CT License plate guide. Custom or specialty plates and replacing lost or stolen license plates.
LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced. In order to replace your plates you must:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Present proper forms of ID.
- Hand in any remaining license plates.
- Present proof of insurance.
- Fill in an application for replacement plates and a Registration Affidavit.
- Pay the license plate replacement fees of $25.
- If your license plates got stolen, Connecticut's DMV requires submission of the police report before issuing replacement plates.
- Also, all plates will be replaced with new off-the-shelf plates. To obtain the original license plate number, you can re-apply after 10 months by submitting a Replacement Plate Application to your local DMV office.
CUSTOM AND PERSONALIZED PLATES
These are the different types of plates in the regular series: Auto, Commercial, Trailer, Motorcycle, Permanent Trailer Identification, Disabled Person, Disabled Veteran, and Foreign Organization. Please see the proper application forms for regular series license plates. When you have completed the forms, take them to your local DMV office and submit them with the appropriate fees (see below).
Special Interest Plates
Special Interest Plates are divided into the following categories: Animals, Cities and Towns, Colleges, Environment, Military, Organizations, Police and Fire, Recreation, Vanity and Varied. The following is a list of some examples of special interest plates: Amateur Radio, Amistad, Blue Knights International, Breast Cancer Foundation, Children First Foundation, Disabled American Veterans, Olympic Spirit and various University Alumni associations. Visit Special License Plate to select your choice and contact the appropriate DMV person for more details on how to apply.
Connecticut also offers Year of Manufacture Plates for Antique and Custom-built vehicles. The application can be obtained from any full service DMV office.
The fees for replacing a license plate or getting new plates vary depending on the type of plate you need. For more information on these fees please click here.
Note: For disabled drivers, please see disability plates and fees.
WHAT TO DO WITH PLATES WHEN BUYING/SELLING A VEHICLE
Under Connecticut Law it is mandatory to remove license plates from a vehicle when selling. The plates will remain with the seller once the ownership of the vehicle has been transferred. The plates must be surrendered to your local DMV office or sent in by mail to:
Attn: Plate Return 60 State Street Wethersfield, Connecticut 06161