and Registration from dot.state.wy.us