DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

License Plates in Virginia

LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES

As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced. If BOTH plates are stolen/lost they must be replaced with a new plate - duplicates will not be made.

In order to replace your plates you must fill in an Vehicle Registration Application and

mail your application together with the replacement fee of $10 per plate, to:

Virginia DMV
Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269    

You can also take your completed form and fee to any DMV Customer Service Center.

CUSTOM AND PERSONALIZED PLATES

There are over 200 styles of special license plate designs that you can choose from in Virginia, representing universities, military, civic organizations and so on. You can browse the styles available here.

You can also select personalized license plates, using your own combination of up to seven letters and/or numbers. You can check here to see if your required personalized plate is valid or available.

To order your custom or personalized plates, you will need to complete the application form and mail it, together with the required fee, to:

Virginia DMV
Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269    

You can also take your completed form and fee to any DMV Customer Service Center or you can apply online.

Note: For disabled drivers, you will need to complete the special Disabled License Plates Application Form.

FEES

The fees for replacing a license plate or getting new plates vary depending on the type of plate you need. They can cost $10, $25 or $50 annually, or a one time fee of $10, $25 or $50, depending on the plate design. Personalization is an additional $10 annually. Check with the DMV Customer Service Center for the exact fee.

For disabled license plates the fee is $5    

WHAT TO DO WITH PLATES WHEN BUYING/SELLING A VEHICLE

Under Virginia Law you must remove your license plates when selling you vehicle. You may transfer your plates to any replacement vehicle, or return them to any DMV Customer Service Center where they will be recycled, or you may destroy them and dispose of them yourself. However, you must notify the Department that you no longer own the vehicle. You can do this online, by phone or at a DMV Customer Service Center.

If you move out of Virginia, you do not have to surrender your plates to the Virginia DMV, but this is recommended. After you have moved, send your plates to:

Virginia DMV
Attn: Titles and Registration Work Center
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269    

You can also take your plates to any DMV Customer Service Center. You may be entitled for a refund of your registration fees if you have at least 6 months remaining on your registration when you surrender your plates. Use this form when requesting a refund.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Have a Question? Get Instant Online Answers!

Powered By