How to Get a New Car Title in Connecticut
New car titles cannot be obtained online or by mail. Titling must be done in person at your local DMV. Depending on your case, a car dealership may be able to request a title on your behalf. To make sure you are fully prepared for the titling process, download our informative online car title guide. Our guide contains everything you need to know to complete the application process quickly and easily. You will also get in-depth details on how to complete other important title transactions, such as transferring ownership, updating information and replacing your title if it is lost.
2. In Person at the DMV
To obtain a new title, you must provide details that relate to your car, such as its make, model, VIN number, date of purchase, odometer reading and lienholder information. You must also fill out a title application and pay various fees, such as new title and registration fees, emissions and VIN inspection charges & more. Filling out the title application and gathering the funds to cover all applicable fees can be confusing. You may not know which application to complete or which fees you need to pay. Furthermore, arriving at the DMV unprepared will likely result in a long wait time and potential mistakes on your application, which would mean having to return to complete the transaction.
Motorists must apply for a Connecticut car title whenever they purchase a new or used vehicle, unless the car is older than 20 model years. Since a vehicle title serves as legal proof of vehicle ownership, drivers must apply for an auto title certificate immediately after purchasing a vehicle to avoid late fees or possible penalties.
To apply for a car title in CT, motorists must visit a local branch of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to submit a car titling application. Drivers may apply for a new or used car title and registration certificate at the same time if they meet all title and registration prerequisites. To learn more about obtaining a title for car ownership and the ways in which titling relates to vehicle registration, review the information below.
Where to Apply for a Car Title in Connecticut
The process of how to get car title certificates varies depending on whether vehicle owners purchase an automobile from a dealership or private seller. The dealer completes and submits the new car title paperwork on behalf of the buyer if drivers purchase a vehicle from a dealership, while vehicle owners must submit all DMV car title paperwork on their own if they purchase or acquire the vehicle from a third-party.
To apply for a Connecticut car title, drivers must complete a Connecticut Registration and Auto Title Application (Form H-13B) and submit the form in person at a DMV office, along with supporting documentation and titling fees.
Note: If you do not receive your car title within 30 days of applying, you must complete and submit a Statement of Non-Receipt of a Connecticut Certificate of Title by mail. To re-apply for a vehicle title at no cost, you must submit the application within 90 days of the original transaction date. You must mail the form to the address below:
Room 305, Title Section
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
The Connecticut Auto Title Application
When getting car title certificates, vehicle owners must use a black or blue pen to complete a Connecticut Registration and Car Title Application (Form H-13B). Motorists may use the DMV car title application to apply for a title and registration document at the same time, if they wish. When completing the Connecticut car title application, drivers must provide information pertaining to the car owner, vehicle type, seller and security interest (if applicable). Car owners who need to get car titles must provide information such as the following:
- The name, driver license, mailing address, birth date and phone number of the vehicle owner and co-owner (if applicable).
- The vehicle’s make, model, year, vehicle identification number (VIN), body style, fuel type and odometer reading.
- Seller information, including the seller’s name, address and the date and sale price of the vehicle.
- Security interest information, including the name and address of the lienholder (if applicable).
If necessary, the certificate of title application includes additional space for providing information pertaining to leased vehicles, tax exemptions and dealer transactions.
Note: If applying for a joint title for car ownership, the DMV only requires one signature to transfer the vehicle’s title. However, both vehicle owners must sign the application if applying for common ownership.
Documents You Must Provide When Applying for a New Car Title in Connecticut
In addition to submitting a car title application, motorists must provide other supporting documentation as well, including the previous vehicle title, the bill of sale, proof of identification and payment for titling fees. To obtain a DMV car title in Connecticut (otherwise known as a pink slip), motorists must provide the DMV with one of the following as proof of identification:
- A driver license or drive-only license.
- A learner permit or drive-only learner permit.
- A non-driver identification card.
Note: If drivers wish to apply for a new or used car title and registration certificate simultaneously, they must also provide proof of liability insurance.
What is a Connecticut car registration?
Like a title certificate, vehicle owners must obtain a car registration in Connecticut immediately after purchasing a new or used vehicle. An auto registration certificates show that the vehicle meets all state DMV guidelines and registration requirements. As part of the CT DMV car registration process, vehicle owners must submit proof of vehicle ownership, proof of liability auto insurance, the vehicle’s bill of sale and proof of identification. Additionally, motorists must settle any outstanding issues with the DMV before registering a vehicle.
In most cases, car dealerships handle the new car registration paperwork when motorists purchase vehicles from a dealer, but car owners must submit the vehicle registration paperwork on their own if they purchase the automobile from a third-party seller or acquire the vehicle from a family member. To get car registration documentation, motorists must visit a local DMV branch to submit the registration, supporting documentation and pay registration fees.
What is the difference between a car title and a vehicle registration in Connecticut?
A car title establishes the owner of the vehicle, but auto registration documentation allows drivers to legally drive the automobile on public roadways. Although motorists may apply for a CT car registration and title certificate simultaneously using the Car Registration and Title Application (Form H-13B), the two documents serve different purposes.
As such, drivers may apply for a title without applying for a DMV car registration at the same time, but they cannot legally drive the vehicle on state roads until they obtain new registration materials and pay registration fees.
Note: Drivers must complete the motor vehicle registration process every two years, while vehicle owners only need to complete the titling process when a vehicle changes ownership.
Car Title Costs in Connecticut
The Connecticut car title costs vary depending on the type of vehicle that is being issued this credential. However, the standard new car title fee for passenger vehicles in CT is $25.